ADVERTISEMENT

A day of reflection on the use of digital technology in education

It has been more than 25 years (!) that digital technology has been studied in education, but it is evolving quickly and so are the contexts in which it is studied. This time, the Consensus Conference on the use of digital, organized by the CTREQ, allows experts and practitioners to come together to discuss the issue with the aim of formulating recommendations. We attended the first public session. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In collaboration with Martine Rioux

It has been more than 25 years (!) that digital technology has been studied in education, but it is evolving quickly and so are the contexts in which it is studied. This time, the Consensus Conference on the use of digital, organized by the CTREQ, allows experts and practitioners to come together to discuss the issue with the aim of formulating recommendations. We attended the first public session. 

What is a Consensus Conference?

“A consensus conference makes it possible to take stock of the state of knowledge about a question considered important by the decision-makers and practitioners of a profession. It makes it possible to establish areas of consensus and divergence on knowledge and to provide decision-makers and practitioners with clear orientations in terms of policy and practice, as well as precise indications on the conditions for their successful implementation. »

The consensus conference on the use of digital technology, organized by the Transfer Center for Educational Success in Quebec (CTREQ), is therefore a process over several months. Those are the jury members of the Consensus Conference, composed of actors from the practice and under the chairmanship of Professor Simon Collins, who will be responsible for formulating the final recommendations, expected in June. To do this, they immerse themselves in a process of seeking information, analysis, discussion, reflection and sharing. 

Two public meetings are planned in the process, the first was held on February 9, and the second scheduled for March 23, 2022, to allow the members of the jury to enrich their reflection by exchanging with experts able to answer their various questions, which produced various preparatory texts a priori.

The themes of the February 9, 2022 session were organized around professional development, service organization and teaching-learning approaches. In particular, it dealt with the role of school management, the evaluation of learning and the use of digital resources.

What are the conditions for bringing about lasting change?

In one of the blocks on class routines, Sylvie Barma, full professor at the Faculty of Education at Université Laval in science and technology didactics, and Sophie Nadeau-Tremblay, resource teacher for the Network school and lecturer at UQAC, named winning conditions that they believe could bring about lasting changes related to the integration of digital technology into practices. 

For Ms. Nadeau-Tremblay, three elements must be met:

  1. Present models of teachers and classes that are accessible to the majority (yes, present models that are really out of the ordinary, but they should not seem out of reach for teachers.) 
  2. Support teachers. This does not necessarily require training. Accompaniment takes several forms: helping others to progress, cultivating their agency, so that they feel supported.
  3. Provide simple and easy access to technological tools in the classroom. (It should not be complicated to reserve equipment, the internet connection must be reliable, etc.)

For her part, Ms. Barma expressed some skepticism about changing practices, especially at the secondary level. “There is still a lot of masterwork. According to her, as long as there is no concrete integration between the training program of Quebec schools and the digital action plan in education, change will be difficult. 

“The perception that the digital activities experienced in the classroom prevent you from “passing the program” is still very present among teachers. However, it is precisely these projects that make it possible to pass the program, ”added Nicole Monney, professor in the Department of Education Sciences at UQAC, during a subsequent block. She is convinced that if teachers had more time to plan their learning and assessment activities, they would succeed in integrating digital technology more into their practices.

His college Stéphane Allaire of UQAC shared a similar opinion during the last block of the day: “Innovative and new educational practices cannot arise by themselves. Teachers must be able to benefit from real quality time which they can devote to their professional development. The question of time is fundamental to planning and exploring new possibilities”.  

Beyond digital

Throughout the day, beyond digital, there was talk of benevolence, classroom climate, feedback, learning strategies, community of practice, development of socio-emotional skills, connection with the parents… All of these elements become premises for student learning. Learning is a process that is part of a whole, reminded the experts on several occasions.

“Digital is one element in a vast ecosystem. The value of digital directly linked to the socio-cultural context in which it is experienced. – Stephane Allaire

In bulk ...

Because we really took a lot of notes!

About artificial intelligence…

  • An interesting nuance to think about: the expression “digital intelligence”, proposed by Stéphane Roche, perhaps does more justice to what we are really aiming for, particularly for education. 
  • Education is interested in predicting data and behaviors in order to thwart them!

About professional development

  • For Audrey Raynault, the "just-in-time" approach is one of the most useful when it comes to training for teachers, since it is when they are in full action, in their class, that they need support. It's also just afterwards that they have time to reflect on what they have just experienced. The next day, it's too late, they moved on. 
  • According to Christine Hamel, Université Laval has decided to withdraw the course on digital technology in education and instead integrate it into didactics courses, ensuring that it is taken into account in a significant way in each discipline.

About pedagogical leadership in the face of digital

  • A recommendation from Ms. France Gravelle: As management, be open to digital, since it is the future. “[As a leader, ] you have to be part of the [school] team and demonstrate shared leadership. »
  • A recommendation from Benoit Petit: “We focus on logistics and sometimes we forget (…) that the affective dimension is very important. To exercise true leadership, one must develop one's socio-emotional skills. They are tools, he believes, for those situations where one has the impression of being in a “dialogue of the deaf”. 
  • A Resource to Know: Self-Study for Managers https://gestionleadershippedagonumerique.uqam.ca

About learning assessment

From Anne-Michèle Delobbe and Nicole Monney: 

  • “We have to break the idea that the evaluation is a final exam. Evaluation should be integrated into learning. »
  • “We have to think of digital tools that will make it possible to testify to the student's approach during the evaluation. »
  • “We cannot transpose what is done without digital into the digital universe [and hope that it works]. »
  • “A student's difficulties in writing and reading should not affect them in terms of assessment in subjects other than French [since that is where these skills are assessed]. We must diversify the ways of evaluating and digital technology can come to play a major role here (think of the contribution of technological assistance functions!).

About integration of digital resources

  • Jocelyn Dagenais recalled that the work of the Higher Council for Education on the question of evaluation in the service of learning remains an essential work to fuel reflection with a view to formulating recommendations. 
  • Steve Quirion offered an inspiring example from geography: "For example, we learn that a GPS shows us how to get from point A to point B. But afterwards, we know that we can take small roads and that the trip is often as interesting as the destination”… Which inspires us with a broader analogy between travel and digital integration! Indeed, while travelling:
    • Some prefer the shortest route (what will allow me to quickly reach my educational objective?)
    • Others prefer to intentionally lose themselves and make unsuspected discoveries (for example by exploring new ideas and ways of doing things with their students)
    • Still others will want to take a different route there and back (how can two different ways of doing things allow me to measure the same endpoint?)
    • You can travel by car, bicycle, plane, on foot, etc. (some means will be more practical depending on the destination, some will even be necessary – difficult to cross the ocean by bike -, while others waste too much time…)
    • Our tourism choices can be influenced, consciously or not, by advertising (is it really the best tool for my needs, or only the most popular?) 
    • etc! (Continue with us if you wish!)

You can register for the next public session, scheduled for March 23, here.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Une journée de réflexion sur l’utilisation du numérique en éducation

Cela fait plus de 25 ans (!) que le numérique en éducation est étudié, mais il évolue vite et les contextes dans lesquels on l’étudie aussi. Cette fois, la Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique, organisée par le CTREQ, permet à des experts et praticiens de se rassembler pour dialoguer sur la question dans le but de formuler des recommandations. Nous avons assisté à la première séance publique. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

En collaboration avec Martine Rioux

Cela fait plus de 25 ans (!) que le numérique en éducation est étudié, mais il évolue vite et les contextes dans lesquels on l’étudie aussi. Cette fois, la Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique, organisée par le CTREQ, permet à des experts et praticiens de se rassembler pour dialoguer sur la question dans le but de formuler des recommandations. Nous avons assisté à la première séance publique. 

Qu’est-ce qu’une conférence de consensus?

« Une conférence de consensus permet de faire le point sur l’état des connaissances à propos d’une question jugée importante par les décideurs et par les praticiens d’une profession. Elle permet d’établir les zones de consensus et de divergences sur les connaissances et de fournir aux décideurs et aux praticiens des orientations claires en matière de politique et de pratique, ainsi que des indications précises sur les conditions de réussite de leur mise en oeuvre. »

La Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique, organisée par le Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), est donc une démarche sur plusieurs mois. Ce sont les membres du jury de la Conférence de consensus, composé d’acteurs de la pratique et sous la présidence du professeur Simon Collin, qui seront chargés de formuler les recommandations finales, prévues en juin. Pour cela, ils se plongent dans un processus de recherche d’information, d’analyse, de discussion, de réflexion et de partage. 

Deux séances publiques sont prévues dans le processus, la première s’était tenue le 9 février, et la deuxième prévue le 23 mars 2022, pour permettre aux membres du jury d’enrichir leur réflexion en échangeant avec des experts en mesure de répondre à leurs différents questionnements, qui ont produit différents textes préparatoires a priori.

Les thèmes de la séance du 9 février 2022 étaient organisés autour du développement professionnel, de l’organisation des services et des approches d’enseignement-apprentissage. On y a notamment traité du rôle des directions d’établissements, de l’évaluation des apprentissages et de l’utilisation des ressources numériques.

Quelles conditions pour susciter des changements durables?

Dans l’un des blocs sur les les routines de classe, Sylvie Barma, professeure titulaire à la faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université Laval en didactique des sciences et technologie, et Sophie Nadeau-Tremblay, enseignante ressource pour l’École en réseau et chargée de cours à l’UQAC, ont nommé des conditions gagnantes qui pourraient selon elles susciter des changements durables en lien avec l’intégration du numérique dans les pratiques. 

Pour Mme Nadeau-Tremblay, trois éléments doivent être réunis :

  1. Présenter des modèles d’enseignants et de classes qui soient accessibles à la majorité (oui, présenter les modèles qui sortent vraiment de l’ordinaire mais ils ne doivent pas avoir l’air inatteignable pour les enseignants.) 
  2. Accompagner les enseignants. Cela ne passe pas nécessairement par de la formation. L’accompagnement prend plusieurs formes : aider l’autre à cheminer, cultiver son agentivité, pour qu’il se sente soutenu.
  3. Donner un accès simple et facile aux outils technologiques dans les classes. (Il ne faut pas que ce soit compliqué de réserver du matériel, la connexion internet doit être fiable, etc.)

De son côté, Mme Barma a exprimé un certain scepticisme quant au changement des pratiques, tout particulièrement au niveau secondaire. « Il y a encore beaucoup de magistral. » Selon elle, tant qu’il n’y aura pas d’intégration concrète entre le programme de formation de l’école québécoise et le plan d’action numérique en éducation, le changement sera difficile. 

« La perception que les activités numériques vécues en classe empêchent de “passer le programme” est encore très présente chez les enseignants. Pourtant, ce sont justement ces projets qui permettent de passer le programme », a renchérit lors d’un bloc subséquent Nicole Monney, professeure au département des Sciences de l’Éducation à l’UQAC. Elle est convaincue que si les enseignants disposaient de plus de temps pour planifier leurs activités d’apprentissage et d’évaluation, ils réussiraient à intégrer davantage le numérique à leurs pratiques.

Son collège Stéphane Allaire de l’UQAC a partagé un avis semblable lors du dernier bloc de la journée : « Les pratiques éducatives innovantes et nouvelles ne pourront pas naître d’elles-mêmes. Les enseignants doivent pouvoir bénéficier de véritables temps de qualité qu’ils pourront consacrer à leur développement professionnel. La question du temps est fondamentale pour planifier et explorer de nouveaux possibles ».  

Au-delà du numérique

Tout au long de la journée, au-delà du numérique, il a été question de bienveillance, de climat de classe, de rétroaction, de stratégies d’apprentissage, de communauté de pratique, de développement des compétences socio-émotionnelles, de lien avec les parents… Tous ces éléments deviennent des prémisses à l’apprentissage chez les élèves. Apprendre est un processus qui fait partie d’un tout, ont rappelé les experts à plusieurs occasions.

« Le numérique est un élément dans un vaste écosystème. La valeur du numérique directement lié au contexte socioculturel dans lequel il est vécu. » – Stéphane Allaire

En vrac…

Parce qu’on a pris vraiment beaucoup de notes!

À propos d’intelligence artificielle…

  • Une nuance intéressante à réfléchir : l’expression « intelligence numérique », proposée par Stéphane Roche, rend peut-être plus justice à ce que l’on vise vraiment, particulièrement pour l’éducation. 
  • L’éducation s’intéresse à la prédiction des données et comportements dans le but de les déjouer!

À propos de développement professionnel

  • Pour Audrey Raynault, l’approche « juste-à-temps » est l’une des plus utiles quand il est question de formation pour les enseignants, puisque c’est lorsqu’ils sont en pleine action, dans leur classe, qu’ils ont besoin de soutien. C’est aussi juste après qu’ils ont le temps de réfléchir à ce qu’ils viennent de vivre. Dès le lendemain, c’est trop tard, ils sont passés à autre chose. 
  • Selon Christine Hamel, l’Université Laval a décidé de retirer le cours sur le numérique en éducation pour plutôt l’intégrer dans les cours de didactique, s’assurant qu’il soit pris en compte de manière significative dans chaque discipline.

À propos de leadership pédagogique face au numérique

  • Une recommandation de Mme France Gravelle : En tant que direction, avoir de l’ouverture quant au numérique, puisque c’est l’avenir. « [En tant que leader, ] il faut faire partie de l’équipe[-école] et faire preuve de leadership partagé. »
  • Une recommandation de Benoit Petit : « On est centré sur la logistique et parfois on oublie (…) que la dimension affective est très importante. Pour exercer un véritable leadership, il faut développer ses compétences socio-émotionnelles. » Elles constituent des outils, estime-il, pour ces situations où on a l’impression d’être dans un « dialogue de sourds ». 
  • Une ressource à connaître : l’auto-formation pour les gestionnaires https://gestionleadershippedagonumerique.uqam.ca

À propos de  l’évaluation des apprentissages

De Anne-Michèle Delobbe et Nicole Monney : 

  • « Il faut briser l’idée que l’évaluation est un examen final. L’évaluation devrait être intégrée aux apprentissages. »
  • « Il faut penser à des outils numériques qui permettront de témoigner de la démarche de l’élève lors de l’évaluation. »
  • « On ne peut pas transposer ce qui se fait sans numérique dans l’univers numérique [et espérer que ça fonctionne]. »
  • « Les difficultés en écriture et en lecture d’un élève ne devraient pas lui nuire au niveau de l’évaluation dans d’autres matières que le français [puisque c’est là que ces compétences sont évaluées]. » Il faut diversifier les façons d’évaluer et le numérique peut venir jouer un rôle majeur ici (pensons à l’apport des fonctions d’aide technologiques!).

À propos d’intégration des ressources numériques

  • Jocelyn Dagenais a rappelé que les travaux du Conseil supérieur de l’éducation sur la question de l’évaluation au service des apprentissages demeure un ouvrage incontournable pour alimenter la réflexion en vue de formuler des recommandations. 
  • Steve Quirion a offert un inspirant exemple tiré de la géographie : « Par exemple, on apprend qu’un GPS nous montre comment aller du point A au point B. Mais après, on sait qu’on peut prendre les petites routes et que le voyage est souvent aussi intéressant que la destination »… Ce qui nous inspire une plus vaste analogie entre le voyage et l’intégration du numérique! En effet, en voyage :
    • Certains préfèrent le chemin le plus court (qu’est-ce qui va me permettre d’atteindre rapidement mon objectif pédagogique?)
    • D’autres préfèrent se perdre intentionnellement et faire des découvertes insoupçonnées (par exemple en explorant de nouvelles idées et façons de faire avec leurs élèves)
    • D’autres encore vont vouloir prendre une route différente à l’aller et au retour (comment deux façons de faire différentes peuvent-elles  me permettre de mesurer un même critère d’évaluation?)
    • On peut voyager en auto, en vélo, en avion, à pied etc. (certains moyens vont être plus pratiques selon la destination, certains vont même être nécessaire – difficile de traverser l’océan en vélo -, alors que d’autres font perdre trop de temps…)
    • Nos choix touristiques peuvent être influencés, consciemment ou non, par de la publicité (est-ce vraiment le meilleur outil pour mes besoins, ou seulement le plus populaire?) 
    • etc.! (Continuez avec nous si vous le souhaitez!)

On peut s’inscrire à la prochaine séance publique, prévue le 23 mars, ici.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :