ADVERTISEMENT

Redefining the science lab to provide authentic learning contexts

Dominic Tremblay, an education consultant who taught for more than ten years in a French-language school in the Toronto area, invites teachers to review their definition of what a “science laboratory” is. “You can do science anywhere,” he says.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Over the years, Dominic Tremblay, an educational consultant who taught for more than ten years in a French-language school in the Toronto area, became convinced that "doing science" at school should not be limited to carrying out an experiment in the science laboratory. . Today, he invites teachers to review their definition of what a “science laboratory” is.

"You can do science anywhere and you don't need to buy kits to do it," he says. According to him, the only material that schools should buy is what allows us to make observations that go beyond our five senses or that allow us to take measurements (eg magnifying glass, thermometer, scales).

In the same breath, he deplores the stereotypes related to science that are maintained in popular culture: the image of the slightly crazy elderly scientist, the beaker that makes smoke, the colored mixture that explodes, etc. “The students do not recognize themselves in these images. They present artificial contexts that have no connection with everyday life and in which they have difficulty projecting themselves,” he says.

Everyday science

To do science, all you have to do is explore the world around you, interact with elements of your environment. The forest, the beach, the garden, the garage, the alley, the edge of the water, the shed, the kitchen, the gymnasium, the park and the pond are all places which have the potential to become ", according to him. Scientific phenomena occur there and become pretexts for exploration and learning. It is then a question of arousing the curiosity of the pupils for these.

A child plays with a garden hose. It is related to the physics of fluids, viscosity, pressure, temperature which are all scientific concepts. Similarly, in contact with nature, it is possible to answer questions such as: Why do mushrooms grow on the lawn? How to control the chlorine level of the swimming pool? Why does a rainbow appear after a thunderstorm? How to explain the formation of compost?

Authentic contexts

Throughout a conference as part of the most recent Conscious Entrepreneurial Education Congress (IDEA), he gave a multitude of other examples from everyday life that allow us to approach science in a different way. He also presented a host of places that could become science laboratories for students. Sometimes these can be visited to collect information which will then be analyzed in class. On this occasion, small portable microscopes, as well as the simple application of the magnifying glass on a smart phone or tablet, can make it possible to observe surprising phenomena.

Two bonus apps 

Seek by iNaturalist : an application that allows you to identify plants

Arduino Science Journal : an application that gives access to all the sensors included in your smartphone (gyroscope, accelerometer, sound sensor, brightness, etc.).

In any case, Dominic Tremblay invites teachers to explore the notions of the program that they wish to pass on to their students and to go in search of everyday elements to support them. “It's possible to create authentic contexts that will fuel students' curiosity and give them some freedom to explore science,” he says. In doing so, he is convinced that young people will develop a greater interest in science.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Redéfinir le laboratoire de sciences pour offrir des contextes d’apprentissage authentique

Dominic Tremblay, consultant en éducation qui a enseigné pendant plus de dix ans dans une école francophone de la région de Toronto, invite les enseignants à revoir leur définition de ce qu’est un « laboratoire scientifique ». « On peut faire des sciences partout », dit-il.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Au fil des ans, Dominic Tremblay, consultant en éducation qui a enseigné pendant plus de dix ans dans une école francophone de la région de Toronto, a acquis la certitude que « faire des sciences » à l’école ne devrait pas se limiter à réaliser une expérience dans le laboratoire de sciences. Il invite aujourd’hui les enseignants à revoir leur définition de ce qu’est un « laboratoire scientifique ».

« On peut faire des sciences partout et on n’a surtout pas besoin d’acheter des kits pour le faire », dit-il. Selon lui, le seul matériel que les écoles devraient acheter est ce qui permet de faire des observations qui vont au-delà de nos cinq sens ou qui permettent de prendre des mesures (ex. loupe, thermomètre, balance).

Il déplore du même souffle les stéréotypes en lien avec la science qui sont entretenus dans la culture populaire : l’image du scientifique âgé un peu fou, le bécher qui fait de la fumée, le mélange coloré qui explose, etc. « Les élèves ne se reconnaissent pas dans ces images. Elles présentent des contextes artificiels qui n’ont pas de lien avec le quotidien et dans lesquels ils ont de la difficulté à se projeter », dit-il.

La science au quotidien

Pour faire des sciences, il suffit pourtant d’explorer le monde autour de soi, d’interagir avec des éléments de son environnement. La forêt, la plage, le jardin, le garage, la ruelle, le bord de l’eau, le cabanon, la cuisine, le gymnase, le parc et l’étang sont tous des lieux qui ont le potentiel de devenir des « laboratoires », selon lui. Des phénomènes scientifiques s’y produisent et deviennent prétextes à l’exploration et à l’apprentissage. Il s’agit alors d’éveiller la curiosité des élèves pour ceux-ci.

Un enfant joue avec un boyau d’arrosage. Il est en relation avec la physique des fluides, la viscosité, la pression, la température qui sont tous des concepts scientifiques. De même, au contact de la nature, il est possible de répondre à des questions comme : Pourquoi des champignons poussent sur le gazon? Comment contrôler le taux de chlore de la piscine? Pourquoi un arc-en-ciel apparaît-il après un orage? Comment expliquer la formation du compost?

Des contextes authentiques

Tout au long d’une conférence dans le cadre du plus récent Congrès en éducation entrepreneuriale consciente (IDÉE), il a donné une multitude d’autres exemples de la vie quotidienne qui permettent d’aborder la science autrement. Il a aussi présenté une foule de lieux pouvant devenir des laboratoires scientifiques pour les élèves. Parfois, ceux-ci peuvent être visités pour prélever des informations qui seront ensuite analysées en classe. À cette occasion, de petits microscopes portatifs, de même que la simple application de la loupe sur un téléphone intelligent ou une tablette, peuvent permettre d’observer des phénomènes surprenants.

Deux applications en bonus 

Seek par iNaturalist : une application qui permet de faire l’identification des plantes

Arduino Science Journal : une application qui donne accès à l’ensemble des capteurs inclus dans son téléphone intelligent (gyroscope, accéléromètre, capteur de son, de luminosité, etc.).

Dans tous les cas, Dominic Tremblay invite les enseignants à explorer les notions du programme qu’ils désirent transmettre à leurs élèves et à partir à la recherche d’éléments du quotidien pour les soutenir. « Il est possible de créer des contextes authentiques qui alimenteront la curiosité des élèves et leur donneront une certaine liberté pour explorer la science », dit-il. Ce faisant, il est convaincu que les jeunes développeront un plus grand intérêt pour les sciences.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :