Digital intelligence webinars that prove that digital is not new

As part of its activities, the Network School offers a series of four webinars on digital intelligence. To access it this fall, you must register quickly. An opportunity to see the digital world differently.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

During the 2021 transfer session of the École en Réseau (ÉER), Michel Perreault, technopedagogical collaborator at the ÉER, provided feedback on four digital intelligence webinars followed by thousands of students last year. These webinars are being offered again this fall as part of the ERA activities.

The series of four 45-minute webinars was created to educate young people about digital technology and show them that it does not necessarily date from yesterday, or even the day before yesterday. It is intended for students of 2e and 3e elementary cycle, but it will also be offered to students of 1er secondary cycle through the activities of the ERA from next winter.

Here is an overview of the four themes. 

A revolutionary loom

At the beginning of the 19th century, a Lyonnais, Joseph-Marie Jacquard, invented an automated loom. In this webinar on digital pioneers, children in particular come into contact with one of the first inventions which contained punched cards.

They note that this type of card, made of wood or tin, was formerly used to guide hooks which thus lifted chain threads. The positioning of the holes on the card made it possible to determine the design that we wanted to give on the fabric to be made, hence the famous Jacquard patterns.

Two numbers that change our lives

0 and 1. In themselves, they are very simple, almost banal. However, in the second webinar, the pupils learn that they constitute the bases of the numerical code. Among other things, they become familiar with the notion of byte.

Through various exercises, such as the school bus route (which route to take to serve everyone), they are made aware of transport and data storage. An activity that allows them to better understand how data can be used, in short, smarter.

And tomorrow?

In the last two webinars, designer Michel Perreault brings students and teachers to better understand digital, this miniature universe to be demystified, and to become masters of information.

Through the various components of a smart phone or the operation of algorithms, children will be more sensitive to today's digital reality. 

More than 9,000 students have already followed the webinars designed by Mr. Perreault, in collaboration with Scientifines, a team of librarians from CSSDM, university professors and technopedagogy workers. This project is supported by the Scale.ai youth awareness program.   

The next webinar sharing session begins on October 5th. Until then, hurry to register your class: registrations end on 1er October on the EER website.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des webinaires en intelligence numérique qui prouvent que le numérique ne date pas d’hier

Dans le cadre de ses activités, l'École en réseau offre une série de quatre webinaires sur l'intelligence numérique. Pour y avoir accès cet automne, il faut s'inscrire rapidement. Une occasion de voir l'univers numérique autrement.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Lors de la session de transfert 2021 de l’École en réseau (ÉER), Michel Perreault, collaborateur technopédagogique à l’ÉER, a fait un retour sur quatre webinaires en intelligence numérique suivis par des milliers d’élèves l’année dernière. Ces webinaires sont d’ailleurs offerts à nouveau cet automne dans le cadre des activités de l’ÉER.

La série de quatre webinaires de 45 minutes a été créée pour sensibiliser les jeunes au numérique et leur démontrer que celui-ci ne date pas nécessairement d’hier, ni même d’avant-hier. Elle s’adresse aux élèves de 2e et 3e cycle du primaire, mais elle sera aussi offerte aux élèves du 1er cycle du secondaire à travers les activités de l’ÉER dès l’hiver prochain.

Voici un aperçu des quatres thèmes. 

Un métier à tisser révolutionnaire

Au début du XIXe siècle, un Lyonnais, Joseph-Marie Jacquard, invente un métier à tisser automatisé. Dans ce webinaire sur les pionniers et pionnières du numérique, les enfants entrent notamment en contact avec l’une des premières inventions qui contient des cartes perforées.

Ils constatent que ce type de carte, en bois ou en fer blanc, servait autrefois à guider des crochets qui soulevaient ainsi des fils de chaînes. Le positionnement des trous sur la carte permettait de déterminer le dessin qu’on souhaitait donner sur le tissu à confectionner, d’où les célèbres motifs Jacquard.

Deux chiffres qui changent nos vies

0 et 1. En soi, ils sont tout simples, presque banals. Pourtant, dans le deuxième webinaire, les élèves apprennent qu’ils constituent les bases du code numérique. Ils se familiarisent entre autres avec la notion d’octet.

Grâce à divers exercices, comme celui du parcours de l’autobus scolaire (quel parcours prendre pour desservir tout le monde), ils sont sensibilisés au transport et au stockage de données. Une activité qui leur permet de mieux comprendre comment des données peuvent être utilisables, bref, plus intelligentes.

Et demain?

Dans les deux derniers webinaires, le concepteur Michel Perreault amène élèves et enseignants à mieux comprendre le numérique, cet univers miniature à démystifier, et à devenir maîtres de l’information.

À travers les diverses composantes d’un téléphone intelligent ou encore le fonctionnement des algorithmes, les enfants seront plus sensibles à la réalité numérique d’aujourd’hui. 

Ce sont déjà plus de 9 000 élèves qui ont suivi les webinaires conçus par M. Perreault, en collaboration avec Les Scientifines, une équipe de bibliothécaires du CSSDM, des professeurs universitaires et des intervenants en technopédagogie. Ce projet est soutenu par le programme de sensibilisation jeunesse de Scale.ai.   

La prochaine session de partage des webinaires débute le 5 octobre. D’ici là, dépêchez-vous d’inscrire votre classe : les inscriptions se terminent le 1er octobre sur le site de l’ÉER.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!