The social approach to teaching: growing up in contact with others

Using the human resources in the community to enrich the lives of students, this is how teacher Catherine Lapointe explains her “social pedagogy”, an approach to teaching that is dear to her. Following a workshop she offered in October 2019, we met her to find out more, as well as Chantal Larivière, who had just attended as a “great witness”.

You might also like:

Add to favorites (0)

Using the human resources in the community to enrich the lives of students, this is how teacher Catherine Lapointe explains her “social pedagogy”, an approach to teaching that is dear to her. Following a workshop she offered in October 2019, we met her to find out more, as well as Chantal Larivière, who had just attended as a “great witness”.

An interview with Stéphanie Dionne, text by Audrey Miller

"Learn about the world around the world to contribute to the world"  

The best way to experience social pedagogy is, for Catherine, to take her class outside of school, but not only in the playground! With her students, she walks on the surrounding paths, those where young people can meet people, observe them, and even interact with them, and "invest their community". It is a way of showing young learners that they have a place in society and that it is important. This allows them to develop their interpersonal skills through the acquisition of knowledge and other academic skills. Because at each outing, there is of course one or more educational intentions, often experienced in the form of a "mission".  

She tells us more about it in this interview, shot just after the workshop on the subject that she offered on the occasion of the 2e IDÉE Entrepreneurial Education fall congress, in October 2019 in Lévis.

“Social innovation is daring to transform in contact with others. "

- A QUOTE FROM NADIA DUGUAY THAT INSPIRES HER A LOT.

Mme Chantal's nature class

At the same congress, we also met Chantal Lariviere, an educational coach in Eastern Ontario, who had just attended Catherine Lapointe's workshop as a “great witness”. She was very touched by his way of letting children be children and acting as a guide in their learning of basic human skills.

She also talks to us about her own "nature class", a way of offering young people who are less fortunate, for example because they live in a tower of apartments, to have contact with nature and to discover whatever she can teach them.  

Two passionate teachers to listen to without delay!

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

L’approche sociale de la pédagogie : grandir au contact des autres

Utiliser les ressources humaines du milieu pour enrichir la vie des élèves, voilà comment l’enseignante Catherine Lapointe explique sa « pédagogie sociale », une approche de l’enseignement qui lui est chère. Suite à un atelier qu’elle a offert en octobre 2019, nous l’avons rencontrée pour en savoir plus, ainsi que Chantal Larivière, qui venait d’y assister en tant que « grand témoin ».

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Utiliser les ressources humaines du milieu pour enrichir la vie des élèves, voilà comment l’enseignante Catherine Lapointe explique sa « pédagogie sociale », une approche de l’enseignement qui lui est chère. Suite à un atelier qu’elle a offert en octobre 2019, nous l’avons rencontrée pour en savoir plus, ainsi que Chantal Larivière, qui venait d’y assister en tant que « grand témoin ».

Une entrevue de Stéphanie Dionne, texte de Audrey Miller

« Apprendre le monde à travers le monde pour contribuer au monde »  

La meilleure façon de vivre la pédagogie sociale est, pour Catherine, d’emmener sa classe à l’extérieur de l’école, mais pas seulement dans la cour de récréation! Avec ses élèves, elle marche sur les chemins environnants, ceux où les jeunes peuvent rencontrer des gens, les observer, et même interagir avec eux, et « investir leur communauté ». C’est une façon de montrer aux jeunes apprenants qu’ils ont une place dans la société et que celle-ci est importante. Cela leur permet de développer leur savoir-être à travers de l’acquisition de savoirs et d’autres compétences académiques. Car à chaque sortie, il y a bien sûr une ou des intentions pédagogiques, souvent vécues sous forme de « mission ».  

Elle nous en parle plus longuement dans cette entrevue tournée juste après l’atelier sur le sujet qu’elle a offert à l’occasion du 2e congrès automnal d’IDÉE Éducation entrepreneuriale, en octobre 2019 à Lévis.

« L’innovation sociale, c’est d’oser se transformer au contact des autres. »

– UNE CITATION DE NADIA DUGUAY QUI L’INSPIRE BEAUCOUP.

La classe nature de Mme Chantal

Lors du même congrès, nous avons aussi rencontré Chantal Larivière, accompagnatrice pédagogique dans l’Est ontarien, qui venait d’assister à l’atelier de Catherine Lapointe en tant que « grand témoin ». Elle a été très touchée par sa façon de laisser les enfants être des enfants et d’agir comme guide dans leur apprentissage des compétences humaines fondamentales.

Elle nous parle aussi de sa propre « classe nature », une façon d’offrir aux jeunes qui en ont moins la chance, par exemple parce qu’ils habitent une tour d’appartements, d’avoir un contact avec la nature et de découvrir tout ce qu’elle peut leur apprendre.  

Deux enseignantes passionnées à écouter sans tarder!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
Stéphanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.