ADVERTISEMENT

Young people trust science, survey finds, but situation remains fragile

The Canada Foundation for Innovation, in partnership with Acfas, conducted a survey to find out the perceptions of young Canadians aged 18 to 24 on four scientific issues. The results shed light on the media ecosystem in which young people are immersed and the importance of carrying out awareness-raising activities with them.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Science has never been more pervasive in our lives than since 2020. COVID-19 has brought our need to understand the world around us back to the fore. Science popularizers, hitherto unknown, have become media stars. But does the information reach the ears of our young people? 

The Canadian Foundation for Innovation, in partnership withAcfas, made a survey to learn the perceptions of young Canadians aged 18 to 24 on four scientific issues: safety of the COVID-19 vaccine, environmental sustainability, climate change and the importance of STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) for the future. More specifically, we looked at what influences their opinion as well as the role played by web influencers.

Encouraging but nuanced results

The survey shows that 70% of young people surveyed trust science because it is based on verifiable facts and not opinions. The proof, 71 % of them have received or intend to receive a vaccine against COVID-19. However, 16 % of respondents say they question science and trust their own judgment to form an opinion, while a quarter say they trust their entourage or web influencers more. That sounds worrisome.

Social media spot confirmed

Unsurprisingly, among the media used to obtain information, social media largely dominates, with more than 75 % of daily use. The written media (14 %), television (11 %) and radio (8 %) bite the dust. When we know how bad information and misinformation circulate happily on social media, there is reason to worry about their influence on the decision-making of our young people. Especially since 73 % of young people say they follow at least one influencer who has expressed anti-scientific opinions.

An ambiguous perception of scientific careers

Many believe in science and three-quarters of young people surveyed believe that careers in science are attractive to young people and that jobs in the field will be in increasing demand in the future. However, a large majority of them believe that the sciences require too great an intellectual capacity, particularly in mathematics. In a society where the role of technology is increasing exponentially, the poor perception of scientific careers is cause for concern.

If the results of this survey are not completely dark, they shed light on the media ecosystem in which our young people are immersed.

The full survey results are available here.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un sondage révèle que les jeunes font confiance à la science, mais la situation demeure fragile

La Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, en partenariat avec l’Acfas, réalisé un sondage afin de connaître les perceptions des jeunes Canadiens de 18 à 24 ans sur quatre enjeux scientifiques. Les résultats mettent en lumière l'écosystème médiatique dans lequel baignent les jeunes et l'importance de réaliser des activités de sensibilisation auprès d'eux.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

La science n’a jamais été aussi omniprésente dans nos vies que depuis 2020. La COVID-19 a ramené à l’avant-plan notre besoin de comprendre le monde qui nous entoure. Des vulgarisateurs scientifiques, inconnus jusqu’ici, sont devenus des vedettes médiatiques. Mais est-ce que les informations se rendent jusqu’aux oreilles de nos jeunes? 

La Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, en partenariat avec l’Acfas, a réalisé un sondage afin de connaître les perceptions des jeunes Canadiens de 18 à 24 ans sur quatre enjeux scientifiques : l’innocuité du vaccin contre la COVID-19, la durabilité de l’environnement, les changements climatiques et l’importance des STIM (science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques) pour l’avenir. Plus particulièrement, on s’est intéressé à ce qui influence leur opinion ainsi qu’au rôle joué par les influenceurs du Web.

Des résultats encourageants, mais nuancés

Le sondage montre que 70 % des jeunes sondés font confiance à la science, car elle s’appuie sur des faits vérifiables et non des opinions. La preuve, 71 % d’entre eux ont reçu ou comptent recevoir un vaccin contre la COVID-19. Cependant, 16 % des interrogés disent mettre en doute la science et se fier à leur propre jugement pour se forger une opinion, alors que le quart affirme se fier davantage à son entourage ou aux influenceurs du Web. Voilà qui paraît inquiétant.

La place de médias sociaux confirmée

Sans surprise, parmi les médias utilisés pour s’informer, les médias sociaux dominent largement, avec plus de 75 % d’utilisation quotidienne. Les médias écrits (14 %), la télévision (11 %) et la radio (8 %) mordent la poussière. Quand on sait comment la mauvaise information et la désinformation circulent allègrement sur les médias sociaux, il y a de quoi s’inquiéter de leur influence sur la prise de décision de nos jeunes. D’autant plus que 73 % des jeunes disent suivre au moins un influenceur qui a exprimé des opinions anti-scientifiques.

Une perception ambiguë des carrières scientifiques

Ils sont nombreux à croire en la science et les trois quarts des jeunes sondés croient que les carrières scientifiques sont intéressantes pour les jeunes et que les emplois dans le domaine seront en demande croissante dans l’avenir. Cependant, une grande majorité d’entre eux croient que les sciences exigent des capacités intellectuelles trop importantes, notamment en mathématiques. Dans une société où la place de la technologie augmente de façon exponentielle, la mauvaise perception des carrières scientifiques a de quoi inquiéter.

Si les résultats de ce sondage ne sont pas complètement sombres, ils mettent en lumière l’écosystème médiatique dans lequel baignent nos jeunes.

Les résultats complets du sondage sont disponibles ici.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :