For the practice of philosophy with children

On the occasion of the most recent ACFAS congress, Professor Mathieu Gagnon of the University of Sherbrooke presented what could be described as a plea for the practice of philosophy with children.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

On the occasion of the most recent ACFAS congress, Professor Mathieu Gagnon of the University of Sherbrooke presented what could be described as a plea for the practice of philosophy with children.

Mathieu Gagnon's intervention was made during the conference “Education, rampart against populism? », Presented by the Higher Education Council (CSE). Through this conference, the Council wanted, among other things, to fuel reflection on the role of education in preparing future citizens to face the challenges they will have to face in the 21st century. (see previous text)

In his presentation, Professor Gagnon argued that the practice of philosophical dialogue with children could indeed become a bulwark against populism considering the attention it pays to the formation of thought in general, and critical thinking in general. particular.

“When we talk about philosophical dialogue, the teacher reflects with the students. He becomes a facilitator, who engages them in a process of common search for meaning. There is no single truth. We think together, ”he sums up. During the discussions, three modes of thought then work in synergy and will be highlighted at different times: attentive (caring), creative and critical.

Critical thinking

In its original definition, critical thinking opens up to dialogue, brings together individuals - who may have varied points of view -, encourages the use of credible and validated sources and promotes the analysis of arguments. “Critical thinking is built with others in a perspective of co-developing meaning. It is vigilant in the face of cognitive biases and fallacies, ”says Mr. Gagnon.

According to him, one of the current issues is that the populists and the conspirators claim to be critical thinking, giving a whole new meaning to the term. “It then becomes more necessary to go back to basics and learn to dialogue together. "

During the research work that he has carried out in recent years, he has come to the conclusion that the practice of philosophical dialogue places students and teachers in a relationship to different knowledge. It is no longer a question of transmitting knowledge frozen in time, but of building knowledge. This new posture leads to meaningful exchanges.

Moreover, the students participating in its work indicated that the practice of philosophical dialogue was the school discipline "which is most useful to them in their everyday life". They also said that they consider the learning achieved (mainly in thinking skills) to be "the most lasting of all those done in school".

The École branchée attended the exchanges on media education and education for democracy on the occasion of the last congress of ACFAS. In a future text, we will present the point of view of Marjorie Flon, the New World Institute, on citizenship education.

Do you carry out philosophical dialogue activities with your students? Write U.S! We would like to know more about your experience!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Pour la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants

À l’occasion du plus récent congrès de l’ACFAS, le professeur Mathieu Gagnon de l’Université de Sherbrooke a présenté ce que l’on pourrait qualifier de plaidoyer pour la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

À l’occasion du plus récent congrès de l’ACFAS, le professeur Mathieu Gagnon de l’Université de Sherbrooke a présenté ce que l’on pourrait qualifier de plaidoyer pour la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants.

L’intervention de Mathieu Gagnon s’est faite au cours du colloque « L’éducation, rempart contre le populisme? », présenté par le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (CSE). Par ce colloque, le Conseil souhaitait entre autres alimenter la réflexion sur le rôle de l’éducation pour préparer les futurs citoyens à affronter les enjeux auxquels ils devront faire face au cours du 21e siècle. (voir texte précédent)

Dans son exposé, le professeur Gagnon a soutenu que la pratique du dialogue philosophique avec les enfants pouvait effectivement devenir un rempart contre le populisme considérant l’attention que celle-ci porte à la formation de la pensée en général, et de la pensée critique en particulier.

« Lorsqu’on parle de dialogue philosophique, l’enseignant réfléchit avec les élèves. Il devient un facilitateur, qui les engage dans un processus de recherche commune de sens. Il n’y a pas de vérité unique. On pense ensemble », résume-t-il. Au cours des discussions, trois modes de pensées fonctionnent alors en synergie et seront mis en valeur à différents moments : attentive (caring), créative et critique.

La pensée critique

Dans sa définition d’origine, la pensée critique ouvre au dialogue, met en relation des individus – qui peuvent avoir des points de vue variés -, encourage l’utilisation de sources crédibles et validées et favorise l’analyse d’arguments. « La pensée critique se construit avec les autres dans une perspective de coélaboration de sens. Elle est vigilante face aux biais cognitifs et aux sophismes », dit M. Gagnon.

Selon lui, l’un des enjeux actuels est que les populistes et les complotistes se réclament de la pensée critique, donnant un tout autre sens au terme. « Il devient alors plus nécessaire de revenir à la base et d’apprendre à dialoguer ensemble. »

Au cours des travaux de recherche qu’il a menés dans les dernières années, il en est venu à la conclusion que la pratique du dialogue philosophique place les élèves et les enseignants dans un rapport aux savoirs différents. Il ne s’agit plus de transmettre des savoirs figés dans le temps, mais de construire des savoirs. Cette nouvelle posture amène des échanges porteurs de sens.

D’ailleurs, les élèves participant à ses travaux ont indiqué que la pratique du dialogue philosophique était la discipline scolaire « qui leur est la plus utile dans leur vie de tous les jours ». Ils ont aussi dit qu’ils considèrent les apprentissages réalisés (principalement concernant les habiletés de pensée) comme étant ceux « qui seront les plus durables parmi tous ceux effectués à l’école ».

L’École branchée a assisté aux échanges portant sur l’éducation aux médias et l’éducation à la démocratie à l’occasion du dernier congrès de l’ACFAS. Dans un prochain texte, nous présenterons le point de vue de Marjorie Flon, de l’Institut du Nouveau Monde, au sujet de l’éducation à la citoyenneté.

Vous réalisez des activités de dialogue philosophique avec vos élèves? Écrivez-nous! On aimerait en savoir plus sur votre expérience!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!