4 essential ingredients to (finally) change the system and bring the school closer to the students

École branchée offers you a double look at a conference by education expert Michael Fullan: that of our journalist Martine Rioux and that of Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, school principal at the Marie-Victorin School Services Center.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Martine Rioux

École branchée offers you a double look at a conference by education expert Michael Fullan: that of our journalist Martine Rioux and that of Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, school principal at the Marie-Victorin School Services Center.

Michael Fullan was back at a conference for school administrators in Quebec on October 18. True to himself, he repeated his call for innovation in the school environment, to change the way things are done, to bring the school closer to the students.

Mr. Fullan's conference was presented at the opening of the Quebec Week of School Directors (11th edition), and presented by the Association québécoise du personnel de direction d'école (AQPDE). It was a continuation of the conference that he offered last May. Some 250 participants had gathered virtually for the occasion.

The education expert is categorical: “In the 2010s, we wasted our time. We had begun to see that the school system had to be changed to better meet the needs of the students and we did nothing. Now it's high time to change strategy and try something new ”. 

According to him, to achieve this, we will need four essential ingredients: 

  • new evaluation methods (both in the ways of doing things and in the indicators of success), 
  • new objectives (which have meaning for the pupil, which rethink their contribution),
  • new cultures (continuous learning, collaboration), 
  • new teaching methods (mobilization, concrete applications).

These four human-related ingredients can be combined with the possibilities offered by artificial intelligence for the school environment (better analyze data on students' ways of learning, their academic results, etc.).

Collaboration at the heart of change

In order for these ingredients to work, it is necessary to come together, to interact with each other, to listen. Even more, “we will not be able to change things if we do not collaborate together. And, to collaborate well, it must necessarily be embedded in the organizational culture, ”argues the researcher. In short, we must also learn to collaborate effectively.

He reiterated the importance of opening up horizons to include as many points of view as possible. So everyone creates their own system and can make changes.

Find your own recipe

No one knows exactly what to do right now. The world is more destabilized than ever and no one is at their best. “We all need to get into learning mode. We all face stress. We all need a healthy dose of empathy. The importance of well-being has never been so prominent, ”he says.

At the same time, it is an extraordinary opportunity for school leaders to assert themselves and make a difference for the future. There is no single recipe, there is no ideal recipe either. The answers will come from each community.  

“Public authorities are not the ones who are going to lead the change. It is the local leaders who must do it. The future is ours and we must change things for the good of our young people, ”he says.

All over the world we hear the same message: “We will never do things like we used to again. Now is the time to innovate. Let's Take Action !, was the heart of Mr. Fullan's message.

Now let's see what Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, director of a school at the Marie-Victorin School Services Center, retains.


What if the school already had all the answers? 

By Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, school principal at the Marie-Victorin School Service Center

“The education system needs courageous, empathetic and creative leaders for the next decade”: here is one of the strong elements that I take away from the conference of Mr. Michael Fullan. Offered by the Association québécoise du personnel de direction des écoles (AQPDE) to its members and partners as part of the Quebec Week of School Managers, this conference came at the right time to revive hopes for a better future in education. . 

Indeed, the pandemic situation represents a very important moment for the awakening of leaders ready to listen to the culture of their school and motivated to rekindle the passion for a current pedagogy. Despite the efforts to integrate technology, the improvement in funding, the implementation of assessments aimed at locating student learning, the school is more often than we wish ill-suited to the interests of the latter. 

For 75 minutes, the world-renowned researcher was able to keep the attention of more than 250 departments wishing to update and position themselves in terms of the key elements to be a good leader, according to Mr. Fullan. 

Here is a summary of the conference.

Decisions about the system should not come only from our governments, but inversely proportional to the hierarchy of the system, Fullan believes. The whole world seems to be in a revival and one caveat is in order: do not repeat certain mistakes. The time has therefore come to mobilize, to open up to innovations by focusing on well-being, social intelligence, the reduction of inequalities and creativity.

Several departments and managers may ask the question: yes, but how? Here is what Mr. Fullan suggests:

  • Provide students with the opportunity to do work that has a purpose and meaning for them;
  • Foster the development of solid bonds with adults and peers (relationship / belonging);
  • Appreciate students from the point of view of acquired knowledge;
  • Valuing their personal identity;
  • Fulfill their need to contribute to the world.

In short, the overall strategy is to promote positive catalysts by reducing negative waves. 

For a sustainable development of future citizens

The past year has shown that mental health is an important part of our school system. There are more and more cases of students living with performance anxiety, depression or psychosocial problems. The obsession with academic results is felt in parents and young people valuing the quantified result instead of the progression. 

Mr. Fullan recalled the values of equity and social intelligence as a means of countering these stressors. In the past, the system may have had learning objectives not based on the realities of the environment or an inability to connect the students to their raison d'être so that today, the situation is such, argues- he. 

Emotional insecurity made our system resist and made traditional teaching endure, which made learning sometimes boring or uninviting for students. 

Fortunately, new advances in deep learning provide new ways to restore the desire to learn in students and thus avoid continuing to widen social inequalities. 

Nuance (2020), Mr. Fullan's latest publication, attempts to answer the question: why do some leaders succeed and others fail? Bringing forward youth and their culture to support the development of student-centered change makers is the best bet, according to Fullan. This was also the objective of his previous conference at AQPDE.

Implement the change

My favorite this morning is undoubtedly the encouragement to mobilize and get involved so as not to miss the opportune moment to create a system aimed at the sustainable development of future citizens. 

I am of the opinion that decisions must be made close to the environment, in a local way and taking into account the diversity of the students. A major challenge, of course, we can fortunately have access to reliable and coherent research results allowing us to be experts in the position of learners on a daily basis. 

I liked it when Mr. Fullan recalled that the future will remain unpredictable, non-linear and that the best way to prepare for it is to be prepared for multiple changes. It warns us to watch out for the many stressors that don't allow us to be our best. Differences of opinion are welcome in order to reflect on the issues in our community and to be able to offer empathy to everyone.

In conclusion, I remember once again the importance of rolling up our sleeves and working consistently for the next decade to come. We cannot recreate some mistakes made in the past. There are great opportunities for managers to have more leadership when situations are disorganized, as is the case now. 

It should be noted that teamwork was offered to AQPDE members following the conference to discuss each other's impressions, question each other and reflect on each other. It is always fun to discuss the content of a presentation with others. The whole appreciated the words of Mr. Fullan, some concepts are known, others less. Either way, awakenings were created that morning. The desire to question oneself, to identify the right tools and to apply the right management methods is discussed.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

4 ingrédients essentiels pour (enfin) changer le système et rapprocher l’école des élèves

L’École branchée vous présente un double regard sur une conférence de l’expert en éducation, Michael Fullan : celui de notre journaliste Martine Rioux et celui de Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, directrice d’établissement scolaire au Centre de services scolaire Marie-Victorin.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Par Martine Rioux

L’École branchée vous présente un double regard sur une conférence de l’expert en éducation, Michael Fullan : celui de notre journaliste Martine Rioux et celui de Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, directrice d’établissement scolaire au Centre de services scolaire Marie-Victorin.

Michael Fullan était de retour en conférence pour les gestionnaires d’établissement scolaire du Québec, le 18 octobre dernier. Fidèle à lui-même, il a répété son appel à l’innovation dans le milieu scolaire, pour faire changer les façons de faire, pour rapprocher l’école des élèves.

La conférence de M. Fullan était présentée en ouverture de la Semaine québécoise des directions d’établissement scolaire (11e édition), et présentée par l’Association québécoise du personnel de direction d’école (AQPDE). Il s’agissait d’une suite de la conférence qu’il avait offerte en mai dernier. Quelque 250 participants s’étaient réunis virtuellement pour l’occasion.

L’expert en éducation est catégorique : « Dans les années 2010, nous avons perdu notre temps. Nous avions commencé à voir qu’il fallait changer le système scolaire pour mieux répondre aux besoins des élèves et nous n’avons rien fait. Aujourd’hui, il est plus que temps de changer de stratégie et d’essayer quelque chose de nouveau ». 

Selon lui, pour y parvenir, nous aurons besoin de quatre ingrédients essentiels : 

  • de nouvelles méthodes d’évaluation (à la fois dans les façons de faire et dans les indicateurs de succès), 
  • de nouveaux objectifs (qui ont du sens pour l’élève, qui repensent sa contribution),
  • de nouvelles cultures (apprentissage en continu, collaboration), 
  • de nouvelles méthodes pédagogiques (mobilisation, mises en application concrètes).

Ces quatre ingrédients qui relèvent de l’humain pourront être combinés aux possibilités offertes par l’intelligence artificielle pour le milieu scolaire (mieux analyser les données sur les façons d’apprendre des élèves, sur leurs résultats scolaires, etc.).

La collaboration au coeur des changements

Pour que ces ingrédients puissent donner des résultats, il est nécessaire de se rassembler, d’interagir les uns avec les autres, d’être à l’écoute. Plus encore, « on n’arrivera pas à changer les choses si on ne collabore pas ensemble. Et, pour bien collaborer, il faut nécessairement que ce soit imbriqué dans la culture organisationnelle », fait valoir le chercheur. Bref, il faut aussi apprendre à collaborer efficacement.

Il a rappelé l’importance d’ouvrir ses horizons pour y inclure autant de points de vue que possible. Ainsi, chacun crée son propre système et peut concrétiser des changements.

Trouver sa propre recette

Personne ne sait exactement ce qu’il faut faire en ce moment. Le monde est plus déstabilisé que jamais et personne n’est à son meilleur. « Nous devons tous nous mettre en mode apprentissage. Nous faisons tous face à du stress. Nous avons tous besoin d’une bonne dose d’empathie. L’importance du bien-être n’aura jamais autant nommé », dit-il.

En même temps, il s’agit d’une occasion extraordinaire pour les leaders des milieux scolaires de s’affirmer et de faire une différence pour l’avenir. Il n’y a pas de recette unique, il n’y a pas de recette idéale non plus. Les réponses viendront de la part de chaque milieu.  

« Les instances publiques ne sont pas celles qui vont diriger le changement. Ce sont les leaders locaux qui doivent le faire. L’avenir nous appartient et nous devons faire changer les choses pour le bien de nos jeunes », soutient-il.

Partout dans le monde, nous entendons un même message : « Nous ne referons plus jamais les choses comme avant. »  Le moment est venu d’innover. Passons à l’action!, tel était le coeur du message de M. Fullan.

Voyons maintenant ce que retient Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, directrice d’établissement scolaire au Centre de services scolaire Marie-Victorin.


Et si l’école avait déjà toutes les réponses? 

Par Laurence Beaunoyer Pinsonneault, directrice d’établissement scolaire au Centre de service scolaires Marie-Victorin

« Le système de l’éducation a besoin de leaders courageux, empathiques et créatifs pour la prochaine décennie » : voici un des éléments forts que je retiens de la conférence de Monsieur Michael Fullan. Offerte par l’Association québécoise du personnel de direction des écoles (AQPDE) à ses membres et partenaires dans le cadre de la Semaine québécoise des directions d’établissement scolaire, cette conférence arrivait à point pour raviver les espoirs d’un avenir meilleur en éducation. 

En effet, la situation pandémique représente un moment très important pour l’éveil de leaders prêts à être à l’écoute de la culture de leur école et motivés à raviver la passion pour une pédagogie actuelle. Malgré les efforts d’intégration de la technologie, la bonification du financement, la mise en place d’ évaluations voulant situer les apprentissages des élèves, l’école est plus souvent que nous le souhaitons mal adaptée aux intérêts de ces derniers. 

Durant 75 minutes, le chercheur de renommée mondiale a su garder l’attention de plus de 250 directions voulant s’actualiser et se positionner en ce qui a trait aux éléments clé pour être un bon leader, selon Monsieur Fullan. 

Voici un résumé de la conférence.

Les décisions concernant le système ne doivent pas venir que de la part de nos gouvernements, mais être inversement proportionnelles à la hiérarchie du système, croit M. Fullan. Le monde entier semble être dans un renouveau et une mise en garde s’impose : ne pas répéter certaines erreurs. Il est donc venu le temps de se mobiliser, de s’ouvrir aux innovations en misant sur le bien-être, l’intelligence sociale, la réduction des inégalités et la créativité.

Plusieurs directions et gestionnaires peuvent se poser la question : oui, mais comment? Voici ce que M. Fullan propose :

  • Offrir aux élèves la possibilité de faire un travail ayant un but et une signification pour eux;
  • Favoriser le développement de liens solides avec les adultes et les pairs (relation/appartenance);
  • Apprécier les élèves sous l’angle des acquis;
  • Valoriser leur identité personnelle;
  • Combler leur besoin de contribuer au monde.

En somme, la stratégie globale est de faire la promotion des catalyseurs positifs en diminuant les ondes négatives. 

Pour un développement durable des futurs citoyens

La dernière année a démontré que la santé mentale prenait une place importante dans notre système scolaire. Les cas d’élèves vivant avec de l’anxiété de performance, de la dépression ou des problèmes psychosociaux se multiplient. L’obsession pour les résultats académiques se fait ressentir chez les parents et les jeunes valorisant le résultat quantifié au lieu de la progression. 

M. Fullan a rappelé les valeurs de l’équité et de l’intelligence sociale comme moyens de contrer ces facteurs de stress. Dans le passé, le système a possiblement eu des objectifs d’apprentissages non basés sur les réalités des milieux ou une incapacité à relier les élèves à leur raison d’être pour qu’aujourd’hui, la situation soit telle, avance-t-il. 

L’insécurité émotionnelle a fait résister notre système et a fait perdurer l’enseignement traditionnel, ce qui a rendu les apprentissages parfois ennuyeux ou non engageants pour les élèves. 

Heureusement, les nouvelles avancées au niveau de l’apprentissage profond apportent de nouvelles voies pour redonner le goût d’apprendre aux élèves et ainsi éviter de continuer de creuser les inégalités sociales. 

Nuance (2020), la dernière parution de M. Fullan, tente de répondre à la question : pourquoi certains leaders réussissent et d’autres échouent? Mettre de l’avant les jeunes et leur culture afin de soutenir le développement de créateurs de changement axés sur les élèves est le meilleur pari, selon M. Fullan. C’était d’ailleurs l’objectif de sa précédente conférence à l’AQPDE.

Mettre en place le changement

Mon coup de cœur de cette matinée est assurément l’encouragement à se mobiliser et à s’engager afin de ne pas manquer le moment opportun de créer un système visant le développement durable des futurs citoyens. 

Je suis d’avis que les décisions doivent se prendre près des milieux, de façon locale et en tenant compte de la diversité des élèves. Défi d’envergure, certes, nous pouvons heureusement avoir accès à des résultats de recherches fiables et cohérents nous permettant d’être des experts en posture d’apprenants au quotidien. 

J’ai bien aimé lorsque M. Fullan a rappelé que l’avenir restera imprévisible, non linéaire et que la meilleure façon de s’y préparer est d’être prêt aux multiples changements. Il nous prévient de faire attention aux nombreux facteurs de stress qui ne nous permettent pas d’être à notre meilleur. Les différences d’opinions sont à accueillir afin de réfléchir sur les enjeux de notre milieu et de pouvoir offrir de l’empathie à tout un chacun.

En conclusion, je retiens une fois de plus l’importance de se relever les manches et de travailler en toute cohérence pour la prochaine décennie à venir. Nous ne pouvons recréer certaines erreurs commises dans le passé. De grandes opportunités s’offrent aux gestionnaires pour avoir plus de leadership lorsque les situations sont désorganisées, comme c’est le cas présentement. 

À noter qu’un travail d’équipe a été proposé aux membres de l’AQPDE à la suite de la conférence pour échanger sur les impressions de chacun, se questionner ensemble et se recueillir. Il est toujours agréable de discuter du contenu d’une présentation avec d’autres. L’ensemble a apprécié les propos de M. Fullan, certains concepts sont connus, d’autres moins. Dans tous les cas, des éveils ont été créés ce matin-là. Le désir de se questionner, de repérer les bons outils et d’appliquer les bonnes méthodes de gestion est discuté.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!