ADVERTISEMENT

The digital tools experienced during the pandemic are here to stay

The transition to distance learning has been an opportunity for teachers, lecturers and professors at all levels (primary, secondary, college and university) to experiment with new digital tools. Now that students are back in the classroom, actors in the education sector are taking a look at the uses of these tools to ensure that some of the lessons learned remain.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The transition to distance learning has been an opportunity for teachers, lecturers and professors at all levels (primary, secondary, college and university) to experiment with new digital tools. Now that students are back in the classroom, actors in the education sector are taking a look at the uses of these tools to ensure that some of the lessons learned remain.

Sylvain Duclos, teacher at the Centre de services scolaires des Navigateurs, Nelson Jean from the Cégep de Rimouski, and Émilie Ringuet from the Université du Québec à Rimouski, shared their thoughts on the subject during a panel discussion moderated by Stéphanie Dionne, from École branchée, during the most recent ADF Week, organized by FADIO. 

All three panelists agreed that adapting to distance education will have been easier for "those who were already on board with digital before." "For others, it was a real challenge. Some said to me, 'I'll never be able to do it,'" notes Nelson Jean.

However, regardless of their comfort level, teachers were literally overwhelmed by an abundance of digital tools. "It was mind-boggling," exclaims Émilie Ringuet. 

Part of her job was to accompany and guide teachers in choosing tools. "I asked them to compare the activity they wanted to do remotely with the one they would have done in class. Together, we looked at the possibilities for achieving the same objectives. That way, it became more concrete for them," she says. 

She adds, "This approach has led many teachers to place themselves in the role of the learner and it has also helped them to better understand the reality of their students. Teachers have become active in their own professional development," says Duclos. 

Little is better!

In the end, many realized that they didn't need to master all the tools and that a fairly simple selection could be more than enough. "There are categories of essentials that were quickly identified: tools for communicating, reaching young people and being in constant contact with them (Teams, Classroom), collaboration tools to put students into action (subgroups, Canva, Classkick), evaluation or feedback tools to diversify the learning traces collected (GoFormative, Flipgrid)," summarizes Sylvain Duclos.

For her part, Émilie indicates that several professors have experimented with video in the flipped classroom to transmit knowledge, explain laboratories or present evaluations. Many have also used it to give more personalized feedback to their students.

While most teachers initially chose tools on their own, the diversity has led to a need for collaboration in the schools. It is important to remember that students have multiple teachers, and therefore possibly multiple platforms to master. "We have to take the students into account and be careful not to duplicate tools that have similar functionalities," says Sylvain Duclos.

To try it is to adopt it

According to the panelists, although the use of some tools was forced by the pandemic, many teachers have discovered their potential and now tend to reuse them in the classroom. The pandemic has also led to the mass purchase of electronic devices, the majority of which are now available in schools, opening up new opportunities for some.

Forms used as distance learning exams become formative quizzes to help students situate themselves in their learning. Other tools that provide quick feedback or are self-correcting, such as Kahoot, are also used. Recorded video vignettes are integrated into work plans. "The teachers duplicate themselves and thus free up time to help the students who need it," says Sylvain. 

Émilie Ringuet concluded: "I hope that teachers will dare, test, explore and try. They have started to innovate, we must keep it up!

It is possible to listen the entire conference :


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
3- Exploit the potential of digital technology for learning
8- Take advantage of digital technology as a vector of inclusion and to meet diverse needs
11- Develop critical thinking with regard to digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les outils numériques expérimentés durant la pandémie sont là pour rester

Le passage à l’enseignement à distance aura été l’occasion pour les enseignants, chargés de cours et professeurs de tous les ordres primaire, secondaire, collégial et universitaire) d’expérimenter de nouveaux outils numériques. À l’heure où les élèves et les étudiants sont de retour en classe, des acteurs du milieu de l’éducation posent un regard sur les usages pour que certains acquis demeurent.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Le passage à l’enseignement à distance aura été l’occasion pour les enseignants, chargés de cours et professeurs de tous les ordres (primaire, secondaire, collégial et universitaire) d’expérimenter de nouveaux outils numériques. À l’heure où les élèves et les étudiants sont de retour en classe, des acteurs du milieu de l’éducation posent un regard sur les usages pour que certains acquis demeurent.

Sylvain Duclos, enseignant au Centre de services scolaire des Navigateurs, Nelson Jean du Cégep de Rimouski, et Émilie Ringuet de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski, ont échangé sur le sujet, dans le cadre d’un panel animé par Stéphanie Dionne, de l’École branchée, pendant la plus récente Semaine de la FAD, organisée par FADIO. 

Les trois panélistes se sont montrés d’accord pour dire que l’adaptation à l’enseignement à distance aura été plus facile pour « ceux qui étaient déjà embarqués dans le numérique avant ». « Pour les autres, ce fût un réel défi. Certains me disaient : “Je ne serai jamais capable” », fait remarquer Nelson Jean.

Par contre, peu importe leur degré d’aisance, les enseignants ont été littéralement submergés par une abondance d’outils numériques. « C’était étourdissant! », s’exclame Émilie Ringuet. 

Une partie de son travail consistait à accompagner et guider les enseignants dans le choix des outils. « Je leur demandais de comparer l’activité qu’ils voulaient faire à distance avec celle qu’ils auraient faite en classe. Ensemble, on regardait les possibilités pour atteindre les mêmes objectifs. Ainsi, cela devenait plus concret pour eux », dit-elle. 

Elle ajoute : « Cette démarche a amené plusieurs enseignants à se placer dans le rôle de l’apprenant et cela les a aussi aidé à mieux comprendre la réalité de leurs étudiants ». Sylvain Duclos renchérit : « Les enseignants sont devenus actifs dans leur propre développement professionnel ». 

Peu, c’est mieux!

En fin de compte, plusieurs se sont rendu compte qu’ils n’avaient pas besoin de maîtriser tous les outils et qu’une sélection assez simple pouvait amplement suffire. « Il y a des catégories d’incontournables qui ont rapidement été identifiées : les outils pour communiquer, rejoindre les jeunes et être en lien constant avec eux (Teams, Classroom), les outils de collaboration pour mettre les élèves en action (les sous-groupes, Canva, Classkick), les outils d’évaluation ou de rétroaction pour diversifier les traces d’apprentissage amassées (GoFormative, Flipgrid) », résume Sylvain Duclos.

De son côté, Émilie indique que plusieurs professeurs ont expérimenté la vidéo sous le principe de la classe inversée pour transmettre des savoirs, expliquer des laboratoires ou présenter des évaluations. Ils ont aussi été nombreux à l’utiliser pour donner de la rétroaction plus personnalisée à leurs étudiants.

Si, au départ, la plupart des enseignants ont choisi des outils chacun de leur côté, la diversité a fait émerger un besoin de concertation dans les milieux scolaires. Il ne faut pas oublier que les élèves ont plusieurs enseignants, donc possiblement de multiples plateformes à maîtriser. « Il faut tenir compte des élèves et faire attention pour ne pas dupliquer les outils qui ont des fonctionnalités semblables », fait valoir Sylvain Duclos.

L’essayer, c’est l’adopter

Selon les panélistes, bien que l’usage de certains outils ait été imposé par la pandémie, beaucoup d’enseignants ont découvert leur potentiel et tendent maintenant à les réutiliser en salle de classe. La pandémie a aussi permis l’achat massif d’appareils électroniques, dont la majorité est maintenant disponible dans les écoles, ce qui ouvre de nouvelles perspectives pour certains.

Des formulaires utilisés à titre d’examen à distance deviennent des quiz formatifs pour aider les étudiants à se situer dans leurs apprentissages. D’autres outils qui offrent de la rétroaction rapide ou qui s’auto-corrigent, comme Kahoot, sont aussi utilisés. Les capsules vidéos enregistrées sont intégrées à des plans de travail. « Les enseignants se dédoublent et se dégagent ainsi du temps pour aider les élèves qui en ont besoin », soutient Sylvain. 

La conclusion revient à Émilie Ringuet : « Je souhaite que les enseignants osent, testent, explorent, tentent. Ils ont commencé à innover, il faut garder cela! ».

Il est possible d’écouter l’intégralité de la conférence :


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
3- Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
8- Mettre à profit le numérique en tant que vecteur d’inclusion et pour répondre à des besoins diversifiés
11- Développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :