Why are some teachers more comfortable than others with the use of ICT to support teaching?

Why do some teachers let their students use ICT in the classroom more than others? And why do some participate more in professional development activities covering the use of ICT? The OECD suggests possible answers in the light of the results of the most recent international survey on teaching and learning (TALIS).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

In a serial number published online, the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) unveiled this fall a data analysis devoted to the use of information and communication technologies (ICT) in student learning. These data were extracted from responses provided by approximately 260,000 teachers in 48 countries or territories that participated in theInternational Teaching and Learning Survey (TALIS) from 2018.

These data “provide valuable information to understand why some teachers are more inclined than others to let their students use ICT for projects or class work, and to explore the factors underlying teachers' participation in classroom activities. professional development covering the use of ICT in support of teaching. "

Unfortunately, Quebec teachers were not part of this large sample. However, it provides information that it would be wrong to do without. Although the survey ended in 2018 (data collection was carried out between September and December 2017 for participants from the southern hemisphere, and between March and May 2018 for the northern hemisphere), it nevertheless sheds light on interesting compared to what has been experienced in the world of education since March 2020. As we know, COVID-19 has forced several countries to rethink education by moving from the classroom to the home. According to the international organization, “the speed of this transition to online education has worked against students who do not have access to information and communication technologies (ICT) at home, who lack parental support, or who are not used to studying and learning on their own ”.

Why some teachers are more inclined to let their students use ICT in the classroom

The OECD study answers two main questions. At first, the researchers asked themselves why some teachers are more inclined than others to let their students use ICT for projects or class work. Before the health crisis, those who were most likely to "often" or "always" let students use ICT were those who, during their vocational training or recent studies, had themselves used ICT. However, there are also organizational considerations that lead teachers to encourage the use of technology. More than half of the countries participating in the survey confirmed the causality between the use of ICT and the encouragement supported by a school principal. This is particularly the case in the Netherlands, Japan, Chile and Italy, but much less in China, the United States or Alberta, Canada.

Why some teachers participate more in professional development activities covering the use of ICT

The other big question for TALIS concerns the reasons why some teachers are more likely than others to participate in professional development activities covering the use of ICT.

The report states that “according to data from the 2018 TALIS Survey, on average, the second most important professional development need among lower secondary teachers is the use of ICT in teaching support (18 % of teachers), while 4 in 10 of them had not participated in any professional development activity covering this dimension during the 12 months preceding the Survey (40 % of teachers) . "

Several variables are linked to the response.

The study claims that ICT use is higher among: 

  • teachers than among female teachers (62 % against 59 %);
  • experienced teachers compared to new teachers (61 % versus 58 %); 
  • science and technology teachers versus those who teach other subjects (64 % against 59 %);  
  • teachers with a permanent rather than a fixed-term employment contract (61 % against 56 %). 

Although some caution is in order in interpreting the results, the analysis seems to “indicate that the promotion of pre-service training programs covering the use of ICTs in support of education is a means of encourage teachers to continue participating in professional development activities aimed at maintaining and strengthening their capacity to integrate these new technologies into their teaching practices. A caveat, however: this could also indicate that these same teachers who have been made aware of the use of ICT during their training feel less comfortable integrating them into their teaching practices and are, therefore, more inclined to participate in professional development activities in this area.

One thing is certain, the use of ICT is at the center of the current repositioning of education. The figures released by TALIS 2018 show that the more educators have become aware of ICT during their initial training, the more likely they are to use them in their practice. And the more they have the support of their administration, the more they use them directly in the classroom, for the benefit of the students. 

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Pourquoi certains profs sont-ils plus à l’aise que d’autres avec l’usage des TIC en appui à l’enseignement?

Publié le :

Pourquoi certains enseignants laissent-ils leurs élèves utiliser les TIC en classe plus que d'autres? Et pourquoi certains participent-ils plus à des activités de développement professionnel couvrant l’utilisation des TIC? L'OCDE propose des pistes de réponses à la lumière des résultats de la plus récente enquête internationale sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage (TALIS).
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Dans un numéro de sa série publiée en ligne, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) dévoilait cet automne une analyse de données consacrée à l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) dans l’apprentissage des élèves. Ces données ont été extraites des réponses fournies par environ 260 000 enseignants répartis dans 48 pays ou territoires ayant participé à l’Enquête internationale sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage (TALIS) de 2018.

Ces données « fournissent de précieuses informations pour comprendre pourquoi certains enseignants sont plus enclins que d’autres à laisser leurs élèves utiliser les TIC pour des projets ou des travaux en classe, et pour explorer les facteurs sous-tendant la participation des enseignants aux activités de développement professionnel couvrant l’utilisation des TIC à l’appui de l’enseignement. »

Malheureusement, les enseignants québécois ne faisaient pas partie de ce vaste échantillon. Toutefois, elle apporte des informations dont on aurait tort de se priver. Bien que l’enquête se soit terminée en 2018 (la collecte des données a été réalisée entre septembre et décembre 2017 pour les participants de l’hémisphère sud, et entre mars et mai 2018 pour l’hémisphère nord), elle apporte néanmoins un éclairage intéressant par rapport à ce qui a été vécu dans le monde de l’enseignement depuis mars 2020. On le sait, la COVID-19 a obligé plusieurs pays à repenser l’enseignement en passant de la salle de classe à la maison. Selon l’organisation internationale, « la rapidité de ce passage à l’enseignement en ligne a joué en défaveur des élèves qui n’ont pas accès aux technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) à la maison, qui manquent de soutien parental, ou qui ne sont pas habitués à étudier et apprendre par eux-mêmes ».

Pourquoi certains enseignants sont plus enclins à laisser leurs élèves utiliser les TIC en classe

L’étude de l’OCDE répond à deux principales interrogations. Dans un premier temps, les chercheurs se sont demandé pourquoi certains enseignants sont plus enclins que d’autres à laisser leurs élèves utiliser les TIC pour des projets ou des travaux en classe. Avant la crise sanitaire, ceux qui étaient les plus susceptibles de laisser « souvent » ou « toujours » les élèves utiliser les TIC étaient ceux qui, pendant leur formation professionnelle ou leurs études récentes, avaient eux-mêmes utilisé les TIC. Cependant, il y a aussi des considérations organisationnelles qui amènent les enseignants à encourager l’utilisation des technologies. Plus de la moitié des pays participants à l’enquête ont permis de confirmer la causalité entre l’utilisation des TIC et les encouragements soutenus par une direction d’école. C’est le cas notamment dans les Pays-Bas, au Japon, au Chili et en Italie, mais beaucoup moins en Chine, aux États-Unis ou en Alberta, au Canada.

Pourquoi certains enseignants participent plus à des activités de développement professionnel couvrant l’utilisation des TIC

L’autre grande question de TALIS concerne les raisons pour lesquelles certains enseignants sont plus susceptibles que d’autres de participer à des activités de développement professionnel couvrant l’utilisation des TIC.

On peut lire dans le rapport que « d’après les données de l’Enquête TALIS 2018, en moyenne, le deuxième besoin de développement professionnel le plus important chez les enseignants du premier cycle de l’enseignement secondaire concerne l’utilisation des TIC à l’appui de l’enseignement (18 % des enseignants), tandis qu’ils sont 4 sur 10 à n’avoir participé à aucune activité de développement professionnel couvrant cette dimension durant les 12 mois précédant l’Enquête (40 % des enseignants). »

Plusieurs variables sont liées à la réponse.

L’étude affirme que l’utilisation des TIC est plus élevée chez : 

  • les enseignants que chez les enseignantes (62 % contre 59 %) ;
  • les enseignants expérimentés que chez les enseignants débutants (61 % contre 58 %) ; 
  • les professeurs de sciences, de technologie versus ceux qui enseignent d’autres matières (64 % contre 59 %);  
  • les enseignants ayant un contrat de travail permanent plutôt qu’à durée déterminée (61 % contre 56 %). 

Bien qu’une certaine prudence soit de mise lors de l’interprétation des résultats, l’analyse semble « indiquer que la promotion de programmes de formation initiale couvrant l’utilisation des TIC à l’appui de l’enseignement est un moyen d’encourager les enseignants à continuer à participer à des activités de développement professionnel visant à maintenir et renforcer leur capacité à intégrer ces nouvelles technologies dans leurs pratiques pédagogiques. » Une mise en garde toutefois : ceci pourrait aussi indiquer que ces mêmes enseignants ayant été sensibilisés à l’utilisation des TIC pendant leur formation se sentent moins à l’aise de les intégrer dans leurs pratiques pédagogiques et sont, par conséquent, plus enclins à participer à des activités de développement professionnel dans ce domaine.

Chose certaine, l’utilisation des TIC est au centre du repositionnement actuel de l’enseignement. Les chiffres divulgués par TALIS 2018 montrent que plus les futurs enseignants ont été conscientisés aux TIC durant leur formation initiale, plus ils sont susceptibles de les utiliser dans leur pratique. Et plus ils auront le soutien de leur direction, plus ils les utilisent directement en classe, et ce, au bénéfice des élèves. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!