A foundation that wants to provide autistic students with mobile tablets

On January 20, we launched the Justine and Florence Foundation, the objective of which is to offer young Quebecers with autism access to an electronic tablet in the classroom.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

On January 20, we launched the Justine and Florence Foundation, whose objective is to provide young Quebecers with autism access to an electronic tablet in the classroom.

Co-founded by Mesdames Catherine Chevrette and Nancy Ménard-Cheng, the new foundation bears the name of their young daughters, both suffering from an autism spectrum disorder. “Living with an autistic child is a big challenge for families and schools. Through our foundation, we want to provide effective tools that will facilitate learning for these children we love so much, ”explained Ms. Ménard-Cheng.

The Justine and Florence Foundation organized a vast fundraising campaign entitled A tablet, a smile, which aims to raise funds to give 3,500 tablets to autistic children in Quebec.

 

A spokesperson with contagious enthusiasm

Madame Kim Thúy, renowned author, but above all mother of a boy with the autism spectrum, is the foundation's spokesperson. “I was greatly impressed by the approach of Catherine and Nancy, who are, just like me, mothers of a child with autism. I wanted to join them to promote the Foundation and the project A tablet, a smile. We will be able to help our children to develop their potential and to have a better life. ”

 

A pilot project in Varennes

Initiated a few months ago, a pilot project is underway at Marie-Victorin school in Varennes, within the framework of which six specialized classes have been provided with two tablets each. The project also includes the applications, training and support necessary for the various stakeholders.

Even if it is too early to make an exhaustive evaluation of the project, according to teacher Mélanie Guillemette, for the moment, the experience is proving to be very positive. “I feel an increase in motivation in the classroom. We're finding that it's easier for kids to stay focused when they're using tablets, ”she explains.

 

Contribute to the development of young people

In Quebec, 1 % of children have autism. The Justine and Florence Foundation wishes to contribute significantly to the social and intellectual development of all these young people. “We want to see our children with autism spectrum disorder thrive. Learning is the lifeblood of life and everyone can learn throughout their life. This is what we want for all young autistic people in Quebec, ”concluded Ms. Chevrette.

To find out more, you can visit the site www.UneTabletteUnSourire.com

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Pierre Turbis
Pierre is a journalist and columnist. He contributes to numerous publications.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une fondation qui veut doter les élèves autistes de tablettes mobiles

Le 20 janvier dernier, on procédait au lancement de la Fondation Justine et Florence, dont l’objectif est d’offrir aux jeunes autistes québécois l’accès à une tablette électronique en classe.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Le 20 janvier dernier, on procédait au lancement de la Fondation Justine et Florence, dont l’objectif est d’offrir aux jeunes autistes québécois l’accès à une tablette électronique en classe.

Co-fondée par mesdames Catherine Chevrette et Nancy Ménard-Cheng, la nouvelle fondation porte le nom de leurs jeunes filles, toutes deux atteintes d’un trouble du spectre de l’autisme. « La vie avec un enfants autiste représente un grand défi pour les familles et le milieu scolaire. Par notre fondation, nous voulons fournir des outils efficaces qui faciliteront l’apprentissage pour ces enfants que nous aimons tant », a expliqué madame Ménard-Cheng.

La Fondation Justine et Florence a organisé une vaste compagne de financement intitulée Une tablette, un sourire, qui vise à recueillir les fonds pour remettre 3500 tablettes aux enfants autistes du Québec.

 

Une porte-parole à l’enthousiasme contagieux

Madame Kim Thúy, auteure réputée, mais surtout maman d’un garçon atteint du spectre de l’autisme, est la porte-parole de la fondation. « J’ai été fortement impressionnée par la démarche de Catherine et Nancy, qui sont, tout comme moi, mères d’un enfant autiste. J’ai eu envie de me joindre à elles pour faire connaître la Fondation et le projet Une tablette, un sourire. Nous pourrons ainsi aider nos enfants à développer leur potentiel et à avoir une plus belle vie.»

 

Un projet-pilote à Varennes

Amorcé depuis quelques mois, un projet-pilote est en cours à l’école Marie-Victorin, de Varennes, dans le cadre duquel on a doté six classes spécialisées de deux tablettes chacune. Le projet inclut également les applications, la formation et le soutien nécessaires aux divers intervenants.

Même s’il est trop tôt pour faire une évaluation exhaustive du projet, selon l’enseignante Mélanie Guillemette, pour l’instant, l’expérience s’avère très positive. « Je sens une augmentation de la motivation en classe. Nous constatons qu’il est plus facile pour les jeunes de demeurer concentrés quand ils utilisent les tablettes », explique-t-elle.

 

Contribuer au développement des jeunes

Au Québec, 1 % des enfants sont atteints d’autisme. La Fondation Justine et Florence souhaite contribuer significativement au développement social et intellectuel de tous ces jeunes. « Nous souhaitons voir s’épanouir nos enfants atteints d’un trouble du spectre de l’autisme. L’apprentissage est le moteur de la vie et chacun peut apprendre toute sa vie. C’est ce que nous souhaitons pour tous les jeunes autistes du Québec », a conclu madame Chevrette.

Pour en savoir plus, on peut visiter le site www.UneTabletteUnSourire.com

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Pierre Turbis
Pierre est journaliste et chroniqueur. Il collabore à de nombreuses publications.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :