ADVERTISEMENT

The Rendez-vous RÉCIT: creative laboratory

Can I start a creative lab in my community? What material do i need? Where to start and what are the approaches to favor in such a space? The RÉCIT Webinar on Creative Laboratories explored these questions and opened the door to new collaborations.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On November 20, 6 free workshops were offered online by RÉCIT in order to introduce educational actors to various themes that can be explored within the framework of the Digital action plan in education. The recordings of these workshops as well as the resources presented are available on the RÉCIT website.

Can I start a creative lab in my community? What material do i need? Where to start and what are the approaches to favor in such a space? It is to explore these questions that Pierre Lachance, Andrée-Caroline Boucher, Christine truesdale and Thomas stenzel hosted their 60 minute webinar. A most enlightening presentation which also opened the door to new collaborations between the promoters of creative lab projects.

Why?

Creative laboratories are not yet very widespread in Quebec schools. Some communities were pioneers such as the Marguerite-Bourgeoys School Board (we invite you to listen to the École branchée Educational Rendez-vous with Mathieu Dubreuil entitled Small Fab Lab will become big: the visionary project of the CSMB). At the start of the webinar, the RÉCIT and LEARN facilitators presented some of the reasons that motivate schools to set up creative laboratories:

  • A new way of integrating digital: a creative space where digital material is made available to students;
  • A space focused on autonomy and creativity that promotes interdisciplinarity;
  • An innovative strategy to train teachers and students differently;
  • A place that promotes collaboration and the co-construction of knowledge.

" The creative lab is not necessarily
a place is a state of mind! "

What?

The definition of the creative lab offered during the webinar is as follows:

An open learning environment allowing to design and manufacture objects integrating digital components as well as common tools and materials such as scissors, cardboard and glue.

However, the facilitators agreed that there is no single definition of the creative lab. Participants were invited to add their own contribution to the webinar visual support to complete the definition. A space of freedom, a playground, individual and collaborative projects, the pleasure of learning independently are all ideas that were shared for the occasion.

" Everyone is a learner "

How? 'Or' What?

In order to solidify the understanding of the concept, Andrée-Caroline introduced two very relevant approaches in the context of the creative laboratory.

The first is theMATIS approach which combines Maths, Arts, Technologies, Engineering and Sciences. This allows you to develop transversal skills such as creativity, expression, communication, openness, critical thinking, sensitivity, culture and wonder as shown in the infographic below. Andrée-Caroline emphasizes that integrating the arts into this pedagogical approach allows students to carry out more innovative projects.

The second approach is that of thought design, an approach stemming from the world of industrial design which encourages people to experience five stages in a loop: feeling, defining, imagining, prototyping and testing.

What if I wanna see it to believe it?

Even the most visual were served during the webinar as Pierre, Christine and Thomas offered a virtual tour of the places where they were. Pierre presented the KrëoLab CSBE, a mobile concept that moves to a new multi-purpose vehicle every two months or so. For their part, Christine and Thomas showed their open creative space, a transformed conference room where Arduino and sewing machines now mix… enough to make plastic arts teachers blush with envy!

Regardless of the model chosen, one thing was made very clear by the facilitators: beyond the equipment, it is fundamental to have humans to accompany the students in their creative exploration.

To end on a high note, André-Caroline shared an inspiring example: the interactive puppet. A project that allowed the manufacture of puppets whose eyes light up thanks to microcontrollers that adjust to the brightness of the room.

After that?

The facilitators invited the teachers to visit the RÉCIT training course on creative laboratories. Set up as part of the PAN, this course offers testimonials from teachers, questions to start your exploration, technological aids and self-training.

The RÉCIT team also underlined that it can travel to different settings to support the teams in their creative laboratory project. Finally, she invited all those interested to visit the labs already in place in order to benefit from each other's expertise. And above all, she invited them to work in a network to explore, set up, document and share!

You can find the presentation and resources presented in this workshop at the RÉCIT creative laboratories website.

Will you be the next to embrace the Creative Lab?

To see thefull webinar, click below or this way.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le Rendez-vous RÉCIT : laboratoire créatif

0

Le 20 novembre dernier, 6 ateliers gratuits étaient offerts en ligne par le RÉCIT afin d’introduire les acteurs éducatifs à diverses thématiques pouvant être explorées dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation. Ces ateliers seront bientôt disponibles sur le site Web du RÉCIT.

Est-ce que je peux démarrer un laboratoire créatif dans mon milieu? De quel matériel ai-je besoin? Par où commencer et quelles sont les approches à privilégier dans un tel espace? C’est pour explorer ces questions que Pierre Lachance, Andrée-Caroline Boucher, Christine Truesdale et Thomas Stenzel ont animé leur webinaire de 60 minutes. Une présentation des plus éclairantes qui a également ouvert la porte sur de nouvelles collaborations entre les porteurs de projets de lab créatif.

Pourquoi?

Les laboratoires créatifs ne sont pas encore très répandus dans les écoles québécoises. Certains milieux ont été précurseurs comme la Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys (on vous invite d’ailleurs à écouter le Rendez-vous pédagogique de l’École branchée avec Mathieu Dubreuil intitulé Petit Fab Lab deviendra grand : le projet visionnaire de la CSMB). Au début du webinaire, les animateurs RÉCIT et LEARN ont présenté quelques-unes des raisons qui motivent les milieux scolaires à mettre en place des laboratoires créatifs :

  • Une nouvelle façon d’intégrer le numérique : un espace créatif où on met le matériel numérique à disposition des élèves;
  • Un espace axé sur l’autonomie et la créativité qui favorise l’interdisciplinarité;
  • Une stratégie novatrice pour former les enseignants et les élèves autrement;
  • Un lieu favorisant la collaboration et la co-construction des savoirs.

« Le lab créatif n’est pas forcément
un endroit, c’est un état d’esprit! »

Quoi?

La définition du laboratoire créatif offerte lors du webinaire est la suivante :

Un environnement d’apprentissage ouvert permettant de concevoir et fabriquer des objets intégrant des composantes numériques ainsi que des outils et matériaux usuels comme les ciseaux, le carton et la colle.

Les animateurs se sont toutefois entendus pour dire qu’il n’existe pas une seule définition du laboratoire créatif. Les participants étaient justement invités à ajouter leur propre contribution à même le support visuel du webinaire pour compléter la définition. Espace de liberté, terrain de jeu, projets individuels et collaboratifs, plaisir d’apprendre de façon autonome sont autant d’idées ayant été partagées pour l’occasion.

« Tout le monde est un apprenant »

Comment?

Afin de solidifier la compréhension du concept, Andrée-Caroline a introduit deux approches tout-à-fait pertinentes dans le contexte du laboratoire créatif.

La première est l’approche MATIS qui combine les Maths, les Arts, les Technologies, l’Ingénierie et les Sciences. Celle-ci permet de développer des compétences transversales telles que la créativité, l’expression, la communication, l’ouverture, le sens critique, la sensibilité, la culture et l’émerveillement comme le montre l’infographie ci-dessous. Andrée-Caroline souligne que l’intégration des arts à cette approche pédagogique permet aux élèves de réaliser des projets plus innovants.

La deuxième approche est celle de la pensée design, une démarche issue du monde du design industriel qui incite à vivre cinq étapes en boucle : ressentir, définir, imaginer, prototyper et tester.

Et si je veux le voir pour le croire?

Même les plus visuels ont été servis lors du webinaire puisque Pierre, Christine et Thomas ont offert une visite virtuel des lieux où ils se trouvaient. Pierre a présenté le KrëoLab CSBE, un concept mobile qui se déplace dans une nouvelle polyvalente à tous les deux mois environ. De leur côté, Christine et Thomas ont montré leur open creative space, une salle de conférence transformée où se côtoient désormais Arduino et machines à coudre… de quoi faire rougir d’envie les enseignants d’arts plastique!

Peu importe le modèle choisi, une chose a été mise bien au claire par les animateurs : au-delà de l’équipement, il est fondamental d’avoir des humains pour accompagner les élèves dans leur exploration créative.

Pour terminer en beauté, André-Caroline a partagé un exemple inspirant : la marionnette interactive. Un projet qui a permis la fabrication de marionnettes dont les yeux s’allument grâce à des microcontrôleurs qui s’ajustent à la luminosité de la pièce.

Et ensuite?

Les animateurs ont invité les enseignants à visiter le parcours de formation du RÉCIT sur les laboratoires créatifs. Mis en place dans le cadre du PAN, ce parcours offre des témoignages d’enseignants, des questions pour débuter son exploration, des aides-mémoire technologiques et des autoformations.

L’équipe du RÉCIT a aussi souligné qu’elle peut se déplacer dans les milieux pour accompagner les équipes dans leur projet de laboratoire créatif. Finalement elle a invité toutes les personnes intéressées à aller visiter les labs déjà en place afin de profiter de l’expertise de chacun. Et surtout, elle les a invité à travailler en réseau pour explorer, mettre en place, documenter et partager!

Vous pouvez trouver la présentation et les ressources présentées dans cet atelier sur le site Web des laboratoires créatifs du RÉCIT.

Serez-vous les prochains à adopter le laboratoire créatif?

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!