A serious game to discover the Canadian Francophonie

The Canadian Association for French Language Education (ACELF) will be working in the coming weeks on a serious game concept aimed at introducing young people to the Canadian Francophonie.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The pandemic has taught us to keep our distance. La Francophonie encourages us to come together! The Canadian Association for French Language Education (ACELF) will be working in the coming weeks on a serious game concept aimed at introducing young people to the Canadian Francophonie.

On November 25, the Quebec minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie, Sonia LeBel, announced several measures aimed at supporting and advancing relations between Quebec and the Canadian Francophonie, in addition to contributing to the influence of the French language in Canada. The government of Quebec has also signed an agreement with the Federation of Francophone and Acadian Communities (FCFA) of Canada in order to strengthen and increase the rapprochement with Quebecers.

On the education side, two measures:

A new French-language research assistance service in Canada, which will be piloted by theACFAS;

· A new educational resource for primary and secondary education in French, which will be developed by ACELF.

Get to know each other better through play

The director of ACELF, Richard Lacombe, acknowledges that, during the announcement, the Quebec minister gave very few details about the new educational resource. "It is quite simply that we have, for the moment, only the main orientations of the project", he says.

On the other hand, it can already let people know that it will take the form of a serious game which will contain "fun and stimulating activities". Remember that this type of game aims to make a serious dimension of a subject attractive through a form or interactivity, which is also intended to be fun. Serious play is part of the gamification trend in the world of education.

ACELF is renowned for creating digital activities for elementary and secondary school teachers that focus not only on the Francophonie, but also on building Francophones' identity. This is already the case with the National Francophonie Week, as well as the popular Bank of educational activities.

For Richard Lacombe, the next creation of the ACELF should offer teachers "a variety of fun activities (of educational value) to address not only the history of the Canadian Francophonie and of the provincial and territorial Francophone communities, but also current components illustrating their vitality ”.  

The director general mentions in particular themes as diverse as music, visual art, literature, links with aboriginal communities, the contribution of recent immigration or the richness of cultural diversity. Other themes can be added such as geography, sport, leadership, youth entrepreneurship and even influential French-speaking YouTubers.

Once again, these are avenues for reflection, reminds Richard Lacombe. The creation process has only just begun. One thing is certain: the new platform will be free for everyone.

According to Mr. Lacombe, teachers should be able to use this new material especially in history, French and social science lessons. “In short, we are adding a simple and attractive resource for approaching Canadian Francophonies in the classroom,” he concludes. 

Other actions

During the announcement, Minister LeBel also presented the addition of a component of activities in French intended for Francophone entrepreneurs, during major Canadian economic events. The Federation of Quebec Chambers of Commerce (FCCQ) will be responsible for the implementation of this action.

For its part, the Fédération culturelle canadienne-française (FCCF) will set up a collaborative hub for francophone arts and culture. Finally, the Minister also mentioned the creation, in the television production sector, of two grants to support emerging creators of the Canadian Francophonie, as part of the Créateurs en série program. TV5 / Unis.tv.

In addition : A summary of the measures announced by the Government of Quebec

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Un jeu sérieux pour découvrir la francophonie canadienne

L’Association canadienne d’éducation de langue française (ACELF) planchera dans les prochaines semaines sur un concept de jeu sérieux visant à faire découvrir la francophonie canadienne aux jeunes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

La pandémie nous a appris à garder nos distances. La francophonie nous incite au rapprochement! L’Association canadienne d’éducation de langue française (ACELF) planchera dans les prochaines semaines sur un concept de jeu sérieux visant à faire découvrir la francophonie canadienne aux jeunes.

Le 25 novembre dernier, la ministre québécoise responsable des Relations canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne, Sonia LeBel, a fait l’annonce de plusieurs mesures visant à soutenir et faire progresser les relations entre le Québec et la francophonie canadienne, en plus de contribuer au rayonnement de la langue française au Canada. Le gouvernement du Québec a d’ailleurs signé une entente avec la Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne (FCFA) du Canada afin de renforcer et accroître le rapprochement avec les Québécois.

Du côté de l’éducation, deux mesures :

·  un nouveau Service d’aide à la recherche en français au Canada, qui sera piloté par l’ACFAS;

·  une nouvelle ressource pédagogique pour l’enseignement primaire et secondaire en français, qui sera développée par l’ACELF.

Mieux se connaître par le jeu

Le directeur de l’ACELF, Richard Lacombe, reconnaît que, lors de l’annonce, la ministre québécoise a donné très peu de détails concernant la nouvelle ressource pédagogique. « C’est tout simplement que nous n’avons, pour le moment, que les grandes orientations du projet », dit-il.

Par contre, il peut déjà faire savoir que celui-ci prendra la forme d’un jeu sérieux qui contiendra « des activités ludiques et stimulantes ». Rappelons que ce type de jeu vise à rendre attrayante une dimension sérieuse d’un sujet par une forme ou une interactivité, qui se veut aussi amusante. Le jeu sérieux s’inscrit dans le courant de ludification du monde de l’éducation.

L’ACELF est réputée pour créer, à l’intention des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire, des activités numériques axées non seulement sur la francophonie, mais également sur la construction identitaire des francophones. C’est le cas déjà avec la Semaine nationale de la francophonie, ainsi que la populaire Banque d’activités pédagogiques.

Pour Richard Lacombe, la prochaine création de l’ACELF devrait offrir aux enseignants « une variété d’activités ludiques (à valeur pédagogique) pour aborder, non seulement l’histoire de la francophonie canadienne et des communautés francophones provinciales et territoriales, mais aussi des composantes actuelles illustrant la vitalité de celles-ci ».  

Le directeur général mentionne notamment des thèmes aussi divers que la musique, l’art visuel, la littérature, les liens avec les communautés autochtones, l’apport de l’immigration récente ou encore la richesse de la diversité culturelle. D’autres thèmes pourront s’ajouter comme la géographie, le sport, le leadership, l’entrepreneuriat jeunesse et même les YouTubeurs francophones influents.

Encore une fois, ce sont là des pistes de réflexion, tient à rappeler Richard Lacombe. Le processus de création ne fait que débuter. Une chose est sûre : la nouvelle plateforme sera gratuite pour tous.

Selon M. Lacombe, les enseignants devraient être en mesure d’utiliser ce nouveau matériel dans le cadre notamment des cours d’histoire, de français et de sciences sociales. « Bref, nous ajoutons une ressource simple et attrayante d’aborder les francophonies canadiennes en salle de classe », conclut-il. 

D’autres actions

Lors de l’annonce, la ministre LeBel a aussi présenté l’ajout d’un volet d’activités en français destinées aux entrepreneurs francophones, lors des grands événements économiques canadiens. La Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec (FCCQ) sera responsable de la mise en œuvre de cette action.

De son côté, la Fédération culturelle canadienne-française (FCCF) mettra sur pied un carrefour de collaboration pour les arts et la culture francophones. Enfin, la ministre a également mentionné la création, dans le secteur de la production télévisuelle, de deux bourses de soutien aux créateurs de la relève de la francophonie canadienne, dans le cadre du programme Créateurs en série de TV5/Unis.tv.

En complément : Un récapitulatif des mesures annoncées par le gouvernement du Québec

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée

L'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!