Education and citizenship at the heart of Quebec's new Youth Action Plan

The Quebec government recently launched its 2021-2024 Youth Action Plan. This reflects the priorities expressed by young people aged 15 to 29, gathered in recent months during a consultation. Education and citizenship find prominent places there.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

The Quebec government recently launched its 2021-2024 Youth Action Plan. This reflects the priorities expressed by young people aged 15 to 29, gathered in recent months during a consultation. Education and citizenship find prominent places there.

The 2021-2024 Youth Action Plan aims "to support young people aged 15 to 29 in their journey towards autonomy by offering them stimulating, healthy and safe environments and by supporting them in their learning and their life project". It is the second version of a first plan launched in 2016.

It is made up of 21 objectives, divided into seven areas of intervention: employment, entrepreneurship, environment, culture, education, health and citizenship. In order to take into account the concerns of today's young people, the Culture and Environment axes have been added compared to 2016. Likewise, new objectives have appeared:

  • Train and equip young people for the professions of the future (employment axis);
  • Promote responsible entrepreneurship (Entrepreneurship axis);
  • Support the development of critical thinking and civic engagement (Citizenship axis).

Education axis

Education was the most commented subject during the public consultation. The young people who took part said they wanted “more learning through action and experimentation. They wish to participate in the realization of concrete projects. They enjoy extracurricular activities that promote self-knowledge. They want them to be more accessible and varied, so that they correspond better to their fields of interest ”.

"While significant progress has been made in recent years in education and higher education, several challenges remain relevant," the report reads. Thus, the increase in school perseverance, graduation and qualification of young people, access to extracurricular activities and educational and vocational guidance services, the promotion of different training paths are the stated objectives.

To achieve them, measures are already planned, such as the establishment of experiential programs in arts, science and engineering, design, as well as leadership and entrepreneurship (Youth Fusion), a virtual mentoring service (Academos Cybermentorat ), exploration internships in the workplace (JeunesExplo).

Citizenship axis

“If young people get involved in many ways in their community, particularly in volunteer actions, their voter turnout rate continues to decline. The digital world in which they are immersed offers new possibilities for civic engagement, but it also brings challenges. Faced with the amount of information available, the proliferation of false news and the polarization of opinions, it can be difficult for young people to navigate, which represents a brake on citizen participation ”, reads. we introduce the Citizenship axis.

A recent study concludes that 60 % of 18 to 24 year olds had difficulty distinguishing reliable sources through the flood of information they consult online. The development of critical thinking and civic engagement of young people therefore becomes an objective, accompanied by measures such as 30 seconds before believing in training, by the Professional Federation of Journalists of Quebec, and the digital youth activities of Digital Spring.

Indigenous youth

In addition, a section is entirely dedicated to First Nations youth and Inuit youth. While those under 30 only constitute a third of the entire population of Quebec, they represent half of the Aboriginal population.

“Whether they live in communities or in urban areas, young Aboriginals face multiple problems that can have major consequences on their development, which positions them among the most vulnerable in Quebec,” we read in the introduction.

An intensification of actions with Aboriginal youth, in particular through support for new youth strategies developed by young people from the Atikamekw and Naskapi Nations, is therefore planned.

Statistical showcase

Finally, the Secrétariat à la jeunesse, in collaboration with the Institut de la statistique du Québec, created the Statistical showcase on young people aged 15 to 29. This presents updated data on the situation of young Quebecers in relation to the seven areas of intervention. Ultimately, it will include 60 youth indicators which will be gradually disseminated.

You can read the full Action Plan online.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Éducation et citoyenneté au coeur du nouveau Plan d’action jeunesse du Québec

Le gouvernement du Québec a récemment lancé son Plan d’action jeunesse 2021-2024. Celui-ci est le reflet des priorités exprimées par les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans, recueillies dans les derniers mois au cours d’une consultation. L’éducation et la citoyenneté y trouvent des places de choix.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le gouvernement du Québec a récemment lancé son Plan d’action jeunesse 2021-2024. Celui-ci est le reflet des priorités exprimées par les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans, recueillies dans les derniers mois au cours d’une consultation. L’éducation et la citoyenneté y trouvent des places de choix.

Le Plan d’action jeunesse 2021-2024 a pour « objectif d’accompagner les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans dans leur parcours vers l’autonomie en leur offrant des milieux stimulants, sains et sécuritaires et en les soutenant dans leurs apprentissages et leur projet de vie ». Il est la seconde mouture d’un premier plan lancé en 2016.

Il est composé de 21 objectifs, répartis selon sept axes d’intervention : l’emploi, l’entrepreneuriat, l’environnement, la culture, l’éducation, la santé et la citoyenneté. Afin de tenir compte des préoccupations des jeunes d’aujourd’hui, les axes Culture et Environnement ont été ajoutés par rapport à 2016. De même, de nouveaux objectifs ont fait leur apparition :

  • Former et outiller les jeunes pour les métiers du futur (axe Emploi);
  • Promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat responsable (axe Entrepreneuriat);
  • Soutenir le développement de la pensée critique et l’engagement civique (axe Citoyenneté).

Axe Éducation

L’éducation a été le sujet le plus commenté au cours de la consultation publique. Les jeunes qui y ont participé ont dit vouloir « plus d’apprentissages par l’action et l’expérimentation. Ils désirent participer à la réalisation de projets concrets. Ils aiment les activités parascolaires qui favorisent la connaissance de soi. Ils les souhaitent plus accessibles et variées, pour qu’elles correspondent mieux à leurs champs d’intérêt ».

« Si des progrès importants ont été réalisés ces dernières années en matière d’éducation et d’enseignement supérieur, plusieurs défis demeurent d’actualité », lit-on dans le rapport. Ainsi, l’augmentation de la persévérance scolaire, de la diplomation et de qualification de jeunes, l’accès à des activités parascolaires et à des services d’orientation scolaire et professionnelle, la valorisation des différents parcours de formation sont les objectifs énoncés.

Pour les atteindre, des mesures sont déjà prévues, comme la mise en place de programmes expérientiels en arts, en science et génie, en design, ainsi qu’en leadership et en entrepreneuriat (Fusion Jeunesse), un service de mentorat virtuel (Academos Cybermentorat), des stages d’exploration en milieu de travail (JeunesExplo).

Axe Citoyenneté

« Si les jeunes s’engagent de multiples façons dans leur communauté, notamment dans des actions bénévoles, leur taux de participation électorale demeure en diminution. L’univers numérique dans lequel ils baignent offre de nouvelles possibilités d’engagement citoyen, mais il entraîne aussi des défis. Face à la quantité d’informations accessibles, à la multiplication des fausses nouvelles et à la polarisation des opinions, il peut être difficile, pour les jeunes, de s’y retrouver, ce qui représente un frein à la participation citoyenne », lit-on en introduction de l’axe Citoyenneté.

Une récente étude conclut d’ailleurs que 60 % des 18 à 24 ans avaient de la difficulté à distinguer les sources fiables à travers le flot d’informations qu’ils consultent en ligne. Le développement de la pensée critique et l’engagement civique des jeunes devient donc un objectif, accompagné de mesures comme les formations 30 secondes avant d’y croire, de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec, et les activités numériques jeunesse du Printemps numérique.

Jeunes autochtones

Par ailleurs, une section est entièrement dédiée aux jeunes des Premières Nations et aux jeunes Inuit. Alors que les moins de 30 ans ne constituent que le tiers de l’ensemble de la population du Québec, ils représentent la moitié de la population autochtone.

« Qu’ils habitent en communauté ou en milieu urbain, les jeunes Autochtones font face à des problématiques multiples qui peuvent avoir des conséquences majeures sur leur développement, ce qui les positionne parmi les plus vulnérables du Québec », lit-on en introduction.

Une intensification des actions auprès des jeunes Autochtones, notamment par le soutien à de nouvelles stratégies jeunesse élaborées par les jeunes des Nations Atikamekw et Naskapie, est donc prévue.

Vitrine statistique

Finalement, le Secrétariat à la jeunesse, en collaboration avec l’Institut de la statistique du Québec, a créé la Vitrine statistique sur les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans. Celle-ci présente des données mises à jour sur la situation des jeunes Québécois en lien avec les sept axes d’intervention. À terme, elle comprendra 60 indicateurs jeunesse qui seront graduellement diffusés.

Vous pouvez lire le Plan d’action complet en ligne.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct