Higher Education Council

Higher Education Council urges new normal

The Superior Council of Education (CSE) recently published one of its most comprehensive and interesting reports. Without detour, the objective of the CSE with this publication is to avoid a return to "normality" and thus take advantage of the collective awareness to improve the education system for good. Here is our summary.

The École branchée Meetings: Interview with Maryse Lassonde, President of the Higher Education Council

Maryse Lassonde is president of the Higher Education Council. In this interview, she talks about her professional career and the work of her organization, but also the challenges that await the school community in the coming year, the integration of digital technology in schools and the changes caused by the pandemic.

"It is no longer enough to teach digitally, we must educate digitally"

While progress has been made in integrating technologies into schools, there is still some way to go and, above all, challenges to overcome, reminds us of the Higher Education Council.

Revision of the Ethics and Religious Culture course - The place of digital citizenship and other themes

In a new opinion to the Minister of Education, the Superior Council of Education of Quebec deals with the review of the Ethics and Religious Culture (ECR) program, issues recommendations to ensure its success and makes certain caveats. concerning the process currently carried out.

Facilitate classroom management in distance education

The pandemic has created a number of classroom management challenges for teachers. The Council of the Week from the Higher Education Council (CSE) reminds us of the importance of creating a climate of communication and trust which facilitates class management and reduces constraining factors.

Improving the teaching of English as a second language at the elementary level: a balance to be found

On August 27, the Higher Education Council released an opinion entitled Improving the teaching of English as a second language at the primary level: a balance to be found. Given the issues that the Conseil has identified - related to identity, efficiency and equity - this balance requires different adjustments depending on the context, setting and region.

Professional development, enrichment for the entire teaching profession

The Higher Education Council released on June 3 an opinion entitled Professional development: enrichment for the entire teaching profession. In this opinion, the Council maintains that the professional development of teaching staff is a major source of enhancement of the profession, provided that each teacher is truly at the heart of this process.

The preschool recommended by the Superior Council of Education

The Higher Education Council this week released an opinion on preschool children. In particular, it recommends that the government "set itself the objective that, within 5 years, 90 % of 4-year-old Quebec children attend education services regulated by the State".

Conseil supérieur de l'éducation

Les Rencontres de l’École branchée : Entretien avec Maryse Lassonde, présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’Éducation

Maryse Lassonde est présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’éducation. Dans cette entrevue, elle nous parle de son parcours professionnel et des travaux de son organisation, mais aussi des défis qui attendent le milieu scolaire dans la prochaine année, d’intégration du numérique dans les écoles et des changements causés par la pandémie.

« Il ne suffit plus d’enseigner par le numérique, il faut éduquer au numérique »

Si des progrès ont été réalisés en matière d’intégration des technologies à l’école, il reste encore du chemin à parcourir et surtout des défis à relever, nous rappelle le Conseil supérieur de l'éducation.

Révision du cours d’Éthique et culture religieuse – La place de la citoyenneté numérique et autres thématiques

Dans un nouvel avis au ministre de l’Éducation, le Conseil supérieur de l’Éducation du Québec traite de la révision du programme d’Éthique et culture religieuse (ECR), émet des recommandations afin d’en garantir le succès et formule certains bémols concernant la démarche effectuée présentement.

Faciliter la gestion de la classe dans l’enseignement à distance

La pandémie a entraîné pour les enseignants plusieurs défis de gestion de la classe. Le conseil de la semaine du Conseil supérieur de l'éducation (CSE) rappelle à cet effet l’importance de créer un climat de communication et de confiance qui facilitent la gestion de classe et réduisent les facteurs contraignants.

L’amélioration de l’enseignement de l’anglais, langue seconde, au primaire : un équilibre à trouver

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation rend public le 27 août dernier un avis intitulé L’amélioration de l’enseignement de l’anglais, langue seconde, au primaire : un équilibre à trouver. Compte tenu des enjeux que le Conseil a dégagés – liés à l’identité, à l’efficacité et à l’équité – cet équilibre exige des aménagements différents selon les contextes, les milieux, les régions.

Le développement professionnel, un enrichissement pour toute la profession enseignante

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation a rendu public le 3 juin un avis intitulé Le développement professionnel : un enrichissement pour toute la profession enseignante. Dans cet avis, le Conseil soutient que le développement professionnel du personnel enseignant est une source majeure de valorisation de la profession pourvu que chaque enseignante et enseignant soit véritablement au cœur de ce processus.

La prématernelle recommandée par le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation

Le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation a rendu public cette semaine un avis à propos des enfants d’âge préscolaire. Il recommande notamment au gouvernement « de se donner pour objectif que, d’ici 5 ans, 90 % des enfants québécois de 4 ans fréquentent les services d’éducation réglementés par l’État ».