Development of social and emotional skills: what are the winning conditions?

The Saint-Hyacinthe School Services Center, in collaboration with the CTREQ, carried out action research on the development of social and emotional skills in children over the past year. Four essential conditions have been identified in order to allow schools to set up innovative programs.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Saint-Hyacinthe School Services Center (CSSSH), in collaboration with the CTREQ, carried out action research on the development of social and emotional skills in children over the past year. The results recently published will help support communities that want to embark on a similar process.

Unique action research

Bullying, anxiety, aggression, depression are more and more visible in elementary school lessons. Teaching social and emotional skills enables young people to better manage their emotions. However, without the implementation of a dedicated program throughout the school, learning often remains fragmented and becomes less effective. This is what the Higher Education Council indicated in its report. Child well-being at school: let's do our homework, published in 2020. 

Carried out in three primary establishments of the CSSSH, the main aim of the action research project was to identify the conditions favorable to the implementation of a program for the development of social and emotional skills. The choice of the tested program fell on moozoom, a Quebec digital platform launched in 2020. 

A program adapted to the reality of Quebec

The moozoom program is an interactive video platform that presents situations that students can face on a daily basis. The scenes show young people in a situation of rejection, intimidation or fear of failure, for example. Students react to videos as a story in which you are the hero. The program, which uses explicit behavioral instruction, is accompanied by educational sheets, learning activities, exercises and a dashboard to ensure follow-up. You can read again our article already published about the platform.

Four essential conditions for success 

At the end of the action research, four conditions were identified in order to allow the participating schools to set up innovative systems promoting the development of social and emotional skills:

  1. Involvement of all staff
    The success of such a program requires the involvement of all school stakeholders. The setting up of an implementation committee and the appointment of a manager promotes staff motivation and coordination of interventions.
  2. Environment promoting positive interactions
    All staff members must mobilize to value positive interventions and reinforce the schoolyard, gymnasium, common areas, management office, etc.
  3. Multimodal intervention design
    Staff should be able to integrate program activities in whatever way they see fit. Teaching materials can be used as a trigger for an activity or as an intervention following a problematic situation. The integration of activities into educational planning, whether within a course or by devoting a dedicated time to it, promotes learning.
  4. Involvement of parents, peers and the student
    Staff must mobilize to keep students active, at the heart of their learning. The contribution of the parents is not negligible and allows a better cohesion. To facilitate this school-family link, the use of a digital platform, moozoom in this case, was facilitating.

In the appendix to the report, it is possible to consult avenues of intervention aimed at interveners as well as parents. These tools were developed in addition to the moozoom program and can be used independently.

The mental health of young people is worrying and the school must play its role in the development of social and emotional skills. 

Watch for the next issue of L'École branchée magazine, which will focus entirely on teaching social and emotional skills. Subscribe by November 30 to get it. 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles : quelles sont les conditions gagnantes?

Le Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe, en collaboration avec le CTREQ, a mené dans la dernière année une recherche-action sur le développement des habiletés sociales et émotionnelles chez les enfants. Quatre conditions essentielles ont été identifiées afin de permettre aux écoles de mettre en place des programmes innovants.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Le Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe (CSSSH), en collaboration avec le CTREQ, a mené dans la dernière année une recherche-action sur le développement des habiletés sociales et émotionnelles chez les enfants. Les résultats publiés récemment permettront de soutenir les milieux qui veulent se lancer dans une démarche similaire.

Une recherche-action unique

Intimidation, anxiété, agressivité, dépression sont de plus en plus visibles dans les cours des  écoles primaires. L’enseignement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles permet aux jeunes de mieux gérer leurs émotions. Cependant, sans l’implantation d’un programme dédié dans toute l’école, les apprentissages demeurent souvent morcelés et perdent en efficacité. C’est d’ailleurs ce que le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation a indiqué dans son rapport Le bien-être de l’enfant à l’école : faisons nos devoirs, publié en 2020. 

Mené dans trois établissements primaires du CSSSH, le projet de recherche-action avait principalement pour but d’identifier les conditions favorables à l’implantation d’un programme de développement de compétences sociales et émotionnelles. Le choix du programme mis à l’essai s’est arrêté sur moozoom, une plateforme numérique québécoise lancée en 2020. 

Un programme adapté à la réalité du Québec

Le programme moozoom est une plateforme vidéo interactive qui présente des situations auxquelles les élèves peuvent faire face au quotidien. Les scènes montrent des jeunes en situation de rejet, d’intimidation ou de peur de l’échec, par exemple. Les élèves réagissent aux vidéos à la manière d’une histoire dont vous êtes le héros. Le programme, qui a recours à l’enseignement explicite des comportements, est accompagné de fiches pédagogiques, d’activités d’apprentissages, d’exercices et d’un tableau de bord pour assurer un suivi. Vous pouvez relire notre article déjà paru au sujet de la plateforme.

Quatre conditions essentielles au succès 

Au terme de la recherche-action, quatre conditions ont été identifiées afin de permettre aux écoles participantes de mettre en place des dispositifs innovants favorisant le développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles :

  1. Implication de l’ensemble du personnel
    La réussite d’un tel programme nécessite l’implication de tous les intervenants de l’école. La mise sur pied d’un comité d’implantation et la nomination d’un responsable favorise la motivation du personnel et la coordination des interventions.
  2. Environnement favorisant les interactions positives
    Tous les membres du personnel doivent se mobiliser pour valoriser les interventions positives et faire du renforcement dans la cour d’école, au gymnase, dans les aires communes, dans le bureau de la direction, etc.
  3. Conception d’intervention multimodale
    Le personnel doit pouvoir intégrer les activités du programme de la façon qu’il juge la plus appropriée. Le matériel pédagogique peut être utilisé comme déclencheur à une activité ou comme intervention à la suite d’une situation problématique. L’intégration des activités à la planification pédagogique, que ce soit à l’intérieur d’un cours ou en y consacrant un temps dédié, favorise l’apprentissage.
  4. Implication des parents, des pairs et de l’élève
    Le personnel doit se mobiliser pour garder l’élève actif, au cœur de ses apprentissages. L’apport des parents n’est pas négligeable et permet une meilleure cohésion. Pour faciliter ce lien école-famille, l’utilisation d’une plateforme numérique, moozoom dans ce cas, a été facilitante.

En annexe du rapport, il est possible de consulter des pistes d’intervention qui s’adressent aux intervenants ainsi qu’aux parents. Ces outils ont été développés en complément au programme moozoom et peuvent être utilisés de manière indépendante.

La santé mentale des jeunes est préoccupante et l’école doit jouer son rôle dans le développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles. 

Surveillez d’ailleurs le prochain numéro du magazine L’École branchée qui portera entièrement sur l’enseignement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles. Abonnez-vous d’ici le 30 novembre pour l’obtenir. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!