change of practice

The digital tools experienced during the pandemic are here to stay

The transition to distance learning has been an opportunity for teachers, lecturers and professors at all levels (primary, secondary, college and university) to experiment with new digital tools. Now that students are back in the classroom, actors in the education sector are taking a look at the uses of these tools to ensure that some of the lessons learned remain.

Higher Education Council urges new normal

The Superior Council of Education (CSE) recently published one of its most comprehensive and interesting reports. Without detour, the objective of the CSE with this publication is to avoid a return to "normality" and thus take advantage of the collective awareness to improve the education system for good. Here is our summary.

Redefining the science lab to provide authentic learning contexts

Dominic Tremblay, an education consultant who taught for more than ten years in a French-language school in the Toronto area, invites teachers to review their definition of what a “science laboratory” is. “You can do science anywhere,” he says.

Access and use of digital resources in mathematics education

Jocelyn Dagenais, secondary school mathematics teacher and resource person for RÉCIT at the Center de services scolaire des Hautes-Rivières, presents the text he proposed as part of the consensus conference on the use of digital technology in education organized by the CTREQ. “Digital technology is transforming the ways of doing mathematics. However, we still teach the same calculation methods,” he writes.

Strategies and tools to rethink your evaluation

Going from theory to practice to rethink evaluation… it may seem difficult. Laurie Couture, pedagogical advisor at École branchée, offers a strategy to help teachers review their ways of evaluating.

Low motivation for writing: a primary school team transforms its entire approach

Annie Guay, teacher and pedagogical leader at L'Accueil de Scott, continues her reflection on the keys to success when a school team decides to change its approaches in order to give more value to student learning.

Reflection on the evaluation and the delivery of report cards

For a second consecutive year, the Ministry of Education announced that there would be only two bulletins. What's more, the delivery of the first newsletter has just been moved due to the health context. The situation leads many education stakeholders to perceive evaluation differently.

4 essential ingredients to (finally) change the system and bring the school closer to the students

École branchée offers you a double look at a conference by education expert Michael Fullan: that of our journalist Martine Rioux and that of Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, school principal at the Marie-Victorin School Services Center.

How educational leaders can actually change the system, says Michael Fullan

Why are some leaders successful and others not? This is the big question that was at the center of a recent conference by Ontario researcher Michael Fullan, presented online by the Association québécoise du personnel de direction des écoles (AQPDE).

Return to normal? Really?

Is a return to normal in education desirable? Our collaborator Marc-André Girard gives us his point of view on this subject.

changement de pratique

Les outils numériques expérimentés pendant la pandémie sont là pour rester

Le passage à l’enseignement à distance aura été l’occasion pour les enseignants, chargés de cours et professeurs de tous les ordres primaire, secondaire, collégial et universitaire) d’expérimenter de nouveaux outils numériques. À l’heure où les élèves et les étudiants sont de retour en classe, des acteurs du milieu de l’éducation posent un regard sur les usages pour que certains acquis demeurent.

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation invite à une nouvelle normalité

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (CSE) a récemment publié un de ses rapports les plus complets et les plus intéressants. Sans détour, l’objectif du CSE avec cette publication est d’éviter un retour à une « normalité » et ainsi profiter de la prise de conscience collective pour améliorer pour de bon le système d’éducation. Voici notre résumé.

Redéfinir le laboratoire de sciences pour offrir des contextes d’apprentissage authentique

Dominic Tremblay, consultant en éducation qui a enseigné pendant plus de dix ans dans une école francophone de la région de Toronto, invite les enseignants à revoir leur définition de ce qu’est un « laboratoire scientifique ». « On peut faire des sciences partout », dit-il.

L’accès et l’utilisation des ressources numériques en enseignement des mathématiques

Jocelyn Dagenais, enseignant de mathématiques de formation au secondaire et personne-ressource du RÉCIT au Centre de services scolaire des Hautes-Rivières, présente le texte qu'il a proposé dans le cadre de la conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique en éducation organisée par le CTREQ. « Le numérique transforme les façons de faire des mathématiques. Or, nous enseignons encore les mêmes méthodes de calculs », écrit-il.

Stratégies et outils pour repenser son évaluation

Passer de la théorie au concret pour repenser l’évaluation… cela peut sembler difficile. Laurie Couture, conseillère pédagogique à l’École branchée, propose une stratégie pour aider les enseignants à revoir leurs façons d’évaluer.

Faible motivation face à l’écriture : une équipe-école primaire transforme toute son approche

Annie Guay, enseignante et leader pédagogique à l’école L’Accueil de Scott, poursuit sa réflexion sur les clés du succès quand une équipe-école décide de changer ses approches afin de donner plus de valeur aux apprentissages des élèves.

Réflexion autour de l’évaluation et de la remise des bulletins

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, le ministère de l’Éducation a annoncé qu’il n’y aurait que deux bulletins. Qui plus est, la remise du premier bulletin vient tout juste d’être déplacée en raison du contexte sanitaire. La situation amène plusieurs acteurs de l’éducation à percevoir l’évaluation autrement.

4 ingrédients essentiels pour (enfin) changer le système et rapprocher l’école des élèves

L’École branchée vous présente un double regard sur une conférence de l’expert en éducation, Michael Fullan : celui de notre journaliste Martine Rioux et celui de Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, directrice d’établissement scolaire au Centre de services scolaire Marie-Victorin.

Comment les leaders éducatifs peuvent réellement changer le système, selon Michael Fullan

Pourquoi certains leaders réussissent-ils et d’autres pas? Telle est la grande question qui était au centre d’une récente conférence du chercheur ontarien Michael Fullan, présentée en ligne par l’Association québécoise du personnel de direction des écoles (AQPDE).

Revenir à la normale? Vraiment?

Un retour à la normale en éducation est-il souhaitable? Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard nous donne son point de vue à ce sujet.