ADVERTISEMENT

3 tools to assess your digital competence

What does “develop digital skills” mean? And how do you take a look at yourself to find your place? We offer 3 tools to help you see more clearly.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Online shopping, banking transactions, videoconferences with family and friends, virtual tours of museums, distance learning courses, the lark! Digital technology is more present than ever in everyone's daily life and the importance of developing digital skills is on everyone's lips. But, what does “develop digital skills” mean? And how do you take a look at yourself to find your place? We offer 3 tools to help you see more clearly.

In addition to starting with a self-diagnostic test, these tools suggest exercises to develop different aspects of digital competence. Share them with your students' parents too!

1- Competencenumerique.ca

In Quebec, the Reference framework for digital competence was presented in 2019 and has become an essential reference tool in schools, and even in certain professional circles.

Since December 2020, the digital platform Digitalcompetence.ca is available to elementary and secondary school teachers and students. Versions for the general public as well as for post-secondary levels will eventually be added. On the platform, it is possible to carry out a placement test against the 12 dimensions of digital competence, as set out in the Reference Framework. 

Depending on the diagnosis, and always taking into account the user's profile, learning activities are offered to enable them to progress in their mastery of the various dimensions. Each dimension represents a different path which is entirely personalized according to the initial result of the test. 

The user can therefore cross the novice, intermediate, competent, advanced and expert levels for each of the dimensions. As he progresses, he collects badges and badges, to obtain a certificate in the end. This fun aspect of the process was mainly implemented to stimulate student engagement.

Bonus: a digital skill escape game, in line with the Quebec Reference Framework and prepared by Damir Metz-Fleury, resource teacher at RÉCIT of the Marguerite-Bourgeoys School Services Center

2- Pix

Pix is the French public service to assess, develop and certify its digital skills. This online service, developed in large part by the Ministry of National Education in France, aims to "help every citizen to cultivate their digital skills throughout life". You can register for free and take a sample test to check the extent of your digital skills.

The tool makes it possible to assess mastery in 5 areas and 16 digital skills, based on the European reference framework DigComp.

  1. Information and data
  2. Communication and collaboration
  3. Content creation
  4. Protection and security
  5. Digital environment

New for a few weeks : challenges, kinds of digital knowledge questions, which Pix invites you to answer without searching on the Web or in your digital environment. Will you be successful?

3- The Digital Competence Wheel

The Digital Competence Wheel is a polar diagram that visually illustrates the strength of 16 different digital skills, like Research, Collaboration, Digital Identity Management, Data Protection, and more. This tool is available in English only.

Each column represents a skill with a possible score between 0 and 100 %. The higher the score, the stronger the skill. The center of the wheel displays your total digital skill score. As the end result is very visual, it provides an easy-to-understand overview of which dimensions of digital competence have been mastered and which need to be improved. 

The Digital Skills Wheel was developed in Denmark by the Center for Digital Dannelse, which has been engaged in digitization and digital education since 2009, also based on the European reference framework DigComp.

So, are you going to test your digital skill?


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
9- Adopt a perspective of personal and professional development with digital technology in a position of empowerment

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

3 outils pour évaluer sa compétence numérique

Ça veut dire quoi « développer sa compétence numérique »? Et comment poser un regard sur soi-même pour se situer? Nous vous proposons 3 outils pour vous aider à y voir plus clair.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Achats en ligne, transactions bancaires, vidéoconférences avec la famille et les amis, visites virtuelles de musées, cours à distance, alouette! Le numérique est plus présent que jamais dans la vie quotidienne de tous et l’importance de développer sa compétence numérique est sur toutes les lèvres. Mais, ça veut dire quoi « développer sa compétence numérique »? Et comment poser un regard sur soi-même pour se situer? Nous vous proposons 3 outils pour vous aider à y voir plus clair.

En plus de débuter par un test d’autodiagnostic, ces outils vous suggèrent des exercices pour développer différents aspects de la compétence numérique. Partagez-les avec les parents de vos élèves aussi!

1- Competencenumerique.ca

Au Québec, le Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique a été présenté en 2019 et est devenu un outil de référence incontournable dans le milieu scolaire, et même dans certains milieux professionnels.

Depuis décembre 2020, la plateforme numérique Competencenumerique.ca est offerte aux enseignants et aux élèves du primaire et du secondaire. Des versions grand public ainsi que pour les niveaux postsecondaires s’ajouteront éventuellement. Sur la plateforme, il est possible de réaliser un test de positionnement par rapport aux 12 dimensions de la compétence numérique, telles qu’énoncées dans le Cadre de référence. 

En fonction du diagnostic, et toujours en tenant compte du profil de l’usager, des activités d’apprentissage sont proposées afin de lui permettre de progresser dans sa maîtrise des différentes dimensions. Chaque dimension représente un parcours différent qui est entièrement personnalisé en fonction du résultat initial au test. 

L’usager peut donc franchir les niveaux novice, intermédiaire, compétent, avancé et expert pour chacune des dimensions. Au fur et à mesure de sa progression, il récolte des badges et des écussons, pour obtenir un certificat au final. Cet aspect ludique du cheminement a été principalement mis en place afin de stimuler l’engagement des élèves.

Bonus : un jeu d’évasion de la compétence numérique, en adéquation avec le Cadre de référence québécois et préparé par Damir Metz-Fleury, enseignant ressource au RÉCIT du Centre de services scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys

2- Pix

Pix est le service public français pour évaluer, développer et certifier ses compétences numériques. Ce service en ligne, développé en grande partie par le ministère de l’Éducation nationale en France, vise à « amener chaque citoyen à cultiver ses compétences numériques tout au long de la vie ». On peut s’y inscrire gratuitement et réaliser un test exemple pour vérifier l’étendue de ses compétences numériques.

L’outil permet d’évaluer la maîtrise dans 5 domaines et sur 16 compétences numériques, se basant sur le Cadre de référence européen DigComp.

  1. Information et données
  2. Communication et collaboration
  3. Création de contenu
  4. Protection et sécurité
  5. Environnement numérique

Nouveau depuis quelques semaines : des défis, sortes de questions de savoirs numériques, auxquelles Pix vous invite à répondre sans chercher sur le Web ni dans votre environnement numérique. Réussirez-vous?

3- The Digital Competence Wheel

The Digital Competence Wheel est un diagramme polaire qui illustre visuellement la force de 16 compétences numériques différentes, comme Recherche, Collaboration, Gestion de l’identité numérique, Protection des données, etc. Cet outil est disponible en anglais uniquement.

Chaque colonne représente une compétence avec un score possible entre 0 et 100 %. Plus le score est élevé, plus la compétence est forte. Le centre de la roue affiche le score de votre compétence numérique totale. Comme le résultat final est très visuel, elle offre une vue d’ensemble facile à comprendre des dimensions de la compétence numérique maîtrisées et de celles qui doivent être améliorées. 

La roue des compétences numériques a été développée au Danemark par le Centre for Digital Dannelse, qui s’est engagé dans la numérisation et l’éducation numérique depuis 2009, également basé sur le Cadre de référence européen DigComp.

Alors, allez-vous tester votre compétence numérique?


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
9- Adopter une perspective de développement personnel et professionnel avec le numérique dans une posture d’autonomisation

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :