ADVERTISEMENT

Some benchmarks for practicing science and technology outside the laboratory with elementary and secondary students

Although the practical aspect of science and technology to generate learning and arouse curiosity is recognized, it has been undermined with the pandemic. In this text, Geneviève Allaire-Duquette presents certain benchmarks to guide teachers so that they can allow students to continue their practical learning even outside a laboratory.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Geneviève Allaire-Duquette, University of Sherbrooke

Although the practical aspect of science and technology to generate learning and arouse curiosity is recognized, it has been undermined with the pandemic. Reproducing experimental activities outside the classroom or outside the laboratory is a challenge. We find ourselves cramped, the equipment is lacking, or there is a lack of supervision to ensure a safe operation. What to do then? Certain benchmarks could constitute a reasonable starting point to allow students to continue their practical learning even outside the laboratory.

Why maintain practical science and technology activities in distance education?

All over the world, practical work is considered an essential part of learning science and technology, just as discussion is an essential part of language learning. 

This consensus is found among teaching staff, students, parents, employers and professional scientists who note that experimental sciences and technologies make it possible in particular to appreciate the scientific process, improve the understanding of theoretical concepts, motivate or engage students and develop skills that go beyond the scientific framework, including communication and perseverance.

Surprisingly, despite the growing power of digital technology to simulate the real world, practical science is still valued so much (The Gatsby Charitable Foundation, 2017).

Recently, the pandemic has greatly increased the number of hours students spend learning in virtual mode. This increase is likely to have repercussions on mental health and weaken children's sense of belonging to school (Simpson & Knox, 2020). Ensuring the pedagogical continuity of practical activities in science and technology could help reduce these harmful impacts.

A pilot study has shown that students who carry out scientific and technological experiments as a family at home develop a better community spirit, communicate better and are more inclined to share attitudes (Simpson & Knox, 2020). Several students even continue with the activities once the stated objective has been reached, for example using materials from the recycling bin to design technical objects of their own accord.

Where to start to make science and technology “on the go”?

It may seem difficult to pilot hands-on activities outside of the school or laboratory. To help us, the Education Endowment Foundation (2020) offers some benchmarks to better embark on the adventure of experimental science and technology "to go". Here is a summary and explanation of the most important benchmarks:

1. Above all, think about safety. 

When planning “take-out” science and technology experimental activities, the primary consideration should be student safety. The equipment should be simplified to, for example, minimize the use of blunt objects or the presence of flames by performing pre-cutting of samples or flameless heating, if possible. In the context of a pandemic, it is also necessary to think about reducing or even avoiding the sharing of equipment. If the equipment is shared, it will need to be disinfected, even after its last use.

2. Work in "kits". 

It may be wise to provide educational kits to distribute to students in rotation if the quantity of material is limited. For example, if we experiment with melting, each student can work from a piece of chocolate or an ice cube placed in a plastic bag. Or, to work on magnetism, objects can be placed behind a Plexiglas to avoid their manipulation. We can also put our fellow technicians in practical work or the students to contribute and ensure the cleaning of the equipment when the kits are returned. 

3. Assign roles for taking action. 

To facilitate the involvement of members of the family bubble, specific roles can be assigned for taking measures. For example, in a dissolution experiment, a student might collect the filtrate, a parent might be responsible for handling the thermometer, and a grandparent might take care of the brewing.

4. Film demonstrations. 

As parents may have little experience in supervising practical activities in science and technology, it may be wise to make available online a demonstration that has been filmed with a telephone. This support makes it easier to set up and carry out the experiment. In addition, the demonstration may offer questions for family discussion, for example: "How did the experiment control the variables?" "," Were the results surprising? Why? Or "Was the variable under study appropriate?" Why? ".

5. Experiment outside. 

Conducting experimental activities outdoors can avoid the need to prepare, share, and sanitize equipment. For example, a friction experiment can be conducted outdoors if students are asked to use their pencil case or their own shoes as an experimental setup. It is also possible to ask the pupils to carry out surveys on the different types of soil by asking them to draw their observations.

6. Use simulations. 

Finally, as a last resort, if the material is too dangerous to handle or is not available in sufficient quantity, we can resort to online simulations such as the circuit board (PBS LearningMedia, 2021a) or the melting and boiling (PBS LearningMedia, 2021b).

Experimental sciences and technologies have undoubtedly suffered from the health crisis, because having to deal with an environment without a laboratory, without a classroom or at least with limited access to scientific material can undermine creativity and offer less flexibility to teachers (Education Endowment Foundation, 2020). Students may also feel that they will learn "less" or "less well" than if they had access to a more traditional laboratory.

However, by taking the time to reflect and explore new approaches, it remains possible to offer students the most effective, engaging and frequent experimental activities possible. 

References

Simpson, AM & Knox, PN (2020, October 13). Getting kids - and their caregivers - to practice STEM at home. The Conversation.

This text was first published in the magazine Specter of November 2021, the magazine of the Association for the teaching of science and technology in Quebec.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Quelques repères pour pratiquer les sciences et les technologies hors laboratoire avec les élèves du primaire et du secondaire

Bien que le volet pratique des sciences et technologies pour générer des apprentissages et susciter la curiosité soit reconnu, celui-ci a été mis à mal avec la pandémie. Dans ce texte, Geneviève Allaire-Duquette présente certains repères pour guider les enseignants afin qu'ils puissent permettre aux élèves de poursuivre leurs apprentissages pratiques même hors d'un laboratoire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par Geneviève Allaire-Duquette, Université de Sherbrooke

Bien que le volet pratique des sciences et technologies pour générer des apprentissages et susciter la curiosité soit reconnu, celui-ci a été mis à mal avec la pandémie. Reproduire hors classe ou hors laboratoire les activités expérimentales est un défi. On se trouve à l’étroit, le matériel fait défaut, ou encore on manque d’encadrement pour assurer un déroulement sécuritaire. Que faire alors? Certains repères pourraient constituer un point de départ raisonnable pour permettre aux élèves de poursuivre leurs apprentissages pratiques même hors du laboratoire.

Pourquoi maintenir les activités pratiques de sciences et technologies en enseignement à distance?

Partout à travers le monde, les travaux pratiques sont considérés comme un élément essentiel de l’apprentissage des sciences et technologies, tout comme la discussion est une partie essentielle de l’apprentissage des langues. 

Ce consensus se retrouve chez le personnel enseignant, les étudiants, les parents, les employeurs et les scientifiques professionnels qui constatent que les sciences et technologies expérimentales permettent notamment d’apprécier la démarche scientifique, d’améliorer la compréhension des concepts théoriques, de motiver ou d’engager les élèves et de développer des habiletés qui débordent du cadre scientifique, dont la communication et la persévérance.

Étonnamment, malgré le pouvoir croissant de la technologie numérique pour simuler le monde réel, la science pratique est toujours aussi appréciée (The Gatsby Charitable Foundation, 2017).

Récemment, la pandémie a grandement augmenté le nombre d’heures que les élèves passent à apprendre en mode virtuel. Cette augmentation risque d’entraîner des répercussions sur la santé mentale et d’affaiblir le sentiment d’appartenance à l’école pour les enfants (Simpson et Knox, 2020). Assurer la continuité pédagogique des activités pratiques en sciences et technologies pourrait contribuer à amoindrir ces impacts néfastes.

Une étude pilote a justement révélé que les élèves qui réalisent en famille des expérimentations scientifiques et technologiques à la maison développent un meilleur esprit communautaire, communiquent mieux et se montrent plus enclins à des attitudes de partage (Simpson et Knox, 2020). Plusieurs élèves poursuivent même les activités une fois l’objectif annoncé atteint, utilisant par exemple des matériaux du bac à recyclage pour concevoir des objets techniques de leur propre gré.

Par où commencer pour faire des sciences et technologies « à emporter »?

Il peut sembler difficile de piloter des activités pratiques hors de l’école ou du laboratoire. Pour nous aider, l’Education Endowment Foundation (2020) propose quelques repères pour mieux se lancer dans l’aventure des sciences et technologies expérimentales « à emporter ». Voici un résumé et une explication des repères les plus importants :

1. Avant tout, penser à la sécurité. 

Lors de la planification d’activités expérimentales scientifiques et technologiques « à emporter », la principale considération devrait être la sécurité des élèves. Le matériel devra être simplifié pour, par exemple, minimiser l’utilisation d’objets contondants ou la présence de flammes en réalisant le prédécoupage des échantillons ou le chauffage sans flamme, si possible. En contexte de pandémie, il convient en plus de penser à réduire ou même éviter le partage de matériel. Si le matériel est partagé, il devra être désinfecté, même après sa dernière utilisation.

2. Travailler en « kits ». 

Il peut être judicieux de prévoir des kits pédagogiques à distribuer aux élèves en rotation si la quantité de matériel est limitée. Par exemple, si on expérimente la fonte, chaque élève peut travailler à partir d’un morceau de chocolat ou d’un glaçon placé dans un sac de plastique. Ou encore, pour travailler le magnétisme, on peut placer les objets derrière un Plexiglas afin d’éviter leur manipulation. On peut aussi mettre nos collègues techniciens en travaux pratiques ou les élèves à contribution et assurer le nettoyage du matériel au retour des kits. 

3. Attribuer des rôles pour la prise de mesures. 

Pour faciliter l’implication des membres de la bulle familiale, on peut attribuer des rôles précis pour la prise de mesures. Par exemple, dans une expérimentation sur la dissolution, un élève peut collecter le filtrat, un parent être responsable de manipuler le thermomètre et un grand-parent prendre en charge le brassage.

4. Filmer des démonstrations. 

Comme les parents ont possiblement peu d’expérience dans l’encadrement d’activités pratiques en sciences et technologies, il peut être judicieux de rendre disponible en ligne une démonstration qu’on aura filmée avec un téléphone. Ce support facilite le montage et la réalisation de l’expérimentation. De plus, la démonstration peut proposer des questions à discuter en famille, par exemple : « Comment l’expérimentation contrôlait-elle les variables? », « Les résultats étaient-ils surprenants? Pourquoi? » ou encore « La variable à l’étude était-elle appropriée? Pourquoi? ».

5. Expérimenter à l’extérieur. 

Mener des activités expérimentales à l’extérieur peut éviter le besoin de préparer, partager et assainir du matériel. Par exemple, une expérience sur la friction peut être conduite à l’extérieur si on demande aux élèves d’utiliser leur coffre à crayon ou leurs propres souliers comme montage expérimental. Il est également possible de demander aux élèves de réaliser des enquêtes sur les différents types de sol en leur demandant de dessiner leurs observations.

6. Faire appel à des simulations. 

Enfin, en dernier recours, si le matériel est trop dangereux à manipuler ou n’est pas disponible en quantité suffisante, on peut avoir recours à des simulations en ligne comme la planche à circuits (PBS LearningMedia, 2021a) ou la fusion et l’ébullition (PBS LearningMedia, 2021b).

Les sciences et technologies expérimentales ont sans conteste souffert de la crise sanitaire, car devoir composer avec un environnement sans laboratoire, sans classe ou du moins avec un accès limité à du matériel scientifique peut miner la créativité et offrir moins de flexibilité aux enseignants (Education Endowment Foundation, 2020). Les élèves peuvent aussi avoir l’impression qu’ils apprendront « moins » ou « moins bien » que s’ils avaient accès à un laboratoire plus traditionnel.

Cependant, en prenant le temps de réfléchir et d’explorer de nouvelles approches, il demeure possible d’offrir aux élèves les activités expérimentales les plus efficaces, engageantes et fréquentes possibles. 

Références

Simpson, A. M. et Knox, P. N. (2020, 13 octobre). Getting kids – and their caregivers – to practice STEM at home. The Conversation.

Ce texte a d’abord été publié dans le magazine Spectre de novembre 2021, le magazine de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :