ADVERTISEMENT

The 4 challenges of distance learning, according to Cathia Papi

The REFAD 2022 Grand Gathering opened with a conference by Cathia Papi, professor at TÉLUQ University. Her presentation focused on the place of distance education in the world of education and the workplace. She reviewed the history of distance education and presented the main challenges of this practice.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The REFAD 2022 Grand Gathering opened with a conference by Cathia Papi, professor at TÉLUQ University. Her presentation focused on the place of distance education in the world of education and the workplace. She reviewed the history of distance education and presented the main challenges of this practice.

Indeed, prior to the pandemic, distance education was considered an option for some institutions and organizations. During the pandemic, however, distance education became the only option to maintain the link between the educational institution and the learner. Few people were prepared for such a sudden paradigm shift, Papi said.

Cathia Papi identifies four major areas that have been profoundly changed by distance learning:

1. The technology 

During the health crisis, many teachers and educational actors faced a lack of equipment or skills to use them. Some found it difficult to appropriate new tools and to use them for teaching purposes. For learners, the difficulty was also felt when applying the new technological tools for learning purposes.

2. The training 

Because the pandemic caught everyone unawares, the staff responsible for training did not have the necessary distance to adapt their usual practices very quickly to the remote context imposed by the pandemic. This had an impact on the work of the teachers. The lack of guidance given to learners at the beginning of the pandemic caused inequalities in learning, resulting in a lack of autonomy on their part.

3. The accompaniment 

This aspect was probably the most neglected at the beginning. Indeed, since contact was only made at a distance, teachers found it difficult to stay in constant contact with learners and to respond to their more individual needs. Some learners, already struggling, saw their chances of success diminish because of this lack of proximity to their teachers and sometimes even to their peers.

4. The evaluation 

Since the assessments were done remotely, they became less reliable. Indeed, the teachers had no view on the learners who could mismanage their time or simply cheat. The lack of face-to-face time limited teachers in their assessment methods and it became redundant for some.

While the pandemic has had its share of unforeseen events, it has been a major turning point in so-called traditional educational practices. Indeed, teachers were forced to adopt innovative digital practices in order to foster learning while keeping learners motivated and open to learning. Online training has been provided in order to learn as much as possible in the shortest possible time. Today, distance learning has become a normal way of learning, allowing people to juggle several professional activities without having to travel," said Ms. Papi.

Held from June 7 to 10, 2022, the Grand rassemblement du REFAD 2022 welcomed distance education stakeholders such as instructional designers, online course design managers and media specialists, as well as students and professors, members and non-members of REFAD. The virtual event was presented as a conciliabule of distance education actors in French-speaking Canada in order to reflect on current issues in the field, particularly in the context of the end of the health crisis.

To review Ms. Papi's presentation. Her presentation and the chat notes are also available on the event website.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra is a master's student in educational technology at Laval University. Passionate about reading and writing, she has decided to devote her time to writing in a field in which she feels she is growing, education. With a background in journalism and political science, Fatimazzahra sees education as an ever-changing field where anyone is welcome to share their ideas and motivations.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les 4 défis de la formation à distance, selon Cathia Papi

Le Grand rassemblement du REFAD 2022 s’est ouvert par une conférence de Cathia Papi, professeure à l’Université TÉLUQ. Sa présentation a porté sur la place que prend la formation à distance dans le monde de l’enseignement et celui du travail.  Elle est revenue sur l’historique de la formation à distance, en plus de présenter les principaux défis de cette pratique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le Grand rassemblement du REFAD 2022 s’est ouvert par une conférence de Cathia Papi, professeure à l’Université TÉLUQ. Sa présentation a porté sur la place que prend la formation à distance dans le monde de l’enseignement et celui du travail.  Elle est revenue sur l’historique de la formation à distance, en plus de présenter les principaux défis de cette pratique.

En effet, avant la pandémie, la formation à distance était considérée comme un choix pour lequel optaient certains établissements et organismes. Or, durant la pandémie, celle-ci s’est avérée être la seule possibilité afin de maintenir le lien entre l’institution éducative et l’apprenant. Peu de personnes étaient préparées à un changement de paradigme aussi brutal, a rappelé Mme Papi.

Cathia Papi identifie quatre domaines majeurs ayant été profondément bouleversés par la formation à distance :

1. La technologie 

Lors de la crise sanitaire, plusieurs enseignants et acteurs éducatifs ont fait face à un manque d’équipement ou de compétences pour utiliser ceux-ci. Certains ont eu du mal à s’approprier de nouveaux outils et à les instrumenter à des fins d’enseignement. Pour les apprenants, la difficulté s’est également fait ressentir lors de l’application des nouveaux outils technologiques à des fins d’apprentissage.

2. La formation 

La pandémie ayant pris de court tout le monde, le personnel responsable de la formation n’a pas eu le recul nécessaire pour adapter très rapidement ses pratiques habituelles au contexte à distance imposé par la pandémie. Cela a eu un impact sur le travail des enseignants. Le manque de directives données aux apprenants au début de la pandémie a causé des inégalités dans les apprentissages, entraînant un manque d’autonomie de leur part.

3. L’accompagnement 

Cet aspect a sans doute été le plus négligé au départ. En effet, puisque le contact ne se faisait plus qu’à distance, les enseignants ont eu du mal à rester en contact constant avec les apprenants et à répondre à leurs besoins plus individuels. Certains apprenants, déjà en difficulté, ont vu leur chance de réussir diminuer à cause de ce manque de proximité avec leurs enseignants et parfois même avec leurs pairs.

4. L’évaluation 

Puisque réalisées à distance, les évaluations ont perdu de leur fiabilité. En effet, les enseignants n’avaient pas de vue sur les apprenants qui pouvaient mal gérer leur temps ou tout simplement tricher. Le manque de présentiel a limité les enseignants dans leurs modes d’évaluation et celui-ci est devenu redondant pour certains.

Bien que la pandémie ait eu son lot d’imprévus, elle a constitué un tournant majeur dans les pratiques éducatives dites traditionnelles. En effet, le corps enseignant s’est vu obligé d’adopter des pratiques numériques innovantes afin de favoriser l’apprentissage tout en gardant les apprenants motivés et ouverts à l’apprentissage. Des formations en ligne ont été octroyées afin d’apprendre le maximum de choses en un minimum de temps. Aujourd’hui, la formation à distance est devenue un mode d’apprentissage normal permettant de jongler entre plusieurs activités professionnelles sans avoir à se déplacer, a finalement fait valoir Mme Papi.

​​Présenté du 7 au 10 juin 2022, le Grand rassemblement du REFAD 2022 a accueilli des acteurs de la formation à distance comme les concepteurs pédagogiques, les gestionnaires de la conception de cours en ligne et les spécialistes médiatiques, mais également les étudiants et professeurs, membres et non membres du REFAD. L’événement virtuel se présentait comme un conciliabule des acteurs de la formation à distance au Canada francophone afin de réfléchir aux enjeux actuels du domaine, notamment dans le contexte de sortie de crise sanitaire.

Pour revoir la présentation de Mme Papi. Sa présentation et les notes de clavardage sont aussi disponibles sur le site de l’événement.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra est étudiante à la maîtrise en technologie éducative à l’université Laval. Passionnée par la lecture et la rédaction, elle a décidé de consacrer son temps à écrire dans un domaine au sein duquel elle se sent grandir, l’éducation. Ayant une expérience dans le journalisme et dans le monde des sciences politiques, Fatimazzahra voit en l’éducation un champ d’action en perpétuelle mouvance où toute personne est la bienvenue à partager ses idées et ses motivations.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :