Reflection on the evaluation and the delivery of report cards

For a second consecutive year, the Ministry of Education announced that there would be only two bulletins. What's more, the delivery of the first newsletter has just been moved due to the health context. The situation leads many education stakeholders to perceive evaluation differently.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

For a second consecutive year, the Ministry of Education announced that there would be only two bulletins. What's more, the delivery of the first newsletter has just been moved due to the health context. The situation leads many education stakeholders to perceive evaluation differently.

It should be recalled that the date for the delivery of the first report card for the 2021-2022 school year, scheduled for January, has been postponed to February 11 at the latest, due to the premature closure of schools in December and distance learning at early January. Since students did not return to class until January 17 (or 18), some exams had to be postponed, including departmental reviews which will be held in the weeks of January 24 and 31.

If the announcement of the production of two newsletters rather than three last year had already led to some reflection on the evaluation, the postponement announced suggests that this will continue. The current context definitely forces the school environment to review the traditional way of conceiving evaluation.

“We have no choice but to see things differently and to adapt,” had already entrusted to us Mélanie Ducharme, pedagogical advisor in evaluation and responsible for the certification of studies at the CSS de Laval. Ms. Ducharme also hopes that the current context will lead to lasting changes with regard to evaluation and feedback. 

Change in practices

School teams have already implemented new evaluation practices. This is the case with Saint-Joseph school, the Center de services scolaire des Navigateurs, where teachers collect more evidence of learning students and no longer systematically grade all assessments. Similarly, at the Reception School of the Beauce-Etchemin School Services Center, numerical assessments have given way to learning sequences.

In some circles, there is sometimes concern about the reaction of parents. However, in the two examples cited here, it was enough to communicate the new ways of doing things to the parents for them to adhere to them. "We have a scale that allows us to discuss more clearly with parents and, above all, with students about their progress and the challenges they face," says Annie Guay from l'Accueil school

Tomorrow… newsletter and communication with parents

In addition :
École branchée Magazine In class and at a distance - The necessary adaptations of teaching and assessment - Spring 2021 (V23N3)

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Réflexion autour de l’évaluation et de la remise des bulletins

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, le ministère de l’Éducation a annoncé qu’il n’y aurait que deux bulletins. Qui plus est, la remise du premier bulletin vient tout juste d’être déplacée en raison du contexte sanitaire. La situation amène plusieurs acteurs de l’éducation à percevoir l’évaluation autrement.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, le ministère de l’Éducation a annoncé qu’il n’y aurait que deux bulletins. Qui plus est, la remise du premier bulletin vient tout juste d’être déplacée en raison du contexte sanitaire. La situation amène plusieurs acteurs de l’éducation à percevoir l’évaluation autrement.

Rappelons que la date de remise du premier bulletin de l’année scolaire 2021-2022, prévue en janvier, a été reportée au 11 février au plus tard, en raison de la fermeture prématurée des écoles en décembre et de l’enseignement à distance au début janvier. Puisque les élèves ne sont retournés en classe que le 17 (ou le 18) janvier, certains examens ont dû être reportés, dont des examens ministériels qui se tiendront dans les semaines du 24 et du 31 janvier.

Si l’annonce de la production de deux bulletins plutôt que trois l’an dernier avait déjà entraîné une certaine réflexion autour de l’évaluation, le report annoncé laisse entrevoir que celle-ci se poursuivra. Le contexte actuel oblige définitivement le milieu scolaire à revoir la façon traditionnelle de concevoir l’évaluation.

« Nous n’avons pas le choix de voir les choses différemment et de nous adapter », nous avait d’ailleurs déjà confié Mélanie Ducharme, conseillère pédagogique en évaluation et responsable de la sanction des études au CSS de Laval. Mme Ducharme souhaite d’ailleurs que le contexte actuel donne lieu à des changements durables en ce qui a trait à l’évaluation et à la rétroaction. 

Changement dans les pratiques

Des équipe-écoles ont d’ailleurs déjà mis en place de nouvelles pratiques d’évaluation. C’est le cas de l’école Saint-Joseph, du Centre de services scolaire des Navigateurs, où les enseignants recueillent davantage de preuves d’apprentissages des élèves et ne notent plus systématiquement toutes les évaluations. De même, à l’école l’Accueil du Centre de services scolaire de la Beauce-Etchemin, les évaluations chiffrées ont fait place à des séquences d’apprentissage.

Dans certains milieux, on s’inquiète parfois de la réaction des parents. Pourtant, dans les deux exemples cités ici, il a suffit de communiquer aux parents les nouvelles façons de faire pour que ceux-ci y adhèrent. « Nous avons un barème qui nous permet de discuter plus clairement avec les parents et, surtout, avec les élèves de leurs progrès et des défis à relever », dit Annie Guay de l’école l’Accueil

Demain… le bulletin et la communication avec les parents

En complément :
Le magazine École branchée En classe comme à distance – Les nécessaires adaptations de l’enseignement et de l’évaluation – Printemps 2021 (V23N3)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :