ADVERTISEMENT

Encourage engagement with the "puzzle method"

At the initiative of Collège Ste-Anne, teachers from several establishments participated in 3 design thinking workshops to find ways to promote student engagement in hybrid or distance education. Here is the summary of a solution emerging from their creative design process, applicable at all levels.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

At the initiative of the Collège Ste-Anne, teachers from several establishments participated in 3 workshops design thinking to find ways to encourage student engagement in hybrid or distance education. At the end of the workshops, the 6 teams presented a problem experienced by the teachers and the solution emerging from their creative design process. Here is the summary of the first solution, applicable at all levels.

To the question "how could we allow the secondary school teacher to engage the student in his learning, that is to say to challenge him in the activities, to encourage him to invest and to interact with the teacher and others as his students experience online teaching every other day? », Team 1 offers a method of active collaboration.

She suggests building activities where the student is responsible for a specific task. For example, each student works on a sub-question to allow the emergence of a mathematical concept. Each task is worked on individually and then shared. When completed, they fit together like the pieces of a puzzle.

To optimize results, teaching must ensure that teams are made up of students with different strengths and that the student has a role that matches his or her strength. 

Accountability, autonomy and harmonious collaboration can lead young people to engage in their learning. With this method, the student experiences a desire for success for himself and for others, a feeling of efficiency and usefulness which values him. Thus, we want motivation to increase and the pleasure of learning to return, despite the constraints of distance.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Favoriser l’engagement avec la « méthode casse-tête »

À l’initiative du Collège Ste-Anne, des enseignant(e)s de plusieurs établissements ont participé à 3 ateliers de design thinking pour trouver des moyens de favoriser l’engagement des élèves en enseignement hybride ou à distance. Voici le résumé d'une solution émergeant de leur démarche de conception créative, applicable à tous les niveaux.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

À l’initiative du Collège Ste-Anne, des enseignant(e)s de plusieurs établissements ont participé à 3 ateliers de design thinking pour trouver des moyens de favoriser l’engagement des élèves en enseignement hybride ou à distance. À la fin des ateliers, les 6 équipes ont présenté un problème éprouvé par les enseignants et la solution émergeant de leur démarche de conception créative. Voici le résumé de la première solution, applicable à tous les niveaux.

À la question « comment pourrions-nous permettre à l’enseignant du secondaire d’engager l’élève dans ses apprentissages, c’est-à-dire de l’interpeller dans les activités, de l’amener à s’investir et à interagir avec l’enseignant et les autres étant donné que ses élèves vivent l’enseignement en ligne une journée sur deux? », l’équipe 1 propose une méthode de collaboration active.

Elle suggère de bâtir des activités où l’élève est responsable d’une tâche spécifique. Par exemple, chaque élève travaille sur une sous-question pour permettre l’émergence d’un concept mathématique. Chaque tâche est travaillée individuellement pour ensuite être mise en commun. Une fois terminées, elles s’emboîtent comme les pièces d’un casse-tête.

Pour optimiser les résultats, l’enseignement doit s’assurer que les équipes soient composées d’élèves ayant des forces différentes et de donner un rôle à l’élève correspondant à sa force. 

La responsabilisation, l’autonomie et la collaboration harmonieuse peuvent amener les jeunes à s’engager dans leurs apprentissages. Avec cette méthode, l’élève éprouve un désir de réussite pour lui-même et pour les autres, un sentiment d’efficacité et d’utilité qui le valorise. Ainsi, on souhaite que la motivation augmente et que le plaisir d’apprendre revienne, malgré les contraintes de la distance.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :