Critical thinking, critical thinking, critical judgment: can we disentangle all this?

What is the difference between mind, thought and critical judgment? What is the role of school and what to do with it in the classroom? Here are some ideas if you are intrigued!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Until recently, I never stopped to wonder about the difference between critical thinking, critical thinking and critical judgment. As stupid as it may seem, I have always made it my own duty to develop the critical "mind-thinking-judgment" of my students, and also that of my own daughters ... without knowing the fundamental differences between them. three concepts. I therefore delved into the subject and I share with you my thoughts on the place of school, in particular.

Distinguish the concepts

The critical mind that nourishes critical thinking

At first, thecritical mind is a general predisposition that the human has to interpret various realities, tangible or not, in a critical way, that is to say in a way to appreciate something from criteria predetermined by the thinker. In this regard, the mind nourishes the thought.

Critical thinking: mobilizing reason in reflective activity

For its part, the critical thinking is the ability to mobilize reason in reflective activity. Indeed, in a world in constant effervescence, where we are constantly bombarded with information, it allows us to take the time to analyze objectively (or rather by aiming for objectivity) what the universe sends us. It allows us to go beyond the simple theoretical and informative activity at the base of our own knowledge, created from that of others and of what emerges from nature, to question it and draw, in a way, our own conclusions. according to an investigative activity. The aim of this exercise is to take action: “coherent relativism encourages action as much as it does reason” (Barrau, 2016, p. 82). Thought influences action essentially on two levels: on the one hand, to decide what to believe or not to believe and, on the other hand, to decide how to act on the basis of this belief or refutation.

The activity is rigorous and it is coherent: “coherent relativism (…) is an additional requirement. He does not deny the importance of truth nor its effectiveness within a system, but he questions, beyond that, the legitimacy of this system ”(Barrau, 2016, p. 80). This coherence is affirmed thanks to a rigor which makes that the critical thinker goes further in his intellectual activity: he verifies the sources, compares them with other sources, he identifies the nuances, he identifies the bases of consensus and 'objectification.

In the process, he becomes aware of his own biases and he openly questions them. It also intersects with the opinions of others, especially at a time when traditional so-called “social” media are increasingly pouring out premasked information in the form of editorials.

Critical thinking is therefore a complex intellectual activity since it is self-regulated, self-correcting and the result of metacognitive activity. On the one hand, it allows a certain rectification of his own thought to flesh out the quality of conceptions of reality which are, in fact, dynamic. We correct our conceptions on a regular basis and, beyond the awareness of our own cognitive biases, we use reason to override them in our quest for a certain truth, as objective as possible. On the other hand, this high-level thinking requires the ability to think about yourself in the process of thinking (are you still following me?) Adopting a critical posture not only on our beliefs, but also on our own (meta) cognitive mechanisms. In short, critical thinking is the antidote to “magical” thinking.

Critical judgment, or the search for objectivity

Critical thinking leads to critical judgment, which is, essentially a search for objectivity. This research is, in fact, a criterion-referenced evaluative activity:

What will make it possible to produce a good judgment will be the use of criteria, that is to say of reference points or even of "reliable reasons", or in other words, the reasons of which the greatest acceptance shared by public opinion comes from a sure, objective character recognized as trustworthy by specialists in the field. The criteria can be very varied in their forms, be formal or informal, but their primary function is "to provide a basis for comparison". To ensure the value of the judgment, they meet three conditions: adequacy to the problem, soundness and reliability.

- Kerhom, 2016

The search for truth is accomplished in a process of objectification where a certain consensus is imposed in the knowledge and fixes various scales distinguishing what is acceptable or plausible in a given community from what is not. The objectification criteria are therefore shared and recognized within the said community.

If we recap ...

Our critical judgment, this is the culmination of the mind who initiates the critical thinking. When the mind triggers critical thinking and this is translated into a reflective, objective, even perfect action (Aristotle speaks of entelechy), we pass from the act which is essentially virtual to action (which Aristotle calls "power"). The first act is the acquired competence. It is the potential and the ability to act, but without the action. It is the human potential of power. As for him, the second act is the competence in the action, the competence in exercise. It is the human in power. It is the one who is accomplished through his thoughtful actions.

From the mind to the thought, to the judgment that determines the action, the critical approach aims to make the human an improved version of himself, which, in a way, reminds me of the concept of mentality of growth of Carol Dweck (2006) stating, essentially, that the human is a lifelong learner and that, thanks to this, combined with reflective thinking, he is in continuous improvement throughout his life.

"Exercising critical judgment": a key skill of the PFEQ to ensure the sustainability of democracy 

The critical “mind-thought-judgment” trio has made its way through our schools thanks to the “exercise critical judgment” skill, the third transversal skill resulting from the Quebec School Training Program (PFEQ).

If one relies on the ministerial document (2006), the development of a critical mind is essential since it is important "to go beyond stereotypes, prejudices, preconceived ideas and intuitive evidence in order to avoid that the simple expression of 'an opinion takes the place of judgment'. Indeed, we cannot say that our students are not critical. Criticizing is easy: young and old have all understood this. However, to base this criticism on an approach which tends towards the objective and from which one tries, by all means, to extract the emotional and the irrational, that is another story. Clearly, it is easy to claim to be "critical" or pretend to exercise your critical mind!

Secondary school students are at a period of their development when they particularly aspire to assert themselves, to debate their convictions and to have their legitimacy recognized. They are more and more able to grasp the complexity of certain issues, to rely on facts, to shift their focus from their own point of view and to separate the emotional and the rational.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, 2006

It would be illusory to claim that one of the goals of the school is to develop critical thinking (as defined above at least) and it is for this reason that the school environment emphasizes the development of judgment. criticism, a manifestation of the beginning of the elaboration of such a thought. As Bronner (2013, p. 209) puts it, “studies must sharpen critical thinking (…)”.

Cross-disciplinary skills, at least in Quebec, are the dislikes of the PFEQ. However, at the time of alternative facts and fake news, “Exercising critical judgment” emerges as a key skill to ensure the sustainability of democracy:

“The true critical spirit, the one which helps us to thwart the alienation which the suggestions of our intuition sometimes represent, can only be acquired by means of persevering exercises. This work, so necessary for the advent of a knowledge-based democracy, can therefore only be done by insisting on it throughout educational time and in all subjects, as soon as possible. "

BRONNER, 2013, P. 226

The role of teachers

Developing a critical mind in young adolescents, the very ones who are learning to challenge the established order, this is a perilous adventure! It is difficult to teach young people to develop this spirit when, very often, the school strategy is based on constraint and dogma. Our young people are expected to be docile and to respect the rules of life without complaining. They are also expected to assimilate all content transmitted to them without questioning it. In short, we teach them dogmas, recipes and procedures without their having the right to question them. “Unfortunately, at the present time, and for ages, education serves above all a goal of social conformity so that everyone stays in their place (…)” (Favre, 2016, p. 23).

On the opposite side of the spectrum, some, like Albert Jacquard, say bluntly: "the goal of teachers should be to make pain in the ass." We must cultivate doubt and teach why and how to question things in a healthy way in order to tend towards mental autonomy: "doubt has heuristic virtues, it's true, but it can also lead, rather than autonomy. mental, to cognitive nihilism ”(Bronner, 2013, p. 209).

Essentially, what is desired is that young people understand three things which are the foundations of critical thinking and also of epistemological reasoning:

  1. How do we know what we know?
  2. How is this knowledge validated?
  3. What is this knowledge for?

Yes, “the critical path is narrow” (Barrau, 2016, p. 53.), but it is under the benevolent guidance of the teacher that the pupil will know how to venture there. The narrowness of the path is not necessarily related to the critical aspect of the journey, but more to the scope of the responsibility that is inherent in it. “The aim of the school is first of all to promote the emancipation of a subject, a future citizen whose freedom and responsibility go together” (Favre, 2016, p. 75). In a society where there is much more emphasis on rights and freedom, the responsibility that flows from those same rights and responsibilities is obscured. Hence the importance in my opinion of developing not only the mind critical, but also the spirit ethics.

We all aspire in education for our young people to become responsible citizens, hardworking and productive workers, and open and empathetic parents. These aims are noble:

The training of the person as an autonomous subject who has developed the basic skills to be autonomous in today's world and whose critical mind has been trained by aiming at the acquisition of basic knowledge to be able to learn throughout life and participate in debates on the scientific and socially pressing issues that cross it.

FAVRE, 2016, P. 75

There are two important places where this critical mind can be developed: at home and at school. In my humble opinion, the school is the environment par excellence to achieve this since it is a social microcosm and an experimental social environment. The student has all the necessary supervision to learn and develop all these deeply human skills to which we refer when addressing the issue of soft-skills, or know-how.

How to develop critical thinking in the classroom?

Critical thinking is a prized skill and it does not develop on its own, of course. The teacher is therefore invested with an important mission: to develop the child's natural intellectual puerility:

But they [students] will only be able to learn to exercise critical judgment if the teachers themselves are role models and given multiple opportunities to express their opinions, discuss them with others, confront them with divergent points of view and analyze their merits.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, 2006

In class, students are often mobilized to learn how to solve problems. To do this, the teacher teaches them an approach that they reinvest in the learning activities imposed by the teachers. These redundant activities, often called “drill” in jargon, are actually recipes that are taught and then applied. However, to work on the development of critical thinking, another approach is necessary:

(...) it is better, for the training of their scientific and critical mind, to seek less often to put students in a problem-solving situation, but in return let them, at least sometimes, lead Actually an investigation to resolve them.

CARIOU, 2004

Our young people, like us, are exposed to the worst deceptions. Moreover, naturally, they are naive, gullible and vulnerable. They must therefore be immersed in authentic situations where they can exercise their critical thinking: “training students' scientific and critical thinking is good; providing them with the opportunity to exercise it in society is better ”(Cariou, 2004). One of the goals targeted by any teacher should contribute to the pupil's mind so that he naturally knows how to distinguish between dreams, fantasy and reality. For example, teachers might ask them to analyze advertisements, infomercials, political speeches, public statements, debates, etc. They could play as characters in a role-playing game. They could design a marketing campaign for a multinational corporation, or write an almanac or an astrology report. The possibilities are endless!

For Jean Rostand, French academician, it is necessary "to teach young people the critical spirit, to protect them against the lies of the spoken word and of the printed matter, to create in them a spiritual ground where the credulity cannot take root ... and especially the to warn against human testimony ”(Rostand, 1958). 

In short, the critical spirit serves the pupil to know how to guard against others, of course, but also against himself, who might be tempted to fail in his own "critical ethics". It reminds me strangely of Socrates' three sieves test (assuming he was indeed the one who developed this test!). You know? Find his explanation here, on the website of the Beauce-Etchemin School Board.

In short, what matters to us is to develop the intellectual rigor of our students, but also, that they know how to take care of their words. We want to arm them with what is most powerful: a mind that knows how to doubt at the right time, without sinking into mistrust. It is this same doubt which has been able to resist the worst dictatorships and which ensures that democracy is preserved in our societies.

References

Aristotle. (2011). Metaphysics. Paris: Flammarion.

Barrau, A. (2016). Truth in science (electronic version). Paris: Dunod.

Bronner, G. (2013). Democracy of the Gullible. Paris: The University Press of France.

Cariou, J.-Y. (2004). The formation of the scientific mind https://www.pseudo-sciences.org/article.php3?id_article=295#nb10

Dweck, CS (2006). Mindse: The New Psychology of Success. New York: Random House.

Favre, D. (2016). Educate about uncertainty. Paris: Dunod.

Kerhom, M. (2016). What is critical thinking? definition and criteria. Spotted at  http://www.educ-revues.fr/DIOTIME/AffichageDocument.aspx?iddoc=107499

Quebec Ministry of Education. (2006). Training program of the École québécoise: secondary education, first cycle. Spotted at http://www.education.gouv.qc.ca/fileadmin/site_web/documents/dpse/formation_jeunes/prfrmsec1ercyclev3.pdf

Rostand J. (1958). False science and false science, Paris: Gallimard.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Esprit critique, pensée critique, jugement critique : peut-on démêler tout ça?

0
Favoriser le développement du jugement critique à l'école, mission possible?

Jusqu’à tout récemment, je ne m’étais jamais arrêté pour me questionner à propos de la différence entre la pensée critique, l’esprit critique et le jugement critique. Aussi bête que cela puisse paraitre, j’ai toujours fait mien le devoir de développer « l’esprit-pensée-jugement » critique(s) de mes élèves, et aussi celui de mes propres filles… sans toutefois connaitre les différences fondamentales entre les trois concepts. J’ai donc creusé le sujet et je vous partage ma réflexion autour de la place de l’école, notamment.

Distinguer les concepts

L’esprit critique qui nourrit la pensée critique

Dans un premier temps, l’esprit critique est une prédisposition générale que l’humain possède pour interpréter diverses réalités, tangibles ou non, de façon critique, c’est-à-dire d’une façon à apprécier quelque chose à partir de critères prédéterminés par le penseur. À cet égard, l’esprit nourrit la pensée.

La pensée critique : mobiliser la raison dans une activité réflexive

Pour sa part, la pensée critique est la capacité à mobiliser la raison dans une activité réflexive. En effet, dans un monde en constante effervescence, où nous sommes constamment bombardés d’information, elle permet de prendre le temps d’analyser de façon objective (ou plutôt en visant l’objectivité) ce que l’univers nous envoie. Elle permet d’outrepasser la simple activité théorique et informative à la base de notre propre savoir, créé à partir de celui des autres et de ce qui émerge de la nature, pour le remettre en question et tirer, en quelque sorte, nos propres conclusions en fonction d’une activité investigatrice. Le but de cet exercice est de passer à l’action : « le relativisme cohérent encourage à l’action autant qu’à la raison » (Barrau, 2016, p. 82). La pensée influence l’action essentiellement sur deux plans : d’une part, pour décider quoi croire ou ne pas croire et, d’autre part, décider comment agir à partir de cette croyance ou réfutation.

L’activité est rigoureuse et elle est cohérente : « le relativisme cohérent (…) est une exigence supplémentaire. Il ne nie pas l’importance de la vérité ni son efficacité au sein d’un système, mais il interroge, au-delà, la légitimité de ce système » (Barrau, 2016, p. 80). Cette cohérence s’affirme grâce à une rigueur qui fait que le penseur critique va plus loin dans son activité intellectuelle : il vérifie les sources, les compare à d’autres sources, il identifie les nuances, il en identifie les bases de consensus et d’objectivation.

Dans le processus, il prend conscience de ses propres biais et il les remet ouvertement en question. Il croise également les opinions des autres, surtout à une époque où les médias traditionnels dits « sociaux » versent de plus en plus dans l’information prémâchée prenant la forme de l’éditorial.

La pensée critique est donc une activité intellectuelle complexe puisqu’elle est autorégulée, autocorrective et issue d’une activité métacognitive. D’une part, elle permet une certaine rectification de sa propre pensée pour en étoffer la qualité des conceptions de la réalité qui sont, de fait, dynamiques. Nous corrigeons nos conceptions de façon régulière et, au-delà de la prise en conscience de nos propres biais cognitifs, nous utilisons la raison pour les outrepasser dans notre quête d’une certaine vérité, la plus objective possible. D’autre part, cette pensée de haut niveau nécessite la capacité de se penser en train de penser (vous me suivez toujours?) en adoptant une posture critique non seulement sur nos croyances, mais également sur nos propres mécanismes (méta)cognitifs. Bref, la pensée critique, c’est l’antidote à la pensée « magique ».

Le jugement critique, ou la recherche de l’objectivité

La pensée critique mène au jugement critique, lequel est, essentiellement une recherche de l’objectivité. Cette recherche est, dans les faits, une activité évaluative critériée :

Ce qui permettra de produire un bon jugement sera l’utilisation de critères, c’est-à-dire de points de référence ou encore de « raisons fiables », ou en d’autres termes, les raisons dont la plus grande acceptation partagée par l’opinion publique provient d’un caractère sûr, objectif et reconnu digne de confiance par les spécialistes de la matière. Les critères peuvent être très variés dans leurs formes, être formels ou informels, mais ils ont pour fonction première « de fournir une base de comparaison ». Pour garantir la valeur du jugement, ils remplissent trois conditions : l’adéquation au problème, la solidité et la fiabilité.

– Kerhom, 2016

La recherche de vérité s’accomplit dans un processus d’objectivation où un certain consensus s’impose dans la connaissance et fixe divers barèmes distinguant ce qui est acceptable ou plausible dans une communauté donnée de ce qui ne l’est pas. Les critères d’objectivation sont donc partagés et reconnus au sein de ladite communauté.

Si on récapitule…

Le jugement critique, c’est ainsi l’aboutissement de l’esprit qui initie la pensée critique. Lorsque l’esprit déclenche la pensée critique et que celle-ci se traduit dans une action réfléchie, objective, voire parfaite (Aristote parle d’entéléchie), on passe de l’acte qui est essentiellement virtuel à l’action (ce qu’Aristote appelle « puissance »). L’acte premier est la compétence acquise. C’est le potentiel et la capacité d’agir, mais sans l’action. C’est le potentiel humain de la puissance. Quant à lui, l’acte second est la compétence dans l’action, la compétence en exercice. C’est l’humain en puissance. C’est celui qui s’accomplit à travers ses actions réfléchies.

De l’esprit à la pensée, jusqu’au jugement qui détermine l’action, la démarche critique vise à faire de l’humain une version améliorée de lui-même, ce qui, en quelque sorte, me rappelle le concept de mentalité de croissance de Carol Dweck (2006) stipulant, essentiellement, que l’humain est un apprenant à vie et que, grâce à cela, combiné à une pensée réflexive, il est en amélioration continue tout au long de sa vie.

« Exercer son jugement critique » : une compétence-clé du PFEQ pour assurer la pérennité de la démocratie 

Le trio « esprit-pensée-jugement » critique(s) a frayé son chemin dans nos milieux scolaires grâce à la compétence « exercer son jugement critique », la troisième compétence transversale issue du Programme de formation de l’École québécoise (PFEQ).

Si on se fie au document ministériel (2006), le développement de l’esprit critique est incontournable puisqu’il est important « de dépasser les stéréotypes, les préjugés, les idées préconçues et les évidences intuitives afin d’éviter que la simple expression d’une opinion tienne lieu de jugement ». En effet, on ne peut pas dire que nos élèves ne sont pas critiques. Critiquer, c’est facile : les jeunes et moins jeunes ont tous compris cela. Cependant, assoir cette critique sur une démarche qui tend vers l’objectif et de laquelle on tente, par tous les moyens, d’extraire l’émotif et l’irrationnel, c’est une autre histoire. Clairement, il est facile de se revendiquer « critique » ou prétendre exercer son esprit critique!

Les élèves du secondaire sont à une période de leur développement où ils aspirent tout particulièrement à s’affirmer, à débattre de leurs convictions et à en faire reconnaître la légitimité. Ils sont de plus en plus capables de saisir la complexité de certains enjeux, de s’appuyer sur des faits, de se décentrer de leur propre point de vue et de départager l’émotif et le rationnel.

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION, 2006

Il serait illusoire de prétendre qu’un des buts de l’école est de développer la pensée critique (telle que définie précédemment à tout le moins) et c’est pour cette raison que le milieu scolaire met l’accent sur le développement du jugement critique, une manifestation d’un début d’élaboration d’une telle pensée. Comme le dit Bronner (2013, p. 209), « les études doivent aiguiser l’esprit critique (…) ».

Les compétences transversales, du moins au Québec, ce sont les mal-aimées du PFEQ. Or, à l’époque des faits alternatifs et fake news, « exercer son jugement critique » émerge comme une compétence-clé pour assurer la pérennité de la démocratie :

« Le véritable esprit critique, celui qui nous aide à contrarier l’aliénation que représentent parfois les suggestions de notre intuition, ne peut s’acquérir qu’à force d’exercices persévérants. Ce travail si nécessaire à l’avènement d’une démocratie de la connaissance ne peut donc se faire qu’en y insistant tout au long du temps éducatif et dans toutes les matières, dès que possible. »

BRONNER, 2013, P. 226

Le rôle des enseignants

Développer l’esprit critique chez de jeunes adolescents, ceux-là mêmes qui apprennent à contester l’ordre établi, voilà une aventure périlleuse! Difficile d’enseigner aux jeunes à développer cet esprit alors que, bien souvent, la stratégie scolaire est fondée sur la contrainte et le dogme. On s’attend de nos jeunes à ce qu’ils soient dociles et qu’ils respectent les règles de vie sans rechigner. On s’attend également à ce qu’ils assimilent tous les contenus qui leur sont transmis sans les remettre en question. Bref, nous leur enseignons des dogmes, des recettes, des démarches sans qu’ils aient le droit de les remettre en question. « Malheureusement, à l’heure actuelle, et ce depuis des lustres, l’éducation sert avant tout une visée de conformisation sociale de façon à ce que chacun reste à sa place (…) » (Favre, 2016, p. 23).

À l’opposé du spectre, certains, comme Albert Jacquard, affirment sans détour : « le but des enseignants devrait être de fabriquer des emmerdeurs ». Il faut cultiver le doute et enseigner pourquoi et comment remettre sainement les choses en question pour tendre vers l’autonomie mentale : « le doute a des vertus heuristiques, c’est vrai, mais il peut aussi conduire, plutôt qu’à l’autonomie mentale, au nihilisme cognitif » (Bronner, 2013, p. 209).

Essentiellement, ce qui est souhaité, c’est que les jeunes comprennent trois choses qui sont les fondements de la pensée critique et aussi du raisonnement épistémologique :

  1. Comment savons-nous ce que nous savons?
  2. Comment ces connaissances sont-elles validées?
  3. À quoi cette connaissance sert-elle?

Oui, « le chemin critique est étroit » (Barrau, 2016, p. 53.), mais c’est sous la guidance bienveillante de l’enseignant que l’élève saura s’y aventurer. L’étroitesse du chemin n’est pas nécessairement liée à l’aspect critique du voyage, mais davantage à la portée de la responsabilité qui en est inhérente. « La visée de l’école, c’est d’abord de favoriser l’émancipation d’un sujet, un futur citoyen dont la liberté et la responsabilité vont ensemble » (Favre, 2016, p. 75). Dans une société où on met bien davantage l’accent sur les droits et la liberté, la responsabilité qui découle de ces mêmes droits et responsabilités est occultée. D’où l’importance à mon avis de développer non seulement l’esprit critique, mais également l’esprit éthique.

Nous aspirons tous, en éducation, à ce que nos jeunes deviennent des citoyens responsables, des travailleurs assidus et productifs et des parents ouverts et empathiques. Ces visées sont nobles :

La formation de la personne comme un sujet autonome ayant développé les compétences de base pour être autonome dans le monde d’aujourd’hui et dont l’esprit critique a été entrainé en visant l’acquisition des connaissances de base pour pouvoir apprendre toute la vie et participer aux débats sur les questions scientifiques et socialement vives qui la traversent.

FAVRE, 2016, P. 75

Il a deux milieux importants où cet esprit critique peut être développé : à la maison et à l’école. À mon humble avis, l’école est le milieu par excellence pour y parvenir puisqu’il est un microcosme social et un milieu social expérimental. L’élève y a tout l’encadrement nécessaire pour apprendre et développer toutes ces compétences profondément humaines auxquelles on réfère lorsqu’on aborde la question des soft-skills, ou savoir-être.

Comment développer l’esprit critique en classe?

L’esprit critique est une compétence prisée, laquelle ne se développe pas par elle-même, évidemment. L’enseignant est donc investi d’une importante mission : faire évoluer la puérilité intellectuelle naturelle de l’enfant :

Mais ils [les élèves] ne pourront apprendre à exercer leur jugement critique que dans la mesure où les enseignants eux-mêmes seront des modèles et où leur seront données de multiples occasions d’exprimer leurs opinions, d’en discuter avec les autres, de les confronter avec des points de vue divergents et d’en analyser le bien-fondé.

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION, 2006

En classe, les élèves sont souvent mobilisés pour apprendre à résoudre des problèmes. Pour ce faire, l’enseignant leur enseigne une démarche qu’ils réinvestissent dans les activités d’apprentissage imposées par les enseignants. Ces activités redondantes, souvent appelées « drill » dans le jargon, sont en fait des recettes qui sont enseignées puis appliquées. Or, pour travailler sur le développement de l’esprit critique, une autre approche est nécessaire :

(…) il vaut mieux, pour la formation de leur esprit scientifique et critique, chercher moins souvent à mettre les élèves en situation de résolution de problèmes, mais en contrepartie les laisser, au moins parfois, mener réellement une investigation pour les résoudre.

CARIOU, 2004

Nos jeunes, tout comme nous, sont exposés aux pires supercheries. De plus, naturellement, ils sont naïfs, crédules et vulnérables. Il faut donc les immerger dans des situations authentiques où ils pourront exercer leur esprit critique : « former l’esprit scientifique et critique des élèves, c’est bien; leur fournir l’occasion de l’exercer dans la société, c’est mieux » (Cariou, 2004). Un des buts visés par tout enseignant devrait contribuer à l’esprit de l’élève pour qu’il sache naturellement départager ce qui relève du rêve, du fantasme et du réel. Par exemple, les enseignants pourraient leur demander d’analyser des publicités, des publireportages, des discours politiques, des déclarations publiques, des débats, etc. Ils pourraient incarner des personnages dans un jeu de rôle. Ils pourraient concevoir une campagne de marketing pour une multinationale, ou encore rédiger un almanach ou un rapport d’astrologie. Les possibilités sont sans fin!

Pour Jean Rostand, académicien français, il faut nécessairement « enseigner aux jeunes l’esprit critique, les prémunir contre les mensonges de la parole et de l’imprimé, créer en eux un terrain spirituel où la crédulité ne puisse prendre racine… et surtout les mettre en garde contre le témoignage humain » (Rostand, 1958). 

Bref, l’esprit critique sert à l’élève de savoir se prémunir contre les autres, certes, mais aussi contre lui-même, qui pourrait être tenté de manquer à sa propre « éthique critique ». Cela me rappelle étrangement le test des trois passoirs de Socrate (en supposant que c’est bel et bien lui qui a mis au point ce test!). Vous connaissez? Retrouvez son explication ici, sur le site de la Commission scolaire de la Beauce-Etchemin.

Bref, ce qui nous importe, c’est de développer la rigueur intellectuelle de nos élèves, mais aussi, qu’ils sachent prendre soin de leur parole. Nous voulons les armer de ce qui a de plus puissant : un esprit qui sait douter au bon moment, sans sombrer dans la méfiance pour autant. C’est ce même doute qui a su résister aux pires dictatures et qui font en sorte de préserver la démocratie dans nos sociétés.

Références

Aristote. (2011). La métaphysique. Paris : Flammarion.

Barrau, A. (2016). De la vérité dans les sciences (version électronique). Paris : Dunod.

Bronner, G. (2013). La démocratie des crédules. Paris : Les Presses universitaires de France.

Cariou, J.-Y. (2004). La formation de l’esprit scientifique https://www.pseudo-sciences.org/article.php3?id_article=295#nb10

Dweck, C. S. (2006). Mindse : The New Psychology of Success. New York : Random House.

Favre, D. (2016). Éduquer à l’incertitude. Paris : Dunod.

Kerhom, M. (2016). Qu’est-ce que la pensée critique ? définition et critères. Repéré à  http://www.educ-revues.fr/DIOTIME/AffichageDocument.aspx?iddoc=107499

Ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. (2006). Programme de formation de l’École québécoise : enseignement secondaire, premier cycle. Repéré à http://www.education.gouv.qc.ca/fileadmin/site_web/documents/dpse/formation_jeunes/prfrmsec1ercyclev3.pdf

Rostand J. (1958). Science fausse et fausses sciences, Paris : Gallimard.

Commentaires
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction au Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédago-numériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et a traduit quatre ouvrages en technologie de l'éducation chez le même éditeur. Il collabore également à L’École branchée et blogue (magirard.com) sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.