Discover Kinderuni, a digital "university" for children!

The Kinderuni, the digital children's university, is an educational project offered free of charge by the Goethe-Institut for children aged 8 to 12. They can explore different fields of knowledge in the fields of science. Teachers also get their money's worth!
  • Sponsored report
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

The University for children!

The Kinderuni, the digital children's university, is an educational project offered free of charge by the Goethe-Institut for children aged 8 to 12 years. They can explore different fields of knowledge in the fields of science.

The concept of children's universities has existed in Germany since 2002. The University of Tübingen was the first to open its doors to children to attend its classes. Since then, more and more universities in Germany and elsewhere offer such a program. 

The Goethe-Institut, the German cultural institute, took inspiration from this approach and transposed the Kinderuni into a digital version. Thus, the digital university for children was created and, little by little, different language versions were added. In 2021, the Goethe-Institut Montreal took charge of the French version and invites the French-speaking public to discover it.

Who can access it and how does it work?

The Kinderuni is for children! Accompanied by a teacher, a parent or alone at home, children listen to short video capsules that answer questions such as “Why do fireflies glow? How does the autopilot work? Why do we hear the sea in a shell? »

The Kinderuni offers fun and motivating educational content. In addition, this program manages to capture the attention of the youngest and increases their ability to concentrate in a digital context.

Students can create an account on the platform and a code is available for teachers to track their progress. Everything is offered free of charge and gives access to the 75 lessons available in French.

These interactive lessons are offered in three faculties: “Human being”, “Nature” and “Technology”. Young scientists can learn, for example, how to make gummy bears, how a soap dispenser works, or how blind people write and read. Professor Einstein and his assistant Mrs. Schlau, two animated dolls, introduce the lesson and respond to children's curiosity by explaining scientific phenomena. 

And that's not all! Children can also learn the German language. In each lesson, 10 new German words are taught, so that students become familiar with the language by exploring the meanings of words and their sounds. Exercises to deepen the subject and revise the few words learned are also part of the course. To further motivate children, a gamification system has been set up. Young learners collect trophies to advance in their "academic career", obtain their baccalaureate and ultimately become a teacher.

It is important to know that the courses are suitable both for students who have never learned German and for those who speak it fluently. Courses are available in French, English, German and many other languages. It is then possible for teachers to answer a daily question using a video clip in the children's mother tongue.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to use the children's university in your lessons. You can arrange a (virtual) meeting with one of our qualified teachers, who will introduce you to the platform and can also give you suggestions for integrating it into your lessons.

Contact: kinderuni-montreal@goethe.de

Your comments on this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

You might also like:

Découvrez la Kinderuni, une « université » numérique pour les enfants!

  • Reportage commandité
La Kinderuni, l’université numérique des enfants, est un projet éducatif offert gratuitement par le Goethe-Institut aux enfants de 8 à 12 ans. Ils peuvent y explorer différents champs de connaissances dans les domaines des sciences. Les enseignant(e)s y trouvent aussi leur compte!
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

L’Université pour les enfants!

La Kinderuni, l’université numérique des enfants, est un projet éducatif offert gratuitement par le Goethe-Institut aux enfants de 8 à 12 ans. Ils peuvent y explorer différents champs de connaissances dans les domaines des sciences.

Le concept des universités pour enfants existe en Allemagne depuis 2002. L’Université de Tübingen a été la première à ouvrir ses portes aux enfants pour qu’ils assistent à ses cours. Depuis, de plus en plus d’universités en Allemagne et ailleurs offrent un tel programme. 

Le Goethe-Institut, l’institut culturel allemand, s’est inspiré de cette approche et a transposé la Kinderuni dans une version numérique. Ainsi, l’université numérique pour enfants a été créée et, peu à peu, différentes versions linguistiques ont été ajoutées. En 2021, le Goethe-Institut Montreal a pris en charge la version française et invite le public francophone à la découvrir.

Qui peut y avoir accès et comment cela fonctionne?

La Kinderuni s’adresse aux enfants! Accompagnés par un.e professeur.e, un parent ou bien seuls à la maison, les enfants écoutent de courtes capsules vidéo qui répondent à des questions telles que « Pourquoi les lucioles brillent-elles? Comment fonctionne le pilote automatique? Pourquoi entend-on la mer dans un coquillage? »

La Kinderuni offre du contenu éducatif amusant et motivant. En plus, ce programme réussit à capter l’attention des plus jeunes et augmente leur capacité de concentration dans un contexte numérique.

Les élèves peuvent créer un compte sur la plateforme et un code est disponible pour les professeur.e.s pour suivre leur progrès. Le tout est offert sans frais et donne accès aux 75 leçons disponibles en français.

Ces leçons interactives sont offertes dans trois facultés : « Être humain », « Nature » et « Technologie ». Les jeunes scientifiques peuvent apprendre, par exemple, comment on fait des oursons gélifiés, comment fonctionne un distributeur de savon, ou comment les aveugles écrivent et lisent. Le professeur Einstein et son assistante Mme Schlau, deux poupées animées, font l’introduction du cours et répondent à la curiosité des enfants en expliquant des phénomènes scientifiques. 

Et ce n’est pas tout! Les enfants peuvent aussi s’initier à la langue allemande. Dans chaque cours, 10 nouveaux mots allemands sont enseignés, de sorte que les élèves se familiarisent avec la langue en explorant la signification des mots et leurs sonorités. Des exercices pour approfondir la matière et réviser les quelques mots appris font également partie du cours. Pour motiver les enfants davantage, un système de ludification est mis en place. Les jeunes apprenant.e.s collectionnent des trophées pour avancer dans leur « carrière académique », obtenir leur baccalauréat et finalement devenir professeur.e.

Il est important de savoir que les cours conviennent aussi bien aux élèves qui n’ont jamais appris l’allemand qu’à ceux et celles qui le parlent couramment. Les cours sont disponibles en français, en anglais, en allemand et dans bien d’autres langues. Il est alors possible pour les professeur.e.s de répondre à une question du quotidien à l’aide d’une capsule vidéo dans la langue maternelle des enfants.

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez utiliser l’université des enfants dans vos cours. Vous pouvez convenir d’un rendez-vous (virtuel) avec l’un de nos enseignants qualifiés, qui vous présentera la plate-forme et pourra également vous faire des suggestions pour l’intégrer dans vos cours.​

Contact: kinderuni-montreal@goethe.de

Vos commentaires sur cet article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :