ADVERTISEMENT

Why Take Google's Level 1 Education Training?

The Google suite offers several platforms that are gaining popularity with education players. In fact, many of these web applications are intended to be used in a learning context.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The Google suite offers several platforms that are gaining popularity with education players. In fact, many of these web applications are intended to be used in a learning context.

Whether it's Classroom, Drive, Document, Sheet, Agenda or Drawings, there are advantages to integrating them into our teaching and planning. To allow educational players to better master its software, Google offers online basic training on each platform.  

How does the training work?

Arriving on the page of Google for education, you must enter your username and password to access Google tools. Then, the training offer page appears. The basic training is the one that will be discussed in this article, but I invite you to consult the complete offer which is very interesting.  

On the main page we see the modules that explore one or more applications from the Google suite. For each subject, it is possible to read or listen to testimonials from teachers who explain how they use the platforms in the classroom (hello, Pineapple Charter!). So, as the training progresses, we learn to use the Google suite in context, with the help of concrete examples placed in sub-themes. 

Finally, at the end of each sub-topic, a few questions are proposed in order to validate our understanding and the topics are assessed more deeply after each module. Ratings are in the form of response choices. When all the topics are completed and the assessments for each of them are successful, we are eligible for the final exam which takes place online, remotely. 

The whole process can take between 20 and 30 hours to complete. And I can guarantee you that ultimately Google applications will hold no secrets for you. 

What do I have to gain from it?

First off, you're probably telling yourself that this training takes time, but it's a worthwhile investment. Indeed, the training fits well into our schedule because it is designed so that learners can complete one module at a time. Whether you want to do it in a week or a year, you can stick to your own pace. The platform keeps track of all the steps you complete.

Then, if you ever have ideas for projects that you never see the outcome of because you are missing "THE" miracle application, you may find your questions answered in the discovery of the Google suite. Indeed, throughout the learning process, the training focuses on the use of applications in the school context, it is therefore possible to project oneself. Pushing your limits with digital technology thus seems easier and more accessible to us.  

Finally, you can become a resource person in your team to help your colleagues or students in their professional development in connection with the technological tools of the Google suite. Since this platform is used more and more in education, this represents one more string in your bow!

To continue to fuel your curiosity, here are two interesting links: Google for Education YouTube channel and a video presenting applications which is discussed quickly. 

Good discovery! 

Carrefour education offers you:

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Pourquoi suivre la formation de niveau 1 de Google pour l’éducation?

SOURCE : https://edu.google.com

La suite Google propose plusieurs plateformes qui gagnent en popularité auprès des acteurs de l’éducation. En fait, plusieurs de ces applications webs sont destinées à être utilisées dans un contexte d’apprentissage.

Que ce soit Classroom, Drive, Document, Sheet, Agenda ou bien Drawings, il y a des avantages à les intégrer dans notre enseignement et notre planification. Pour permettre aux acteurs éducatifs de mieux maîtriser ses logiciels, Google offre en ligne une formation de base traitant de chaque plateforme.  

Comment fonctionne la formation?

En arrivant sur la page de Google pour l’éducation, il faut entrer votre nom d’utilisateur et votre mot de passe afin d’accéder aux outils Google. Ensuite, la page d’offre de formations apparaît. La formation de base est celle qui sera abordée dans cet article, mais je vous invite à consulter l’offre complète qui est très intéressante.  

Sur la page principale, nous voyons les modules qui explorent une ou plusieurs applications de la suite Google. Pour chaque sujet, il est possible de lire ou d’écouter des témoignages d’enseignants qui expliquent comment ils utilisent les plateformes en classe (bonjour, Charte de l’ananas!). Donc,  au fur et à mesure que la formation avance, on apprend à utiliser la suite Google en contexte, et ce à l’aide d’exemples concrets placés dans des sous-thèmes. 

Finalement, à la fin de chaque sous-thème, quelques questions sont proposées afin de valider notre compréhension et les thématiques sont évaluées plus profondément après chaque module. Les évaluations sont sous forme de choix de réponse. Quand tous les thèmes sont complétés et que les évaluations pour chacun d’entre eux sont réussies, nous sommes éligibles à l’examen final qui se déroule en ligne, à distance. 

L’ensemble du processus peut prendre entre 20 et 30 heures à compléter. Et je peux vous garantir que ultimement, les applications Google n’auront plus de secrets pour vous. 

Qu’est-ce que j’ai à y gagner?

Tout d’abord, vous vous dites probablement que cette formation nécessite du temps, mais c’est un investissement qui en vaut la peine. En effet, la formation s’intègre bien à notre horaire car elle est conçue afin que les apprenants puissent compléter un module à la fois. Que vous souhaitiez la suivre en une semaine ou en un an, vous pourrez respecter votre propre rythme. La plateforme garde en mémoire toutes les étapes que vous complétez.

Ensuite, si jamais vous avez des idées de projets dont vous ne voyez jamais l’aboutissement car il vous manque « THE » application miracle, il se peut que vous trouviez réponse à vos questions dans la découverte de la suite Google. En effet, tout au long des apprentissages, la formation est axée sur l’utilisation des applications en contexte scolaire, il est donc possible de se projeter. Repousser ses limites avec le numérique nous paraît ainsi plus facile et accessible.  

Pour terminer, vous pourrez devenir une personne ressource dans votre équipe afin d’aider vos collègues ou vos élèves dans leur développement professionnel en lien avec les outils technologiques de la suite Google. Étant donné que cette plateforme est de plus en plus utilisée en éducation, cela représente une corde de plus à votre arc!

Pour continuer d’alimenter votre curiosité, voici deux liens intéressants, soit la chaîne YouTube de Google for Education et une vidéo présentant les applications dont il est question rapidement. 

Bonne découverte! 

Carrefour éducation vous propose:


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.