ADVERTISEMENT

Higher Education Council urges new normal

The Superior Council of Education (CSE) recently published one of its most comprehensive and interesting reports. Without detour, the objective of the CSE with this publication is to avoid a return to "normality" and thus take advantage of the collective awareness to improve the education system for good. Here is our summary.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

On March 13, 2020, Quebec closed the doors of all its schools. For two years, the COVID-19 pandemic has proven to be a real health, social, humanitarian, economic, cultural and even intellectual crisis. Unprecedented in modern history, one wonders if the many upheavals felt in educational environments were new or if they only exacerbated pre-existing vulnerabilities.

The Superior Council of Education (CSE) has looked into the matter and published one of the most comprehensive and interesting reports ever released by the organization. Without detour, the objective of the CSE with this publication is to avoid a return to an “idealized normality” and thus take advantage of the collective awareness to improve the education system for good.

“What was considered normal before the crisis had its share of challenges and problems that should not be accepted, let alone denied, in a discourse essentially oriented towards a return to an idealized normality. »

A crisis as a trigger for a positive transformation

The pandemic is still not over, but we are already beginning to learn lessons from this crisis in the school environment. We think of learning delays, the effects of social isolation and increased anxiety among young people. 

More broadly, the CSE is also interested in this report in the impacts on the whole system, such as communication processes, the development of digital skills, personnel management, the use of distance learning, etc. The Council is of the opinion that not only the lessons learned during the pandemic could make it possible to avoid making the same mistakes, but also to positively transform the education system.

It is in this search for the truth that the CSE conducted consultations with many organizations representing the union environment, management, parents, students, professionals and the community environment. At the end of this process, the Council published an analysis of the issues raised during the crisis.

voluminous, the document reads in one go as it puts its finger on crucial challenges, often known for a long time, sometimes less. The CSE therefore makes recommendations that we can qualify as fair and inspiring.

The challenges of the system revealed

If you do not have enough time to read the report in its entirety, you should at least consult the table of “prior vulnerabilities of the education system that have affected its resilience capacity” (Table 2, p.80). 

You will recognize recurring problems such as the shortage of staff, the heaviness of the teachers' task, the dilapidated state of the establishments or the insufficient use of professional judgment during evaluation. The crisis has also brought out less obvious elements such as the absence of guidelines for distance education, the great variability in the pedagogical tools used, inadequate emergency measures plans or poorly adapted collective agreements.

The Board recognizes in passing learnings that are there for good, such as the use of videoconferencing to facilitate collaboration, the establishment of a crisis unit, greater flexibility and better autonomy of the environments or the management of health measures or the importance of digital technology in education.

The report ends with a series of recommendations (Table 3, p.112) to be implemented immediately. Among these, the CSE proposes to improve the digital pedagogical training offer for teachers and parents, to establish a directory of good ideas that have emerged during the pandemic and to maintain virtual school services.

Towards a much better normality

Until we can assess the long-term effects of this crisis, it is important that the world of education can learn from it. Since science already predicts an increase in the number of pandemics and natural disasters, the Quebec school system must include resilience in its management processes. Since the school forms a living environment in its own right, it is no longer just a matter of success or dropping out of school, but also a question of well-being, mental health and quality of life. Far from wanting to take us back to our old reality, the Council invites us to create a new and much better normality, more egalitarian, fairer, more resilient, stronger.

Read here. 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation invite à une nouvelle normalité

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (CSE) a récemment publié un de ses rapports les plus complets et les plus intéressants. Sans détour, l’objectif du CSE avec cette publication est d’éviter un retour à une « normalité » et ainsi profiter de la prise de conscience collective pour améliorer pour de bon le système d’éducation. Voici notre résumé.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le 13 mars 2020, le Québec fermait les portes de toutes ses écoles. Depuis deux ans, la pandémie de COVID-19 s’est avérée une véritable crise à la fois sanitaire, sociale, humanitaire, économique, culturelle et même intellectuelle. Sans précédent dans l’histoire moderne, on peut se demander si les nombreux bouleversements ressentis dans les milieux d’enseignement étaient nouveaux ou s’ils n’ont fait qu’exacerber des vulnérabilités préexistantes.

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (CSE) s’est penché sur la question et a publié un des rapports les plus complets et les plus intéressants jamais diffusés par l’organisme. Sans détour, l’objectif du CSE avec cette publication est d’éviter un retour à une « normalité idéalisée » et ainsi profiter de la prise de conscience collective pour améliorer pour de bon le système d’éducation.

« Ce qui était considéré comme normal avant la crise comportait son lot de défis et de problèmes qu’il ne faudrait pas accepter, encore moins nier, dans un discours essentiellement tourné vers un retour à une normalité idéalisée. »

Une crise comme déclencheur d’une transformation positive

La pandémie n’est toujours pas terminée, mais on commence déjà à tirer des leçons de cette crise dans le milieu scolaire. On pense aux retards d’apprentissage, aux effets de l’isolement social et de l’augmentation de l’anxiété chez les jeunes. 

Plus largement, le CSE s’intéresse aussi dans ce rapport aux impacts sur tout le système, comme les processus de communication, le développement des compétences numériques, la gestion du personnel, l’utilisation de l’enseignement à distance, etc. Le Conseil est d’avis que non seulement les apprentissages réalisés durant la pandémie pourraient permettre d’éviter de commettre les mêmes erreurs, mais également de transformer positivement le système éducatif.

C’est dans cette recherche de vérité que le CSE a mené des consultations auprès de nombreux organismes représentant le milieu syndical, les directions, les parents, les étudiants, les professionnels ainsi que le milieu communautaire. Au bout de ce processus, le Conseil a publié une analyse des enjeux soulevés lors de la crise.

Volumineux, le document se lit d’une traite tant il met le doigt sur des défis cruciaux, souvent connus depuis longtemps, parfois moins. Le CSE y va donc de recommandations que nous pouvons qualifier de justes et inspirantes.

Les enjeux du système révélés

Si vous ne disposez pas de suffisamment de temps pour lire le rapport dans son entièreté, vous devez au moins consulter le tableau des « vulnérabilités préalables du système éducatif qui ont nui à sa capacité de résilience » (Tableau 2, p.80). 

Vous y reconnaîtrez des problèmes récurrents comme la pénurie de personnel, la lourdeur de la tâche des enseignants, la vétusté des établissements ou le recours insuffisant au jugement professionnel lors de l’évaluation. La crise a également fait ressortir des éléments moins évidents comme l’absence de balises pour l’enseignement à distance, la grande variabilité dans les outils pédagonumériques employés, des plans de mesures d’urgence inadéquats ou les conventions collectives mal adaptées.

Le Conseil reconnaît au passage des apprentissages qui sont là pour de bon, tels que l’utilisation de la vidéoconférence pour faciliter la collaboration, la mise en place de cellule de crise, une plus grande souplesse et une meilleure autonomie des milieux ou la gestion des mesures sanitaires ou l’importance du numérique en éducation.

Le rapport se termine par une série de recommandations (Tableau 3, p.112) à mettre en œuvre dès maintenant. Parmi celles-ci, le CSE propose de bonifier l’offre de formation pédagonumérique du personnel enseignant et des parents, d’établir un répertoire des bonnes idées qui ont émergé durant la pandémie et de conserver des services d’école virtuelle.

Vers une bien meilleure normalité

D’ici à ce qu’on puisse évaluer les effets à long terme de cette crise, il importe que le monde de l’éducation puisse en tirer des leçons. Puisque la science prédit déjà une croissance du nombre de pandémies et de catastrophes naturelles, le système scolaire québécois doit inclure la résilience dans ses processus de gestion. L’école formant un milieu de vie à part entière, il ne s’agit plus uniquement de réussite ou d’abandon scolaire, mais aussi une question de bien-être, de santé mentale et de qualité de vie. Loin de vouloir nous ramener à notre ancienne réalité, le Conseil nous invite à créer une nouvelle et bien meilleure normalité, plus égalitaire, plus juste, plus résiliente, plus forte.

À lire ici. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :