Think Before You Click, an activity to educate elementary school students about the dangers of the Internet

Students are increasingly exposed to digital technology, with all the associated risks. The web is a huge and extremely stimulating source of information for learning, but it should be used with caution. Eureka Concept offers a new activity aimed at making primary school students aware of the risks of the web.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

By Jessica Allocca, M. Ed, remedial educator and founder of Eureka Concept

Students are increasingly exposed to digital technology, with all the associated risks. The web is a huge and extremely stimulating source of information for learning, but it should be used with caution. Eureka Concept offers a new activity aimed at making primary school students aware of the risks of the web.

Why make students aware of the dangers of the Web?

The Internet is a stimulating place to explore, discover, learn and interact with people. Unfortunately, there are also traps, predators, identity thieves, and other online tools or resources that can try to do harm. In order to be safe online, it is important for young people to be aware of the dangers.

Many of them are convinced that they know how to navigate safely. However, they rarely have a full understanding of the power of the web and all of the potential short and long term risks or repercussions. This is because they may not always think about the consequences of their actions, which can lead them to share too much information about themselves. Children are also sometimes specifically targeted by advertisements, cyberbullies or predators of all kinds.

As students learn new skills and knowledge in technology, they become more adventurous in using it. Online behavior and safety should therefore be an integral part of their learning environment. 

How to protect young people from the risks of the web?

There is a variety of means and tools that make it possible to make children aware of the dangers of digital technology. One of the most effective practices is to educate them by openly discussing the topic. Indeed, it is essential, by adapting the information to the children's age and level of understanding, to expose them to good practices for safe navigation.

First of all, it is essential to be familiar with the different types of online dangers. For example, children and teens may find inappropriate content, such as pornography, violence, or obscene language. There is also the possibility of cyberbullying or cyberstalking from other people. This does not mean that students will face all of these threats; however, knowing the dangers can go a long way in helping you make the right choices online.

Which activity to choose to open the discussion?

Eureka Concept, a Quebec company, recently launched Think before you click, an activity to raise awareness of the dangers of the Web. It is a free video capsule that allows elementary teachers to introduce the subject to their students. In addition, various activities accompany the capsule in order to initiate discussions, but also to explore this universe and to promote the integration of the content.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Réfléchis avant de cliquer, une activité pour sensibiliser les élèves du primaire aux dangers du Web

Les élèves sont de plus en plus exposés au numérique, avec tous les risques qui s’y rattachent. Le Web est une source d’informations immense et extrêmement stimulante pour favoriser l’apprentissage, mais il faut l’utiliser avec prudence. Eureka Concept propose une nouvelle activité visant à sensibiliser les élèves du primaire aux risques de la toile.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Par Jessica Allocca, M. Ed, orthopédagogue et fondatrice d’Eureka Concept

Les élèves sont de plus en plus exposés au numérique, avec tous les risques qui s’y rattachent. Le Web est une source d’informations immense et extrêmement stimulante pour favoriser l’apprentissage, mais il faut l’utiliser avec prudence. Eureka Concept propose une nouvelle activité visant à sensibiliser les élèves du primaire aux risques de la toile.

Pourquoi sensibiliser les élèves aux dangers du Web?

Internet est un endroit stimulant pour explorer, découvrir, apprendre et interagir avec les gens. Malheureusement, il existe également des pièges, des prédateurs, des voleurs d’identité et d’autres outils ou ressources en ligne qui peuvent essayer de faire du mal. Afin d’être en sécurité en ligne, il est important que les jeunes soient conscients des dangers.

Nombre d’entre eux sont convaincus qu’ils savent comment naviguer en toute sécurité. Cependant, ils ont rarement une compréhension complète de la puissance du Web et de l’ensemble des risques ou répercussions potentiels à court et long terme. En effet, ils peuvent ne pas toujours penser aux conséquences de leurs actions, ce qui peut les amener à partager trop d’informations sur eux-mêmes. Les enfants sont aussi parfois spécifiquement ciblés par les publicités, les cyberintimidateurs ou les prédateurs de toutes sortes.

Au fur et à mesure que les élèves acquièrent de nouvelles compétences et connaissances en technologie, ils deviennent plus aventureux dans leur utilisation. Le comportement et la sécurité en ligne devraient donc faire partie intégrante de leur environnement d’apprentissage. 

Comment protéger les jeunes des risques de la toile?

Il existe une panoplie de moyens et d’outils qui permettent de sensibiliser les enfants aux dangers du numérique. L’une des pratiques les plus efficaces consiste à les éduquer en discutant ouvertement du sujet. En effet, il est primordial, en adaptant l’information à l’âge et au niveau de compréhension des enfants, de leur exposer les bonnes pratiques pour naviguer en toute sécurité.

Tout d’abord, il est essentiel de bien connaître les différents types de dangers en ligne. Par exemple, les enfants et les adolescents peuvent trouver du contenu inapproprié, comme de la pornographie, de la violence ou un langage obscène. Il existe également une possibilité de cyberintimidation ou de cyberharcèlement de la part d’autres personnes. Cela ne signifie pas que les élèves seront confrontés à toutes ces menaces; par contre, connaître les dangers peut grandement aider à faire les bons choix en ligne.

Quelle activité choisir pour ouvrir la discussion?

Eureka Concept, une entreprise québécoise, a récemment lancé Réfléchis avant de cliquer, une activité de sensibilisation aux dangers du Web. C’est une capsule vidéo gratuite qui permet aux enseignants du primaire d’introduire le sujet auprès de leurs élèves. De plus, différentes activités accompagnent la capsule afin d’initier des discussions, mais aussi d’explorer cet univers et de favoriser l’intégration du contenu.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :