The “webinar”, a modern and accessible version of the seminar!

Short training sessions offered by an expert or planned discussions on a specific topic: this is what "webinars" offer, modern online seminars. Portrait of a way to share knowledge in the 2.0 era!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Short training sessions offered by an expert or planned discussions on a specific topic: this is what "webinars" offer, modern online seminars. Portrait of a way to share knowledge in the 2.0 era!

Sharing new knowledge as well as exchanges concerning new technological tools and learning methods are essential in our constantly changing environment. At one time, seminars greatly contributed to this type of exchange, but in the age of 2.0, it is the “webinar” that constitutes a most interesting platform. Some sites even offer this kind of service for free.

For example, every week, the American site Education Week offers a free one-hour webinar (in English), facilitated by university professors, people from new technologies or educational consultants. They share their knowledge and expertise on the integration of technologies in classrooms and the impacts of digital ink in the educational process, among others.

These webinars also provide the opportunity for participants to expose ways of operating within their own institution.

To attend such presentations (usually offered during the day), you must first go to the Education Week website in the section Webinar, register for the webinar of your choice and log in on the date and time announced.

 

Create your own webinars

More and more, the webinar and knowledge sharing platforms are used in companies, but also in schools (both in terms of pedagogy and management). Sites like Google Hangout or Webikeo notably offer the possibility of creating your own webinars, in addition to other videoconferencing platforms such as Via, Webex, Adobe Connect, etc.

The development of a rich collaborative space as well as a social network of expertise are at the heart of the popularity of webinars. They make it possible to bring together all the workforce of an organization or a group of people with common interests in a single moment, without having to leave their screen. For example, the Virtual meeting of the RÉCIT In this way, the RÉCIT facilitators from all Quebec school boards are brought together for a virtual conference in June each year.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Felipe Antaya
Pursuing studies in educational technology, Felipe Antaya has worked for several years in the field of education at the secondary and college level. Holder of a master's degree in Quebec studies and a bachelor's degree in philosophy, he has also worked in the field of written media.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le « webinaire », version moderne et accessible du séminaire!

De courtes séances de formation offertes par un expert ou des échanges prévus sur un sujet précis : voilà ce que proposent les « webinaires », les séminaires en ligne modernes. Portrait d’une façon de partager des connaissances à l’ère 2.0!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

De courtes séances de formation offertes par un expert ou des échanges prévus sur un sujet précis : voilà ce que proposent les « webinaires », les séminaires en ligne modernes. Portrait d’une façon de partager des connaissances à l’ère 2.0!

Le partage de nouvelles connaissances ainsi que les échanges concernant de nouveaux outils technologiques et modes d’apprentissage sont essentiels dans notre milieu en constant changement. À une certaine époque, les séminaires ont grandement contribué à ce type d’échanges, mais à l’heure du 2.0, c’est le « webinaire » qui constitue une plateforme des plus intéressantes. Certains sites offrent même gratuitement ce genre de services.

Par exemple, chaque semaine, le site américain Education Week propose gratuitement un webinaire (en anglais) d’une durée d’une heure, animé par des professeurs universitaires, des gens du milieu des nouvelles technologies ou des consultants du milieu de l’éducation. Ils y partagent leur savoir et leur expertise à propos de l’intégration des technologies dans les salles de classe et des impacts de l’encre digitale dans le processus éducationnel, entre autres.

Ces webinaires offrent également la possibilité aux participants d’exposer les façons d’opérer à l’intérieur de leur propre institution.

Pour assister à de telles présentations (généralement offertes en journée), il faut d’abord se rendre sur le site d’Education Week dans la section Webinar, s’inscrire au webinaire de son choix et se connecter à la date et à l’heure annoncées.

 

Créer ses propres webinaires

De plus en plus, le webinaire et les plateformes de partage de connaissances et de savoir sont utilisées en entreprises, mais aussi en milieu scolaire (tant au niveau de la pédagogie que de la gestion). Des sites comme Google Hangout ou Webikeo offrent notamment la possibilité de créer ses propres webinaires, en plus des autres plateformes de visioconférence telles Via, Webex, Adobe Connect, etc.

Le développement d’un riche espace collaboratif ainsi que d’un réseau social d’expertise sont au cœur de la popularité des webinaires. Ils rendent possible la réunion de tous les effectifs d’une organisation ou d’un groupe de personnes ayant des intérêts communs en un seul moment, sans qu’ils aient à quitter leur écran. À titre d’exemple, le Rendez-vous virtuel du RÉCIT rassemble de cette façon les animateurs du RÉCIT de toutes les commissions scolaires du Québec en colloque virtuel au mois de juin chaque année.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Felipe Antaya
Poursuivant des études en technologie éducative, Felipe Antaya travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le milieu de l’éducation au niveau secondaire et collégial. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en études québécoises et d’un baccalauréat en philosophie, il a aussi œuvré dans le milieu des médias écrits.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :