ADVERTISEMENT

A portrait of young Quebecers who finish high school

On the eve of the Summit on Higher Education, the Federation of Private Education Institutions (FÉEP) shares certain conclusions of a survey it conducted to adequately identify the needs of these young people who are moving to CEGEPs and universities. Quebec universities.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

On the eve of the Summit on Higher Education, the Federation of Private Education Institutions (FÉEP) shares certain conclusions of a survey it conducted to adequately identify the needs of these young people who are moving to CEGEPs and universities. Quebec universities.

The survey was carried out in 2009-2010 among more than 44,000 young people aged 12 to 18. A similar survey was carried out by the Federation in 2000-2001, which allows comparisons to be made. Who are these young people entering CEGEP and university today? What are their expectations of the education system? That's the kind of question she was trying to answer.

Among the observations made by comparing the data, we see that young people graduating from high school smoke less, font more physical activity and this feed better than in 2001. On the other hand, the average length of their night's sleep increased from 8.2 hours in 2001 to 7.9 hours in 2010 and more of them feel tired in class.

Today's students spend an average of almost 10 hours per week on " trendy hobbies “, That is, using the computer and the Internet for fun. On the other hand, there has been a decrease in the time allocated to watching television and to outdoor leisure activities.

In terms of school life, physical activity, sports and outdoors are particularly popular. More than 80 % boys say they participate. The cultural activities And the activities community engagement and volunteering are also popular. In addition, nearly one in five students is involved in the organization and functioning of his school.

With regard to favorite subjects of students, physical education, mathematics, science and technology, history and geography are popular with boys. Girls, on the other hand, prefer the arts, French and English. However, today's students are less motivated towards the school than those of 10 years ago. Indeed, barely one in two says they are motivated.

 

 

The follow-up to the survey for the FEEP

“The survey allows us to clearly identify the specific problems and challenges facing today's students,” explains André Revert, student services coordinator at the Federation. In 2002, following the first survey, FEEP set up a training program called Getting the tools to better help our young people. More than 150 days of training were given to teachers, educators and other stakeholders in the school environment, related to various issues. "

These observations led to the establishment of a broad reflection on the school of tomorrow. As explained by Jean-Marc St-Jacques, President of the Federation and Director General of Collège Bourget, “we have reached a historic crossroads in education. Knowledge is no longer just in the teacher's head and in the library, it is also in our phones and digital tablets. The relationship of today's pupils to school and to knowledge is radically different from that of their elders. This leads us to question the current model of the Quebec school, which was put in place in the 1960s. ”And he adds:“ The school must help students acquire the knowledge and skills to succeed in the field. their personal, social and professional life. It must lead them to develop good working methods, teach them to provide a sustained effort, to be rigorous and to have good judgment. These are essential elements that we do not question. However, we believe that the school must innovate and adapt to the reality of the 21e century to properly fulfill its mission. "

 

Source: FÉEP press release

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un portrait des jeunes québécois qui finissent le secondaire

À la veille du Sommet sur l'enseignement supérieur, la Fédération des établissements d'enseignement privés (FÉEP) partage certaines conclusions d’une enquête qu’elle a menée pour identifier adéquatement les besoins de ces jeunes qui se dirigent vers les cégeps et les universités québécoises.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

À la veille du Sommet sur l’enseignement supérieur, la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés (FÉEP) partage certaines conclusions d’une enquête qu’elle a menée pour identifier adéquatement les besoins de ces jeunes qui se dirigent vers les cégeps et les universités québécoises.

L’enquête a été réalisée en 2009-2010 auprès de plus de 44 000 jeunes de 12 à 18 ans. Une enquête similaire avait été réalisée par la Fédération en 2000-2001, ce qui permet d’établir des comparaisons. Qui sont ces jeunes qui entrent aujourd’hui au cégep et à l’université? Quelles sont leurs attentes à l’égard du système d’éducation? Voilà le genre de question auxquelles elle tentait de répondre.

Parmi les observations faites en comparant les données, on constate que les jeunes finissants du secondaire fument moins, font plus d’activité physique et se nourrissent mieux qu’en 2001. Par contre, la durée moyenne de leur nuit de sommeil est passée de 8,2 heures en 2001 à 7,9 heures en 2010 et ils sont plus nombreux à ressentir de la fatigue en classe.

Les élèves d’aujourd’hui consacrent près de 10 heures en moyenne par semaine aux « loisirs branchés », c’est à dire à l’utilisation de l’ordinateur et d’Internet pour le plaisir. En contrepartie, on note une baisse du temps alloué à l’écoute de la télévision et aux loisirs extérieurs.

Du côté de la vie scolaire, les activités physiques, sportives et de plein air sont particulièrement populaires. Plus de 80 % des garçons disent y participer. Les activités culturelles et les activités d’engagement communautaire et de bénévolat sont aussi populaires. De plus, près d’un élève sur cinq s’implique dans l’organisation et le fonctionnement de son école.

En ce qui a trait aux matières préférées des élèves, l’éducation physique, les mathématiques, les sciences et technologie, l’histoire et la géographique ont la cote auprès des garçons. Les filles, quant à elles, préfèrent les arts, le français et l’anglais. Cependant, les élèves d’aujourd’hui sont moins motivés à l’égard de l’école que ceux d’il y a 10 ans. En effet, à peine un sur deux se dit motivé.

 

 

Les suites de l’enquête pour la FÉEP

« L’enquête nous permet de bien cerner les problèmes et les défis particuliers auxquels sont confrontés les élèves d’aujourd’hui, explique André Revert, coordonnateur des services aux élèves à la Fédération. En 2002, à la suite de la première enquête, la FEEP a mis sur pied un programme de formation intitulé S’outiller pour mieux aider nos jeunes. Plus de 150 jours de formations ont été donnés aux enseignants, éducateurs et autres intervenants en milieu scolaire, reliés à différents enjeux. »

Ces constats ont entraîné la mise sur pied d’une vaste réflexion sur l’école de demain. Comme l’explique M. Jean-Marc St-Jacques, président de la Fédération et directeur général du Collège Bourget, « nous sommes arrivés à un carrefour historique en matière d’éducation. Le savoir n’est plus seulement dans la tête de l’enseignant et à la bibliothèque, il est aussi dans notre téléphone et notre tablette numérique. Le rapport des élèves d’aujourd’hui à l’école et à la connaissance est radicalement différent de celui de leurs aînés. Cela nous amène à nous questionner sur le modèle actuel de l’école québécoise, qui a été mis en place dans les années 60. » Et il ajoute : « L’école doit amener les élèves à acquérir les connaissances et les compétences pour réussir dans leur vie personnelle, sociale et professionnelle. Elle doit les amener à développer de bonnes méthodes de travail, leur apprendre à fournir un effort soutenu, à faire preuve de rigueur et à avoir un bon jugement. Ce sont là des éléments incontournables que nous ne remettons pas en question. Cependant, nous croyons que l’école doit innover et s’adapter à la réalité du 21e siècle pour bien remplir sa mission. »

 

Source : Communiqué de la FÉEP

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :