Preliminary results of a research on the collaborative use of TBI in presco and undergraduate studies

Advantages in the mastery of the language, in the development of autonomy and in the mastery of ICT among preschool and undergraduate students have been noted, so far, in a research by professors associated with CRIFPE on collaborative use of the TBI.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Advantages in the mastery of the language, in the development of autonomy and in the mastery of ICT in preschool and grade 1 students.er cycle have been noted, so far, in a research by professors associated with CRIFPE on the collaborative use of the TBI.

The professors Carole raby, Annie Charron and Martine Peters, from UQÀM, participated on June 12 and 13 in the conference The Future of Education, which took place in Florence, Italy. They presented the preliminary results of their research on the development of collaborative use of the interactive whiteboard (IWB) among preschool and grade 1 students.er primary cycle.

These results from the first two years of research show positive impacts on learning, including:
- in vocabulary acquisition (e.g .: anagram game)
- in reading, even for pupils in difficulty
- in writing (freehand writing, making words and sentences, spatial organization, structure of a story)

In summary, we note that around the interactive whiteboard, the students must discuss, exchange, compromise, give ideas, find solutions, ask for help, etc. Some activities help in the development of reading skills, such as finding words, matching pictures and words, reading the message of the day, doing word games, etc. In preschool, the teacher can type a word on the keyboard while pronouncing it, which would have an overall positive impact on language proficiency according to the teachers surveyed.

Other general skills benefit from the use of the interactive whiteboard in the classroom, such as independence and proficiency in ICT.

In conclusion, the researchers indicate that despite the benefits of IWB in the classroom, highlighted by several studies, its impact on student learning remains to be clearly demonstrated. Certainly, teachers need training and ongoing support for the IWB to become a tool for co-constructing knowledge and developing students' skills.

We can view the full presentation here made in Italy (in English).

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Résultats préliminaires d’une recherche sur l’utilisation collaborative du TBI au présco et 1er cycle

Des avantages dans la maîtrise de la langue, dans le développement de l’autonomie et dans la maîtrise des TIC chez les élèves du préscolaire et du 1er cycle ont notamment été notés, jusqu’à présent, dans une recherche de professeures associées au CRIFPE sur l’utilisation collaborative du TBI.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Des avantages dans la maîtrise de la langue, dans le développement de l’autonomie et dans la maîtrise des TIC chez les élèves du préscolaire et du 1er cycle ont notamment été notés, jusqu’à présent, dans une recherche de professeures associées au CRIFPE sur l’utilisation collaborative du TBI.

Les professeures Carole Raby, Annie Charron et Martine Peters, de l’UQÀM, participaient les 12 et 13 juin dernier à la conférence The Future of Education, qui a eu lieu à Florence en Italie. Elles ont présenté les résultats préliminaires de leur recherche sur le développement d’une utilisation collaborative du tableau interactif (TBI) chez les élèves du préscolaire et du 1er cycle du primaire.

Ces résultats des deux premières années de la recherche montrent des impacts positifs sur l’apprentissage, notamment :
– dans l’acquisition du vocabulaire (ex. : jeu d’anagramme)
– en lecture, même chez les élèves en difficulté
– en écriture (écrire à main levée, faire des mots et des phrases, organisation spatiale, structure d’une histoire)

En résumé, on note qu’autour du tableau interactif, les élèves doivent discuter, échanger, faire des compromis, donner des idées, trouver des solutions, demander de l’aide, etc. Certaines activités aident au développement des compétences en lecture, comme de trouver des mots, associer des images et des mots, lire le message du jour, faire des jeux de mots, etc. Au préscolaire, l’enseignant peut taper un mot au clavier pendant qu’il le prononce, ce qui aurait un impact global positif sur la maîtrise de la langue selon les enseignants interrogés.

D’autres compétences générales bénéficient de l’utilisation du tableau interactif en classe, comme l’autonomie et la maîtrise des TIC.

En conclusion, les chercheures indiquent que malgré les avantages du TBI en classe, mis en lumière par plusieurs études, il reste à démontrer clairement son impact sur l’apprentissage des élèves. Chose certaine, les enseignants ont besoin de formation et de soutien continu pour que le TBI devienne un outil de co-construction du savoir et de développement des compétences des élèves.

On peut consulter ici la présentation complète faite en Italie (en anglais).

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :