ADVERTISEMENT

Day 4 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: the development of the digital skills of Finnish teachers

Numerous initiatives for the development of digital pedagogical competence exist for Finnish teachers. Here are a few.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and document it here!

During my stopover in Joensuu, I was able to meet the postdoctoral researcher Sini Kontkanen of the'University of Eastern Finland (UEF). The latter is working on various projects which aim to develop the digital skills of Finnish teachers. She is part of a group nicknamed " TOTY », Which has existed for three decades, well before the advent of the Internet in our homes! This is a particularly pioneering approach: studying digital technology and its uses in the classroom since the early 1990s! At the time, these researchers studied in particular the degree of agency of teachers in their appropriation of digital tools. Thirty years later, this subject is still relevant today, as various programs, measures and regulations compete in strategy to support teachers in their digital shift, in Quebec as elsewhere.

 "OpenDigiTaito"

Since that time, many megabits have passed through our cables and the situation has evolved into the current portrayal, in 2021. The program “ OpenDigiTaito (“Open” means “teacher”, “Digi” means digital and “Taito” means “competence”) was born from the results of another preliminary research: Prep21. This research came to an end in 2018 and was a collaborative initiative involving three Finnish universities, the aim of which was to develop the professional skills of future teachers, also known as “21st century skills” in teaching.

"OpenDigiTaito" aims to develop digital skills according to three components, each developed by the expertise of three Finnish universities. The UEF is developing the escape games component, that of Lapland is focusing on distance learning and, finally, the University of Oulu is developing the popular STEM/STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering ( "Engineering") and Mathematics. The "A" refers to the integration of the arts in certain programs). The program has been awarded significant funding from the Academy of Finland, amounting to 420,000 euros.

It basically has three inescapable goals.

  • First, it is a question of developing multiplier agents who will be able to return to their environment in order, then, to influence and support their colleagues in their respective environments and in their network in the changes in pedagogical practices.
  • Second, it seeks to facilitate collaboration between teachers through the use of the digital tools available to them.
  • Finally, measures have been put in place so that this collaboration can turn into a spontaneous peer support network, led by competent teachers who are confident in the use of pedagogical tools.

 "DigiErko"

Another program that has taken root in recent years, in line with those discussed above, is that of specialization studies in learning and teaching in digital environments (DigiErko). According to researcher Kotkanen herself, the program has a transformative vocation in terms of the educational vision and that of the sometimes negative perception of the use of digital tools that the teacher can maintain, consciously or not.

The two-year program awards 60 university credits and uses a variety of pedagogical approaches allowing for networking, practice sharing, reflective circles and various presentations. Aimed at teachers with more than three years of experience, it allows for a transition in terms of practice. The teacher-student will develop his pedagogical engineering skills, which have the potential to propel his career.

In this regard, some management complained that teachers had been recruited by the industrial sector to provide continuing training for employees of large companies… It can play hard in Finland!

In total, around 200 teachers have been trained by the three partner universities: Turku, Helsinki and UEF. According to data collected by previous universities, four main reasons motivate teachers to enroll in “DigiErko”:

  1. For the sake of professional development, to improve practice and obtain new qualifications;
  2. To further develop their expertise and fuel their personal and professional motivation;
  3. To model digital pedagogical integration practices;
  4. So as not to “miss the boat”. These teachers feel the carpet slipping under their feet in terms of the development of their pedagogical skills: when the scale of external change supplants that of the interior, it is indeed time to take measures to evolve at the rate of social expectations.

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 4 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : le développement de la compétence pédagonumérique des enseignants finlandais

De nombreuses initiatives de développement de la compétence pédagonumérique existent pour les enseignants finlandais. En voici quelques-unes.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

Lors de mon escale à Joensuu, j’ai pu rencontrer la chercheuse postdoctorale Sini Kontkanen de l’Université de Finlande orientale (UEF). Cette dernière travaille sur divers projets qui ont pour but de développer la compétence pédagonumérique des enseignants finlandais. Elle fait partie d’un groupe surnommé « TOTY », qui existe depuis trois décennies, soit bien avant l’avènement d’Internet dans nos foyers! Voilà une approche particulièrement précurseure : étudier le numérique et ses usages dans la classe depuis le début des années 1990! À l’époque, ces chercheurs étudiaient notamment le degré d’agentivité des enseignants dans leur appropriation des outils numériques. Trente ans plus tard, ce sujet est toujours d’actualité, alors que divers programmes, mesures et règlements rivalisent de stratégie pour accompagner les enseignants dans leur virage numérique, et ce, au Québec comme ailleurs.

 « OpenDigiTaito »

Depuis ce temps, bien des mégabits ont passé dans nos câbles et la situation a bien évolué pour devenir le portait actuel, en 2021. Le programme « OpenDigiTaito » (« Open » veut dire « enseignant », « Digi » veut dire numérique et « Taito » veut dire « compétence ») est né des résultats d’une autre recherche préalable : Prep21. Cette recherche est venue à terme en 2018 et elle était une initiative collaborative impliquant trois universités finlandaises, dont le but était de développer les compétences professionnelles des futurs enseignants, aussi connues sous le vocable de « compétences du 21e siècle » en enseignement.

« OpenDigiTaito » vise le développement de la compétence numérique selon trois volets, chacun développés par l’expertise de trois universités finlandaises. L’UEF développe le volet des jeux d’évasion, celle de Laponie se concentre sur l’enseignement à distance et, enfin, l’Université d’Oulu, elle, développe les populaires volets STEM/STEAM (Science, Technologie, Ingénierie (« Engineering ») et Mathématique. Le « A » réfère à l’intégration des arts dans certains programmes). Le programme s’est vu attribuer un important financement de la part de l’Académie de la Finlande, soit 420 000 euros.

Il a essentiellement trois objectifs incontournables.

  • Premièrement, il est question de développer des agents multiplicateurs qui pourront retourner dans leur milieu pour, ensuite, influencer et soutenir leurs collègues dans leurs milieux respectifs et dans leur réseau dans les changements de pratiques pédagonumériques.
  • Deuxièmement, il cherche à faciliter la collaboration entre les enseignants grâce à l’utilisation des outils numériques mis à leur disposition.
  • Enfin, des mesures sont mises en place pour que cette collaboration puisse se transformer en réseau d’aide spontané par les pairs, mené par des enseignants compétents et confiants à l’usage des outils pédagonumériques.

 « DigiErko »

Un autre programme a pris racine ces dernières années, dans la lignée de ceux dont il a été question au préalable est celui des études de spécialisation en apprentissage et en enseignement dans des environnements numériques (DigiErko). De l’aveu même de la chercheuse Kotkanen, le programme a une vocation transformatrice sur le plan de la vision pédagogique et sur celui de la perception parfois négative de l’utilisation des outils numériques que l’enseignant peut entretenir, consciemment ou non.

Le programme, d’une durée de deux années, octroie 60 crédits universitaires et utilise une variété d’approches pédagogiques permettant le réseautage, les partages de pratique, les cercles réflexifs et diverses présentations. Destiné aux enseignants qui ont plus de trois années d’expérience, il permet une transition sur le plan des pratiques. L’enseignant-étudiant développera ses capacités d’ingénierie pédagogique, lesquelles ont le potentiel de propulser sa carrière.

À ce sujet, des directions se seraient plaintes que des enseignants avaient été recrutés par le secteur industriel pour voir à la formation continue des employés de grandes entreprises… Ça peut jouer dur en Finlande!

Au total, ce sont environ 200 enseignants qui ont été formés par les trois universités partenaires : Turku, Helsinki et UEF. Selon les données recueillies par les universités précédentes, quatre principales raisons motivent les enseignants à s’inscrire à « DigiErko » :

  1. Par souci de développement professionnel, pour améliorer sa pratique et obtenir de nouvelles qualifications;
  2. Pour pousser plus loin son expertise et alimenter sa motivation personnelle et professionnelle;
  3. Pour modéliser les pratiques d’intégration pédagogique du numérique;
  4. Pour ne pas « manquer le bateau ». Ces enseignants sentent le tapis glisser sous leurs pieds sur le plan du développement de leurs compétences pédagonumériques : quand l’ampleur du changement extérieur supplante celui de l’intérieur, il est effectivement le temps de prendre les mesures pour évoluer au rythme des attentes sociales.

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée

L'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!