ADVERTISEMENT

A Quebec – Belgium educational exchange in a social universe in high school… at a distance!

High school social teachers Laurent Di Pasquale (Belgium) and Mathieu Mercier (Quebec) are preparing to experience a transatlantic collaboration project with their students around the Netflix documentary on the effects of social networks, “Behind our smoke screens” . Here is what it is and how they are preparing!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

High school social teachers Laurent Di Pasquale (Belgium) and Mathieu Mercier (Quebec) are preparing to experience a transatlantic collaboration project with their students around the Netflix documentary on the effects of social networks, “Behind our smoke screens” . Here is what it is and how they are preparing!

Each school year is made of new challenges, new projects (digital and human for me). This year, and given the particular situation related to COVID-19, external activities and exchanges are, let's say… complicated to organize!

From this observation came this idea: what if we gave the students the opportunity to exchange with others, in a motivating and unprecedented situation, through a project that would make them travel virtually to the other end of the Atlantic at the same time? The idea: use the app FlipGrid, to carry out a virtual correspondence between pupils of the same level, on common subjects. A great opportunity to stimulate communication, to exercise self-confidence, while synthesizing the important information seen during the lessons.

To make all this happen, I contacted without delay my colleague and real mate Maxime Laflamme (fromÉcole branchée) to see if he could put me in touch with a teacher from Quebec potentially interested in this crazy project.

1) Two classes, 5,220 kilometers away, 6 hours lag

Maxime quickly recommends someone to me: Mathieu Mercier, social universe teacher at the Kamouraska - Rivière-du-Loup School Services Center. A message is enough for him to also indicate his interest in this project! In parallel with his activities as a secondary school teacher, Mathieu is also on all fronts: both a collaborator for the national service of RÉCIT, domain of the social universe and digital referent for his school, he is one of those teachers who firmly believe that change is possible. Invested and benevolent towards his students and colleagues, here is a teacher with whom we quickly take pleasure in collaborating.

Want to know more about Mathieu? feel free to visit his website, which is a real gold mine for the social world, He shares, for example, different exercises as well as numerous multimedia resources allowing teachers to be inspired, and students to progress. 

Mathieu in a video produced by RÉCITUS https://recitus.qc.ca

For my part, in Belgium, this project is organized through my social Sciences, donated to the Athénée Royal de l'Air Pur de Seraing. A real place of experimentation, debate and research on social facts, this activity will be perfectly articulated in the different themes tackled, as well as in the skills exercised during this course. In short, I am impatient to start, just like the students who see it as an opportunity to get out of their routine, very tarnished it must be admitted by this damn pandemic.

2) The stages and objectives of the project

After a preparatory meeting, where each of us was able to define our expectations and objectives regarding this collaboration, we agreed on the following operation:

2.1 Introduction

It will all begin with a common introduction, during which our two groups of students will jointly bring out their representations using a questionnaire, the results of which will be revealed in the form of a "word cloud" (using of the application Wooclap). Although we cannot pass it at the same time given the schedules, here is the trick: we will use the same Wooclap account with our groups, without resetting the question between each participation! What to compare the points of view of each one before embarking on the research.

2.2 Exchange 1: the presentation activity

Via a group common to our two schools, created on FlipGrid, the students will first introduce themselves briefly and fairly freely with a short, fun and original video. The teachers will not escape the instructions, and will also carry out one, just to put themselves in the same perspective as the young people.

Following this first activity, the students will be grouped into smaller groups (which will favor the exchange). The establishment of groups will be based on the desires of the students, and we will adjust if some do not find "the shoe to their feet".

2.3 The Netflix documentary “Behind our smokescreens”

Behind Our Smoke Screens, a documentary produced by Netflix

Once the presentations are over, the students will start their first joint research to start the exchange. Each group will watch the documentary in class with their teacher. Behind our smoke screens, in order to address the issue of social networks and other digital giants in our daily lives. The peculiarity, following this step, will be that each teacher will adapt a little more specifically according to the course he is teaching, in order to provide a more precise analysis.

In my case, for example, we will deepen the link between stereotypes and prejudices via social networks.

2.4 Exchange 2: synthesis of the subject and the problem

Once the report has been watched, analyzed in class, and enriched with various research, the students will be able to communicate their knowledge to “colleagues” across the Atlantic. While continuing to respect the fact of having to be fun and motivating in their videos, the emphasis here will be on the participation and enrichment of each student concerning the important points of the problem. Thanks to the perspectives provided by others, everyone will be able to expand their knowledge and reclaim the material with their own words.

A new opportunity to work on communication, by reformulating and popularizing the information collected.

2.5 Fix learning: creation of a Kahoot

Last step in the medium term, and in order to check the understanding of the pupils while giving them a new motivating task to carry out: the creation of a questionnaire Kahoot which will then be offered to the partner group. Thus, and through a new opportunity, each group will be able to appropriate the information, reformulate it and propose its vision of the theme to the other group.

Also based on the fun principle of the challenge, the goal here is not to compare and say which group is the best. The aim is rather to give students a new opportunity to surpass themselves, through a motivating activity that makes sense in their learning.

3) And after?

There are many subjects that can be discussed: false information / conspiracy / immigration. These first steps represent a great human challenge, but also a digital one. By collaborating remotely with our students, we are betting on trust and commitment.

We believe in the motivation of our students for this project, which also gives us great motivation to get involved. The future in the short and medium term will prove us right or not. However, we can already say that, even with 5,220 kilometers of distance, and 6 hours of time difference, nothing is impossible.

If these first steps (real test) go well, we, Mathieu and I, can think of new exchanges. And too bad for the pandemic: the project has the advantage of being able to be carried out easily with three times nothing. The FlipGrid application can be easily installed on any mobile device, Wooclap and Kahoot are used online.

In short: we are getting ready, we are crossing our fingers, and we will not hesitate to keep you informed of the project and its realization.

Hoping that this project can also inspire you!

This article is adapted from the original publication.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale is a secondary school human sciences teacher in Belgium and a digital-supported pedagogy trainer. He describes his pedagogy as being deeply positivist, human and innovative. Her first four years in special education forced her to show creativity and benevolence in her practices, in order to make students want to learn, despite their difficulties. He also helps his colleagues on a daily basis to develop their practices. This is what pushed him since September 2018 to open a Facebook page dedicated to Ed.Tech, where he publishes new tools to use, daily advice, and examples of innovative activities.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

Un échange pédagogique Québec–Belgique en univers social au secondaire… à distance!

Les enseignants d’univers social au secondaire Laurent Di Pasquale (Belgique) et Mathieu Mercier (Québec) se préparent à vivre un projet de collaboration transatlantique avec leurs élèves autour du documentaire Netflix sur les effets de réseaux sociaux, « Derrière nos écrans de fumée ». Voici de quoi il s’agit et comment ils se préparent!
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Les enseignants d’univers social au secondaire Laurent Di Pasquale (Belgique) et Mathieu Mercier (Québec) se préparent à vivre un projet de collaboration transatlantique avec leurs élèves autour du documentaire Netflix sur les effets de réseaux sociaux, « Derrière nos écrans de fumée ». Voici de quoi il s’agit et comment ils se préparent!

Chaque année scolaire est faite de nouveaux défis, de nouveaux projets (numériques et humains pour ma part). Cette année, et devant la situation particulière liée à la COVID-19, les activités extérieures et échanges sont, disons… compliqués à organiser!

De ce constat est venu cette idée : et si l’on donnait la possibilité aux élèves d’échanger avec d’autres, dans une situation motivante et inédite, à travers un projet qui les ferait voyager virtuellement à l’autre bout de l’Atlantique en même temps? L’idée : utiliser l’application FlipGrid, pour réaliser une correspondance virtuelle entre élèves de même niveau, sur des sujets communs. Une super occasion de stimuler la communication, d’exercer la confiance en soi, tout en faisant synthétiser les informations importantes vues pendant les cours.

Pour concrétiser tout ça, j’ai contacté sans tarder mon collègue et véritable pote Maxime Laflamme (de l’École branchée) afin de voir s’il pouvait me mettre en contact avec un enseignant du Québec potentiellement intéressé par ce projet fou.

1) Deux classes, 5220 kilomètres de distance, 6 heures de décalage

Maxime me recommande rapidement une personne : Mathieu Mercier, enseignant d’univers social au Centre de services scolaire de Kamouraska – Rivière-du-Loup. Un message lui suffit pour marquer également son intérêt à ce projet! En parallèle de ses activités d’enseignant au secondaire, Mathieu est également sur tous les fronts : à la fois collaborateur pour le service national du RÉCIT, domaine de l’univers social et référent numérique pour son école, il fait partie de ces enseignants résolument convaincus que le changement est possible. Investi et bienveillant envers ses élèves et ses collègues, voici un enseignant avec qui on prend rapidement plaisir à collaborer.

Envie d’en savoir plus sur Mathieu? N’hésitez pas à consulter son site Web, qui est une vraie mine d’or pour l’univers social, Il y partage, par exemple, différents exercices ainsi que de nombreuses ressources multimédias permettant aux enseignants de s’inspirer, et aux élèves de progresser. 

Mathieu dans une vidéo réalisée par le RÉCITUS https://recitus.qc.ca

De mon côté, en Belgique, ce projet s’organise à travers mon cours de sciences sociales, donné à l’Athénée Royal de l’Air Pur de Seraing. Véritable lieu d’expérimentation, de débats et de recherches sur les faits sociaux, cette activité s’articulera parfaitement dans les différents thèmes abordés, ainsi que dans les compétences exercées pendant ce cours. Bref, je suis impatient de débuter, tout comme les élèves qui y voient une occasion de sortir de leur routine, bien ternie il faut l’avouer par cette satanée pandémie.

2) Les étapes et objectifs du projet

Après une réunion préparatoire, où chacun de nous a pu définir ses attentes et objectifs concernant cette collaboration, nous nous sommes entendus sur le fonctionnement suivant :

2.1 L’introduction

Le tout débutera par une introduction commune, pendant laquelle nos deux groupes d’élèves feront émerger ensemble leurs représentations à l’aide d’un questionnaire dont les résultats seront révélés sous la forme d’un « nuage de mots » (à l’aide de l’application Wooclap). Bien que nous ne puissions le faire passer en même temps compte tenu des horaires, voici l’astuce : nous utiliserons le même compte Wooclap avec nos groupes, sans réinitialiser la question entre chaque participation! De quoi confronter les points de vue de chacun avant de se lancer dans la recherche.

2.2 Échange 1 : l’activité de présentation

Via un groupe commun à nos deux écoles, créé sur FlipGrid, les élèves se présenteront d’abord brièvement et assez librement par une courte vidéo amusante et originale. Les enseignants n’échapperont pas à la consigne, et en réaliseront également une, histoire de se mettre dans la même optique que les jeunes.

Suite à cette première activité, les élèves seront groupés par plus petits groupes (ce qui privilégiera l’échange). L’établissement des groupes se basera sur les envies des élèves, et nous ajusterons si certains ne trouvent pas « chaussure à leur pied ».

2.3 Le documentaire Netflix « Derrière nos écrans de fumée »

Derrière nos écrans de fumée, un documentaire réalisé par Netflix

Une fois les présentations terminées, les élèves débuteront leur première recherche commune pour entamer l’échange. Chaque groupe regardera en classe avec son enseignant le documentaire Derrière nos écrans de fumée, afin de se pencher sur la problématique des réseaux sociaux et autres géants du numériques dans nos vies quotidiennes. La particularité, à la suite de cette étape, sera que chaque enseignant s’adaptera un peu plus spécifiquement selon le cours qu’il enseigne, pour y apporter une analyse plus précise.

Dans mon cas, par exemple, nous approfondirons le lien entre stéréotypes et préjugés via les réseaux sociaux.

2.4 Échange 2 : la synthèse du sujet et de la problématique

Une fois le reportage regardé, analysé en classe, et enrichi de recherches diverses, les élèves pourront communiquer leurs acquis aux « collègues » outre-Atlantique. Tout en continuant de respecter le fait de devoir être fun et motivant dans leurs vidéos, l’accent sera ici mis sur la participation et l’enrichissement de chaque élève concernant les points importants de la problématique. Grâce aux perspectives apportées par les autres, chacun pourra étoffer ses acquis et se réapproprier la matière avec ses propres mots.

Une nouvelle occasion de travailler la communication, en reformulant et vulgarisant les informations récoltées.

2.5 Fixer les apprentissages : création d’un Kahoot

Dernière étape à moyen terme, et afin de vérifier la compréhension des élèves tout en leur donnant une nouvelle tâche motivante à réaliser : la création d’un questionnaire Kahoot qui sera ensuite proposé au groupe partenaire. Ainsi, et à travers une nouvelle occasion, chaque groupe pourra s’approprier les informations, les reformuler et proposer sa vision du thème à l’autre groupe.

Reposant également sur le principe ludique du défi, le but ici n’est pas de comparer et dire quel groupe est le meilleur. La finalité est plutôt de donner une nouvelle occasion aux élèves de se dépasser, à travers une activité motivante qui fait sens dans leurs apprentissages.

3) Et après?

Les sujets qui pourront être abordés sont nombreux : fausses informations / complotisme / immigration. Ces premières étapes représentent un beau défi humain, mais également numérique. En collaborant ainsi à distance avec nos élèves, nous faisons le pari de la confiance et de l’engagement.

Nous croyons en la motivation de nos élèves pour ce projet, ce qui nous donne également une grande motivation à nous impliquer. L’avenir à court et à moyen terme nous donnera ou non raison. On peut déjà toutefois dire que, même avec 5220 kilomètres de distance, et 6 heures de décalage horaire, rien n’est impossible.

Si ces premières étapes (véritable test) se déroulent bien, nous pourrons, Mathieu et moi, penser à de nouveaux échanges. Et tant pis pour la pandémie : le projet a l’avantage de pouvoir se réaliser facilement avec trois fois rien. L’application FlipGrid peut s’installer facilement sur n’importe quel support mobile, Wooclap et Kahoot s’utilisent en ligne.

En résumé : on se prépare, on croise les doigts, et on n’hésitera pas à vous tenir informé du projet et de sa réalisation.

En espérant que ce projet pourra également vous inspirer!

Cet article est une adaptation de la publication originale.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale est professeur de sciences humaines au secondaire en Belgique et formateur en pédagogie appuyée par le numérique. Il décrit sa pédagogie comme étant profondément positiviste, humaine et innovante. Ses quatre premières années dans l’enseignement spécialisé l’ont obligées à faire preuve de créativité et de bienveillance dans ses pratiques, afin de donner envie aux élèves d’apprendre et ce malgré leurs difficultés. Il aide aussi quotidiennement ses collègues à faire évoluer leurs pratiques. C’est cela qui l’a poussé depuis septembre 2018 à ouvrir une page Facebook dédiée à l’Ed.Tech, où il publie des nouveaux outils à utiliser, des conseils quotidiens, et des exemples d’activités innovantes.