research and studies

The six schools of the Lab-École under the magnifying glass of researchers

Five years after the launch of the Lab-École idea in Quebec, researchers Jonathan Bluteau and Mélissa Goulet, both professors at UQAM's Faculty of Education, are preparing, with an impressive team, study the impact of this innovative project on educational success. 

Creative laboratories in Quebec schools: inventory and questions

Although the deployment of creative laboratories was started in Quebec schools before the pandemic and several advantages have been identified for the development of skills among students, the authors of a recent report raise some questions about the future of the deployment of these workshops. Manufacturing.

Young people trust science, survey finds, but situation remains fragile

The Canada Foundation for Innovation, in partnership with Acfas, conducted a survey to find out the perceptions of young Canadians aged 18 to 24 on four scientific issues. The results shed light on the media ecosystem in which young people are immersed and the importance of carrying out awareness-raising activities with them.

Academic motivation: teachers play a more important role than parents

Based on the results of their most recent study, Julien Bureau and Frédéric Guay of Laval University reaffirm the teaching effect to mobilize the motivation of young people and guide them towards success. “The teacher has a privileged learning context,” they write.

Here's how high school students in Quebec experienced a pandemic school year

Professor Sylvie Barma and her colleagues at Laval University surveyed teenagers in Quebec about the pandemic. They found the prevailing climate of uncertainty particularly difficult. “The physical place of learning fluctuated in ways that were unpredictable for them. They didn't like the changes in their routine and a majority said they were bored of school, which had a big impact on their academic motivation. Read for other findings!

Alloprof's confirmed pandemic impact: Study reveals that the organism is a valuable ally for students and parents

Press release - Alloprof has unveiled the results of a national study carried out in collaboration with the Center for Studies on Learning and Performance (CEAP) at UQAM. In addition to demonstrating the importance of Alloprof's resources in the educational success of students, the results highlight the extent of the educational support offered by parents during the pandemic.

Development of social and emotional skills: what are the winning conditions?

The Saint-Hyacinthe School Services Center, in collaboration with the CTREQ, carried out action research on the development of social and emotional skills in children over the past year. Four essential conditions have been identified in order to allow schools to set up innovative programs.

What does the digital identity of young Quebecers look like?

Some believe that, from birth, every millennial would have traded their pacifier for a smartphone. And yet, the natives of the 21st century are not necessarily all equal when it comes to digital technology. A sociologist looked into the issue and presented her findings at the MTL Connecte 2021 event.

Educational advisers have become "digital guides" during the pandemic

"The accompaniment, support and training related to digital clearly emerge as mandates that have been added to those already existing", we read in the report entitled The function of counselor or educational advisor in Quebec.

Writing stories without a predefined structure promotes creativity

Who hasn't had to write a plan before producing a story? This practice is well anchored in school practices. A team of researchers from Laval University wanted to know more about the impact of the use of the plan in the writing of stories and is now questioning this practice.

recherches et études

Laboratoires créatifs dans les écoles québécoises : état des lieux et questionnements

Bien que le déploiement de laboratoires créatifs ait été entamé dans les écoles québécoises avant la pandémie et que plusieurs avantages soient identifiés pour le développement de compétences chez les élèves, les auteurs d'un récent rapport soulèvent quelques questions sur le futur du déploiement de ces ateliers de fabrication.

Un sondage révèle que les jeunes font confiance à la science, mais la situation demeure fragile

La Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, en partenariat avec l’Acfas, réalisé un sondage afin de connaître les perceptions des jeunes Canadiens de 18 à 24 ans sur quatre enjeux scientifiques. Les résultats mettent en lumière l'écosystème médiatique dans lequel baignent les jeunes et l'importance de réaliser des activités de sensibilisation auprès d'eux.

Motivation scolaire : les enseignants jouent un rôle plus important que les parents

À partir des résultats de leur plus récente étude, Julien Bureau et Frédéric Guay de l'Université Laval réaffirment l'effet enseignant pour mobiliser la motivation des jeunes et les guider vers la réussite. « L'enseignant dispose d'un contexte d'apprentissage privilégié », écrivent-ils.

Voici comment les élèves du secondaire au Québec ont vécu une année scolaire en pandémie

La professeure Sylvie Barma et ses collègues de l’Université Laval ont sondé des adolescents québécois au sujet de la pandémie. Ceux-ci ont trouvé particulièrement difficile le climat d’incertitude qui régnait. « Le lieu physique d’apprentissage fluctuait d’une façon imprévisible pour eux. » Ils n’ont pas aimé les changements dans leur routine et une majorité disait s’ennuyer de l’école, ce qui a beaucoup joué sur leur motivation scolaire. Lisez pour d'autres constats!

L’impact confirmé d’Alloprof en pandémie: Une étude révèle que l’organisme est un précieux allié pour les élèves et les parents

Communiqué - Alloprof a dévoilé les résultats d'une étude nationale réalisée en collaboration avec le Centre d'études sur l'apprentissage et la performance (CEAP) de l'UQAM. En plus de démontrer l'importance des ressources d'Alloprof dans la réussite éducative des élèves, les résultats mettent en lumière l'ampleur de l'accompagnement scolaire offert par les parents durant la pandémie.

Développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles : quelles sont les conditions gagnantes?

Le Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe, en collaboration avec le CTREQ, a mené dans la dernière année une recherche-action sur le développement des habiletés sociales et émotionnelles chez les enfants. Quatre conditions essentielles ont été identifiées afin de permettre aux écoles de mettre en place des programmes innovants.

À quoi ressemble l’identité numérique des jeunes Québécois?

Certains croient que, dès leur naissance, tous les milléniaux auraient troqué leur sucette pour un téléphone intelligent. Et pourtant, les natifs du XXIe siècle ne sont pas nécessairement tous égaux en matière de numérique. Une sociologue s’est penchée sur la question et a présenté ses constats à l’occasion de l’événement MTL Connecte 2021.

Les conseillers pédagogiques sont devenus des « accompagnateurs du numérique » pendant la pandémie

« L’accompagnement, le soutien et la formation liée au numérique ressortent clairement comme des mandats qui se sont ajoutés à ceux déjà existants », lit-on dans le rapport intitulé La fonction de conseillère ou de conseiller pédagogique au Québec.

L’écriture de récits sans structure prédéfinie favorise la créativité

Qui n’a jamais eu à rédiger un plan avant la production d’un récit ? Cette pratique est bien ancrée dans les pratiques scolaires. Une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université Laval a voulu en savoir plus sur l’impact de l’usage du plan dans la rédaction de récits et questionne maintenant cette pratique.

Et si les élèves trichaient tout simplement parce qu’ils manquent de motivation?

Des chercheurs ont étudié la corrélation entre la motivation des élèves, ce qui les pousse à réussir, et leur propension à tricher. Leur constat est clair : la motivation est bien plus efficace contre la tricherie que tout autre moyen de surveillance.