Develop your digital skills within a CSS de Montréal virtual programming club

The meetings of the Programming Club of the Center de services scolaire de Montréal, which we have already told you about, will begin shortly. The three ICT educational advisers at the origin of the project present the state of progress.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Mario Renauld, Guillaume Bilodeau and Mariane Ducharme, ICT pedagogical advisers of the CSSDM 

Meetings of the Programming Club of the Center de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), which we have already told you about, will begin shortly. Following a survey sent to teachers before the holiday break, about fifty expressed an interest in registering their class for this activity. This means that more than 1,000 students will participate over the next few weeks.

Thus, from January 28, students from preschool to the first year of secondary school will be invited, every Friday afternoon, to meet virtually to code in the Teams La Numérithèque team. The latter is intended to be a place for exchanges and collaboration between teachers, school management and pedagogical advisers for all matters relating to the use of technologies in education. The space is accessible at all times and the Club's meetings will therefore take place there. 

Extend Code MTL

Originally, the primary intention of the Programming Club was to join the former participants of the Code MTL project. It should be remembered that this offers teachers and their students the opportunity to learn about programming thanks to the support of educational advisers and the support of a team of facilitators from the company Edu GoPro.

Club meetings will take place in the same spirit of support as the Code MTL project. Pedagogical support, which can be reassuring for teachers who are new to digital integration, will be provided by three CSSDM ICT pedagogical advisers. For their part, the teachers will ensure that the activity runs smoothly in their class. In addition, they will follow up on the challenges achieved so that a collaborative project can be submitted to the last meeting of the Club. Thanks to numerous partners, each class that submits a project will be entered into the draw for participation prizes. 

From intermediate to advanced

The proposed challenges have been designed for an audience that already masters the basics of block programming, i.e. the intermediate level if we refer to the Continuum of digital competence. During meetings of the Programming Club, students will have the opportunity to progress to the advanced level, since they will be required to design and execute computer programs that meet the diverse needs of everyday life. 

Thus, by taking part in the Club's activities, students and teachers will develop several dimensions of digital competence. This diagram presents an overview of the elements highlighted throughout the challenges that will be proposed during the meetings. 

In order to ensure that this moment with the pupils and the teachers is a success, a calendar meetings has been developed. It includes the dates and times of the sessions, a short description of the challenges and the target audience. In addition, teachers are invited to survey their students in order to unearth programming enthusiasts who could ensure the smooth running of activities. And why not take the opportunity to invite an expert parent who would come to offer his support and who, by the same token, could share his experience in the field?  

Continue despite the context

The pandemic context, with all its collateral effects, leads us to be creative. Following the cancellation of day training, we wondered how to continue our support. In order to overcome this reality, we carried out a first experiment of virtual support in programming in two classes of 3e cycle.

Since everything went well, we are trying to replicate the experience on a larger scale. Other ideas are already emerging. Why not extend the concept with a reading or math club and thus reach as many participants as possible? The idea is launched.

To be continued…

To read the article already published on École branchée: A virtual programming club is born at the Montreal CSS

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Développer sa compétence numérique au sein d’un club de programmation virtuel du CSS de Montréal

Les rencontres du Club de programmation du Centre de services scolaire de Montréal, dont nous vous avons déjà parlé, débuteront sous peu. Les trois conseillers pédagogiques TIC à l'origine du projet présente l'état d'avancement.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par Mario Renauld, Guillaume Bilodeau et Mariane Ducharme, conseillers pédagogiques TIC du CSSDM 

Les rencontres du Club de programmation du Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), dont nous vous avons déjà parlé, débuteront sous peu. À la suite d’un sondage envoyé aux enseignants avant le congé des Fêtes, une cinquantaine ont manifesté leur intérêt à inscrire leur classe pour cette activité. Cela signifie que plus de 1 000 élèves y participeront au cours des prochaines semaines.

Ainsi, à partir du 28 janvier, des élèves du préscolaire à la première année du secondaire seront invités, tous les vendredis après-midi, à se retrouver virtuellement pour coder dans l’équipe Teams La Numérithèque. Cette dernière se veut un lieu d’échanges et de collaboration entre enseignants, directions d’établissements et conseillers pédagogiques pour tout ce qui concerne l’utilisation des technologies dans l’enseignement. L’espace est accessible en tout temps et les rencontres du Club y auront donc lieu. 

Prolonger Code MTL

À l’origine, l’intention première du Club de programmation était de rejoindre les anciens participants au projet Code MTL. Rappelons que celui-ci offre la possibilité aux enseignants et à leurs élèves de s’initier à la programmation grâce à l’accompagnement de conseillers pédagogiques et au soutien d’une équipe d’animateurs de l’entreprise Edu GoPro.

Les rencontres du Club se dérouleront dans le même esprit d’accompagnement que le projet Code MTL. Le soutien pédagogique, qui peut être sécurisant pour les enseignants qui débutent avec l’intégration du numérique, sera assuré par trois conseillers pédagogiques TIC du CSSDM. De leur côté, les enseignants veilleront au bon déroulement de l’activité dans leur classe. De plus, ils feront le suivi des défis réalisés afin qu’un projet collaboratif puisse être soumis à la dernière rencontre du Club. Grâce à de nombreux partenaires, chaque classe qui soumettra un projet sera inscrite au tirage de prix de participation. 

D’intermédiaire à avancé

Les défis proposés ont été pensés pour un public qui maîtrise déjà les bases de la programmation par blocs, soit le niveau intermédiaire si on se réfère au Continuum de la compétence numérique.  Au cours des rencontres du Club de programmation, les élèves auront la possibilité de passer au niveau avancé, puisqu’ils seront amenés à concevoir et exécuter des programmes informatiques qui permettent de répondre à des besoins diversifiés de la vie de tous les jours.  

Ainsi en prenant part aux activités du Club, les élèves et les enseignants développeront plusieurs dimensions de la compétence numérique. Ce schéma présente un aperçu des éléments mis en relief tout au long des défis qui seront proposés dans le cadre des rencontres. 

Afin de s’assurer que ce moment avec les élèves et les enseignants soit une réussite, un calendrier des rencontres a été élaboré. On y retrouve les dates et les heures des séances, un court descriptif des défis ainsi que le public visé. De plus, les enseignants sont invités à sonder leurs élèves afin de dénicher des amateurs de programmation qui pourraient veiller au bon déroulement des activités. Et pourquoi ne pas en profiter pour inviter un parent expert qui viendrait offrir son soutien et qui, par le fait même, pourrait partager son expérience dans le domaine?  

Poursuivre malgré le contexte

Le contexte pandémique, avec tous ses effets collatéraux, nous amène à faire preuve de créativité. À la suite de l’annulation des formations de jour, nous nous sommes demandés comment poursuivre notre accompagnement. Afin de pallier cette réalité, nous avons fait une première expérimentation d’accompagnement virtuel en programmation dans deux classes du 3e cycle.

Puisque le tout s’est bien déroulé, nous tentons de reproduire l’expérience à plus grande échelle. D’autres idées émergent déjà. Pourquoi ne pas étendre le concept avec un club de lecture ou de mathématiques et ainsi rejoindre un maximum de participants? L’idée est lancée.

À suivre…

Pour relire l’article déjà paru sur l’École branchée : Un club de programmation virtuel voit le jour au CSS de Montréal

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :