A day dedicated to professional development

The 3rd Summit of Professional Development in Education (#SommetDP) was eagerly awaited. The event, organized by CADRE21 and many partners (including École branchée), was postponed last year due to the pandemic. It was worth the wait and the particularly rich exchanges throughout the day, both on stage between the invited panelists and in the chat between the participants. Here is our report.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The 3rd Summit of Professional Development in Education (#SommetDP) was eagerly awaited. The event, organized by CADRE21 and many partners (including École branchée), was postponed last year due to the pandemic. It was worth the wait and the particularly rich exchanges throughout the day, both on stage between the invited panelists and in the chat between the participants.

“Professional development is a complex process that must be done in synergy between the various actors, whether they are close to home or from further afield. In 2022, many possibilities are open to us, ”testified Isabelle Turcotte, from the First Seigneuries School Services Center, in the chat.

The 3rd DP Summit aimed to highlight the winning conditions for professional development in the field under three angles in particular: continuing education, leadership and support, as well as professional integration. We present to you a summary of the discussions around each theme.

Panel on continuing education

"You have to bet on the desire to teach and the pleasure of learning or the pleasure of teaching and the desire to learn," said Henri Boudreault, vice-dean of studies at the Faculty of Education of UQAM.

New Professional skills framework for the teaching profession from the Quebec Ministry of Education was at the heart of the first panel of the day. Remember that this repository was updated and published in the last few months. 

Panelists were first asked to name the skills that were most important to them. Competencies 9 and 10, which aim for collaboration (Get actively involved in the school team and Collaborate with family and community partners), and competency 13, which relates to interpersonal skills (Act in accordance with the ethical principles of the profession), were particularly highlighted.

The panelists took turns arguing that initial training is no longer an end in itself but should be seen as a first step towards other learning approaches. Everyone has an interest in adopting a lifelong learner posture. The teacher is neither more nor less than the lead learner in his class! 

Moreover, the challenge for academia to get closer to practice still remains. “There is an issue of alignment between the initial training of teachers and the reality on the ground. We must succeed in giving meaning. Students must be encouraged to develop their ability to adapt, because the realities in schools are dynamic and constantly changing, ”Mr. Boudreault said.

In addition, collaboration between teachers has emerged as a central element of in-service training. "A teacher's worst enemy is himself if he works alone," said Boudreault bluntly. However, collaboration needs to be organized and planned for it to work. By setting specific goals, bringing together interested people, and providing spaces for feedback and quick, concrete application, positive results can be achieved.

“Let’s give time, moments, situations to allow teachers to meet and discuss. We must encourage mutual aid and sharing, ”Mr. Boudreault also said. As several have pointed out, however, time is sorely lacking in the school world. This remains a challenge for all. 

Collaboration vs. Cooperation

  • Collaboration: Take advantage of each other's strengths to carry out a project
  • Cooperation: Separate tasks between each individual to lead a project

Here is the croquinote (sketchnote) produced by our colleague Laurie Couture to summarize the discussions of the first panel: 

Leadership and support panel

"As a school principal, collaboration with the pedagogical advisor is essential for me, for the professional development of my school team and the success of the students", wrote Anne-Claude Poirier in the chat.

As a common thread, the competence to collaborate was part of the 2nd panel of the day while the components and events of the combined competence were at the center of the discussions. Combined competence refers to a working dyad made up of an educational advisor and a school principal. The two are twinned in order to take advantage of each other's strengths and bring about a form of interprofessional collaboration.

Once again, the panelists made it clear that it is not enough to place two people together for convincing results to emerge. “We cannot force collaboration, we have to encourage it, put winning conditions in place. Moreover, in the school environment, student success should always be the backdrop for any collaboration. 

Concretely, the combined competence implies:

  • Create a working alliance;
  • Plan action situations according to the established aim;
  • Mobilize the interactive resources necessary for the intervention situation;
  • Regulate practices throughout the professional intervention situation.

In short, you have to believe in it, give yourself the time and resources, then persevere in any support and collaboration process. While collaboration is to be planned, it must also leave room for flexibility. “Sometimes you have to step back in order to move forward better. "

The ultimate objective of the combined competence is to allow the two twins to develop a professional bond.

Here is the croquinote (sketchnote) directed by Amy Tran to summarize the discussions of the first panel:

Panel on professional integration

"Psychological support is very important in the teaching profession," Khadija Himmi commented in the chat.

The current context no longer makes it possible to ignore the challenges of professional integration into the teaching profession. Although there is a common intention to promote the welfare of novice teachers, who are graduating from college, and new "non-certified" (or "non-legally qualified" - NLQ) teachers, who are more and more numerous, there is still very little data allowing to evaluate and quantify the actions implemented.

The discussion held during the 3rd panel gave way to benevolence, openness and the importance of creating links between new teachers and their environment. “Hospitality is such an important key to professional well-being,” Hélène Cormier responded in the chat.

It appears that in the constant hubbub in schools, novice teachers are afraid to ask their colleagues for help. They would be afraid of disturbing, of being frowned upon with their questions. This is how the panelists named the importance of creating a favorable climate to welcome new teachers. The staff room then becomes a central place which must be synonymous with positivism. 

For example, Karina Saint-Germain, from the Saint-Hyacinthe School Services Center, shared an experience of welcoming “non-certified” teachers: five half-days of training were offered to new teachers in August, just before the start of the school year, in order to promote their integration and to introduce them to the people to consult if necessary (presentation of the functioning of schools, resources used, teaching strategies, class management, planning and evaluation of learning, etc.)

Anyone with experience in a school can have a positive influence on novice teachers. Every little bit counts. This is what emerged from the discussions.

Here is the croquinote (sketchnote) produced by Marie-Andrée Ouimet to summarize the discussions of the first panel:

And as a bonus, a photo taken behind the scene of this last panel of the day, hosted by our colleague Stéphanie Dionne:

The recordings of the three panels and the summary of the day will be available on the DP Summit website in the next few days.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une journée sous le signe du développement professionnel

Le 3e Sommet du développement professionnel en éducation (#SommetDP) était fort attendu. L’événement, organisé par le CADRE21 et de nombreux partenaires (dont l’École branchée), avait été reporté l’an dernier en raison de la pandémie. L’attente en aura valu la peine et les échanges particulièrement riches tout au long de la journée, autant sur scène entre les panélistes invités que dans le clavardage entre les participants. Voici notre compte-rendu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Le 3e Sommet du développement professionnel en éducation (#SommetDP) était fort attendu. L’événement, organisé par le CADRE21 et de nombreux partenaires (dont l’École branchée), avait été reporté l’an dernier en raison de la pandémie. L’attente en aura valu la peine et les échanges particulièrement riches tout au long de la journée, autant sur scène entre les panélistes invités que dans le clavardage entre les participants.

« Le développement professionnel est un processus complexe qui doit se faire en synergie entre les divers acteurs, que ce soit ceux de proximité ou de plus loin. En 2022, bien des possibilités s’offrent à nous », a témoigné Isabelle Turcotte, du Centre de services scolaire des Premières-Seigneuries, dans le clavardage.

Le 3e Sommet DP visait à mettre en lumière les conditions gagnantes du développement professionnel sur le terrain sous trois angles en particulier : la formation continue , le leadership et l’accompagnement, ainsi que l’insertion professionnelle. Nous vous présentons un résumé des échanges autour de chaque thème.

Panel sur la formation continue

« Il faut miser sur le désir d’enseigner et le plaisir d’apprendre ou le plaisir d’enseigner et le désir d’apprendre », a indiqué Henri Boudreault, vice-doyen aux études de la faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’UQAM.

Le nouveau Référentiel de compétences professionnelles de la profession enseignante du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec a été au cœur du premier panel de la journée. Rappelons que ce référentiel a été mis à jour et publié au cours des tout derniers mois. 

Les panélistes ont d’abord été invités à nommer les compétences qui étaient les plus importantes pour eux. Les compétences 9 et 10, qui visent la collaboration (S’impliquer activement au sein de l’équipe-école et Collaborer avec la famille et les partenaires de la communauté), et la compétence 13, qui touche au savoir-être (Agir en accord avec les principes éthiques de la profession), ont particulièrement été mises de l’avant.

Les panélistes ont fait valoir à tour de rôle que la formation initiale n’est plus une fin en soi mais qu’elle doit être considérée comme un premier jalon vers d’autres démarches d’apprentissage. Tous ont intérêt à adopter une posture d’apprenant tout au long de la vie. L’enseignant, c’est ni plus ni moins que l’apprenant en chef dans sa classe! 

D’ailleurs, le défi pour le milieu universitaire de se rapprocher de la pratique subsiste toujours. « Il y a un enjeu d’arrimage entre la formation initiale des enseignants et la réalité sur le terrain. Il faut réussir à donner du sens. Il faut amener les étudiants à développer leur capacité d’adaptation, car les réalités dans les écoles sont dynamiques et changent constamment », a d’ailleurs soutenu M. Boudreault.

De plus, la collaboration entre les enseignants est apparue comme un élément central de la formation continue. « Le pire ennemi d’un enseignant, c’est lui-même s’il travaille seul », a lancé M. Boudreault sans détour. Néanmoins, la collaboration doit être organisée et planifiée afin qu’elle donne des résultats. En se fixant des objectifs précis, en réunissant les personnes intéressées et en offrant des espaces de rétroaction et d’application concrète et rapide, il est possible d’arriver à des résultats positifs.

« Donnons du temps, des moments, des situations pour permettre aux enseignants de se rencontrer et d’échanger. Il faut provoquer l’entraide et le partage », a aussi dit M. Boudreault. Tel que plusieurs l’ont souligné toutefois, le temps fait cruellement défaut dans le monde scolaire. Cela demeure un défi pour tous. 

Collaboration vs. Coopération

  • Collaboration : Tirer profit des forces de chacun pour mener un projet
  • Coopération : Séparer les tâches entre chaque individu pour mener un projet

Voici le croquinote (sketchnote) réalisé par notre collègue Laurie Couture pour résumer les échanges du premier panel : 

Panel Leadership et accompagnement

« En tant que directrice d’école, la collaboration avec le conseiller pédagogique est indispensable pour moi, pour le développement professionnel de mon équipe-école et la réussite des élèves », a écrit Anne-Claude Poirier dans le clavardage.

Tel un fil conducteur, la compétence à collaborer a fait partie du 2e panel de la journée alors que les composantes et les manifestations de la compétence conjuguée ont été au centre des échanges. La compétence conjuguée fait référence à une dyade de travail formée d’un conseiller pédagogique et d’une direction d’école. Les deux sont jumelés afin de tirer profit des forces de l’un et l’autre et de faire émerger une forme de collaboration interprofessionnelle.

Encore une fois, les panélistes ont tenu à préciser qu’il ne suffit pas de placer deux personnes ensemble pour que des résultats probants émergent. « On ne peut pas forcer la collaboration, il faut la susciter, mettre des conditions gagnantes en place. » Par ailleurs, dans le milieu scolaire, la réussite des élèves devrait toujours être en toile de fond de toute collaboration. 

De façon concrète, la compétence conjuguée implique de :

  • Créer une alliance de travail;
  • Planifier des situations d’action en fonction de la visée établie;
  • Mobiliser les ressources interactives nécessaires à la situation d’intervention;
  • Réguler les pratiques tout au cours de la situation d’intervention professionnelle.

Bref, il faut y croire, se donner le temps et les moyens, puis persévérer dans toute démarche d’accompagnement et de collaboration. Si la collaboration doit être planifiée, elle doit aussi laisser la place à la flexibilité. « Il faut parfois reculer pour mieux avancer. »

L’objectif ultime de la compétence conjuguée est de permettre aux deux jumelés de développer une complicité professionnelle.

Voici le croquinote (sketchnote) réalisé par Amy Tran pour résumer les échanges du premier panel :

Panel sur l’insertion professionnelle

« Le soutien psychologique est très important dans les métiers de l’enseignement », a commenté Khadija Himmi dans le clavardage.

Le contexte actuel ne permet plus de faire fi des enjeux d’insertion professionnelle dans la profession enseignante. Bien qu’il y ait une intention commune de favoriser le bien-être des enseignants novices, qui sortent de l’université, et des nouveaux enseignants « non-détenteurs de brevet » (ou « non-légalement qualifiés » – NLQ), qui sont de plus en plus nombreux, il existe encore bien peu de données permettant d’évaluer et quantifier les actions mises en place.

La discussion qui s’est tenue lors du 3e panel a fait place à la bienveillance, à l’ouverture et à l’importance de la création de liens entre les enseignants débutants et leur milieu. « L’accueil est une clé tellement importante dans le bien-être professionnel », a d’ailleurs réagi Hélène Cormier dans le clavardage.

Il apparaît que, dans le brou-ha-ha permanent dans les écoles, les enseignants novices ont peur de demander de l’aide à leurs collègues. Ils craigneraient de déranger, d’être mal perçus avec leurs questions. C’est ainsi que les panélistes ont nommé l’importance de créer un climat favorable pour accueillir les nouveaux enseignants. La salle du personnel devient alors un un lieu central qui doit être synonyme de positivisme. 

Par exemple, Karina Saint-Germain, du Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe, a partagé une expérience d’accueil des enseignants « non-détenteurs de brevet » : cinq demi-journées de formation ont été offertes aux nouveaux enseignants en août, juste avant la rentrée, afin de favoriser leur insertion et de leur présenter les personnes à consulter en cas de besoin (présentation du fonctionnement des écoles, ressources utilisées, stratégies d’enseignement, gestion de classe, planification et évaluation des apprentissages, etc.)

Tout intervenant d’expérience dans une école peut avoir une influence positive sur des enseignants novices. Chaque petit geste compte. Voilà ce qui est ressorti des échanges.

Voici le croquinote (sketchnote) réalisé par Marie-Andrée Ouimet pour résumer les échanges du premier panel :

Et en prime, une photo prise derrière la scène de ce dernier panel de la journée, animée par notre collègue Stéphanie Dionne :

Les enregistrements des trois panels et de la synthèse de la journée seront disponibles sur le site Web du Sommet DP dans les prochains jours.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :