ADVERTISEMENT

ICT in science, essential to compensate for the lack of resources

Some time ago, we invited teachers to tell us about their use of ICT in the classroom. Haddadi Mohamed, a teacher in Morocco, tells us about the advantages he finds there in his science education.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Some time ago, we invited teachers to tell us about their use of ICT in the classroom. Haddadi Mohamed, a teacher in Morocco, tells us about the advantages he finds there in his science education.

Haddadi Mohamed teaches “SVT”, life and earth sciences in secondary school, at Mohamed Zeraktouni college in Nador, Morocco. For him, the wealth of interactive simulations and other resources found on the Web, as well as the possibility of making concepts more concrete for students, constitute major advantages of ICT in the classroom.

In an interview with Infobourg, he cites examples such as the simulations of the movement of tectonic plates, the animated illustration of continental drift, the execution of topographic profiles using software, the observation in groups of blood smears at microscope projected on a large screen, etc.

He also notes that ICT promotes the improvement of the quality of writing among his students. In fact, for 2 years, he has observed a decrease in the number of errors in the transcription of notes and the writing of summaries. “My students are often handicapped by the language proficiency problems accumulated from previous years,” he explains. He believes that being able to project summaries and lecture notes clearly, something that was not possible before, greatly helps the cause. The pupils have the opportunity to see words well, thus to better remember their spelling and, at the same time, to observe the correct structure of sentences.

As a teacher, he also believes that ICTs allow a significant saving of time and an economy of effort in the preparation of the lessons. Interestingly, he notes that they are particularly beneficial in the face of overcrowding of students in a classroom: “ICTs grab students' attention and engage them in lesson development. They also facilitate group observations. Considering the 40 students who regularly make up its classes, all means that can help them concentrate are welcome!

While here, we are fighting against the use of ICT in simple projection, in Haddadi Mohamed's class, this single possibility offers a new promise of accessibility of knowledge and helps pupils in difficulty. It just goes to show that the so-called “efficient” use of ICTs in education really depends on the context ...

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les TIC en sciences, incontournables pour pallier le manque de ressources

Il y a quelque temps, nous avions invité des enseignants à nous parler de leur utilisation des TIC en classe. Haddadi Mohamed, instituteur au Maroc, nous parle des avantages qu’il y trouve dans son enseignement des sciences.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Il y a quelque temps, nous avions invité des enseignants à nous parler de leur utilisation des TIC en classe. Haddadi Mohamed, instituteur au Maroc, nous parle des avantages qu’il y trouve dans son enseignement des sciences.

Haddadi Mohamed enseigne au secondaire les « SVT », sciences de la vie et de la terre, au collège Mohamed Zeraktouni à Nador au Maroc. Pour lui, la richesse des simulations interactives et autres ressources qu’on trouve sur le Web, ainsi que la possibilité de rendre les notions plus concrètes pour les élèves constituent des avantages majeurs des TIC en classe.

En entrevue avec l’Infobourg, il cite des exemples comme les simulations de mouvement des plaques tectoniques, l’illustration animée de la dérive des continents, l’exécution de profils topographiques grâce à des logiciels, l’observation en groupe de frottis sanguins au microscope projeté sur grand écran, etc.

Il constate également que les TIC favorisent l’amélioration de la qualité de l’écriture chez ses élèves. En effet, depuis 2 ans, il observe une diminution du nombre de fautes dans la transcription des notes et la rédaction des synthèses. « Mes élèves sont souvent handicapés par les problèmes de maîtrise de la langue accumulés des années précédentes », explique-t-il. Il croit que la possibilité de projeter les résumés et les notes de cours bien clairement, chose qui n’était pas possible avant, aide grandement la cause. Les élèves ont la possibilité de bien voir les mots, donc de mieux retenir leur orthographe et, par le même fait, d’observer la structure correcte des phrases.

En tant qu’enseignant, il croit aussi que les TIC permettent un gain de temps appréciable et une économie d’efforts dans la préparation des cours. Chose intéressante, il note qu’elles sont particulièrement bénéfiques face à la surpopulation d’élèves dans une classe : « les TICs attirent l’attention des élèves et les engagent dans l’élaboration des leçons. Elles facilitent aussi les observations en groupe. » Considérant les 40 élèves qui composent régulièrement ses classes, tous les moyens qui peuvent les aider à se concentrer sont bienvenus!

Alors qu’ici, on se bat contre l’utilisation des TIC en simple projection, dans la classe de Haddadi Mohamed, cette seule possibilité offre une nouvelle promesse d’accessibilité de la connaissance et vient en aide à des élèves en difficulté. Comme quoi l’utilisation dite « efficace » des TIC en éducation dépend véritablement du contexte…

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :