ADVERTISEMENT

An entrepreneurial project to rekindle the scientific flame

On the occasion of the CréaCamp on May 17 in Valcartier, we met Pierre-Olivier Cloutier and his secondary 5 students from Mont-Saint-Sacrement school who spoke to us about their entrepreneurial outdoor classroom project focusing on collaboration and interdisciplinarity.

You might also like:

On the occasion of the CréaCamp on May 17 in Valcartier, we met Pierre-Olivier Cloutier, Secondary 4 and 5 teacher at Mont-Saint-Sacrement high school, as well as his students Karen, Laurie and Sophie, who talk to us of their outer class, an authentic project focusing on collaboration and interdisciplinarity for the students of the general sciences course.

Text by Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

In Pierre-Olivier's general science class, the students did not choose to do science. This year, what could have been a tedious obligation has turned into a major entrepreneurial project promoting commitment and interdisciplinary learning. For Karen, Laurie and Sophie, the ability to set goals for themselves and work as a team with people of similar interests was a highlight of their senior year in high school.

In this interview, Pierre-Olivier explains that it is the desire to showcase the achievements of his students on a larger scale than the class as well as the desire to attach academic content to real life situations that have brought to imagine this outdoor classroom project. His reflection was also initiated by a discussion with the deputy director general of the organization Idée education entrepreneuriale, which puts forward an educational model in which students initiate, carry out and manage projects that meet a need or a real problem.

We invite you to listen to the interview to discover the testimony of Karen, Laurie and Sophie as well as to hear Pierre-Olivier about the importance of fostering an entrepreneurial philosophy in high schools.

To learn more about the entrepreneurial approach and the educational model that inspired Pierre-Olivier, visit the Entrepreneurial Education Idea website. You can also listen our educational meeting with Alain Poitras, of the Francophone Sud school district or read our article An entrepreneurial, educational, Acadian and intercultural experience.

Do you want to go further? Register for the first Fall Congress on Conscious Entrepreneurial Education on November 2 in Quebec, during which École branchée will be a media partner.

Produced with the support of Carrefour Éducation

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Un projet entrepreneurial pour raviver la flamme scientifique

0

À l’occasion du CréaCamp du 17 mai à Valcartier, nous avons rencontré Pierre-Olivier Cloutier, enseignant de 4e et 5e secondaire à l’école secondaire Mont-Saint-Sacrement, ainsi que ses élèves Karen, Laurie et Sophie, qui nous parlent de leur classe extérieure, un projet authentique misant sur la collaboration et l’interdisciplinarité pour les élèves du cours de sciences générales.

Texte par Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

Dans la classe de sciences générales de Pierre-Olivier, les élèves n’ont pas choisi de faire des sciences. Cette année, ce qui aurait pu être une obligation fastidieuse s’est transformée en un projet entrepreneurial d’envergure favorisant l’engagement et les apprentissages interdisciplinaires. Pour Karen, Laurie et Sophie, la possibilité de se fixer soi-même des objectifs et de travailler en équipe avec des personnes partageant des intérêts similaires a été un élément marquant de leur dernière année au secondaire.

Dans cette entrevue, Pierre-Olivier explique que c’est le désir de faire rayonner les accomplissements de ses élèves à une échelle plus grande que la classe ainsi que la volonté de raccrocher les contenus académiques à des situations de la vraie vie qui l’ont amené à imaginer ce projet de classe extérieure. Sa réflexion a d’ailleurs été initiée par une discussion avec le directeur général adjoint de l’organisme Idée éducation entrepreneuriale, qui met de l’avant un modèle éducatif dans lequel les élèves initient, réalisent et gèrent  des projets qui répondent à un besoin ou une problématique réelle.

On vous invite à écouter l’entrevue pour découvrir le témoignage de Karen, Laurie et Sophie ainsi que pour entendre Pierre-Olivier au sujet de l’importance de faire émerger une philosophie entrepreneuriale dans les écoles secondaires.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la démarche entrepreneuriale et le modèle éducatif ayant inspiré Pierre-Olivier, visitez le site Web d’Idée éducation entrepreneuriale. Vous pouvez aussi écouter notre Rendez-vous pédagogique avec Alain Poitras, du District scolaire francophone Sud ou lire notre article Une expérience entrepreneuriale, éducative, acadienne et interculturelle.

Vous voulez aller plus loin? Inscrivez-vous au premier congrès automnal en éducation entrepreneuriale consciente le 2 novembre prochain à Québec, lors duquel l’École branchée sera partenaire média.

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!