informational competence

Evaluating the quality of a website can be taught!

Telling students that they must validate the reliability of their sources when doing research is not enough. You still have to teach them how to do it! To help you support them, here are nine criteria that help determine a credible source on the Web.

Young people trust science, survey finds, but situation remains fragile

The Canada Foundation for Innovation, in partnership with Acfas, conducted a survey to find out the perceptions of young Canadians aged 18 to 24 on four scientific issues. The results shed light on the media ecosystem in which young people are immersed and the importance of carrying out awareness-raising activities with them.

Seeking, finding and organizing information ... learning that takes place through the school library

The Association for the Promotion of School Documentary Services (APSDS) has also just published a continuum for the development of information skills. This follows on from the publication of the Digital Competence Reference Framework.

Tools to help students find good sources of information

In a context of abundance of information, it is often difficult to take a critical look at the reliability and relevance of accessible sources. How can we help students develop their skills in this regard? A professor from Laval University offers some ideas.

Searching the web can be learned!

On the occasion of the last AQUOPS conference, Julie-Christine Gagné and Caroline Mottet, from Laval University, offered a workshop on research on the Web, in particular via Google and Wikipedia. A teaching student participated and gives us her report.

compétence informationnelle

Évaluer la qualité d’un site Web, ça s’enseigne!

Dire aux élèves qu’ils doivent valider la fiabilité de leurs sources lorsqu’ils font des recherches n’est pas suffisant. Encore faut-il leur enseigner comment faire! Afin de vous aider à les accompagner, voici neuf critères qui permettent de déterminer une source crédible sur le Web.

Un sondage révèle que les jeunes font confiance à la science, mais la situation demeure fragile

La Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, en partenariat avec l’Acfas, réalisé un sondage afin de connaître les perceptions des jeunes Canadiens de 18 à 24 ans sur quatre enjeux scientifiques. Les résultats mettent en lumière l'écosystème médiatique dans lequel baignent les jeunes et l'importance de réaliser des activités de sensibilisation auprès d'eux.

Chercher, trouver et organiser l’information… un apprentissage qui passe par la bibliothèque scolaire

L’Association pour la promotion des services documentaires scolaires (APSDS) vient d’ailleurs de publier un continuum pour le développement des compétences informationnelles. Celui-ci s’inscrit dans la continuité de la publication du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique.

Des outils pour aider les élèves à trouver de bonnes sources d’information

Dans un contexte d’abondance de l’information, il est souvent ardu de poser un regard critique sur la fiabilité et la pertinence des sources accessibles. Comment aider les élèves à développer leurs habiletés en ce sens? Une professeure de l’Université Laval propose quelques pistes.

Chercher sur le Web, ça s’apprend!

À l’occasion du dernier colloque de l’AQUOPS, Julie-Christine Gagné et Caroline Mottet, de l’Université Laval, ont offert un atelier à propos de la recherche sur le Web, notamment via Google et Wikipédia. Une étudiante en enseignement y a participé et nous livre son compte-rendu.