The École branchée Meetings: Interview with Maryse Lassonde, President of the Higher Education Council

Maryse Lassonde is president of the Higher Education Council. In this interview, she talks about her professional career and the work of her organization, but also the challenges that await the school community in the coming year, the integration of digital technology in schools and the changes caused by the pandemic.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The École branchée presents a series of interviews with well-known and lesser-known actors in the world of education. Each in their own way, in the shadows (or not), they play a role in the educational and digital ecosystem. We have decided to introduce them to you by asking them a few questions.

For this first interview, we met Maryse Lassonde, president of the Higher Education Council (CSE).

L'École branchée: In a few sentences, how do you describe CSE?

Mrs Maryse Lassonde

Maryse Lassonde: The CSE was created by the Government of Quebec at the same time as the provincial Ministry of Education. It was an idea of Paul Gérin-Lajoie who wanted to give a voice to representatives of civil society so that they could guide the MEQ in its decisions. It is a way of keeping democracy alive in education.

The CSE now has around 40 employees and 110 members who sit on committees and commissions. These members, appointed by the Council of Ministers, offer a good representation of Quebec's diversity. They allow the CSE to deliver opinions to the Minister of Education which are based on science, but which are also colored by the reality on the ground and common exchanges.

ÉB: For our readers who want to know more about you, how do you present yourself? What is your background?

Maryse Lassonde: I worked for about 35 years in academia, as a professor of neuropsychology. I have always given of my time to promote the recognition of science in our society, especially with ACFAS. In 2012, I was appointed scientific director of the Fonds de recherche du Québec - Nature et technologies. I was also president of the Royal Society of Canada. Finally, since 2018, I have been president of the CSE. I plan to retire during the next summer.

ÉB: Since you took office as president, it seems that we hear more often about the CSE in the public square. Is this a goal that you have set for yourself?

Maryse Lassonde: Personally, I find the CSE to be an organization that deserves to be even better known. I make myself the proud spokesperson. On the other hand, I must say that my arrival in post also coincided with the entry into office of Jean-François Roberge as Minister of Education. Mr. Roberge specifically made a request for the CSE to be more visible and better known, in order to further demonstrate its contribution to the education community, and at the same time, the role of members. Particular attention is paid to the role that the CSE can bring to the level of higher education, as this has not been really emphasized over the years.

In addition, the CSE should no longer be seen as only useful for the Ministry of Education. Our opinions are addressed more and more to several ministries, which increases the notoriety and the reach of the CSE. For example, we have posted reviews on integration of immigrant families and on the child welfare. These are subjects that directly affect other departments.

ÉB: What achievement are you most proud of so far?

Maryse Lassonde: What a great question! Overall, I would say that I really appreciate the dynamics within the CSE. We are open and open to dialogue. We bring proposals to change the vision of education.

But, if I absolutely have to choose a CSE production, I will say that it is the Thesis on academic freedom in higher education, submitted in June 2021. Being an academic myself, this subject touches me a lot. In addition, this brief reflects the thinking of the CSE really well. We say censorship is not acceptable. We also emphasize the importance of pedagogical contextualization, faculty support for adapting practices and promoting the values of equity, diversity and inclusion in order to create a calm climate conducive to educational success. Academic freedom is experienced both at the individual and institutional level.

ÉB: What will be the challenges of the next school year according to you?

Maryse Lassonde: In my opinion, the same challenges that were present before the pandemic are still present in education. The pandemic only exacerbated them. Here, I am thinking mainly of the challenges of equity for students, in terms of access to various services, but also access to digital technology. We have been immersed in a digital world, but that does not mean that the challenges in terms of skills acquisition no longer exist. Inequalities remain very real.

Mental health issues were already present before the pandemic, but it has multiplied them disproportionately. We will have a long time to recover collectively. There will have to be systemic approaches.

Another challenge, more administrative this one, is the organization and governance of the school network. A balance must be found between decisions taken centrally in government and local self-government. The government drives the system, but wall-to-wall decisions are not necessarily adequate. Service centers and school boards know their local needs better than anyone. 

EB: What has the pandemic changed (in a sustainable way)? 

Maryse Lassonde: The pandemic has proven that the school system is capable of a lot of flexibility and resilience. The whole system was able to adjust to the situation fairly quickly. This flexibility must remain.

In addition, I would like the service centers and school boards to maintain their ability to offer distance education. This must be maintained in the services offered. We must not forget that education is a right and an essential service. Any pupil or student should have access to it wherever they are and whatever their condition.

ÉB: Regarding the integration of digital technology in schools, your last opinion was quite clear and underlined the urgency to act. What ingredient do you think is missing to go further in this integration?

Maryse Lassonde: We must stop dwelling on the technological tools themselves. They are not gimmicks. Teachers must be encouraged to make them their own in a teaching context. They must learn to use them for educational purposes, both for learning and for assessment. Moreover, I would like a project to see the light of day within the CSE on the theme of evaluation with digital technology. How can we assess otherwise?

ÉB: Exactly, in closing, what are the CSE committees working on at the moment? What themes will the next opinions focus on?

Maryse Lassonde: In addition to notices, we also publish regulatory briefs and notices. Here is the list of our main committees and commissions as well as the themes they are working on at the moment:

  • Committee on the State and Needs of Education: Getting back to normal? The education system during and after the COVID-19 pandemic (release December 2021)
  • College Teaching and Research Commission: The new training needs of students (publication early 2022)
  • Inter-order committee for the next generation of students: The impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the transition between high school and CEGEP (publication summer 2022)
  • Commission on University Teaching and Research: University research: successes, issues, social responsibility and challenges (publication fall 2022)
  • Committee on Adult Education and Continuing Education: Evaluate the relevance of a qualifications framework based on the particularities of adult education and continuing education and the Quebec context (publication fall 2022)
  • Commission for Preschool and Primary Education: The primary school of tomorrow: an innovative and ecosystem-based vision (start of work)
  • Secondary Education Commission: Encourage commitment and curiosity through the diversity and flexibility of the courses: take into account the students' point of view and experience (start of work).

Biography :

Maryse Lassonde obtained a Ph.D. in neuropsychology at Stanford University (California) in 1977. She was a professor at the University of Quebec in Trois-Rivières from 1977 to 1988 then at the University of Montreal from 1988 to 2012, where she became professor emeritus in 2013. Her research has focused on various themes including cognitive disorders associated with childhood epilepsy and the effects of concussions in sport. In addition, she has edited 7 books, authored over 300 scientific articles or chapters and received several honors and awards. So she is fellow from the Canadian Psychological Association, the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and the Royal Society of Canada. She is also an Officer of the Order of Canada and Chevalière de l'Ordre national du Québec, of which she chaired the Council from 2008 to 2010.

Ms. Lassonde was president of the Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS) in 1993. She also held a senior Canada research chair in developmental neuropsychology (2001-2013) and was president of the Royal Society of Canada (2015). -2017). Finally, she was scientific director of the Fonds de recherche du Québec - Nature et technologies from January 2012 to July 2018 and is currently president of the Quebec Superior Council of Education.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les Rencontres de l’École branchée : Entretien avec Maryse Lassonde, présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’Éducation

Maryse Lassonde est présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’éducation. Dans cette entrevue, elle nous parle de son parcours professionnel et des travaux de son organisation, mais aussi des défis qui attendent le milieu scolaire dans la prochaine année, d’intégration du numérique dans les écoles et des changements causés par la pandémie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’École branchée vous présente une série d’entrevues avec des acteurs connus et moins connus du monde de l’éducation. Chacun à leur manière, dans l’ombre (ou pas), ils jouent un rôle dans l’écosystème éducatif et numérique. Nous avons décidé de vous les présenter en leur posant quelques questions.

Pour ce premier entretien, nous avons rencontré Maryse Lassonde, présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’Éducation (CSE).

L’École branchée : En quelques phrases, comment décrivez-vous le CSE?

Mme Maryse Lassonde

Maryse Lassonde : Le CSE a été créé par le gouvernement du Québec en même temps que le ministère de l’Éducation de la province. C’était une idée de Paul Gérin-Lajoie qui voulait donner une voix à des représentants de la société civile pour qu’ils puissent orienter le MEQ dans ses décisions. C’est une façon de maintenir la démocratie vivante en éducation.

Le CSE compte aujourd’hui une quarantaine d’employés et 110 membres qui siègent sur les comités et commissions. Ces membres, nommés par le Conseil des ministres, offrent une belle représentation de la diversité québécoise. Ils permettent au CSE de livrer des avis au ministre de l’Éducation qui s’appuient sur la science, mais qui sont aussi colorés par la réalité du terrain et les échanges communs.

ÉB : Pour nos lecteurs qui désirent en savoir plus sur vous, comment vous présentez-vous? Quel est votre parcours?

Maryse Lassonde : J’ai travaillé pendant environ 35 ans dans le milieu universitaire, en tant que professeure en neuropsychologie. J’ai toujours donné de mon temps pour faire la promotion de la reconnaissance de la science dans notre société, notamment avec l’ACFAS. En 2012, j’ai été nommée directrice scientifique du Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies. J’ai aussi été présidente de la Société royale du Canada. Finalement, depuis 2018, je suis présidente du CSE. Je prévois prendre ma retraite au cours de l’été prochain.

ÉB : Depuis votre entrée en poste comme présidente, il semble que nous entendons plus souvent parler du CSE sur la place publique. Est-ce un objectif que vous vous êtes donné?

Maryse Lassonde : Personnellement, je trouve que le CSE est une organisation qui mérite d’être encore plus connue. Je m’en fais la fière porte-parole. Par contre, je dois dire que mon arrivée en poste a aussi coïncidé avec l’entrée en fonction de Jean-François Roberge comme ministre de l’Éducation. M. Roberge a spécifiquement formulé une demande pour que le CSE soit plus visible et plus connu, afin de démontrer davantage son apport pour le milieu de l’éducation, et du même coup, le rôle des membres. Une attention particulière est faite au rôle que le CSE peut apporter au niveau de l’enseignement supérieur, car celui-ci n’a pas été vraiment mis en valeur au fil des années.

De plus, le CSE ne doit plus être perçu comme seulement utile pour le ministère de l’Éducation. Nos avis s’adressent de plus en plus à plusieurs ministères, ce qui fait croître la notoriété et la portée du CSE. Par exemple, nous avons déposé des avis sur l’intégration des familles immigrantes et sur le bien-être des enfants. Ce sont des sujets qui touchent directement d’autres ministères.

ÉB : De quelle réalisation êtes-vous le plus fière jusqu’à maintenant?

Maryse Lassonde : Quelle grande question! De façon générale, je dirai que j’apprécie beaucoup la dynamique au sein du CSE. Nous sommes dans l’ouverture et le dialogue. Nous apportons des propositions pour faire évoluer la vision de l’éducation.

Mais, si je dois absolument choisir une production du CSE, je dirai qu’il s’agit du Mémoire sur la liberté académique en enseignement supérieur, déposé en juin 2021. Étant moi-même universitaire, ce sujet me touche beaucoup. Par ailleurs, ce mémoire reflète vraiment bien la pensée du CSE. Nous disons que la censure n’est pas acceptable. Nous soulignons aussi l’importance de la contextualisation pédagogique, du soutien professoral pour une adaptation des pratiques et de la promotion des valeurs d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion afin de créer un climat serein et propice à la réussite éducative. La liberté académique se vit autant au niveau individuel qu’institutionnel.

ÉB : Quels seront les défis de la prochaine année scolaire selon vous?

Maryse Lassonde : À mon sens, ce sont les mêmes défis qui étaient présents avant la pandémie qui demeurent bien présents en éducation. La pandémie les a seulement exacerbés. Ici, je pense principalement aux défis d’équité pour les élèves, en termes d’accès à différents services, mais aussi d’accès au numérique. Nous avons été baignés dans un univers numérique, mais cela ne veut pas dire que les enjeux en termes d’acquisition de compétences n’existent plus. Les inégalités demeurent bien réelles.

Les enjeux en lien avec la santé mentale étaient déjà présents avant la pandémie, mais celle-ci les a multipliés de façon disproportionnée. Nous en aurons pour longtemps à nous remettre collectivement. Il devra y avoir des approches systémiques.

Un autre défi, plus administratif celui-là, est l’organisation et la gouvernance du réseau scolaire. Un équilibre doit être trouvé entre les décisions prises centralement au gouvernement et l’autonomie locale. Le gouvernement pilote le système, mais les décisions mur à mur ne sont pas nécessairement adéquates. Les centres de services et les commissions scolaires connaissent mieux que quiconque leurs besoins locaux. 

ÉB : Qu’est-ce que la pandémie a changé (de façon durable)? 

Maryse Lassonde : La pandémie a prouvé que le système scolaire est capable de beaucoup de flexibilité et de résilience. Tout le système a été capable de s’adapter à la situation assez rapidement. Il faut que cette flexibilité demeure.

De plus, je souhaite que les centres de services et les commissions scolaires gardent leur capacité à offrir de l’enseignement à distance. Cela doit être maintenu dans les services offerts. Il ne faut pas oublier que l’éducation est un droit et un service essentiel. Tout élève ou étudiant devrait y avoir accès peu importe où il se trouve et peu importe sa condition.

ÉB : Concernant l’intégration du numérique à l’école, votre dernier avis était assez clair et soulignait l’urgence d’agir. Quel ingrédient manque-t-il selon vous pour aller plus loin dans cette intégration?

Maryse Lassonde : Il faut arrêter de s’attarder aux outils technologiques eux-mêmes. Ce ne sont pas des gadgets. Il faut amener les enseignants à se les approprier dans un contexte d’enseignement. Ils doivent apprendre à les utiliser à des fins pédagogiques, autant pour l’apprentissage que l’évaluation. D’ailleurs, j’aimerais bien qu’un chantier voit le jour au sein du CSE sur le thème de l’évaluation avec le numérique. Comment peut-on évaluer autrement?

ÉB : Justement, en terminant, sur quoi travaillent les comités du CSE en ce moment? Sur quels thèmes porteront les prochains avis?

Maryse Lassonde : En plus des avis, nous publions aussi des mémoires et des avis réglementaires. Voici la liste de nos principaux comités et commissions ainsi que les thématiques sur lesquelles ils travaillent en ce moment :

  • Comité sur l’état et les besoins de l’éducation : Revenir à la normale ? Le système éducatif pendant et après la pandémie de COVID-19 (parution décembre 2021)
  • Commission de l’enseignement et de la recherche au collégial: Les nouveaux besoins de formation des étudiantes et des étudiants (parution début 2022)
  • Comité interordres de la relève étudiante : Les impacts de la pandémie de COVID-19 dans la transition entre le secondaire et le cégep (parution été 2022)
  • Commission de l’enseignement et de la recherche universitaires : La recherche à l’université : réussites, enjeux, responsabilité sociale et défis (parution automne 2022)
  • Commission de l’éducation des adultes et de la formation continue : Évaluer la pertinence d’un cadre de qualifications en fonction des particularités de l’éducation des adultes et de la formation continue et du contexte québécois (parution automne 2022)
  • Commission de l’éducation préscolaire et de l’enseignement primaire : L’école primaire de demain: une vision novatrice et écosystémique (début des travaux)
  • Commission de l’enseignement secondaire: Susciter l’engagement et la curiosité par la diversité et la flexibilité des parcours : prendre en compte le point de vue et l’expérience des élèves (début des travaux).

Biographie :

Maryse Lassonde a obtenu un Ph. D. en neuropsychologie à l’Université Stanford (Californie) en 1977. Elle a été professeure à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières de 1977 à 1988 puis à l’Université de Montréal de 1988 à 2012, où elle est  devenue professeure émérite en 2013. Ses recherches ont porté sur des thèmes divers dont les troubles cognitifs associés à l’épilepsie infantile et les effets des commotions cérébrales dans le sport. De plus, elle a édité 7 livres, rédigé plus de 300 articles ou chapitres scientifiques et reçu plusieurs honneurs et prix. Ainsi, elle est fellow de la Société canadienne de psychologie, de l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé et de la Société royale du Canada. Elle est également officière de l’Ordre du Canada et chevalière de l’Ordre national du Québec, dont elle a présidé le Conseil de 2008 à 2010.

Mme  Lassonde a été présidente de l’Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS) en 1993. Elle a aussi détenu une chaire senior de recherche du Canada en neuropsychologie développementale (2001-2013) et a été présidente de la Société royale du Canada (2015-2017). Enfin, elle a été directrice scientifique du Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies de janvier 2012 à juillet 2018 et est actuellement présidente du Conseil supérieur de l’éducation du Québec.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :