Tips for teachers who want to experiment with Minecraft Education

Martin Pelletier, Grade 3 and 4 teacher at École Le Sommet in Moncton, New Brunswick, uses the Minecraft Education app extensively with his students. He shares some tips for teachers who want to explore it with their students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Martin Pelletier, Grade 3 and 4 teacher at École Le Sommet in Moncton, New Brunswick, uses the Minecraft Education app extensively with his students. As a mentor officially recognized by the platform, he gave some advice to teachers who wish to explore it with their students during the most recent Virtual Congress in Conscious Entrepreneurial Education (IDEA 2021).

First of all, according to him, we must get students to see the Minecraft application as more than just a game. "We must show them the educational potential, the fact that they can learn while having fun" , he confided at the outset.

Then, throughout his presentation, he shared his advice for teachers, and his main message was: “Have a global vision of the project that takes into account the expected end result. However, the paths to get there may be different depending on your students. And it is correct so. Your students will quickly overtake you. You are not the expert. »

Classroom management

Many teachers worry about classroom management with this type of hands-on project. At this time, they must see themselves more as a conductor who guides the students on their journey. “The conductor doesn't know how to play all the instruments,” he recalls.

Advices

  • Start by introducing students to Minecraft (do not assume that everyone knows the platform).
  • Establish guidelines that are communicated to students (e.g. do not destroy what fellow students have built, do not create weapons, do not incite violence with zombie characters, explosives or potions, specific to the Minecraft universe.)
  • Assign specific tasks or roles to certain students.
  • Plan time to work online and offline with students, and set time limits for certain tasks.
  • Plan times for reflection on the work accomplished and for feedback to go beyond the task.
  • Schedule breaks and record creations regularly.
  • Allow unstructured work time for students to explore the platform.
  • Let the students overtake you!

Mr. Pelletier suggests that teachers explore the site Education.minecraft.net, which features a host of resources, such as turnkey lessons in several subjects. Although more and more resources are offered in French, many are only in English. On the other hand, it is possible to translate them using the translation function of the Chrome browser. In addition, he indicates that challenges are regularly offered to teachers by different organizations, such as Academy Logics and theUNESCO

The Minecraft Education app is free for those with a Microsoft 365 account, available for iPad, PC computer, and Chromebook. 

you can follow Martin Pelletier on Twitter. Do not hesitate to ask him your questions!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des conseils pour les enseignants qui souhaitent expérimenter Minecraft Education

Martin Pelletier, enseignant de 3e et 4e année à l’école Le Sommet, à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick, utilise abondamment l’application Minecraft Education avec ses élèves. Il partage quelques conseils avec les enseignants qui souhaitent l’explorer avec leurs élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Martin Pelletier, enseignant de 3e et 4e année à l’école Le Sommet, à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick, utilise abondamment l’application Minecraft Education avec ses élèves. En tant que mentor officiellement reconnu par la plateforme, il a donné quelques conseils aux enseignants qui souhaitent l’explorer avec leurs élèves lors du plus récent Congrès virtuel en éducation entrepreneuriale consciente (IDÉE 2021).

Tout d’abord, selon lui, il faut amener les élèves à voir l’application Minecraft comme étant plus qu’un simple jeu. « Il faut leur démontrer le potentiel pédagogique, le fait qu’ils peuvent apprendre tout en s’amusant », a-t-il confié d’entrée de jeu.

Puis, tout au long de sa présentation, il a partagé ses conseils pour les enseignants, et son message principal était le suivant : « Ayez une vision globale du projet qui tienne compte du résultat final attendu. Par contre, les chemins pour vous rendre pourront être différents en fonction de vos élèves. Et c’est correct ainsi. Vos élèves vont rapidement vous dépasser. Vous n’êtes pas l’expert. »

La gestion de classe

Plusieurs enseignants s’inquiètent de la gestion de la classe avec ce type de projet mains sur les touches. À ce moment, ils doivent se percevoir davantage comme un chef d’orchestre qui guide les élèves dans leur cheminement. « Le chef d’orchestre ne sait pas jouer de tous les instruments », rappelle-t-il.

Des conseils

  • Débuter en présentant Minecraft aux élèves (ne pas prendre pour acquis que tous connaissent la plateforme).
  • Établir des lignes directrices qui sont communiquées aux élèves (ex. ne pas détruire ce que des camarades ont construit, ne pas créer d’armes, ne pas inciter à la violence avec des personnages zombies, des explosifs ou des potions, propres à l’univers Minecraft.)
  • Donner des tâches ou des rôles précis à certains élèves.
  • Prévoir du temps de travail en ligne et hors ligne avec les élèves, et se donner des balises de temps pour certaines tâches.
  • Prévoir des moments de réflexion sur le travail accompli et de rétroaction pour aller au-delà de la tâche.
  • Prévoir des pauses et enregistrer régulièrement les créations.
  • Prévoir du temps de travail non structuré pour laisser les élèves explorer la plateforme.
  • Laisser les élèves vous dépasser!

M. Pelletier suggère aux enseignants d’explorer le site Education.minecraft.net, qui présente une foule de ressources, comme des leçons clé en main dans plusieurs matières. Bien que de plus en plus de ressources soient offertes en français, plusieurs sont uniquement en anglais. Par contre, il est possible de les traduire à l’aide de la fonction de traduction du navigateur Chrome. Par ailleurs, il indique que des défis sont régulièrement proposés aux enseignants par différents organismes, comme Academy Logics et l’UNESCO

L’application Minecraft Education est gratuite pour ceux qui disposent d’un compte Microsoft 365, disponible pour iPad, ordinateur PC et Chromebook. 

Vous pouvez suivre Martin Pelletier sur Twitter. N’hésitez pas à lui poser vos questions!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :