8 educational apps to keep using after the pandemic

Several applications have certainly been useful to you in facilitating distance education. What if you continued to use them in class this year? Here are 8 tool suggestions you may not have known about!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Juliette Gauthier - French Marketing Specialist for Lucidspark.

During the pandemic, the educational applications market exploded as the entire population had to adapt to distance learning. As students gradually return to the classroom, teachers must decide which apps to continue using, especially during the transition period when some students attend classes in person and others follow them remotely.

Here are eight apps that have been very helpful during the pandemic and will continue to be so after. Did you know them?

1. Labster

You may not have the budget, space, or equipment to perform full lab experiments with your students, but Labster still allows you to offer them this possibility. This app offers high quality virtual labs for various subjects.

Your students can perform experiments, discover and use laboratory equipment, and answer quizzes about what they have learned. 

2. Project Noah

Project Noah is a platform that allows users to take pictures of wild animals, share them and learn more about the wildlife around them. Among the proposed formulas, let us quote Nature School, designed especially for primary school students. You will enjoy activities and lessons that will inspire you to step out of the classroom and explore nature.

3. Pear Deck

Pear Deck has grown in popularity during school closures because it helps make virtual learning more interactive. The platform gives teachers the option of inserting participatory elements directly into their presentations, such as quick quizzes or invitations to discussion. There are many options available.

This flexibility helps teachers make the transition from having some students in the room to engaging those at a distance, and interactive learning will come in handy when classes are full again.

4. Lucidspark

Since the whiteboard is part of the teacher's daily tools, imagine the possibilities if each student could consult and work on it simultaneously? This is what offers Lucidspark.

More often used in the corporate world, Lucidspark is also ideal for classrooms, and the publisher provides several educational resources. The platform offers the benefits of collaboration, brainstorming and note taking with an interface that anyone can use, even shy children who have difficulty speaking.

5. Floop

Homework is of little use if your students never read your remarks about them; it's your observations that make them learn more. Floop allows for quick and easy feedback, which means your students hear it when the topic is still on their minds. In addition, Floop's platform allows students to respond directly to your observations, in addition to being able to communicate structured feedback to their classmates.

6. Mentimeter

Mentimeter is kind of the adult version of Pear Deck. This presentation platform is also focused on interaction, thanks to surveys or quick quizzes. It makes it possible to collect and analyze results.

If Pear Deck is designed specifically for teachers, Mentimeter is aimed primarily at the corporate world, although it also has excellent educational resources. This platform is more suitable for secondary or higher education teachers.

7. Kahoot!

If you are used to organizing review games in class, Kahoot! will make your job easier. This online platform allows you to create a quiz or a learning game, then to animate it live with students present in class, with distance learners or with both types of players.

8. Remind

With some students in class, others at home, and busy parents, it can be difficult to reach your entire audience. Remind is a communication platform designed especially for teachers. It allows you to develop two-way communication with your students and their parents in order to facilitate exchanges.

The way we teach and learn has undergone a radical transformation last year, and the methods you have experienced will strengthen your habits when you return to school. When you get back, remember to keep these good habits by keeping your favorite software in your toolbox and exploring others from time to time.

What are your digital must-haves? Are there any apps that you have started using due to distance education that will still find a place in your classroom? Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com to tell us about it!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

8 applications pédagogiques à continuer d’utiliser après la pandémie

Plusieurs applications vous ont certainement été utiles pour faciliter l’enseignement à distance. Et si vous continuiez à les utiliser en classe cette année? Voici 8 suggestions d’outils que vous ne connaissiez peut-être pas!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Juliette Gauthier – French Marketing Specialist pour Lucidspark.

Pendant la pandémie, le marché des applications pédagogiques a explosé, car l’ensemble de la population a dû s’adapter à l’apprentissage à distance. Alors que les élèves retournent peu à peu en classe, les enseignants doivent décider quelles applications continuer à utiliser, en particulier pendant la période de transition où certains élèves assistent aux cours en personne et d’autres les suivent à distance.

Voici huit applications qui ont été très utiles pendant la pandémie et le seront encore après. Les connaissiez-vous?

1. Labster

Vous ne disposez peut-être pas du budget, de l’espace ou de l’équipement nécessaires pour réaliser des expériences de laboratoire complètes avec vos élèves, mais Labster vous permet quand même de leur offrir cette possibilité. Cette application propose des laboratoires virtuels de haute qualité pour diverses matières.

Vos élèves peuvent réaliser des expérimentations, découvrir et utiliser des équipements de laboratoire, et répondre à des questionnaires sur ce qu’ils ont appris. 

2. Project Noah

Project Noah est une plateforme qui permet aux utilisateurs de prendre des photos d’animaux sauvages, de les partager et d’en savoir plus sur la faune qui les entoure. Parmi les formules proposées, citons Nature School, conçue spécialement pour les élèves de l’école primaire. Vous profiterez d’activités et de leçons qui vous inciteront à sortir de la classe et à explorer la nature.

3. Pear Deck

Pear Deck a gagné en popularité pendant les fermetures d’écoles car elle permet de rendre l’apprentissage virtuel plus interactif. La plateforme donne aux enseignants la possibilité d’insérer des éléments participatifs directement dans leurs présentations, comme des quiz rapides ou des invitations à la discussion. De nombreuses options sont disponibles.

Cette souplesse aide les enseignants à faire la transition entre la présence de certains élèves dans la salle et la participation de ceux qui sont à distance, et l’apprentissage interactif se révélera utile lorsque les classes seront à nouveau au complet.

4. Lucidspark

Le tableau blanc faisant partie des outils quotidiens de l’enseignant, imaginez les possibilités si chaque élève pouvait le consulter et travailler dessus simultanément ? C’est ce que propose Lucidspark.

Plus souvent utilisé dans l’univers de l’entreprise, Lucidspark est également tout indiqué pour les salles de classe, et l’éditeur met à disposition plusieurs ressources pédagogiques. La plateforme permet de bénéficier des avantages de la collaboration, du « brainstorming » et de la prise de notes avec une interface que tout le monde peut utiliser, même les enfants plus timides qui ont des difficultés à prendre la parole.

5. Floop

Les devoirs à la maison n’ont pas grande utilité si vos élèves ne lisent jamais vos remarques à leur sujet : ce sont vos observations qui les poussent à apprendre davantage. Floop permet de formuler des commentaires rapidement et facilement, ce qui signifie que vos élèves en prennent connaissance lorsque le sujet est encore présent dans leur esprit. En outre, la plateforme de Floop permet aux élèves de réagir directement à vos observations, en plus de pouvoir communiquer des commentaires structurés à leurs camarades de classe.

6. Mentimeter

Mentimeter est un peu la version adulte de Pear Deck. Cette plateforme de présentation est également axée sur l’interaction, grâce à des sondages ou à des quiz rapides. Elle permet de rassembler et d’analyser des résultats.

Si Pear Deck est conçu spécifiquement pour les enseignants, Mentimeter se destine avant tout au monde de l’entreprise, bien qu’il dispose également d’excellentes ressources pédagogiques. Cette plateforme est plus appropriée pour les enseignants du secondaire ou de l’enseignement supérieur.

7. Kahoot!

Si vous avez l’habitude d’organiser des jeux de révision en classe, Kahoot! va vous faciliter la tâche. Cette plateforme en ligne vous permet de créer un quiz ou un jeu d’apprentissage, puis de l’animer aussi bien en direct avec des élèves présents en classe, qu’avec des apprenants à distance ou bien avec les deux types de joueurs.

8. Remind

Avec certains élèves en classe, d’autres chez eux et des parents bien occupés, il peut être difficile d’atteindre tout votre auditoire. Remind est une plateforme de communication conçue spécialement pour les enseignants. Elle vous permet de développer une communication bidirectionnelle avec vos élèves et leurs parents afin de faciliter les échanges.

Notre façon d’enseigner et d’apprendre a connu une transformation radicale l’an dernier, et les méthodes que vous avez expérimentées viendront renforcer vos habitudes lorsque vous reprendrez le chemin de l’école. Pour votre retour, pensez à conserver ces bonnes habitudes en gardant vos logiciels préférés dans votre coffre à outils et en en explorant d’autres à l’occasion.

Quels sont vos incontournables numériques? Y a-t-il des applications que vous avez commencé à utiliser en raison de l’enseignement à distance et qui trouveront encore leur place dans votre salle de classe? Écrivez-nous à info@ecolebranchee.com pour nous en parler!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct