5 things to consider to boost your work plan

The pursuit of online teaching and learning requires adaptations. How and what to adapt in his work plan to keep his teaching effective while keeping the motivation of the students?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Julie Chandonnet, in collaboration with Stéphanie Dionne and Martine Rioux

The pursuit of online teaching and learning requires adaptations, especially when the period promises to be longer than expected. How and what to adapt in his work plan to keep his teaching effective while keeping the motivation of the students?

We suggest 5 elements to consider in order to boost a work plan, which corresponds to the independent work that the student must carry out according to the indications of the Quebec Ministry of Education.

1- Put a little magic (the importance of the teacher-student bond)

Creating a fun and humorous school climate even online is essential. 

Here are some ideas: 

  • Play with words to make students smile; offer challenges rather than a job; positively name your planning for the week. ex. "Week without a mask" or "Week in pajamas". 
  • Create a stimulating context; create teams and give points for work done; create a moment to learn a new educational application (e.g. creation of podcast, videos, quizzes, online questionnaires). 
  • Surprise the students (eg install the Snap Camera and appear with a cartoon filter). 
  • Solicit student proposals (eg for active breaks, discussion topics or the completion of a project). 

2- Review your habits and opt for activities that facilitate the assessment 

Offer virtual classroom activities to develop study strategies with students and work with them through various interactive activities: vocabulary, conjugation and multiplication tables. For example, Alloprof and Typing Pal online allow you to create vocabulary word lists.  

The usual homework and lessons may not be necessary in today's environment. Once the online work is done during the day, it is desirable to reduce the pressure on the family, which is already in great demand by the online school.

Occasionally offer activities to students who correct themselves: quiz on Socrative, challenge on Kahoot, quiz in a Google form. Planning dynamic activities to be done online usually takes more time than usual planning. We must therefore think about reducing the correction time to avoid being overwhelmed. 

3- Be flexible about work discounts - when and how 

Having students turn in their homework for the next morning rather than the end of the day can make a difference in many families. Also, consider giving students a balance between work to be done before the end of the week and daily chores.

In class, it's easy to ask for work to be finished before recess… online, it's more complex. The computer may be in shared custody with more than one family member. If the class schedule is difficult to change, the assignment schedule can easily be changed. By giving students greater freedom in submitting their assignments, they can more easily obtain the support necessary to carry them out. You can also create a space for collaboration between the students so that they help each other and thus reduce the questions they would need to address to their parents to complete their task.

It is important to think about the reality of the students' families and what this implies in terms of reconciling telework and online school and the availability of screens to achieve them. For example, the Grade 6 big sister can help the family by playing outside with her Grade 3 brother in the afternoon while mom is working, then doing her self-employment after dinner. 

Provide different ways for students to hand in their assignments. Access to digital technologies multiplies the possibilities. Indeed, if for some, writing a short text on the computer does not cause a problem, some will prefer (by choice or by availability of tools) to do it in a notebook. The student can then take a photo of their work and attach it as an attachment on Classroom, Seesaw or even send it by email. Students may also have the option of registering on Flipgrid to answer questions on a given topic or to demonstrate their understanding of a concept being taught, if the Writing skill does not need to be assessed. 

The accumulation of these various traces will also facilitate the evaluation thereafter. It is possible to take advantage of this online teaching time to facilitate and simplify the assessment without overloading the students and creating additional stress related to the exams that will be offered to them upon their return to class. 

4- Make sure that the work is autonomous and motivating

Consider these two conditions related to a stand-alone task: 

  • the student has the knowledge or skills necessary to achieve it, AND 
  • the student knows and knows how to use the tool presented.

Certainly, and even inevitably, some students will not dare to say with camera and microphone open that they do not understand or do not know how to do the job at hand. It is therefore wise to take certain measures to avoid student learning delays (eg offering a private chat with students). Learning online is still new to everyone, it should not be forgotten. Create a space-time to allow young people to address their questions and address the difficulties they encounter.

When new technological tools need to be used, take the time to explore them with them in a virtual classroom before offering them as an individual work plan. 

5- Be available and simplify communications

Set the hours of online availability at a fixed time if possible. It's easier for the students: they need stability right now. Placing these hours immediately after the virtual classroom helps keep students online for questions. Remind students of your availability during group lessons and do not hesitate to personally invite certain students who need a helping hand or who are late in submitting their work.

Adopt only one mode of communication of information: schedule of virtual classes, personal work and hours of availability and stick to it. Send everything in one sending so as not to overload families with information (especially those who have more than one child), and this, ideally before Monday morning to allow them to make their schedule for the week. 

The tool must be simple, visual and contain all the links. Genially does wonders on this. Here are some examples:

In closing, we invite you to remember that the situation is not easy for anyone at this time. As a teacher, you also have the possibility of reducing stress for young people… and families. Every little bit can make a difference!

We invite you to validate the effectiveness of your work plan with your students and their parents. Dare to ask, depending on your reality, what could make the online learning experience even more positive or motivating. Also, don't forget that the parents at home are your eyes! Get the best out of it!

Photo credit: Photo by Annie spratt sure Unsplash

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Enseignement à distance : 5 éléments à considérer pour dynamiser votre plan de travail

La poursuite de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage en ligne nécessite des adaptations. Comment et quoi adapter dans son plan de travail pour garder son enseignement efficace tout en gardant la motivation des élèves?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Julie Chandonnet, en collaboration avec Stéphanie Dionne et Martine Rioux

* Cet article fait partie d’une série spéciale sur l’enseignement à distance alors que ce mode d’enseignement se prolonge dans quelques régions du Québec.

La poursuite de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage en ligne nécessite des adaptations, surtout lorsque la période s’annonce plus longue que prévue. Comment et quoi adapter dans son plan de travail pour garder son enseignement efficace tout en gardant la motivation des élèves?

Nous vous proposons 5 éléments à considérer pour dynamiser un plan de travail, ce qui correspond au travail autonome que l’élève doit réaliser selon les indications du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec.

1- Mettre un peu de magie (l’importance du lien enseignant-élève)

Créer un climat scolaire agréable et empreint d’humour même en ligne est essentiel. 

Voici quelques idées : 

  • Jouer sur les mots pour faire sourire les élèves; proposer des défis plutôt qu’un travail; nommer positivement votre planification de la semaine. ex. « Semaine sans masque » ou « Semaine en pyjama ». 
  • Créer un contexte stimulant; créer des équipes et donner des points pour les travaux réalisés; créer un moment pour apprendre une nouvelle application pédagogique (ex. création de podcast, de vidéos, de quizz, de questionnaires en ligne). 
  • Surprendre les élèves (ex. installer la Snap Caméra et apparaître avec un filtre de dessin animé). 
  • Solliciter les propositions des élèves (ex. pour des pauses actives, les sujets de causerie ou la réalisation d’un projet). 

2- Revoir ses habitudes et opter pour des activités qui facilitent l’évaluation 

Proposez des activités en classe virtuelle pour développer les stratégies d’étude avec les élèves et travailler avec eux au travers de différentes activités interactives le vocabulaire, la conjugaison et les tables de multiplications. Par exemple, Alloprof et Tap’Touche en ligne permettent de créer des listes de mots de vocabulaire.  

Les habituels devoirs et leçons ne sont possiblement pas nécessaires dans le contexte actuel. Une fois les travaux en ligne réalisés durant la journée, il est souhaitable de diminuer la pression sur la famille, qui est déjà fort sollicitée par l’école en ligne.

Offrez à l’occasion des activités aux élèves qui se corrigent par elles-mêmes : quiz sur Socrative, défi sur Kahoot, questionnaire dans un formulaire Google. La planification d’activités dynamiques à réaliser en ligne demande généralement plus de temps que la planification habituelle. Il faut donc penser à diminuer le temps de correction pour éviter d’être submergé. 

3- Faire preuve de souplesse sur les remises de travaux; le quand et le comment 

Offrez aux élèves de remettre leurs travaux du jour pour le lendemain matin plutôt que pour la fin de la journée peut faire une différence dans bien des familles. Pensez également à offrir aux élèves un équilibre entre les travaux à faire avant la fin de la semaine et les tâches journalières.

En classe, c’est simple de demander qu’un travail soit terminé avant la récréation… en ligne, c’est plus complexe. L’ordinateur est peut-être en garde partagée avec plusieurs membres de la famille. Si l’horaire des cours est difficile à modifier, l’horaire des remises des travaux peut l’être facilement. En laissant aux élèves une plus grande liberté quant à la remise des travaux, ils peuvent plus facilement obtenir l’accompagnement nécessaire pour les réaliser. Vous pouvez également créer un espace de collaboration entre les élèves pour qu’ils s’entraident et ainsi diminuer les questions qu’ils auraient besoin d’adresser à leurs parents pour compléter leur tâche.

Il importe de penser à la réalité de la famille des élèves et ce que cela implique en termes de conciliation télétravail-école en ligne et disponibilité des écrans pour les réaliser. Par exemple, la grande sœur de 6e année peut donner un coup de pouce à la famille en jouant à l’extérieur avec son frère de 3e en après-midi pendant que maman travaille, puis faire son travail autonome après le souper. 

Offrez différentes façons aux élèves de remettre leurs travaux. L’accès aux technologies numériques multiplie les possibilités. En effet, si pour certains, écrire un court texte à l’ordinateur ne cause pas de problème, certains préféreront (par choix ou par disponibilité des outils) le faire dans un cahier. L’élève peut alors prendre son travail en photo et le joindre en pièce jointe sur Classroom, Seesaw ou même l’envoyer par courriel. Les élèves peuvent aussi avoir la possibilité de s’enregistrer sur Flipgrid pour répondre à des questions sur un sujet donné ou pour démontrer leur compréhension d’une notion enseignée, si la compétence Écrire n’a pas à être évaluée. 

L’accumulation de ces diverses traces facilitera aussi l’évaluation par la suite. Il est possible de profiter de ce temps d’enseignement en ligne pour faciliter et simplifier l’évaluation sans surcharger les élèves et créer un stress supplémentaire lié aux examens qui leur seront proposés à leur retour en classe. 

4- S’assurer que le travail soit autonome et motivant

Considérez ces deux conditions liées à une tâche autonome : 

  • L’élève a les connaissances ou habiletés nécessaires pour la réaliser, ET 
  • L’élève connaît et sait comment utiliser l’outil présenté.

Assurément et même inévitablement, certains élèves n’oseront pas dire à caméra et micro ouverts qu’ils ne comprennent pas ou ne savent pas comment réaliser le travail à faire. Prendre certaines dispositions pour éviter les retards d’apprentissage des élèves est alors judicieux (ex. proposer un moment de clavardage privé avec des élèves). Apprendre en ligne, c’est encore nouveau pour tout le monde, il ne faut pas l’oublier. Créer un espace-temps pour permettre aux jeunes d’adresser leurs questions et relever les difficultés qu’ils rencontrent.

Lorsque de nouveaux outils technologiques doivent être utilisés, prenez le temps de les explorer avec eux en classe virtuelle avant de les proposer en plan de travail individuel. 

5- Être disponible et simplifier les communications

Placez les heures de disponibilité en ligne à heure fixe si possible. C’est facilitant pour les élèves : ils ont besoin de stabilité présentement. Placer ces heures tout de suite après la classe virtuelle permet de garder les élèves en ligne pour poser leurs questions. Rappelez vos disponibilités aux élèves lors des cours de groupes et ne vous gênez pas pour y inviter personnellement certains élèves qui ont besoin d’un coup de pouce ou qui prennent du retard dans la remise de leurs travaux.

Adoptez un seul mode de communication des informations : horaire des classes virtuelles, travaux personnels et heures de disponibilité et s’y tenir. Envoyez le tout en un seul envoi pour ne pas surcharger les familles d’information (surtout celles qui ont plus d’un enfant), et ce, idéalement avant le lundi matin afin de leur permettre de faire leur horaire de la semaine. 

L’outil doit être simple, visuel et contenir tous les liens. Genially fait des merveilles à ce sujet. Voici d’ailleurs quelques exemples :

En terminant, nous vous invitons à vous rappeler que la situation n’est pas facile pour personne en ce moment. En tant qu’enseignant, vous avez aussi la possibilité de faire diminuer le stress des jeunes… et des familles. Chaque petit geste peut faire une différence!

Nous vous invitons à valider l’efficacité de votre plan de travail auprès de vos élèves et de leurs parents. Osez demander, en fonction de votre réalité, qu’est-ce qui pourrait rendre l’expérience d’apprentissage en ligne encore plus positive ou motivante. Aussi, n’oubliez pas que les parents à la maison sont vos yeux! Tirez-en le meilleur!

»»» Nous vous invitons à nous dire ce qui vous a aidé le plus dans cet article ou ce que vous avez modifié dans votre plan de travail qui fonctionne le mieux avec vos élèves dans le contexte de l’enseignement à distance!

Crédit photo: Photo de Annie Spratt sur Unsplash

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!