Produce engaging video clips: key elements to consider and some technical recommendations

Researchers analyzed more than 6.9 million video viewing sessions on the e-learning platform. They identified five concrete recommendations for teachers who use video with their students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Special collaboration: Hugo G. Lapierre, doctoral student in education and lecturer, UQAM, and Patrick Charland, professor in the didactics department, UQAM.

Learners show a marked interest in viewing video content, sometimes even to the detriment of exercises, readings, discussions on forums or blogs, and other interactive elements (Kizilcec et al., 2013). Because of this preference, it is important to understand how this type of content should be thought out and produced in order to maximize learner engagement.

In this regard, Guo et al. (2014) looked specifically at the characteristics of videos that lead to the best learning outcomes for online learners in the context of MOOCs. This work is thus likely to provide operational guidelines for teachers.

Researchers analyzed more than 6.9 million video viewing sessions on the e-learning platform EDx. In the light of the elements they have drawn from this body of data, five key messages leading to concrete practical recommendations for teachers have been identified.

Key messagesPractical recommendations
1. Short videos are more engaging.Segment videos into short sequences, ideally less than 6 minutes. If possible, clearly identify the subject of each video segment.
2. Videos that combine the teacher's face with the content of a slideshow are more engaging than a slideshow alone or the teacher's face alone.Simultaneously record the teacher's face with the content displayed on the screen (e.g. by displaying the teacher's face in the corner of the screen while the slide show is presented).
3. Videos that are produced in a more informal and “personal” way are generally more engaging than more impersonal recordings made in the studio, although these are of higher quality.Do not hesitate to record in an informal context: according to the authors, it is not necessary to invest in a “studio” quality production. 
4. Videos produced directly for online use are more engaging than recordings of classroom lectures in front of a large audience. Avoid using recordings of lessons previously given in front of a class. Produce content specifically for distance education where the teacher speaks directly to the camera. 
5. Videos where the teacher speaks quickly and with great enthusiasm are more engaging. Prepare and practice before starting the recording in order to limit clashes and downtime during the explanations. 

These recommendations appear encouraging for teachers wishing to produce video content as part of their distance education. Indeed, the research results of Guo et al. (2014) highlight that it is not necessary to have professional equipment in order for the audience to remain engaged in watching videos; a laptop computer with a camera and a microphone seems sufficient.

However, it is still important to be sensitive to lighting and ambient sound quality when recording so that the viewing experience is enjoyable. Practicing before starting the recording is also a good way to ensure that you maintain a good flow and maximize student engagement.

For those who wish to segment recordings into shorter sequences, be aware that most video viewing platforms, notably YouTube, allow this, as this short demonstrates. tutorial.

Finally, the simultaneous recording of the face and the content on the screen can easily be done with free and royalty-free software such as OBS. This video tutorial outlines the use of this software. 

(Editor's note: You can also do it very simply with Loom, a popular tool among teachers these days!)

With that, to your cameras!

References

Guo, PJ, Kim, J., & Rubin, R. (2014, March). How video production affects student engagement: An empirical study of MOOC videos. In Proceedings of the first ACM conference on Learning @ scale conference (pp. 41-50).

Kizilcec, RF, Piech, C., & Schneider, E. (2013, April). Deconstructing disengagement: analyzing learner subpopulations in massive open online courses. In Proceedings of the third international conference on learning analytics and knowledge (pp. 170-179).

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Produire des capsules vidéo engageantes : les éléments clés à considérer et quelques recommandations techniques

Des chercheurs ont analysé plus de 6,9 millions de sessions de visionnement de vidéos sur la plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne. Ils ont dégagés cinq recommandations concrètes pour les enseignants qui utilisent la vidéo avec leurs élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
ANNONCE

Collaboration spéciale : Hugo G. Lapierre, doctorant en éducation et chargé de cours, UQAM, et Patrick Charland, professeur au département de didactique, UQAM.

Les apprenants présentent un intérêt marqué pour le visionnement de contenus vidéo, parfois même au détriment des exercices, lectures, discussions sur des forums ou blogues, et autres éléments interactifs (Kizilcec et coll., 2013). En raison de cette préférence, il importe de comprendre comment ce type de contenu doit être réfléchi et produit afin de maximiser l’engagement des apprenants.

À ce sujet, Guo et ses collaborateurs (2014) se sont intéressés spécifiquement aux caractéristiques des vidéos qui conduisent aux meilleurs résultats d’apprentissage pour des apprenants en ligne en contexte de MOOC. Ces travaux sont ainsi susceptibles de fournir des balises opérationnelles aux enseignants.

Les chercheurs ont analysé plus de 6,9 millions de sessions de visionnement de vidéos sur la plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne EDx. À la lumière des éléments qu’ils ont dégagés de ce corpus de données, cinq messages clés menant à des recommandations pratiques concrètes pour les enseignants ont été identifiés.

Messages clésRecommandations pratiques
1. Les vidéos courtes sont plus engageantes.Segmenter les vidéos en courtes séquences, idéalement de moins de 6 minutes. Si possible, identifier clairement le sujet de chaque segment vidéo.
2. Les vidéos qui combinent le visage de l’enseignant avec le contenu d’un diaporama sont plus engageantes qu’un diaporama seul ou que le visage de l’enseignant seul.Enregistrer simultanément le visage de l’enseignant avec le contenu affiché à l’écran (p. ex. en affichant le visage de l’enseignant dans le coin de l’écran pendant que le diaporama est présenté).
3. Les vidéos qui sont produites de façon plus informelle et « personnelle » sont généralement plus engageantes que les enregistrements plus impersonnels réalisés en studio, même si ceux-ci sont de plus grande qualité.Ne pas hésiter à enregistrer dans un contexte informel : selon les auteurs, il n’est pas nécessaire d’investir dans une production de qualité « studio ». 
4. Les vidéos produites directement pour une utilisation en ligne sont plus engageantes que des enregistrements de cours donnés en salle de classe devant un grand auditoire. Éviter d’utiliser des enregistrements de cours précédemment donnés devant une classe. Produire du contenu spécialement pour l’enseignement à distance où l’enseignant s’adresse directement à la caméra. 
5. Les vidéos où l’enseignant parle rapidement et avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme sont plus engageantes. Se préparer et se pratiquer avant de lancer l’enregistrement afin de limiter les accrochages et les temps morts durant les explications. 

Ces recommandations apparaissent encourageantes pour l’enseignant souhaitant produire du contenu vidéo dans le cadre de son enseignement à distance. En effet, les résultats de la recherche de Guo et collaborateurs (2014) mettent en lumière qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir du matériel professionnel afin que l’auditoire demeure engagé dans le visionnement de vidéos; un ordinateur portable muni d’une caméra et d’un micro semble suffisant.

Il demeure toutefois important d’être sensible à l’éclairage et la qualité sonore ambiante lors des enregistrements afin que l’expérience de visionnement soit agréable. Se pratiquer avant de lancer l’enregistrement est aussi un bon moyen de s’assurer de maintenir un bon débit et de maximiser l’engagement des élèves.

Pour ceux qui souhaitent segmenter les enregistrements en séquences plus courtes, sachez que la plupart des plateformes de visionnement vidéo, notamment YouTube, le permettent, tel que le démontre ce court tutoriel.

Enfin, l’enregistrement en simultané du visage et du contenu à l’écran peut facilement s’effectuer avec un logiciel gratuit et libre de droit tel que OBS. Ce tutoriel vidéo présente les grandes lignes de l’utilisation de ce logiciel. 

(NDLR : On peut aussi le faire très simplement avec Loom, un outil populaire chez les enseignants ces jours-ci!)

Sur ce, à vos caméras!

Références

Guo, P. J., Kim, J., & Rubin, R. (2014, March). How video production affects student engagement: An empirical study of MOOC videos. In Proceedings of the first ACM conference on Learning@ scale conference (pp. 41-50).

Kizilcec, R. F., Piech, C., & Schneider, E. (2013, April). Deconstructing disengagement: analyzing learner subpopulations in massive open online courses. In Proceedings of the third international conference on learning analytics and knowledge (pp. 170-179).

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!


Vos commentaires

Pour commenter un article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter, Instagram ou LinkedIn.

Faites briller vos projets d'école et pratiques gagnantes!

L'École branchée fait circuler l'information dans le milieu scolaire afin d'alimenter la veille professionnelle et valoriser les initiatives émanant du terrain. Allez-y, proposez-nous un texte! >

À lire aussi

Le CSS de la Riveraine est partenaire de ChallengeU!

Communiqué - ChallengeU annonce que le Centre de services scolaires de la Riveraine se joint à ses partenaires. Grâce à ce partenariat, le centre accélère le développement de son offre de services en formation à distance et étend celle-ci à de nouveaux élèves.

EdTech : Wooclap dépasse le cap des 50 millions d’utilisateurs

Communiqué - Wooclap, la plateforme de pédagogie interactive, vient d'atteindre le cap des 50 millions d’utilisateurs. À travers le monde, enseignants et formateurs l'utilisent en cette rentrée pour rendre l'apprentissage plus efficace, désormais aidés de l'intelligence artificielle.

1 appareil par élève au CSS des Premières-Seigneuries : un projet devenu réalité

Lors du congrès 2023 de l’AQUOPS, Sylvie Perron et Genevière St-Arnaud-Gaboury, professionnelles à la pédagogie numérique au CSS des Premières-Seigneuries (CSSPS) ont présenté leur modèle d'intégration du numérique 1:1 (un appareil pour un élève). Un projet dont les racines remontent au milieu des années 2010 et qui a véritablement pris son envol en 2021.