ADVERTISEMENT

The story of a car, when collaboration takes us further

In the paddock of Montreal's Gilles Villeneuve racetrack, collaborative work helps F1 driver Lewis Hamilton gain seconds. In a classroom building a racecar, it allows a group of students to acquire better skills. Collaboration allows for in-depth learning, promotes the development of global skills while exploring those related to various disciplines.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In the paddock of Montreal's Gilles Villeneuve racetrack, collaborative work helps F1 driver Lewis Hamilton gain seconds. In a classroom building a racecar, it allows a group of students to acquire better skills. Collaboration allows for in-depth learning, promotes the development of global skills while exploring those related to various disciplines. 

This is what a project to design a Networked School (REA) can achieve. It was presented at the organization's most recent conference.

Before the vroom vroom, knowledge sharing

In this project, it is not about building a car for the sake of a car, but rather about gaining an understanding of the different stages of its design through the interactions, advice and ideas given by peers. Judith Lemieux, a Secondary 4 and 5 science teacher at Saint-Anselme school on the south shore of Quebec City, wanted to share this experience during a workshop.

Divided into teams, Ms. Lemieux's students, before even starting to build their car, had to use an application, the Knowledge Forum (KF). It is a digital collaboration tool used to share knowledge with others to solve a problem or set of problems. Items can be added or commented on. You can also allow others to "like" or rate the items posted.

Concretely, during the construction of the car, whether it was for questions concerning the aerodynamics, the shape of the chassis, the gears, the wheels, the adherence or the mass of the machine, the students had different boxes according to the themes addressed in the KF to put their comments: my idea / I enrich the idea / I explore a different idea / I need to understand / I take a step back / let's put our knowledge together / what we know now and what the experts say.

An inspiring tool

The most important thing to remember about the experience of the Quebec teacher's teenagers is the path followed by all her students. No team was left on its own. According to Lemieux, "A digital tool like the KF helps you understand how to create a car. It is an interesting source of inspiration for finding solutions.

Thus, the teacher's intention was clear: she wanted to show her students that they would be able to create better cars by having designed them collaboratively, and that they would not have been able to achieve the same result by working alone. In addition, the collaboration allowed the students to contribute their strengths as a team. 

Although the video produced and presented during the workshop shows some competitive aspect, it is clear that without the collaborative spirit that prevailed throughout the activity, many questions would have remained unanswered and the students would not have gone as far in their design. 

It is possible to view the workshop Designing a car in collaboration! More than just science and technology on Youtube.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Histoire d’un bolide, quand la collaboration nous mène plus loin

Dans le paddock du circuit Gilles-Villeneuve à Montréal, le travail collaboratif permet au pilote de F1 Lewis Hamilton de gagner des secondes. Dans une classe à construire un bolide, il permet à un groupe d’élèves d’acquérir un meilleur savoir-faire. La collaboration permet des apprentissages en profondeur, favorise le développement de compétences globales tout en explorant celles reliées à diverses disciplines.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Dans le paddock du circuit Gilles-Villeneuve à Montréal, le travail collaboratif permet au pilote de F1 Lewis Hamilton de gagner des secondes. Dans une classe à construire un bolide, il permet à un groupe d’élèves d’acquérir un meilleur savoir-faire. La collaboration permet des apprentissages en profondeur, favorise le développement de compétences globales tout en explorant celles reliées à diverses disciplines. 

C’est ce qu’un projet de conception de bolide de l’École en réseau (ÉER) permet de réaliser. Il a été présenté lors du plus récent colloque de l’organisation.

Avant le vroum vroum, le partage de connaissances

Dans ce projet, il ne s’agit pas de construire un bolide pour un bolide, mais d’accéder avant tout à la compréhension des différentes étapes de sa conception à travers les interactions, les conseils ou les idées données par les pairs. Enseignante de sciences en 4e et 5e secondaire à l’école Saint-Anselme sur la rive-sud de Québec, c’est ce que Judith Lemieux a voulu partager lors d’un atelier.

Divisés en équipe, les élèves de Mme Lemieux, avant même de commencer la construction de leur bolide, ont dû utiliser une application, le Knowledge Forum (KF). Il s’agit d’un outil de collaboration numérique servant à partager des connaissances avec d’autres personnes pour résoudre un problème ou un ensemble de problèmes. On peut y ajouter des éléments ou commenter ceux qui sont présents. On peut également permettre aux autres  « d’aimer » ou de noter les éléments publiés.

Concrètement, tout au cours de la construction du bolide, que ce soit pour des questions touchant l’aérodynamisme, la forme du châssis, l’engrenage, les roues, l’adhérence ou encore la masse de l’engin, les élèves avaient différentes cases en fonction des thèmes abordés dans le KF pour mettre leurs commentaires : mon idée / j’enrichis l’idée / j’explore une idée différente / j’ai besoin de comprendre / je prends du recul / mettons notre savoir en commun / ce que nous savons maintenant et ce qu’en disent les experts.

Un outil inspirant

Ce qu’il faut retenir avant tout de l’expérience vécue par les adolescents de l’enseignante québécoise, c’est le parcours suivi par l’ensemble de ses élèves. Aucune équipe n’était laissée à elle-même. Selon Mme Lemieux, « un outil numérique comme le KF aide à la compréhension de la création d’un bolide ». Il s’agit d’une source intéressante pour puiser de l’inspiration afin de trouver des solutions.

Ainsi, l’intention de l’enseignante était claire : elle voulait démontrer à ses élèves qu’ils arriveraient à créer des bolides plus performants en les ayant conçus en collaboration, et qu’ils n’auraient pas pu arriver au même résultat en travaillant seul. De plus, la collaboration a permis aux élèves de mettre leurs forces à contribution de leur équipe. 

Bien que la vidéo réalisée et présentée lors de l’atelier montre un certain aspect compétitif, il est clair que sans l’esprit collaboratif qui a régné tout au cours de l’activité, nombre de questions seraient restées sans réponse et les élèves ne seraient pas allés aussi loin dans leur conception. 

Il est possible de visionner l’atelier Conception d’un bolide en collaboration! Bien plus que de la science et de la technologie sur YouTube.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :