The Rendez-vous RÉCIT: where are we with the robots?

“Where are we with our robots? ". This RÉCIT meeting was meant to be a time out to take stock of the first year of the Digital Action Plan in connection with the deployment of programming and robotics in Quebec schools.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

On March 19, the third virtual Rendez-vous du RÉCIT was held. Six free workshops were offered online in order to introduce educational actors to various themes that could be explored within the framework of the Digital education action plan. The recordings of these workshops as well as the resources presented will be available on the RÉCIT website.

One of the Virtual Meetings was titled “Where are we with our robots? ". This meeting was intended to be a break to take stock of the first year of the Digital action plan in connection with the deployment in programming and robotics in schools in Quebec. Similarly, two other webinars had taken place on November 20 and January 15th latest to provide teachers with maximum resources to facilitate the integration of robots in the classroom. This third meeting was now an opportunity to take stock of what has happened and continues to be experienced in schools for about eight months.

Programming, one block at a time

Pierre Lachance (educational advisor of STD STORY), who hosted this webinar, reminds us from the outset that robot programming at school is mainly done using blocks and that this common core between the different robots is necessary to facilitate appropriation of teachers who would be tempted to use several models. Pierre therefore mentions that most of the robots used in the classroom have five categories of blocks (movements, lights, sounds, delays and loops) which transpose quite well from one model to another.

“When you know how to program a first robot, this know-how becomes a considerable advantage when you want to explore a second. "

Programming to develop your thinking

"But why program? This is the question launched by the facilitator to the 40 or so participants gathered for the occasion. Programming is a new way of thinking for students, Pierre recalls, and it is a pretext for developing many skills in all school subjects. He also adds that the learner programs in the manner of a challenge to be overcome. It is therefore on the basis of a specific intention attached to the Québec school training program that the teacher provides the winning conditions for its realization.

Expert or guide?

Mr. Lachance insists on the fact that the teacher does not have to be or become an expert in robotics and programming. It must be present to support learners in a so-called non-response process. Indeed, Pierre mentioned that it is better to give clues to students rather than “debugging” a program for them. It is more beneficial to let the learners work so that they develop a maximum of skills than to arrive with an answer already ready in advance. The important thing is not the destination, but the journey itself. Programming and robotics are no exception to this popular saying.

Learn to learn

Pierre Lachance, before leaving room for some sharing of experiences, encourages participants to consult the training, self-study and support offers offered by the RÉCIT. Whether to take advantage of the advice offered by the various digital combo training course or to take a full course on the RÉCIT campus, several initiatives are present on the Web to facilitate the daily life of teachers in the development of their projects. Many robotics and programming documents are also available on the website of the Preschool STORY and on the Robot-TIC.qc.ca.

It's only a beginning

Looking at the number of experiences that were able to be shared during this webinar, it is increasingly clear that programming and robotics seem well established and strong in quality support. Whether in Mauricie, the Laurentians, Lac-Saint-Jean or Chaudière-Appalaches, several innovative projects thrill students and teachers day after day. They should be proud of their commitment and can take pride in being as proactive in the paradigm shifts brought by the 21st century.

You will have access to all their projects just here, in addition to all the documents that made this RECIT meeting a success across the board.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme is an educational advisor and project manager at École branchée. He is also editor-in-chief of the SCOOP! Educational guides. He has a bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education from the University of Sherbrooke and is pursuing a graduate degree in school management at Laval University. He transmits his passion for digital education and innovative practices through CréaCamps, conferences and workshops throughout the French-speaking world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Le Rendez-vous RÉCIT : où en sommes-nous avec les robots?

« Où en sommes-nous avec nos robots? ». Ce rendez-vous du RÉCIT se voulait un temps d'arrêt pour faire le bilan de la première année du Plan d’action numérique en lien avec le déploiement en programmation et en robotique dans les écoles du Québec.

Publié le :

Classé dans :

Attention! Ce contenu a été mis à jour il y a plus de 3 ans. Il pourrait contenir des liens qui ne fonctionnent plus. Vous aimeriez que notre équipe le révise? N'hésitez pas à nous écrire!

Le 19 mars dernier se tenait le troisième Rendez-vous virtuel du RÉCIT. Six ateliers gratuits étaient offerts en ligne afin d’introduire les acteurs éducatifs à diverses thématiques pouvant être explorées dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation. Les enregistrements de ces ateliers ainsi que les ressources présentées seront disponibles sur le site Web du RÉCIT.

Un des Rendez-vous virtuel s’intitulait « Où en sommes-nous avec nos robots? ». Cette rencontre se voulait un temps d’arrêt pour faire le bilan de la première année du Plan d’action numérique en lien avec le déploiement en programmation et en robotique dans les écoles du Québec. Dans le même ordre d’idées, deux autres webinaires avaient eu lieu les 20 novembre et 15 janvier derniers pour fournir aux enseignants un maximum de ressources pour faciliter l’intégration des robots en classe. Ce troisième rendez-vous était maintenant l’occasion de faire le point sur ce qui s’est vécu et qui continue de se vivre dans les milieux scolaires depuis environ huit mois.

La programmation, un bloc à la fois

Pierre Lachance (conseiller pédagogique du RÉCIT MST), qui assurait l’animation de ce webinaire, rappelle d’entrée de jeu que la programmation de robots à l’école se fait majoritairement à l’aide de blocs et que ce tronc commun entre les différents robots est nécessaire pour faciliter l’appropriation des enseignants qui seraient tentés d’en utiliser plusieurs modèles. Pierre mentionne donc que la plupart des robots utilisés en salle de classe possède cinq catégories de blocs (mouvements, lumières, sons, délais et boucles) qui se transposent assez bien d’un modèle à l’autre.

« Lorsqu’on sait programmer un premier robot, ce savoir-faire devient un avantage considérable lorsqu’on souhaite en explorer un deuxième. »

Programmer pour développer sa pensée

« Mais pourquoi programmer? » Telle est la question lancée par l’animateur aux quelque 40 participants réunis pour l’occasion. Programmer est une nouvelle façon de penser pour l’élève, rappelle Pierre, et c’est un prétexte pour développer bon nombre de compétences dans l’ensemble des disciplines scolaires. Il ajoute également que l’apprenant programme à la manière d’un défi à surmonter. C’est donc à partir d’une intention précise rattachée au Programme de formation de l’école québécoise que l’enseignant fournit les conditions gagnantes à la réalisation.

Expert ou accompagnateur?

M. Lachance insiste sur le fait que la personne enseignante n’a pas à être ou à devenir une experte en robotique et en programmation. Elle doit être présente pour accompagner les apprenants dans une démarche dite de non-réponse. En effet, Pierre a fait mention qu’il est préférable de donner des indices aux élèves plutôt que de « déboguer » un programme à leur place. Il est davantage gagnant de laisser travailler les apprenants pour qu’ils développent un maximum de compétences que d’arriver avec une réponse déjà prête d’avance. L’important, ce n’est pas la destination, mais bien le voyage lui-même. La programmation et la robotique ne font pas exception à ce populaire dicton.

Apprendre à apprendre

Pierre Lachance, avant de laisser place à quelques partages d’expériences, incite les participants à consulter les offres de formations, d’autoformations et d’accompagnement offertes par le RÉCIT. Que ce soit pour profiter des conseils qu’offrent les différents parcours de formation des combos numériques ou pour suivre un cours complet sur le Campus du RÉCIT, plusieurs initiatives sont présentes sur le Web pour faciliter le quotidien des enseignants dans l’élaboration de leurs projets. Bon nombre de documents en robotique et en programmation sont également disponibles sur le site du RÉCIT préscolaire et sur le Robot-TIC.qc.ca.

Ce n’est qu’un début

À voir le nombre d’expériences qui ont pu être partagées lors de ce webinaire, il est de plus en plus clair que la programmation et la robotique semblent bien implantées et fortes d’un accompagnement de qualité. Que ce soit en Mauricie, dans les Laurentides, au Lac-Saint-Jean ou en Chaudière-Appalaches, plusieurs projets novateurs font vibrer les élèves et les enseignants jour après jour. Ils se doivent d’être fiers de leur engagement et peuvent se féliciter d’être aussi proactifs dans les changements de paradigmes qu’amène le 21e siècle.

Vous aurez accès à tous leurs projets juste ici, en plus de l’ensemble des documents qui ont fait de ce rendez-vous RÉCIT une réussite sur toute la ligne.

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!


Vos commentaires

Pour commenter un article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter, Instagram ou LinkedIn.

Faites briller vos projets d'école et pratiques gagnantes!

L'École branchée fait circuler l'information dans le milieu scolaire afin d'alimenter la veille professionnelle et valoriser les initiatives émanant du terrain. Allez-y, proposez-nous un texte! >

À lire aussi

Des activités d’enrichissement pour les élèves à haut potentiel

Au Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), un nouveau service est mis en place pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des élèves doués. Des formations sont offertes aux enseignants pour leur fournir des stratégies pédagogiques différenciées, adaptées aux besoins particuliers de ces élèves à haut potentiel. Parmi elles, plusieurs utilisent le numérique comme levier.

Initier des enseignants du Nunavik à la programmation informatique

Dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche, un groupe de pédagogues s’est récemment rendu au Nunavik, plus précisément à l’école Ajagutak de la Commission scolaire Kativik. L’objectif : sensibiliser les enseignants au potentiel pédagogique de la programmation informatique et leur faire vivre des activités en lien avec l’enseignement des sciences et des mathématiques. L’équipe témoigne de son expérience dans ce texte. 

Connectés pour être ensemble : le rendez-vous annuel du RÉCIT

Les 26 et 27 septembre dernier, s’est tenu l'événement phare du RÉCIT, la Formation conjointe et collaborative (FCC), sous le thème « Connectés pour être ensemble». Plusieurs personnes étaient réunies à l'Hôtel Mortagne de Boucherville tandis que d'autres ont pu profiter à distance de certains ateliers qui étaient offerts en comodalité, prouvant ainsi que la distance n'empêche pas la connectivité ni le partage d’information!