3 ways to unite the teaching and development of oral skills in French and English in secondary school

In this article, our collaborators, France Legault, Maxime Paquet and Dave Parenteau, offer a few ways to maximize efforts and promote collaboration between all language teachers.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By France Legault, M.Ed., RÉCIT from private education, Maxime Paquet, PhD, French teacher and educational advisor at Collège Sainte-Marcelline, Dave Parenteau, English teacher at Collège Le Salésien

According to the results of a survey conducted by Chartrand and carried out among 801 French teachers and 1,618 students from 4e and 5e secondary level, few activities related to speaking in general, and even fewer oral comprehension activities, are carried out in French classes in secondary school (Sénéchal and Chartrand, 2011; 2012). We can also see that the development of oral communication skills is last in the order of priorities behind learning activities related to writing, reading and grammar. Knowing the importance of communication in global skills (Romero, 2017), how can we allocate time in class to teach and assess it without being overloaded?

We suggest a few ways to maximize efforts and promote collaboration between all language teachers.

Track 1: Understanding the English as a second language and French as a mother tongue program

It should be remembered that the English as a second language program (MEQ, 2006; MELS, 2007) attaches great importance to the development of oral communication skills and, in particular, to oral interactions between students. The program defines text as “any form of communication — oral, written, or visual — using the English language.” (MEQ, 2006, p.173). As for the first competence, that is interact orally in English, it forms the backbone of the English program and allows students to be placed in authentic oral communication situations that require the mobilization of linguistic, discursive and communicative skills.   

In the French, mother tongue program, the weighting assigned to oral communication skills is lower, i.e. 20 % of 1st at the 4e secondary, and 10 % in 5e secondary (MEQ, 2006; MELS, 2007; MEQ, 2011). In the evaluation framework (MEQ, 2011), we find that the evaluation criteria related to speaking are similar to those in writing and that those related to receiving a message are similar to those in reading. Thus, it is necessary to plan the learning activities of the French course by ensuring that the three skills are interrelated, and this, in order to give meaning to the learning, but also to work in a spirit of efficiency.  

Knowing that oral interactions are at the heart of the English program, but that oral communication skills occupy a lesser place in the French program, why not focus on oral interaction activities? It's probably a double whammy for all; students will be more competent and lessons can be beneficial for both subjects.

Track 2: Target common oral objects in order to teach them to students

We often use the spoken word as a medium of communication and exchange, but more rarely we teach specific objects that allow real learning to take place. However, Dumais (2014) identified 334 oral objects that can be taught. This list of objects includes, in particular, intonations, pauses, visual aids and posture.

Although some are less of a priority and worked on through reading and writing, it is nevertheless recommended to target 4 or 5 specific oral objects each year (Dumais, 2020) in order to teach them adequately. Collectively identifying these objects makes it possible to share the responsibility of teaching them, and they can subsequently be reinvested in other contexts or in other subjects.  

How to target the objects of the oral?

Drawing up a portrait of the strengths and weaknesses of students who attend school certainly makes it possible to target certain oral objects to be prioritized. In addition, the oral communication activities offered to students certainly also influence these choices.

Track 3: Get students to document their learning, to self-assess in order to improve

Through the oral teaching process, the documentation of oral productions, using digital tools, allows students to re-listen to themselves in order to self-assess, self-regulate or to assess their peers. Promoting students' metacognition and providing an overall view of the development of their oral skills, documentation makes it easier to monitor their progress. 

What tools can be used to collect the videos of the oral productions, the self-evaluation, co-evaluation and evaluation grids? A PowerPoint distributed by Teams or a Google Presentations distributed by Classroom make it possible to post links to videos of oral productions, to insert digital grids or photos of these when they are completed in paper format.

These various avenues show that by joining forces and focusing on a common vision, we will be able to develop the oral skills of our students and create bridges between departments without upsetting all of our planning!

References :

Dumais, C. (2020). Develop the oral communication skill of secondary school students orally by genres. [Presentation by a speaker]. 

Ministry of Education of Quebec (2006). Quebec school training program. Secondary education, first cycle. Quebec: Government of Quebec.

Ministry of Education, Recreation and Sport (2007). Quebec school training program. Secondary education, second cycle. Quebec: Government of Quebec.

Ministry of Education, Recreation and Sport (2011). Framework for the evaluation of learning, French language of instruction, secondary education 1st and 2nd cycle. Quebec: Government of Quebec. 

Romero, M. (2017). Skills for the 21st century. In M. Romero, B. Lille & A. Patiño (eds.), Creative uses of digital technology for learning in the 21st century (pp. 15-28). Quebec: Presses de l'Universite du Quebec.

Sénéchal, K. and Chartrand, S.-G. (2011). State of the art of French teaching (ELEF). Is there a place for the oral in the French class in secondary school? The Notebooks of the AQPF, 1(1), 4-5.

Sénéchal, K. and Chartrand, S.-G. (2012). Representations and practices of oral teaching in French class: changes and constants for 25 years. In R. Bergeron & G. Plessis-Bélair (eds.), Representations, analyzes and descriptions of oral French, its use and its teaching in primary, secondary and university. (pp. 185-199). Côte-Saint-Luc: Peisaj.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

3 pistes pour unir l’enseignement et le développement des compétences à l’oral en français et en anglais au secondaire

Dans cet article, nos collaborateurs, France Legault, Maxime Paquet et Dave Parenteau, proposent quelques pistes afin de maximiser les efforts et favoriser la collaboration entre tous les enseignants de langues.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par France Legault, M. Ed., RÉCIT de l’enseignement privé, Maxime Paquet, Ph.D., enseignant de français et conseiller pédagogique au Collège Sainte-Marcelline, Dave Parenteau, enseignant d’anglais au Collège Le Salésien

Selon les résultats d’une enquête dirigée par Chartrand et réalisée auprès de 801 enseignants de français et de 1618 élèves de 4e et 5e secondaire, peu d’activités liées à l’oral en général, et encore moins d’activités de compréhension orale, sont réalisées dans les classes de français au secondaire (Sénéchal et Chartrand, 2011; 2012). On peut aussi constater que le développement de la compétence en communication orale est bon dernier dans l’ordre des priorités derrière les activités d’apprentissage liées à l’écriture, à la lecture et à la grammaire. Sachant l’importance de la communication dans les compétences globales (Romero, 2017), comment peut-on y accorder du temps en classe pour l’enseigner et l’évaluer sans être surchargé?

Nous vous proposons quelques pistes afin de maximiser les efforts et favoriser la collaboration entre tous les enseignants de langues.

Piste 1 : Bien comprendre le programme d’anglais langue seconde et de français langue maternelle

Il convient de rappeler que le programme d’anglais langue seconde (MEQ, 2006; MELS, 2007) accorde une grande importance au développement de la compétence en communication orale et, notamment, aux interactions orales entre les élèves. Dans le programme, on définit un texte comme « toute forme de communication — orale, écrite ou visuelle — faisant appel à la langue anglaise » (MEQ, 2006, p.173). Quant à la première compétence, soit interagir oralement en anglais, elle constitue la trame de fond du programme d’anglais et permet de placer les élèves dans des situations authentiques de communication orale qui nécessitent la mobilisation d’habiletés linguistiques, discursives et communicatives.   

Dans le programme de français, langue maternelle, la pondération attribuée à la compétence en communication orale est plus petite, soit 20 % de la 1re à la 4e secondaire, et 10 % en 5e secondaire (MEQ, 2006; MELS, 2007; MEQ, 2011).  Dans le cadre d’évaluation (MEQ, 2011), on constate que les critères d’évaluation liés à la prise de parole sont similaires à ceux en écriture et que ceux liés à la réception d’un message sont similaires à ceux en lecture. Ainsi, il convient de planifier les activités d’apprentissage du cours de français en s’assurant que les trois compétences sont interreliées, et ce, afin de donner du sens aux apprentissages, mais aussi pour travailler dans un esprit d’efficience.  

Sachant que les interactions orales sont au cœur du programme d’anglais, mais que la compétence en communication orale occupe une moins grande place dans le programme de français, pourquoi ne pas miser sur des activités d’interactions orales? C’est probablement un coup double pour tous; les élèves seront plus compétents et les enseignements pourront être bénéfiques pour les deux matières.

Piste 2 : Cibler des objets d’oral communs afin de les enseigner aux élèves

On utilise souvent l’oral comme médium de communication et d’échange, mais on enseigne plus rarement des objets spécifiques permettant de réaliser de réels apprentissages. Or, Dumais (2014) a identifié 334 objets d’oral qu’il est possible d’enseigner. Parmi cette liste d’objets, on y retrouve, notamment, les intonations, les pauses, les supports visuels et la posture.

Bien que certains soient moins prioritaires et travaillés à travers la lecture et l’écriture, il est toutefois recommandé de cibler chaque année 4 ou 5 objets spécifiques à l’oral (Dumais, 2020) afin de les enseigner adéquatement.  Identifier collectivement ces objets permet de partager la responsabilité de les enseigner, et ils pourront par la suite être réinvestis dans d’autres contextes ou dans d’autres matières.  

Comment cibler les objets de l’oral?

Dresser le portrait des forces et des faiblesses des élèves qui fréquentent l’école permet très certainement de cibler certains objets de l’oral à prioriser. De plus, les activités de communication orales proposées aux élèves influencent certainement aussi ces choix.

Piste 3 : Amener les élèves à documenter leurs apprentissages, à s’autoévaluer afin de s’améliorer

À travers le processus d’enseignement de l’oral, la documentation des productions orales, à l’aide d’outils numériques, permet aux élèves de se réécouter pour s’autoévaluer, s’autoréguler ou pour évaluer leurs pairs. Favorisant la métacognition des élèves et permettant d’avoir une vision globale du développement des compétences orales de ceux-ci, la documentation rend plus facile le suivi de leur progression. 

Quels outils peut-on prendre pour colliger les vidéos des productions orales, les grilles d’autoévaluation, de coévaluation et d’évaluation? Un PowerPoint distribué par Teams ou un Google Présentations distribué par Classroom permettent de déposer des liens vers les vidéos des productions orales, d’insérer des grilles numériques ou des photos de celles-ci lorsqu’elles sont remplies en format papier.

Ces diverses pistes montrent qu’en unissant nos forces et en misant sur une vision commune, nous pourrons développer les compétences orales de nos élèves et créer des ponts entre les départements sans bouleverser toute notre planification!

Références :

Dumais, C. (2020). Développer la compétence à communiquer oralement des élèves du secondaire par l’oral par les genres. [Présentation d’un conférencier]. 

Ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (2006). Programme de formation de l’école québécoise. Enseignement secondaire, premier cycle. Québec : Gouvernement du Québec.

Ministère de l’Éducation, des Loisirs et du Sport (2007). Programme de formation de l’école québécoise. Enseignement secondaire, deuxième cycle. Québec : Gouvernement du Québec.

Ministère de l’Éducation, des Loisirs et du Sport (2011). Cadre d’évaluation des apprentissages, français langue d’enseignement, enseignement secondaire 1er et 2e cycle. Québec : Gouvernement du Québec. 

Romero, M. (2017). Les compétences pour le XXIe siècle. Dans M. Romero, B. Lille & A. Patiño (dir.), Usages créatifs du numérique pour l’apprentissage au XXIe siècle (p. 15-28). Québec : Presses de l’Université du Québec.

Sénéchal, K. et Chartrand, S.-G. (2011). État des lieux de l’enseignement du français (ELEF). Y a-t-il une place pour l’oral dans la classe de français au secondaire? Les Cahiers de l’AQPF, 1(1), 4-5.

Sénéchal, K. et Chartrand, S.-G. (2012). Représentations et pratiques de l’enseignement de l’oral en classe de français : changements et constantes depuis 25 ans. Dans R. Bergeron & G. Plessis-Bélair (dir.), Représentations, analyses et descriptions du français oral, de son utilisation et de son enseignement au primaire, au secondaire et à l’université. (p. 185-199). Côte-Saint-Luc : Peisaj.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :