student-teacher relationship

Testimonial: The importance of the teacher-student relationship and how to get through the crisis

François Pichette, secondary school math, science & technology teacher, shares his thoughts on maintaining a bond with his students during distance learning periods.

What are the 7 things that make students prefer classroom courses over distance learning?

What if we sought to better understand what is "missing" in distance education in order to try to recreate it? A group of students from York University in Toronto identified seven things they miss most about face-to-face classes. We present them to you with some possible solutions.

5 things to consider to boost your work plan

The pursuit of online teaching and learning requires adaptations. How and what to adapt in his work plan to keep his teaching effective while keeping the motivation of the students?

The links that unite children, parents, grandparents and teachers in the context of a pandemic

Since 2009, the provincial government has recognized the importance of close collaboration between the school, parents and the community in order to promote optimal child development. Grandparents are more and more integrated into this scenario.

Kind words for you, from the parents (it feels good!)

A few weeks ago, our team conducted a survey with parents to find out their concerns about distance learning, with the aim of preparing a new special issue of the magazine, for families. Some respondents took the time to write a few words of encouragement. Here are a few!

“I would need someone to talk to me alone from time to time. "

If you were a distance student, what would you need to feel that your teacher was there for you? We asked teachers to join in and answer this question. Here's a look at their responses.

The "sandwich" method for the first meeting of parents

Parents' meetings take many forms depending on the school, level and subjects. This is particularly true this year, when many will be done virtually, by phone, or two meters away. Here is a teacher's advice to make these meetings as effective and friendly as possible.

A good teacher-student relationship to promote success in school

Who says new school year usually means new students for a teacher. And with that comes, as you have probably experienced, the challenge of building positive relationships with young people.

The student-teacher relationship is important for academic success

The relationship between a student and his teacher is a key factor in academic success, especially among the youngest. However, the quality of this varies according to the sex, the economic situation and the behavior of the children. This is what emerges from analyzes of data from the longitudinal study of the development of children in Quebec carried out by researchers from the University of Montreal and the Institut de la statistique du Québec.

relation élève-enseignant

Témoignage : L’importance de la relation enseignant-élève et comment passer à travers la crise

François Pichette, enseignant de mathématique, sciences & technologies au secondaire, partage ses réflexions pour maintenir le lien avec ses élèves lors des périodes d'enseignement à distance.

Quels sont les 7 éléments qui font que les étudiants préfèrent les cours en classe aux cours à distance?

Et si on cherchait à mieux comprendre ce qui « manque » dans l’enseignement à distance pour tenter de le recréer? Un groupe d’étudiants de l’Université York, à Toronto, a relevé sept éléments des cours en présence qui leur manquent le plus. Nous vous les présentons avec quelques pistes de solution.

5 éléments à considérer pour dynamiser votre plan de travail

La poursuite de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage en ligne nécessite des adaptations. Comment et quoi adapter dans son plan de travail pour garder son enseignement efficace tout en gardant la motivation des élèves?

Les liens qui unissent enfants, parents, grands-parents et enseignants en contexte de pandémie

Depuis 2009, le gouvernement provincial reconnaît l’importance d’une collaboration étroite entre l’école, les parents et la communauté dans le but de promouvoir le développement optimal de l’enfant. Les grands-parents sont d'ailleurs de plus en plus intégrés à ce scénario.

De bons mots pour vous, de la part des parents (ça fait du bien!)

Il y a quelques semaines, notre équipe a mené un sondage auprès des parents afin de connaître leurs préoccupations par rapport à l’apprentissage à distance, dans le but de préparer un nouveau numéro spécial du magazine, pour les familles. Certains répondants ont pris le temps d’écrire quelques mots d’encouragement. En voici quelques-uns!

« J’aurais besoin qu’on me parle, à moi toute seule, de temps en temps. »

Si vous étiez un élève à distance, de quoi auriez-vous besoin pour sentir que votre enseignant est là pour vous? Nous avons demandé à des enseignants de se prêter au jeu et de répondre à cette question. Voici un aperçu de leurs réponses.

La méthode « sandwich » pour la première rencontre de parents

Les rencontres de parents prennent plusieurs formes selon l’école, le niveau et les matières. Ceci est particulièrement vrai cette année, alors que plusieurs se feront de façon virtuelle, par téléphone, ou à deux mètres de distance. Voici les conseils d'une enseignante pour faire en sorte ces rencontres soient les plus efficaces et conviviales possibles.

Une bonne relation enseignant-élève pour favoriser le succès à l’école

Qui dit nouvelle année scolaire dit généralement nouveaux élèves pour un(e) enseignant(e). Et cela s’accompagne, comme vous l’avez probablement vécu, du défi d’établir des relations positives avec les jeunes.

La relation élève-enseignant importante pour la réussite scolaire

La relation entre un élève et son enseignant est un facteur clé de la réussite scolaire, particulièrement chez les plus jeunes. Or, la qualité de celle-ci varie en fonction du sexe, de la situation économique et du comportement des enfants. Voilà ce qui ressort d’analyses des données de l’étude longitudinale du développement des enfants du Québec effectuées par des chercheurs de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Institut de la statistique du Québec.