Detective on a mission: an educational video game on children's rights

On the occasion of its 25th anniversary, the International Bureau for Children's Rights has embarked on an innovative project: the creation of a video game to educate girls and boys in Canada and elsewhere on their universal and fundamental rights. .

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

By the International Bureau for Children's Rights

On the occasion of its 25e anniversary and to celebrate the 30 years of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), the International Bureau for Children's Rights (IBCR, the Bureau) has embarked on an innovative project: the creation of a video game to playfully sensitize girls and boys in Canada and elsewhere on their universal and fundamental rights.

While it is recognized that young people handle new technologies early and devote time and interest to them, no online tool is dedicated to children's rights in Quebec and Canada. Moreover, the Convention and its articles are little known to children and the general public. The IBCR therefore wished to remedy this situation by creating a video game intended for children, and produced with them: "Detective on a mission for the rights of the child". The very first educational video game of its kind, it aims to educate children and encourage them to exercise their role as citizens within society for real and lasting changes.

Video game creation background

The Bureau entrusted the technical creation of the game to the École Polytechnique de Montréal, which accepted the project as part of its Study program. Four students thus tackled this task for several months, as a professionalizing project. The graphics were taken care of by three students from the École Nationale des Arts et Métiers ParisTech (France).

One of the guidelines of the IBCR being to place children at the heart of the promotion of their rights, the design of the video game was made with the participation of two elementary classes from the Montreal schools of Sainte-Cécile and Saint- Fabien. The mobilization of children was thus integrated into the framework of the “Ethics and religious culture” program offered to all elementary and secondary students in Quebec.

The involvement of children throughout the implementation of this project was essential and was reflected in the different stages of the design, development and promotion of the game. It made it possible to integrate their points of view. and their perspectives so that each child can recognize himself and want to evolve in the game. In this process of participation, valuing the contribution and creativity of children was just as important as strengthening their power to play. action, both at the individual and social level.

Involvement of children

Two days of meetings were initially organized in order to allow children to discover the Convention on the Rights of the Child through playful activities and to collect their ideas on the rights to be emphasized more in the game. The goal of this exercise was to discuss situations that seemed unfair to them, in order to be able to illustrate them through the game.

The children were thus led to reflect together on the different characteristics of the game. This dynamic exchange enabled the four students from Polytechnique Montréal to take into account the observations and remarks of the students in order to create a relevant prototype.

Following these meetings, Polytechnique Montréal students were able to offer different play concepts to children. A work of reflection on the tone and the content adapted to this particular audience was undertaken in parallel by the team of the IBCR to formulate the concepts and the texts of the game in a way comprehensible to the children of the age bracket. target age (7-11 years).

Once the game was in its final stages, the students who participated in its creation were invited to play it. The Bureau then organized a meeting with each class to collect their comments on the game and possible avenues for improvement, as well as on their experience of participating in such a project. During these meetings, the children were very keen on the positive points of the game as on the elements to rethink. Adjustments could be made to the game in the coming months to improve it and ensure children have the best possible experience.

Game features

This is an investigative game in which the main character "Detective Pinpin" is confronted with several unfair situations with regard to children's rights. Several actions are then proposed to react to the situation. The objective is to choose, among the proposals, the action that the character finds the best to resolve the injustice. When the child chooses the best proposal, he goes to the next level and gets a gold trophy. Each of the five levels represents a situation specific to the daily life of young people, such as sports training or the use of social networks.

Designed for children aged 7 to 11, the game is available free online at https://jeu.ibcr.org/ (in French).

Official launch

Involved in all stages of creation, the children were also entrusted with the official launch of the game. Saint-Fabien school having professional radio recording equipment, the event took the form of an animated radio program. by two students of 4e year, Anaïs and Xavier, mixing interviews with members of the IBCR and the Polytechnic of Montreal, reports on the rights of the child and feedback from the students of each school on their experience of participation in this project.

The young presenters animated the program with professionalism, both in the presentation of the context of creation of the video game and in the questions put to the guests. The moments of discussion were interspersed with musical breaks related to children's rights. An emotional moment for the audience and the stakeholders involved, which could be shared with the entire Saint-Fabien school, since the program was broadcast live throughout the school.

To listen to the radio broadcast, it's this way.

Next steps

The game will initially be distributed to school boards in Quebec, community organizations and child protection organizations. He will be accompanied by a supporting document introducing the Convention on the Rights of the Child as well as the instructions for use of the game. Although it can be played independently by children, the game can also be integrated into educational programs or educational activities. awareness raising for the promotion and protection of children's rights.

In a second phase, the IBCR plans to translate the game into several languages for worldwide distribution, notably through partner organizations of the Bureau.

To see a short presentation of the game, it's this way.

On the same subject, Carrefour education offers educational activities to do in class: Children's rights, here and elsewhere as well as Understanding in order to act: children's rights.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Détective en mission : un jeu vidéo éducatif sur les droits de l’enfant

Source : http://www.ibcr.org/fr/nouvelles/lancement-de-notre-jeu-video-educatif-dedie-aux-droits-de-lenfant/

Par le Bureau international des droits des enfants

À l’occasion de son 25e anniversaire et pour célébrer les 30 ans de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant (CDE) des Nations Unies, le Bureau international des droits des enfants (IBCR, le Bureau) s’est lancé dans un projet novateur : la création d’un jeu vidéo pour sensibiliser de manière ludique les filles et garçons du Canada et d’ailleurs sur leurs droits universels et fondamentaux.

Alors qu’il est reconnu que la jeunesse manipule les nouvelles technologies de façon précoce et y consacre du temps et de l’intérêt, aucun outil en ligne n’est dédié aux droits de l’enfant au Québec et au Canada. De plus, la Convention et ses articles sont peu connus des enfants et du public en général. L’IBCR a donc souhaité remédier à cette situation en créant un jeu vidéo destiné aux enfants, et réalisé avec eux : « Détective en mission pour les droits de l’enfant ». Tout premier jeu vidéo éducatif du genre, il vise à sensibiliser les enfants et à les inciter à exercer leur rôle de citoyen au sein de la société pour des changements réels et durables.

Contexte de création du jeu vidéo

Le Bureau a confié la création technique du jeu à l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, qui a accepté le projet dans le cadre de son programme d’Étude. Quatre étudiants se sont ainsi attelés à cette tâche durant plusieurs mois, comme projet professionnalisant. Le graphisme a quant à lui été pris en charge par trois étudiant-e-s de l’École Nationale des Arts et Métiers ParisTech (France).

L’une des lignes directrices de l’IBCR étant de placer les enfants au cœur de la promotion de leurs droits, la conception du jeu vidéo s’est faite avec la participation de deux classes de primaire des écoles montréalaises Sainte-Cécile et Saint-Fabien. La mobilisation des enfants s’est ainsi intégrée dans le cadre du programme « Éthique et culture religieuse » offert à tous les élèves du primaire et du secondaire au Québec.

L’implication des enfants durant toute la mise en œuvre de ce projet a été primordiale et s’est traduite au travers des différentes étapes de la conception, du développement et de la promotion du jeu. Elle a permis d’intégrer leurs points de vue et leurs perspectives afin que chaque enfant puisse se reconnaître et avoir envie d’évoluer dans le jeu. Dans ce processus de participation, la valorisation de l’apport et de la créativité des enfants était tout aussi importante que le renforcement de leur pouvoir d’action, tant au niveau individuel que social.

Implication des enfants

Deux journées de rencontre ont dans un premier temps été organisées afin de permettre aux enfants de découvrir la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant par des activités ludiques et de recueillir leurs idées sur les droits à mettre davantage en valeur dans le jeu. Le but de cet exercice était d’échanger sur des situations qui leur paraissaient injustes, afin de pouvoir les illustrer à travers le jeu.

Les enfants ont ainsi été amenés à réfléchir ensemble aux différentes caractéristiques du jeu. Cet échange dynamique a notamment permis aux quatre étudiants de Polytechnique Montréal de prendre en compte les observations et remarques des élèves afin de créer un prototype pertinent.

Suite à ces rencontres, les étudiants de Polytechnique Montréal ont pu proposer différents concepts de jeu aux enfants. Un travail de réflexion sur le ton et le contenu adapté à ce public particulier a été entrepris en parallèle par l’équipe de l’IBCR pour formuler les concepts et les textes du jeu d’une manière compréhensible pour les enfants de la tranche d’âge visée (7-11 ans).

Une fois le jeu en phase finale, les élèves ayant participé à sa création ont été invités à y jouer. Le Bureau a ensuite organisé une rencontre avec chaque classe pour recueillir leurs commentaires sur le jeu et les pistes de perfectionnement possibles, ainsi que sur leur expérience de participation à un tel projet. Lors de ces rencontres, les enfants se sont montrés très vifs sur les points positifs du jeu comme sur les éléments à repenser. Des ajustements pourraient être apportés au jeu dans les prochains mois afin de l’améliorer et d’assurer aux enfants la meilleure expérience possible.

Caractéristiques du jeu

Il s’agit d’un jeu d’enquête dans lequel le personnage principal « Détective Pinpin » est confronté à plusieurs situations injustes au regard des droits de l’enfant. Plusieurs actions sont alors proposées pour réagir à la situation. L’objectif est de choisir, parmi les propositions, l’action que le personnage trouve la meilleure pour résoudre l’injustice. Lorsque l’enfant choisit la meilleure proposition, il passe au prochain niveau et obtient un trophée d’or. Chacun des cinq niveaux représente une situation propre au quotidien des jeunes tel que l’entraînement sportif ou l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux.

Pensée pour des enfants âgés de 7 à 11 ans, le jeu est disponible gratuitement en ligne à l’adresse https://jeu.ibcr.org/ (en français).

Lancement officiel

Impliqués dans toutes les étapes de création, les enfants se sont également vu confier le lancement officiel du jeu. L’école Saint-Fabien disposant de matériel d’enregistrement radio professionnel, l’événement a pris la forme d’une émission de radio animée par deux élèves de 4e année, Anaïs et Xavier, mêlant entrevues avec des membres de l’IBCR et de l’école Polytechnique de Montréal, reportages sur les droits de l’enfant et retours des élèves de chaque école sur leur expérience de participation à ce projet.

Les jeunes présentateurs ont animé l’émission avec professionnalisme, tant dans la présentation du contexte de création du jeu vidéo que dans les questions posées aux invités. Les moments d’échanges étaient entrecoupés de pauses musicales liées aux droits de l’enfant. Un moment fort en émotions pour le public présent et les parties prenantes impliquées qui a pu être partagé avec l’ensemble de l’école Saint-Fabien, puisque l’émission était retransmise en direct dans toute l’école.

Pour écouter l’émission de radio, c’est par ici.

Prochaines étapes

Le jeu sera diffusé dans un premier temps auprès des commissions scolaires du Québec, d’organismes communautaires et d’organisations de protection de l’enfant. Il sera accompagné d’un document d’appui introduisant la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant ainsi que du mode d’emploi du jeu. Bien que pouvant être joué en toute autonomie par des enfants, le jeu pourra également s’intégrer dans le cadre de programmes pédagogiques ou d’activités de sensibilisation à la promotion et à la protection des droits de l’enfant.

Dans une deuxième phase, l’IBCR prévoit de traduire le jeu en plusieurs langues pour une diffusion mondiale, notamment au travers d’organisations partenaires du Bureau.

Pour voir une courte présentation du jeu, c’est par ici.

Sur le même sujet, Carrefour éducation vous propose des activités pédagogiques à faire en classe: Les droits des enfants, ici et ailleurs ainsi que Comprendre pour agir: les droits des enfants.


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :