ADVERTISEMENT

Vicarious trauma in the teacher: preventing empathy from leading to burnout

Teaching is a profession that requires a lot of empathy. Accompanying someone in difficult situations can lead to "compassion fatigue", a phenomenon increasingly recognized among teachers. Here are 4 recommendations to prevent vicarious trauma from turning into burnout.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Any teacher will tell you, the satisfaction of seeing that a student has understood and the feeling of having made a difference to the young people in their class is a feeling that is energizing and rewarding. This is called compassion satisfaction, responsible for the well-being felt, for example, when we see our loved ones happy with the gift we have given them, or the help we have given them. 

On the other hand, accompanying someone in difficult situations, whether by supporting them, listening to them, accompanying them in their search for a solution or simply by witnessing their difficulties, can lead to compassion fatigue. The compassion fatigue, often called vicarious trauma, is an absorption of the distress of the other where the worker himself feels this fatigue. This is well known among frontline workers (police officers, nurses, firefighters, psychologists and therapists, and even among veterinarians). 

Vicarious trauma is, however, less well known in teachers, although recognition is gaining ground. Teaching is a profession that requires a lot of empathy and a significant bond of trust with the students. It is not surprising that teachers, through their proximity, accessibility and trust, are often the first to whom students confide (in class or online) in the event of a problem.

With the pandemic, times are more difficult for all. Students are more likely to experience situations of domestic violence, of drug or alcohol use, to be around people who suffer from Mental Health (and suffer from it themselves) and situations where parents find it difficult to keep calm around them. The increase in these difficulties turns into an increase in the distress reported to teachers.

We should rejoice in those students who seek help, support and services by referring a teacher. As we cannot, and we do not want, reduce the number of students who confide, Astrid kendrick (Ph.D Education), in an article by The Conversation, proposes to implement solutions to help teachers in this situation in order to prevent a vicarious trauma from turning into professional burnout.

To this end, it makes the following four recommendations: 

  1. School culture. We all know how much a negative work environment can have an impact on morale. Therefore, a positive work environment, having empathetic colleagues, time during the work day to take care of yourself, positive and supportive leadership from management, are all beneficial.
  2. Support from the community. The closure of schools in March 2020 made it clear that society needs teachers. This relationship is two-way, and teachers need society just as much. Recognition of the work of teachers is significant in a healing process. This recognition is experienced on several levels; all can help overcome compassion fatigue. For example, parents who take a few minutes out of their busy day to thank the teacher make a big difference! The community implications are also significant. Every measure that aims to reduce the difficulties, trauma, violence and neglect experienced by students is also a measure that helps teachers to do their job in better conditions.
  3. Take care of yourself. Adopting healthy lifestyle habits, doing activities with children, connecting with nature, are ways to take care of yourself.
  4. Professional support. Vicarious trauma is very real and should be treated seriously and professionally like any other mental health problem. Professionals (psychologists, doctors or psychiatrist) have the skills to help when needed. Support from superiors and colleagues is also important. The majority of school service centers offer employee assistance programs. These programs allow you to consult a professional quickly and in complete confidentiality. 

It is by helping each other and taking care of oneself and one's colleagues, as we already do for students, that we will be able to make a difference to those around them.

To go further, we can find government resources here. Also, Info-Santé 811 offers a free and confidential consultation service, offered 24/7 (even on statutory holidays).

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Mrs Prof
Mrs Prof
She holds a bachelor's degree in education and is currently a candidate for a master's degree in education. She is involved with various organizations in order to equip teachers and improve the various facets of teaching and learning in Quebec.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le traumatisme vicariant chez l’enseignant : éviter que l’empathie mène à l’épuisement

Publié le :

L’enseignement est une profession qui requiert beaucoup d’empathie. Accompagner quelqu’un dans des situations difficiles peut engendrer de la « fatigue par compassion », phénomène de plus en plus reconnu chez les enseignant(e)s. Voici 4 recommandations pour éviter qu’un traumatisme vicariant se transforme en épuisement professionnel.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Tous les enseignants vous le diront, la satisfaction de voir qu’un élève a compris et le sentiment d’avoir fait une différence auprès des jeunes de sa classe est un sentiment qui énergise et gratifie. C’est ce qu’on appelle de la satisfaction par compassion, responsable du bien-être ressenti par exemple quand on voit ses proches heureux du cadeau qu’on leur a fait, ou de l’aide qu’on leur a apporté. 

À l’opposé, accompagner quelqu’un dans des situations difficiles, que ce soit en le soutenant, l’écoutant, l’accompagnant dans sa recherche de solution ou simplement en étant témoin de ses difficultés, peut engendrer de la fatigue par compassion. La fatigue par compassion, souvent appelée le traumatisme vicariant, est une absorption de la détresse de l’autre où l’intervenant ressent lui-même cette fatigue. Celle-ci est bien connue chez les intervenants de première ligne (policiers, infirmières, pompiers, psychologues et thérapeutes, et même chez les vétérinaires). 

Le traumatisme vicariant est cependant moins connu chez les enseignants, bien que la reconnaissance gagne du terrain. L’enseignement est une profession qui requiert beaucoup d’empathie et un lien de confiance significatif avec les élèves. Il n’est pas étonnant que les enseignants, par leur proximité, accessibilité et lien de confiance, soient souvent les premiers à qui se confient les élèves (en classe ou en ligne) en cas de problème.

Avec la pandémie, les temps sont plus difficiles pour tous. Les élèves sont plus nombreux à vivre des situations de violence conjugale, de consommation de drogue ou alcool, à côtoyer des personnes qui souffrent de troubles de santé mentale (et en souffrir eux-mêmes) et des situations où les parents ont de la difficulté à garder leur calme avec eux. L’augmentation de ces difficultés se transforme en une augmentation de la détresse rapportée aux enseignants.

Il faut se réjouir de ces élèves qui vont chercher de l’aide, du soutien et des services en se référant à un enseignant. Comme on ne peut pas, et on ne veut pas, réduire le nombre d’élèves qui se confient, Astrid Kendrick (Ph.D Éducation), dans un article de The Conversation, propose d’implanter des solutions pour aider les enseignants dans cette situation afin d’éviter qu’un traumatisme vicariant se transforme en épuisement professionnel.

À cet effet, elle fait les quatre recommandations suivantes : 

  1. La culture de l’école. On sait tous combien un environnement de travail négatif peut avoir des impacts sur le moral. Par conséquent, un environnement de travail positif, le fait d’avoir des collègues empathiques, du temps pendant la journée de travail pour prendre soin de soi, un leadership positif et aidant de la direction, sont tous des éléments bénéfiques.
  2. Le support de la communauté. La fermeture des écoles en mars 2020 a mis en évidence que la société a besoin des enseignants. Cette relation est bidirectionnelle et les enseignants ont tout autant besoin de la société. La reconnaissance du travail des enseignants est significative dans un processus de guérison. Cette reconnaissance se vit à plusieurs niveaux; tous peuvent contribuer à surmonter la fatigue de compassion. Par exemple, les parents qui prennent quelques minutes de leur journée chargée pour remercier l’enseignant font une grande différence! Les implications communautaires sont aussi significatives. Chaque mesure qui vise à réduire les difficultés, traumatismes, violence et négligences vécus par les élèves est aussi une mesure qui aide les enseignants à faire leur travail dans de meilleures conditions.
  3. Prendre soin de soi. Adopter de saines habitudes de vie, faire des activités avec les enfants, se connecter avec la nature, sont des moyens de prendre soin de soi.
  4. Un support professionnel. Le traumatisme vicariant est bien réel et doit être considéré avec sérieux et professionnalisme au même titre qu’un autre problème de santé mentale. Les professionnels (psychologues, médecins ou psychiatre) ont des compétences pour aider en cas de besoin. Le soutien de la part des supérieurs et des collègues est aussi important. La majorité des centres de services scolaires offrent des programmes d’aide aux employés. Ces programmes permettent de consulter un professionnel rapidement et en toute confidentialité. 

C’est en s’entraidant et en s’occupant de soi et de ses collègues, comme on le fait déjà pour les élèves, qu’on pourra faire une différence auprès de son entourage.

Pour aller plus loin, on peut retrouver des ressources gouvernementales ici. Aussi, Info-Santé 811 offre un service de consultation gratuit et confidentiel, offert 24/7 (même lors des jours fériés).

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Mrs Prof
Mrs Prof
Détentrice d’un baccalauréat en enseignement, elle est présentement candidate à la maîtrise en éducation. Elle s’implique auprès de diverses organisations afin d’outiller les enseignants et d’améliorer les diverses facettes de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage au Québec.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!