ADVERTISEMENT

Day 5 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: initial training for Finnish teachers

The initial education of Finnish teachers is a long road leading to one of the most valued professions in Finland. Here are the highlights.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and document it here!

(co-written with Marie-Andrée Croteau)

The teaching profession is one of the most socially valued in Finland. This is not for nothing: on the one hand, all Finnish teachers have had a master's degree in education since the early 1980s. Many go on to doctorate. It is therefore not uncommon to have doctors of education in the classroom, working with students of all ages. In addition to being practitioners, regardless of whether they have a graduate degree or a postgraduate degree, they are all educational researchers. In addition, access to teacher training is highly restricted. Indeed, approximately 10% of the candidates who formulate an application in one of the ten faculties of education are accepted. Don't become a teacher who wants to!

De facto, teachers enjoy an enviable social status and credibility. Teacher training lasts 5 years through which various courses in pedagogy, psychology and didactics intertwine with four internships spread over the duration of studies. These take place in so-called “normal” schools (“normaalikoulu” (primary) or “normaalukio” (secondary)), in this case schools belonging to universities, managed by faculties of education. The latter, by their existence, have four main objectives:

  1. Educate students enrolled in the school to respect ministerial and local programs;
  2. Train teaching students, commonly referred to as teaching trainees;
  3. Carry out basic or action research activities directly in schools, with teachers, students and even parents and other staff. It is a question of seeing to educational development and, more generally, to educational development;
  4. Develop in-service training activities for existing teachers all over Finland. Normal schools radiate across the Finnish school landscape and are seen as role models.

In addition, it is not uncommon for an associate teacher, referred to here as a mentor, to be responsible for 4 or 5 trainees simultaneously. We can therefore meet 200 trainees at the same time in large teacher-training colleges such as those in Joensuu, which is the largest teacher-training college in Finland with its four teacher-training colleges which have more than 1,400 students and 190 teachers and support staff. In total, around 850 trainees pass annually through the network of teacher training colleges.University of Eastern Finland, located in Joensuu.

We met one of these mentors, Maja, who, during her doctoral studies, conducted a study about the level of engagement of education interns in their university studies. She drew some preliminary conclusions, including the following which is particularly interesting: not surprisingly, the level of commitment to the pursuit of their studies depends on the support offered by the mentors in terms of professional development on two levels. On the one hand, support for the teaching task which includes planning, evaluation and piloting of educational activities is essential. However, the teacher's preliminary finding highlights the importance of supporting initiatives and asserting the professional identity of these future teachers. In other words, if the latter are called upon to become independent education professionals, they might as well practice from the internships!

As in Quebec, the internships provide for a level of support that evolves, from a simple observation internship to full support for the class for a few weeks. Here is an overview:

Stage 1: develop students' knowledge and learning environments through an orientation course in the profession;

Stage 2: Learn, in an elementary way, to teach disciplinary contents related to the disciplines to be taught;

Stage 3: Learn, in depth, to teach disciplinary content related to the disciplines to be taught;

Stage 4: Take full charge of a group by linking theory and practice.

For more information on Joensuu Normal Schools and Initial Teacher Education, click here.

Once the courses and data collection are completed, future teachers must write their master's thesis before obtaining their teaching certificate.

Note that teaching interns are not remunerated.

Finally, it is interesting to know that there is also a dropout phenomenon among Finnish teachers. Sadly, 23% of young teachers, with less than 5 years of experience, are thinking of leaving the profession given the workload and the complexity of the task.

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 5 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : la formation initiale des enseignants finlandais

La formation initiale des enseignants finlandais est un long parcours menant à l'une des professions les plus valorisées en Finlande. En voici les grandes lignes.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

(co-écrit avec Marie-Andrée Croteau)

La profession enseignante est l’une des plus valorisées socialement en Finlande. Ce n’est pas pour rien: d’une part, tous les enseignants finlandais détiennent, depuis le début des années 80, une maîtrise en éducation. Plusieurs poursuivent au doctorat. Il n’est donc pas rare de compter des docteurs en éducation dans les classes, à pied d’oeuvre avec les élèves de tous les âges. En plus d’être des praticiens, peu importe s’ils sont titulaires d’un diplôme de deuxième ou de troisième cycle universitaire, ils sont tous des chercheurs en éducation. De plus, l’accès à la formation des maîtres est très contingenté. En effet, environ 10% des candidats qui formulent une demande dans l’une des dix facultés d’éducations sont acceptés. Ne devient pas enseignant qui le souhaite!

De facto, les enseignants jouissent d’un statut social et d’une crédibilité enviables. La formation des maîtres dure 5 ans à travers lesquels divers cours de pédagogie, de psychologie et de didactique s’entremêlent de quatre stages répartis sur la durée des études. Ces derniers se déroulent dans les écoles dites « normales » (« normaalikoulu » (primaire) ou « normaalukio » (secondaire)), en occurence des écoles qui appartiennent aux universités, gérées par les facultés d’éducation. Ces dernières, par leur existence, visent quatre principaux objectifs :

  1. Éduquer les élèves inscrits à l’école au respect des programmes ministériels et locaux;
  2. Former les étudiants en enseignement, communément appelés les stagiaires en enseignement;
  3. Mener des activités de recherche fondamentale ou de recherche-action directement dans les écoles, auprès des enseignants, des élèves et même des parents et autres membres du personnel. Il est question de voir au développement pédagogique et, de façon plus globale, au développement en éducation;
  4. Développer des activités de formation continue pour les enseignants déjà en poste, partout en Finlande. Les écoles normales rayonnent partout dans le paysage scolaire finlandais et elles sont considérées comme des modèles à suivre.

Par ailleurs, il n’est pas rare qu’un enseignant associé, qu’on appelle ici un mentor, ait la charge de 4 ou 5 stagiaires simultanément. On peut donc croiser 200 stagiaires en même temps dans les grandes écoles normales comme celles de Joensuu, qui est la plus grande école normale en Finlande avec ses quatre écoles normales qui comptent plus de 1400 élèves et 190 enseignants et membres du personnel de soutien. Au total, environ 850 stagiaires passent annuellement par le réseau d’écoles normales de l’Université de la Finlande orientale, située à Joensuu.

Nous avons rencontré l’une de ces mentors, Maja, qui, dans le cours de ses études doctorales, a mené une étude à propos du niveau d’engagement des stagiaires en éducation dans leurs études universitaires. Elle en a tiré quelques conclusions préliminaires, dont la suivante qui est particulièrement intéressante : sans surprise, le niveau d’engagement dans la poursuite de leurs études dépend du soutien offert par les mentors en ce qui a trait au développement professionnel sur deux plans. D’une part, le soutien à la tâche enseignante qui inclut la planification, l’évaluation, le pilotage d’activités pédagogiques est incontournable. Toutefois, la trouvaille préliminaire de l’enseignante-chercheuse met en exergue l’importance du soutien aux initiatives et à l’affirmation de l’identité professionnelle de ces futurs enseignants. Autrement écrit, si ces derniers sont appelés à devenir des professionnels de l’éducation autonomes, aussi bien s’exercer dès les stages!

Comme au Québec, les stages prévoient un niveau de prise en charge qui évolue, partant du simple stage d’observation jusqu’à la prise en charge totale de la classe pendant quelques semaines. Voici un aperçu :

Stage 1 : développer les connaissances des élèves et des environnements d’apprentissage grâce à un stage d’orientation dans la profession;

Stage 2 : Apprendre, de façon élémentaire, à enseigner des contenus disciplinaires liés aux disciplines à enseigner;

Stage 3 : Apprendre, de façon approfondie, à enseigner des contenus disciplinaires liés aux disciplines à enseigner;

Stage 4 : Prendre en charge de façon complète un groupe en liant théorie et pratique.

Pour de plus amples informations sur les écoles normales de Joensuu et la formation initiale des enseignants, cliquez ici.

Une fois les cours et la collecte de données terminés, les futurs enseignants doivent rédiger leur mémoire de maîtrise avant d’obtenir leur brevet d’enseignement.

À noter que les stagiaires en enseignement ne sont pas rémunérés.

Enfin, il est intéressant de savoir qu’il existe aussi un phénomène de décrochage chez les enseignants finlandais. Malheureusement, 23% des jeunes enseignants, de moins de 5 ans d’expérience, pensent à quitter la profession vu la charge de travail et la complexité de la tâche.

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :