ADVERTISEMENT

The "WISE Prize" is awarded to Larry Rosenstock, founder of High Tech High

The WISE Prize has just been awarded to Mr. Larry Rosenstock, director, founder and principal of High Tech High, for his contribution to primary and secondary education and the fight against inequalities.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Doha, Qatar – November 20, 2019. The WISE Prize has just been awarded to Mr. Larry Rosenstock, Director, Founder and Principal of High Tech High, a network of “chatter schools[1] ”, based in San Diego, California. Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser presented the Prize to Mr. Rosenstock during the opening session of the WISE Summit in Doha, in front of 3,000 participants from more than 100 countries.

The WISE Prize honors personalities who have contributed to radically transform and improve an education system at the level of a community, a country or internationally. Larry Rosenstock is recognized this year for his contribution to primary and secondary education and the fight against inequalities. He is one of the pioneers of project-based learning, whereby students acquire fundamental academic skills by working on concrete projects at the crossroads of several disciplines. This pedagogical model fuels students' curiosity and anchors learning in "real" life, by making them focus on solving current problems. The model developed by Larry Rosenstock also reinvents the role of teachers who become “designers”. The latter constantly adapt their pedagogy and the subjects requested according to the specific needs of each student. Throughout their schooling, students can thus try themselves both as budding scientists, engineers, as well as artists.

Improving the status of disadvantaged young people has been the driving force behind Mr. Rosenstock's professional career. Then a law graduate, Mr. Rosenstock chose, at the beginning of his career, to teach carpentry to high school students in the disadvantaged center of Boston in the 1960s, in the midst of a period of “desegregation”. This experience made him aware of the discrimination suffered by students from disadvantaged social classes and of African-American origin, despite their academic abilities. He will therefore dedicate his career to integrating students who had historically been set aside, by striving to rehabilitate vocational education. 

It will tackle this task in different ways by activating legal, educational and entrepreneurial levers. Starting out as a teacher for 11 years, he used his expertise in law to co-write legislation that increased funding for vocational education and demanded greater integration with academic education. By creating High Tech High in 2000, he proved to be an innovator behind a radically new model at the very heart of the school. 

High Tech High (HTH) breaks down many barriers: the obstacles that young people from disadvantaged backgrounds may encounter in accessing quality education, the separation between academic education and technical education, and the disconnection between classroom and the real world. The fight against inequalities is at the heart of HTH's mission: its students are also selected after a draw.

The innovative methods implemented at HTH have helped thousands of students of all levels and from all socioeconomic backgrounds to prepare for higher education, citizenship and a fulfilling professional life. This approach has also enabled students to reach their full potential, with 98 % of HTH students being accepted into the University (compared to 69 % on average nationally). 

HTH, a simple "charter school", has become an integrated network of sixteen schools providing courses from kindergarten to Terminale to nearly 5,780 students on four campuses. In 2008, Larry Rosenstock founded the HTH Graduate School of Education, which graduates and provides training. More than 5,000 teachers and school leaders from all 50 US states and 30 countries benefit each year. 

Larry Rosenstock and the model he developed within High Tech High are shaping a new approach to education by demonstrating the merits of project pedagogy, teaching 21st century skills and showing that it is possible to change the system directly in classrooms.

Stavros N. Yiannouka, CEO of WISE said: “Larry Rosenstock's work embodies the very essence of the WISE Prize: decades of commitment to education, seen as a force for positive individual and social transformation, tangible results and a method that can be applied in other countries and other contexts, finally qualities of visionary and social entrepreneur working for the common good. "

Upon receiving his award, Larry Rosenstock said, “I am honored to receive this award and to join previous winners whose projects have had a positive impact on education around the world. I hope the WISE Prize will allow us to share the work of High Tech High students and teachers even more widely. For me, this prize confirms two of my strongest convictions: that manual work and intellectual work can and must be taught together in our schools. And that all young people are capable of engaging in meaningful work, when given the chance. »

About the "WISE Prize"

Created in 2011 by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, the WISE Prize is the first international honor to reward an individual or a team of six for their outstanding contribution to education. The WISE Prize makes it possible to upgrade the status of education by giving it the same prestige as that enjoyed by literature, peace or the economy, for which international prizes already exist. The winner is awarded the gold medal of the WISE Prize, as well as the sum of 500,000 US dollars. He undertakes to produce four reports describing the progress of his project and the impact over two years of the amount received. The WISE Prize Laureates are inspiring role models for those who dedicate their lives to building the future of education as the foundation for a safer, more prosperous and sustainable world.

Members of the 2019 WISE Prize jury:

  • HE Sheikha Hanadi bint Nasser bin Khaled Al Thani, Founder and President of Amwal, Qatar
  • HE Serigne Mbaye Thiam, Minister of National Education, Senegal
  • Dr. Madhav Chavan, President, Pratham Education Foundation, India
  • Ms. Vicky Colbert, Founder and Director of the Escuela Nueva Foundation, Colombia 
  • Dr. Jörg Dräger, Member of the Executive Committee of the Bertelsmann Foundation, Germany 
  • Mr. Alan Chow, Executive Director of DH Chen Foundation, China

Previous winners of the WISE Prize: 

  • 2017 - Dr. Patrick Awuah, Ghana
  • 2015 - Dr. Sakena Yacoobi, Afghanistan
  • 2014 – Mrs. Ann Cotton, United Kingdom
  • 2013 – Ms. Vicky Colbert, Colombia
  • 2012 - Dr. Madhav Chavan, India
  • 2011 - Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, Bangladesh

For more information, Click here.

About WISE

The Qatar Foundation, chaired by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, established WISE, the Global Innovation Summit for Education, in 2009. WISE is an international and multidisciplinary platform designed to foster creativity, reflection, debate and concrete action in education. Through the biennial Summit, collaborative research and a series of programs, WISE is today an initiative on new approaches to education. WISE 2019 was held in Doha from November 19 to 21, 2019 around the theme: “Unlearning, relearning: what makes us human”. For more information on WISE, Click here.

SOURCE World Innovation Summit for Education


[1] “Charter School”: American model of schools financed by public funds and managed by private organizations. These schools are subject to a charter which defines their obligations. They benefit from a great deal of autonomy with regard to pedagogy and the recruitment of teachers. Education is free.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le « WISE Prize » est décerné à Larry Rosenstock, fondateur de High Tech High

Source : https://www.wise-qatar.org/wise-works/wise-prize-for-education/

Doha, Qatar – 20 novembre 2019. Le WISE Prize vient d’être décerné à M. Larry Rosenstock, directeur, fondateur et principal de High Tech High, un réseau de « chater schools[1] », établi à San Diego, en Californie. Son Altesse Sheikha Moza bint Nasser a remis le Prix à M. Rosenstock lors de la session d’ouverture du Sommet WISE à Doha, devant 3 000 participants venus de plus de 100 pays.

Le WISE Prize met à l’honneur les personnalités ayant contribué à transformer et améliorer radicalement un système éducatif à l’échelle d’une communauté, d’un pays ou à l’international. Larry Rosenstock est récompensé cette année pour son apport dans l’enseignement primaire et secondaire et la lutte contre les inégalités. Il est l’un des pionniers de l’apprentissage par projet (« project-based learning »), selon lequel les élèves acquièrent des compétences académiques fondamentales en travaillant sur projets concrets à la croisée de plusieurs disciplines. Ce modèle pédagogique alimente la curiosité des élèves et ancre les apprentissages dans la vie « réelle », en les faisant se pencher sur la résolution de problèmes actuels. Le modèle développé par Larry Rosenstock réinvente également le rôle des enseignants qui deviennent des « designers ». Ces derniers adaptent constamment leur pédagogie et les matières sollicitées en fonction des besoins spécifiques de chaque élève. Au long de leur scolarité, les élèves peuvent ainsi s’essayer à la fois comme scientifiques en herbe, ingénieurs, aussi bien qu’artistes.

Améliorer le statut des jeunes défavorisés a été le moteur du parcours professionnel de M. Rosenstock. Alors diplômé en droit, M. Rosenstock choisit, au début de sa carrière, d’enseigner la menuiserie à des élèves du secondaire du centre défavorisé de Boston dans les années 1960, en pleine période de « déségrégation ». Cette expérience le sensibilise aux discriminations dont souffrent les élèves issus de classes sociales défavorisées et d’origine afro-américaine, malgré leurs capacités scolaires. Il va dès lors dédier sa carrière à intégrer les élèves qui avaient été historiquement mis de côté, en s’efforçant de réhabiliter l’enseignement professionnel. 

Il s’attèlera à cette tâche de différentes manières en activant des leviers juridiques, éducatifs et entrepreneuriaux. D’abord enseignant pendant 11 ans, il a mis à profit son expertise en droit pour coécrire la législation ayant permis d’augmenter les financements dédiés à l’enseignement professionnel et d’exiger une intégration plus importante avec l’enseignement académique. En créant High Tech High en 2000, il se révèle être un innovateur à l’origine d’un modèle radicalement nouveau au cœur même de l’école. 

High Tech High (HTH) fait tomber bon nombre de barrières : les obstacles que peuvent rencontrer des jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés pour accéder à une éducation de qualité, la séparation entre l’enseignement académique et l’enseignement technique, et la déconnexion entre la salle de classe et le monde réel. La lutte contre les inégalités est au cœur de la mission de HTH : ses élèves sont d’ailleurs sélectionnés à l’issue d’un tirage au sort.

Les méthodes innovantes mises en place à HTH ont aidé des milliers d’élèves de tous niveaux et de tous milieux socioéconomiques à se préparer à l’enseignement supérieur, à la citoyenneté et à une vie professionnelle épanouissante. Cette approche a également permis aux élèves d’atteindre leur plein potentiel, 98 % des élèves de HTH étant acceptés à l’Université (contre 69 % en moyenne au niveau national). 

HTH, simple « charter school », est devenue un réseau intégré de seize écoles dispensant des cours de la maternelle à la Terminale à près de 5 780 élèves sur quatre campus. En 2008, Larry Rosenstock a fondé la HTH Graduate School of Education, qui diplôme et dispense des formations. Plus de 5 000 enseignants et chefs d’établissement venant des 50 états américains et de 30 pays en bénéficient chaque année. 

Larry Rosenstock et le modèle qu’il a développé au sein de High Tech High façonnent une nouvelle approche de l’éducation en démontrant le bien-fondé de la pédagogie de projets, en enseignant les compétences du 21e siècle et en montrant qu’il est possible de changer le système directement dans les salles de classe.

Stavros N. Yiannouka, DG de WISE a déclaré : « Le travail de Larry Rosenstock incarne l’essence même du WISE Prize : plusieurs décennies d’engagement dans l’éducation, considérée comme force de transformation positive individuelle et sociale, des résultats tangibles et une méthode qui peut se décliner dans d’autres pays et d’autres contextes, enfin des qualités de visionnaire et d’entrepreneur social œuvrant pour le bien commun. »

En recevant son prix, Larry Rosenstock a déclaré : « Je suis honoré de recevoir ce prix et de rejoindre les précédents lauréats dont les projets ont eu un impact positif sur l’éducation partout dans le monde. J’espère que le WISE Prize nous permettra de partager encore plus largement le travail des élèves et des enseignants de High Tech High. Pour moi, ce prix confirme deux de mes plus fortes convictions : que le travail manuel et le travail intellectuel peuvent et doivent être enseignés conjointement dans nos écoles. Et que tous les jeunes sont capables de s’engager dans un travail qui est du sens, quand on leur en donne la chance. »

À propos du « WISE Prize »

Créé en 2011 par Son Altesse Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, le WISE Prize est la première distinction internationale à récompenser un individu ou une équipe de six personnes pour leur contribution exceptionnelle à l’éducation. Le WISE Prize permet de revaloriser le statut de l’éducation en lui conférant le même prestige que celui dont bénéficient la littérature, la paix ou l’économie, pour lesquels des prix internationaux existent déjà. Le Lauréat se voit remettre la médaille en or du WISE Prize, ainsi que la somme de 500 000 dollars américains. Il s’engage à produire quatre rapports décrivant les avancées de son projet et l’impact sur deux ans de la somme reçue. Les Lauréats du WISE Prize sont des modèles inspirants pour celles et ceux qui consacrent leur vie à construire l’avenir de l’éducation comme socle d’un monde plus sûr, prospère et durable.

Membres du jury du WISE Prize 2019 :

  • S. E. Sheikha Hanadi bint Nasser bin Khaled Al Thani, fondatrice et présidente d’Amwal, Qatar
  • S. E. Serigne Mbaye Thiam, ministre de l’Éducation nationale, Sénégal
  • Dr. Madhav Chavan, président de la Fondation Pratham Education, Inde
  • Mme Vicky Colbert, fondatrice et directrice de la Fondation Escuela Nueva, Colombie 
  • Dr. Jörg Dräger, membre du comité exécutif de la Fondation Bertelsmann, Allemagne 
  • M. Alan Chow, directeur exécutif de la Fondation D.H. Chen, Chine

Précédents lauréats du WISE Prize : 

  • 2017 – Dr. Patrick Awuah, Ghana
  • 2015 – Dr. Sakena Yacoobi, Afghanistan
  • 2014 – Mme Ann Cotton, Royaume-Uni
  • 2013 – Mme Vicky Colbert, Colombie
  • 2012 – Dr. Madhav Chavan, Inde
  • 2011 – Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, Bangladesh

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.

À propos de WISE

La Fondation du Qatar, présidée par Son Altesse Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, a créé WISE, le Sommet mondial de l’innovation pour l’éducation, en 2009. WISE est une plateforme internationale et multidisciplinaire destinée à encourager la créativité, la réflexion, le débat et l’action concrète en éducation. À travers le Sommet biennal, la recherche collaborative et une série de programmes, WISE est aujourd’hui une initiative sur les nouvelles approches en matière d’éducation. WISE 2019 s’est tenu à Doha du 19 au 21 novembre 2019 autour du thème : « Désapprendre, réapprendre : ce qui nous rend humain ». Pour plus d’informations sur WISE, cliquez ici.

SOURCE World Innovation Summit for Education


[1] “Charter School”: modèle américain d’écoles financées par des fonds publics et gérées par des organismes privés. Ces écoles sont soumises à une charte qui définit leurs obligations. Elles bénéficient d’une grande autonomie au regard de la pédagogie et du recrutement des enseignants. L’enseignement est gratuit.